DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comment
The Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Regarding the limitation(s) “thermal expansion material” in the claim, the Examiner has given the term(s) the broadest reasonable interpretation(s) consistent with the written description in Applicants’ specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Donaldson Co., Inc., 16 F.3d 1190, 1192-95, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1848-50 (Fed. Cir. 1994). See MPEP 2111. Due to the broad scope of “thermal expansion material”, the nomenclature does not patentably distinguish over the prior art unless specific properties or materials are addressed in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets that any material is considered to be a thermal expansion material (i.e. any material can expand depending on the amount of heat/thermal energy the material is subjected on).
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amended Claim 1 in the response filed on 12/23/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that in Watanabe, the inside ventilation passages IP, the gas guidance sections 311, the outside ventilation passage OP and the ventilation openings 423 are not all arranged vertically lowest to highest in that order, as some are arranged on the same level. Therefore, Watanabe et al. does not teach the claimed invention.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As annotated by the Examiner below, Watanabe teaches the outlet of the cell receiver, the gas inlet, the gas channel, and the gas outlet are arranged vertically lowest to highest in this order. Moreover, it is a well-known principle that gas rises, and therefore, discharge gases from battery cells will naturally vent out and move upwards towards the openings to the outside.
Figure 7 of Watanabe
Applicant stated that Okumura is cited for allegedly disclosing a reinforcing beam including a communication hole, and argued that the Examiner does not appear to have addressed the features of claim 12.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Okumura was relied upon to teach its reinforcing beam comprises a communication hole through which air is movable between at least two battery cell groups, and an opening/closing member configure to, when gas is discharged from the plurality of cells, seal the communication hole (Abstract, Fig. 2, and [0055]-[0057]). As noted in the Examiner’s Comment, Examiner interprets that any material is considered to be a thermal expansion material (i.e. any material can expand depending on the amount of heat/thermal energy the material is subjected on). Therefore, Okumura’s opening/closing member meets the instant limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. No. 9159970 (“Watanabe et al.”).
Watanabe et al. discloses a battery pack for electric vehicles comprising a plurality of battery cells housed within a cell holder (30) including a under frame (300) and an upper frame (350) (Fig. 9 and Col. 7: Lines 39-44). The cell holder is considered to correspond to the recited module housing.
The frame section (351) includes exit ports that allow ventilation of coolant and gas from the battery cells to exit from the cells and ventilation spaces (S) from a top passage (TP) formed by the frame section (351) to inside ventilation openings (IP). The gas passes out of the inside ventilation openings (IP) into a gas passage formed by the cell cover (31) and a suspending wall (42) of fixation member main body (40). More particularly, gas leaving the inside ventilation openings (IP) passes through gas guidance sections (311) in the cell cover (31). Accordingly, the cell cover (31) and suspending wall (42) are considered to cooperatively form the recited gas vent with the passage formed by suspending wall (42) corresponding to the recited gas channel.
The openings of the gas guidance sections (311) that align with each of the inside ventilation passages (IP) are considered to correspond to the recited gas inlet, with the sloped section of the gas guidance sections leading away from the cell restriction units (357) are considered to correspond to the recited plurality of gas channels. Regarding the recited gas outlet, Watanabe et al. includes a plurality of ventilation openings (OP or 423) allowing the ventilation of gas having passed across the channel to allow gas out.
As annotated by the Examiner below, Fig. 7 of Watanabe et al. discloses the outlet of a cell receiver, a gas inlet, a gas channel, and a gas outlet are arranged vertically lowest to highest in this order. Please also see Fig. 10 and Col. 11: Lines 31-37.
The fixation member main body (40) includes two suspending walls (42) extending along both upper side surfaces of the module, such that the fixation member main body (40) and cell cover (31) further form two gas channels. The gas channels are open, thus allowing gas to pass in either direction down the channel, thus they allow gas to flow in different directions down the two channels.
The battery module includes 8 battery cells. A first set of four cells in one end of the module can be considered to correspond to a first battery cell group with the second set of four cells at the opposed end of the module corresponding to a second battery cell group. In between each cell (including the 4th and 5th cells, and thus the first battery cell group and the second cell group) are spacers (305 and 306) to create a space between the first battery cell group and second cell group. The spacers comprise a pair of reinforcing beams that guide the flow of gas, including both cooling gas and any gas venting from inside the cells. Moreover, the gas channels formed by cell cover (31) and the two suspending walls (42) at each upper side of the module (1st side and 2nd side such that the 1st direction extends across the width of the gas channel) extends the full length of the module, including a first channel extending from the space between the first battery cell group and second cell group to the opposed end of the module, and the second channel on the other upper side extending from the first end of the module to the space between the first battery cell group and second cell group. Moreover, there are a plurality of ventilation openings (OP or 423) along the channels, starting at a first end of the module, occurring periodically along the channel to the opposed end of the module, including at midpoint locations associated with spaces between cells (Figs. 3-12, Col. 4: Lines 39-44, Col. 4: Line 60 bridging over to Col. 5: Line 7, Col. 5: Lines 38-43, Col. 6: Lines 23-50, Col. 7: Lines 39-44, Col. 8: Lines 26-67, and Col. 14: Line 62 bridging over to Col. 15: Line 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 9159970 (“Watanabe et al.”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US Pub. No. 20130342168 (“Okumura et al.”).
Watanabe et al. teaches a battery module as set forth above.
Watanabe et al. does not teach a communication hole and opening/closing member as claimed.
However, Okumura et al. teaches its reinforcing beam comprises a communication hole through which air is movable between at least two battery cell groups, and an opening/closing member configure to, when gas is discharged from the plurality of cells, seal the communication hole (Abstract, Fig. 2, and [0055]-[0057]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Watanabe et al.’s reinforcing beam comprise a communication hole and an opening/closing member as claimed in order to further control the venting of the gas produced within the battery module [0055].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 9159970 (“Watanabe et al.”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US Pub. No. 20110200856 (“Yasui et al.”).
Watanabe et al. teaches a battery module as set forth above.
Watanabe et al. does not teach the gas channel comprises a plurality of protrusions that are spaced part from each other at a certain interval to interfere with gas moving in the gas channel.
However, Yasui et al. teaches its gas channel comprising a plurality of protrusions that are spaced part from each other at a certain interval to interfere with gas moving in the gas channel (Fig. 6 and [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Watanabe et al.’s gas channel comprises a plurality of protrusions as claimed in order to further tailor and control the venting of the gas.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LC/
Lisa Chau
Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785