DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control device” in claims 28-33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The “control device” of claims 28-33 is inadequately described in the specification. The drawings disclose an empty box 18 for the control device and the specification only mentions the control device in regards to the function and in no way describes what constitutes a control device (see for example page 12, lines 5-9 and 23-28, page 13, line 36 – page 14, line 2, and page 14, lines 16-21).
Regarding claim 34, its dependence on inadequately described claim 28 renders the claim itself inadequately described.
Claims 20 and 29 (second alternative) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is no description as to how the plane of incidence of the linearly polarized laser radiation on an inner wall surface of a capillary extending from a surface of the raw material powder layer into a volume of the raw material powder layer is detected or determined during processing in order to provide a variable from which the orientation of the plane of polarization of the linearly polarized laser radiation is controlled depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 23, 28, 32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hunze et al. (20200023467). Hunze et al. discloses (claim 18) a method of operating an irradiation system 4 for irradiating layers of a raw material powder 3 with laser radiation in order to produce a three-dimensional work piece (paragraph [0001]), wherein at least a section of a raw material powder layer applied onto a carrier (Fig. 1, not numbered) is selectively irradiated with linearly polarized laser radiation (paragraphs [0039] and [0041]), and wherein an orientation of a plane of polarization of the linearly polarized laser radiation is controlled in dependence on an orientation of a plane of incidence of the linearly polarized laser radiation on the raw material (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 23, Hunze et al. discloses that at least one of a power, a focus diameter and a focus shape of a beam of linearly polarized laser radiation and/or at least one of a scan speed, a scan direction, a scan mode and a scan pattern according to which the beam of linearly polarized laser radiation is directed across the raw material powder layer and/or at least one parameter of a gas flow directed across the raw material powder layer is controlled in dependence on an angle of incidence of the beam of linearly polarized laser radiation on the raw material (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 28, Hunze et al. discloses an irradiation system 4 for irradiating layers of a raw material powder 3 with laser radiation in order to produce a three-dimensional work piece (paragraph [0001]), wherein the irradiation system is configured to selectively irradiate at least a section of a raw material powder layer applied onto a carrier (Fig. 1, not numbered) with linearly polarized laser radiation (paragraphs [0039] and [0041]), and wherein the irradiation system comprises a control device 12 which is configured to control an orientation of a plane of polarization of the linearly polarized laser radiation in dependence on an orientation of a plane of incidence of the linearly polarized laser radiation on the raw material (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 32 (first alternative), Hunze et al. discloses that the control device is configured:- to control at least one of a power, a focus diameter and a focus shape of a beam of linearly polarized laser radiation and/or at least one of a scan speed, a scan direction, a scan mode and a scan pattern according to which the beam of linearly polarized laser radiation is directed across the raw material powder layer and/or at least one parameter of a gas flow directed across the raw material powder layer in dependence on an angle of incidence of the beam of linearly polarized laser radiation on the raw material (paragraph [0036]);
Regarding claim 34, Hunze et al. discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1) for producing a three-dimensional work piece (paragraph [0001]) which is equipped with the irradiation system 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 20, as far as it is described, 27, 29, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunze et al., as applied to claims 18 and 28 above, in view of Milne et al. (20160246050). Regarding claims 19 and 29, Hunze et al. discloses all of the claimed subject matter except for the orientation of the plane of polarization of the linearly polarized laser radiation is controlled in dependence on the orientation of the plane of incidence of the linearly polarized laser radiation on the raw material such that the plane of polarization is oriented substantially parallel to the plane of incidence.
Milne et al. teaches for a method of operating an irradiation system 300 for irradiating layers of a raw material powder with laser radiation and that (claims 19 and 29) the orientation of the plane of polarization of the linearly polarized laser radiation is controlled in dependence on the orientation of the plane of incidence of the linearly polarized laser radiation on the raw material such that the plane of polarization is oriented substantially parallel to the plane of incidence (optimizing polarization) for the purposes of efficiently and reliably irradiating the substrate even in the presence of impurities or defects on or in the substrate (paragraphs [0045]-[0046]).
Since Hunze et al. and Milne et al. are both in the same field of endeavor the purpose disclosed by Milne et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Hunze et al. It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hunze et al. such that that the orientation of the plane of polarization of the linearly polarized laser radiation is controlled in dependence on the orientation of the plane of incidence of the linearly polarized laser radiation on the raw material such that the plane of polarization is oriented substantially parallel to the plane of incidence for the purposes of efficiently and reliably irradiating the substrate even in the presence of impurities or defects on or in the substrate.
Regarding claim 20, as far as it is described, Milne et al. further teaches that the orientation of the plane of polarization of the linearly polarized laser radiation is formed ((optimizing polarization) due to an interaction of the linearly polarized laser radiation with the raw material 1 (paragraphs [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claims 27 and 33, Milne et al. further teaches for a plurality of beams 26,30 of linearly polarized laser radiation (by polarizer 22) are scanned across an overlap section of the raw material powder layer according to a scan strategy (paragraph [0031]), wherein all scan vectors are scanned according to the same scan mode (paragraph [0039]).
Claims 21, 22, 24-26, 30, 31, and 32 (second alternative) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunze et al., as applied to claims 18 and 28 above, in view of Milne et al. and Roehling et al. (20190381602). Hunze et al. as modified by Milne et al. discloses all of the claimed subject matter except for the orientation of the plane of polarization of the linearly polarized laser radiation being updated in dependence on a scan direction of the linearly polarized laser radiation across the raw material powder layer, wherein the orientation of the plane of polarization of the linearly polarized laser radiation being updated based on an analysis of a scan pattern according to which the beam of linearly polarized laser radiation is directed across the raw material powder layer, wherein the analysis of the scan pattern is performed prior to starting the production of the three-dimensional work piece and/or in situ during the production of the three-dimensional work piece, that a plurality of scan vectors pointing in a first vector direction are successively scanned, before at least one scan vector pointing in a second vector direction which differs from the first vector direction is scanned, a second section of the raw material powder layer is selectively irradiated with randomized laser radiation, radially polarized laser radiation and/or azimuthally polarized laser radiation, the first section of the raw material powder layer is a hatch section of a work piece layer generated by selectively irradiating the raw material powder layer and/or wherein the second section of the raw material powder layer is a contour section of a work piece layer generated by selectively irradiating the raw material powder layer.
Roehling et al. teaches in paragraph [0004] that “During laser-based processing of materials such as powder bed fusion (LPBF) additive manufacturing (AM), processing parameters including but not limited to laser power, scan speed, scan pattern, and hatch spacing have typically been optimized to improve geometrical accuracy and reduce defect concentrations.”. Therefore, scan direction, scan strategies, and scan pattern are considered results effective variables.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), it would have been obvious a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the irradiation system of Hunze et al. such that the orientation of the plane of polarization of the linearly polarized laser radiation is updated in dependence on a scan direction of the linearly polarized laser radiation across the raw material powder layer, wherein the orientation of the plane of polarization of the linearly polarized laser radiation is updated based on an analysis of a scan pattern according to which the beam of linearly polarized laser radiation is directed across the raw material powder layer, and the analysis of the scan pattern is performed prior to starting the production of the three-dimensional work piece and/or in situ during the production of the three-dimensional work piece.
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure for showing other methods of operating irradiation systems for irradiating layers of a raw material powder with laser radiation in order to produce three-dimensional work pieces.
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
February 20, 2026