DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1, 3-7, and 9 in the reply filed on November 3, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Applicant failed to make arguments in the reply filed on November 3, 2025. Consequently, the election in the November 3, 2025 Reply became an election without traverse. See MPEP 818.01(a).
While Applicant asserts section 37 CFR 1.475(b) was skipped, pages 2-4 of the Office Action dated 09/03/2025 discuss that section. Applicant does not specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Instead, asserts without support that the 09/03/2025 Office Action Restriction Requirement is not following “unity of invention” regulations. A mere broad allegation that the requirement is in error does not comply with the requirement of 37 CFR 1.111 (see MPEP 818.01(a)).
Newly submitted claims 37-39 and 42 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claims 37-39 and 42 require a “stimulation output” or “means for stimulating” that was not recited in the original claims. In addition, claim 42 is a “means plus function” claim where the structure that hermetically houses implantable electronics is described in paragraph [0055] (The interior of the housing is hermetically sealed. This can be achieved by utilizing a substance to seal the lid 638 to the titanium establishing the housing using glass packing technology or ceramic and/or titanium bodies), paragraphs [0022]-[0024] (A transcutaneous energy transfer link is used to transfer power and/or data to cochlear implant 100, Various types of energy transfer, such as infrared, electromagnetic, capacitive and inductive transfer may be used to transfer the power and/or data), and paragraph [0025] ( cochlear implant 100 further includes an elongate stimulating assembly 118). Thus, claims 37-39 and 42 are directed to a separate invention.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 37-39 and 42 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Priority
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9 are deemed to have an effective filing date of September 30, 2025. Claims 29-31 and 33-51 are likewise deemed to have an effective filing date of 09/30/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 USC 112(b)
Applicant’s remarks concerning the indefiniteness rejection were considered. However, with respect to the tern “miniaturized”, neither Applicant’s arguments nor the specification provides a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and Applicant’s arguments do not persuade the Examiner that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what is claimed in light of the specification. What is the apparatus miniaturized with?
Similarly, Applicant concludes without explanation that “[I]t is clear what location is intended”. The Examiner notes that new claim 29 is clear as to the location of the coil.
The rejection of claims 3-4 under 35 USC 112(b) is maintained.
35 USC 101
The Examiner maintains the rejection of claims 4 and 7 under 35 USC 101 because “the mastoid bone” (a part of the human body) and “the ear of a human” or “an ear canal of a human” would be required to infringe claims 4 and 7, respectively. The Examiner notes that new claims 29 and 30 are clear that the human body part is claimed functionally. The rejection of claims 4 and 7 under 35 USC 101 is maintained.
35 USC 103
Applicant uses Fig. 2A of Leigh evidently to provide support for his statement that one is “looking at a distance of about 100 mm”. However, claim 1 recites: “an outer diameter of the inductance coil is … located in its entirety within 5 mm of portion(s) of the housing”. There is no article before “portion(s”). The implantable housing has many portions or modules (e.g., paragraph [0007] of Leigh: implantable hearing system includes an implantable coil forming a radio-frequency link with an external coil where the coil is implanted in the recipient at a location distal to at least one implant module). The Office Action dated 01/13/2026 modifies Leigh with Andersson that teaches that the inductance coil is separated by a thin layer of skin, which one of ordinary skill in the art (the examiner) would understand is less than 5 mm thick. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the inductance coil of Leigh to be within 5mm of a portion of the housing.
With respect to Applicant’s remarks concerning claims 4-7 and 9, the substance of those comments does not distinguish the claims from the prior art of record. Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1, 3-7, and 9 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The originally-filed specification does not support the recitation “the coil is located further away from the sagittal plane of the human than a tympanic membrane of the human on the same side of the sagittal plane as the coil.” The specification does not use the term “sagittal plane” and the drawings do not show vertical plane that splits the body into left and right parts. Paragraph [0113] of the originally-filed specification describes that the inductance coil is located on a lateral side of the in-the-ear device, as opposed to the end side which faces the tympanic membrane when inserted onto the outer ear, or the end side which faces the outside world when inserted in the ear canal. But, there is no disclosure of implanting the apparatus so that the coil is located further away from the sagittal plane of the human than a tympanic membrane of the human on the same side of the sagittal plane as the coil.
Claims 3-4 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “miniaturized” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “miniaturized” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What is the apparatus miniaturized with?
In claim 4, it is unclear what location is intended by “above the electronics with respect to the direction above a surface of the mastoid bone”. Fig. 16 appears to show this feature where the coil 436 is located above the mastoid bone when the apparatus is implanted.
Claim 30 recites “”wireless signal communication” in lines 2 and 5 and then “the signal” in line 6. Should “the signal” be the signal communication in line 6, or, is another signal entering the ear canal wall?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
In claim 4, Applicant recites part of a human, i.e. "the housing is implanted in a mastoid bone” (Claim 4, line 2) and "the coil is located above the electronics with respect to the direction above a surface of the mastoid bone” (Claim 4, lines 4-5). Thus, this claim includes a human within the scope and is non-statutory.
In claim 7, Applicant recites part of a human, i.e., “the apparatus is in … communication with a BTE or ITE device worn behind an ear of a human or in an ear canal of a human, respectively” (claim 7, lines 3-5) and “the signal enters the ear canal wall and passes therethrough” (claim 7, lines 7-8).
A claim directed to or including within its scope a human is not considered to be patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101. The grant of a limited, but exclusive property right in a human being is prohibited by the Constitution. In re Wakefield, 422 F.2d 897, 164 USPQ 636 (CCPA 1970). The examiner suggests using the phrase "adapted to be implanted in claim 4, line 2. It is unclear how to fix referring to the location of the coil with respect to a surface of the mastoid bone as the claim could be worded in a different fashion to avoid issues under Section 101. With respect to claim 7, the examiner suggests using the phrases “adapted to be worn” and “adapted to enter the ear canal”, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 29-30, 32-36, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0343225 to Leigh et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Leigh”) in view of US Patent No. 11,943,588 to Andersson et al. (EFD 08/31/2016, published on 03/01/2018 as US 2018/0063658 and hereinafter referred to as “Andersson”).
Regarding claim 1, Leigh discloses an apparatus, comprising: an implantable housing (e.g., paragraph [0040]: main implant comprises a hermetically sealed housing 276; and Fig. 2B, housing 276); implantable electronics hermetically sealed within at least a portion of the implantable housing (e.g., paragraphs [0039]-[0040]: main implant comprises a hermetically sealed housing 276; and Fig. 2B, housing 276; power supply 270; simulator unit 272 and an internal receiver/transmitter unit 274); and an implantable inductance coil (e.g., paragraphs [0007]: implantable hearing system includes an implantable coil forming a radio-frequency link with an external coil where the coil is implanted in the recipient at a location distal to at least one implant module; [0028]: implantable coils positioned at the skull exterior 127 are co-located with a stimulator/receiver unit; and [0034]: implantable coil 254 is sized and shaped to be positioned in the recipient’s middle ear cavity and is inductively coupled to an external coil across the tympanic membrane), wherein an outer diameter of the inductance coil is less than 17.5 mm (e.g., paragraph [0038]: coils in the trans-tympanic membrane RF link may each have a diameter of approximately 6 mm), and wherein the apparatus is fully implantable within a human (see Fig. 2A). Leigh differs from the claimed invention in that it does not expressly disclose that the outer diameter of the inductance coil when implanted/positioned to be inductively coupled across the tympanic membrane is within 5 mm of a portion of the implantable housing. However, Andersson teaches, in a related art: intracutaneous implantation techniques of a housing within which electronics are hermetically sealed and an implantable inductance coil, that teachings detailed herein are applicable to a cochlear implant and/or middle ear implant (e.g., column 3, lines 1-7 of Andersson); that the inductance coil may be placed above the housing so that a thin layer of skin is between the outer diameter of the inductance coil 558 and the housing 454 (as shown in Fig. 16), or that the inductance coil may be part of the stimulator housing (e.g., column 13, lines 14-27). That is, Andersson teaches that the inductance coil may be above the stimulator housing or may be within the stimulator housing in an implantable cochlear implant and middle ear apparatus. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of an inductive coil placed above/outside an implantable electronics housing, or, within the implantable electronics housing in view of the teachings of Andersson. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the apparatus of Leigh so that an outer diameter of the inductance coil is located in its entirety within 5 mm of a portion of the housing (which the inductance coil would be if inside the implantable electronics housing). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus as taught by Leigh so that the inductance coil has an outer diameter of less than 17.5 mm and is located/positioned within 5 mm with the stimulation housing when implanted, because Leigh teaches that the diameter of the trans-tympanic inductance coil can be as small as 6 mm as the location of the implanted coil is closer to the in-ear external coil, and thus, Leigh provides a teaching of the advantage of being able to provide smaller inductive coils. Applicant does not appear to provide criticality for the coil being close to the stimulator unit, just that the coil can be smaller than which is traditionally utilized (paragraph [0053], lines 5-6, of the originally-filed specification (OFS)) and that the outer diameter of the coil can be located within its entirety within 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, or 10 mm of a portion of the housing (e.g., paragraph [0072], lines 5-7, of the OFS). One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant' s invention to perform equally well with the outer diameter of the inductance coil being between 0.0 mm and 10 mm apart as taught by Leigh in view of Andersson, because it provides an inductive coil with a diameter (about 3 times smaller than the claimed amount) and there is no evidence of criticality of the distance (e.g., 0 mm to 5 mm).
Alternatively, with respect to the coil being within 5 mm from a portion of the housing, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus as taught by Leigh in view of Andersson so that an outer diameter of the inductance coil in its entirety is located within 5 mm of a portion of the housing, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art [In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233].
With respect to claims 4 and 29, Leigh in view of Andersson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the at least a portion of the housing is implanted in a mastoid bone of a human recipient (e.g., paragraph [0008] of Leigh: The cochlear implant comprises a stimulator unit configured to be implanted within a recipient’s mastoid and an implantable tympanic membrane coil electrically connected to the stimulator unit); and the coil is located above the electronics with respect to the direction above a surface of the mastoid bone and the coil extends outboard of outer walls of the housing (e.g., column 12, lines 27-37, of Andersson: inductance coil assembly 558 is placed above the housing 454 as shown in Fig. 16 with respect to the direction above a surface of the mastoid bone 136 where the coil in 558 extends outboard of the outer walls of housing 454). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the apparatus of Leigh in view of Andersson so that the coil is located above the electronics with the coil extending outboard of the outer walls of the housing when implanted with the stimulation unit in view of the teachings of Andersson. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the apparatus of Leigh in view of Andersson so that the coil is located above the electronics and extends past the outer walls of the electronics housing as taught by Andersson, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
As to claim 5, Leigh in view of Andersson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the apparatus is capable of being configured for functional implantation in a recipient with the housing implanted in a mastoid of a human skull and the coil implanted in the recipient so that the coil is adjacent an ear canal side wall of the recipient (e.g., Leigh paragraphs [0008]: coil is implanted in a recipient’s middle ear cavity adjacent to the recipient’s tympanic membrane; [0034]: implantable coil 254 is adjacent the tympanic membrane and Figs. 3A, 4A, 5A of Leigh).
With respect to claim 6, Leigh in view of Andersson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the apparatus is capable of being configured for functional implantation in a recipient with the at least a portion of the housing implanted in the mastoid of a human skull (Leigh paragraph [0008]), and the coil implanted in the recipient so that the coil is shadowed by a pinna of the recipient when viewed directly from the side of the human skull (e.g., Figs. 3A, 4A, 5A of Leigh when the sun is positioned to cast a shadow of the pinna/auricle onto the tympanic membrane).
As to claims 7 and 30, Leigh in view of Andersson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the apparatus is in receptive wireless signal communication with a behind-the-ear (BTE) device or an in-the-ear (ITE) device worn behind an ear of a human or in an ear canal of a human, respectively; and the wireless signal communication emanates directly from a respective body of the BTE or ITE device, and in the case of the ITE device, the signal enters the ear canal wall and passes therethrough to reach the apparatus (e.g., Figs. 3A, 4A, 5A, of Leigh: in-the-ear device 258 emanates a wireless signal in the ear canal that passes through the tympanic membrane of the ear canal to reach the apparatus of Leigh in view of Andersson).
With respect to claim 32, Leigh in view of Andersson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the apparatus is configured so that when implanted in the human, the coil is located further away from the sagittal plane of the human than a tympanic membrane of the human on a same side of the sagittal plane as the coil (see Fig. 2A, 256 of Leigh – the coil is located further away from the center longitudinal plane of the human than that of the tympanic membrane).
As to claim 33, Leigh in view of Andersson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the apparatus is configured so that when implanted in the human (Fig. 2A of Leigh), the coil and the housing are located entirely proximate to an ear canal of the human (since the coil and a housing with electronics are in Fig. 2A of Leigh, the components are proximate/near the ear canal when implanted).
With respect to claim 34, Leigh in view of Andersson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the apparatus is configured so that when implanted, the coil and the housing are located, in their entirety, outside a middle ear of the human (Fig. 2A of Leigh).
As to claim 35, Leigh in view of Andersson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the coil has a maximum outer diameter that is greater than 11 mm (e.g., paragraphs [0037]: a typical cochlear implant systems may include coils having a diameter of 30 mm; and [0038]: separation is smaller (approximately 1-2 mm) so coil can have a smaller diameter (around 6 mm)). That is, Leigh teaches that the coil diameter can be from 6mm to 30mm where the diameter is based on the separation between two components transferring a signal.
Alternatively, with respect to the diameter of the implantable coil being at least 11mm, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as taught by Leigh in view of Andersson so that its diameter is less than 11mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art [In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233] and Applicant does not appear to provide criticality for the diameter of the coil.
With respect to claim 36, Leigh in view of Andersson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the coil has a longitudinal axis, and the apparatus is capable of being implanted in the human so that the longitudinal axis is normal to a longitudinal axis of an ear canal of the human.
As to claim 41, as best understood, Leigh in view of Andersson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein :the apparatus has a longitudinal axis, and the coil extends in a direction normal to the longitudinal axis so that the coil extends outboard of outer walls of the housing (see Fig. 2A of Leigh as modified to have a larger diameter than the housing as discussed above).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leigh in view of Andersson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/015843 to Yeh et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Yeh”).
Leigh in view of Andersson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not expressly state that the apparatus is a miniaturized implantable portion of a cochlear implant. However, Leigh discloses that the apparatus can be a cochlear implant (e.g., paragraph [0008] of Leigh); making the inductive coil substantially smaller (e.g., paragraph [0038] of Leigh) from coils having a diameter of 30 mm (e.g., paragraph [0037] of Leigh) to coils having a diameter of 6 mm (e.g., paragraph [0038] of Leigh). Yeh further teaches that there is an ongoing desire to reduce a displacement of implantable sensor and/or stimulation devices because additional miniaturization can allow for an easier less invasive implant procedure which can reduce a probability of post-implant infection (e.g., paragraph [0137] of Yeh). Thus, Yeh expressly teaches that implantable apparatus should be miniaturized. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the apparatus of Leigh in view of Andersson so that the apparatus is a miniaturized implantable portion of a cochlear implant in view of the teachings of Yeh that miniaturizing implantable device allows for an easier invasive implant procedure and can reduce a probability of post-implant infection, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result: a cochlear implant with smaller implantable components.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leigh in view of Andersson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0303602 to Leigh. (hereinafter referred to as “Leigh ‘602”).
Leigh in view of Andersson teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, the at least a portion of the housing has a length, a width and a height, wherein the height is at least half as that of a maximum diameter of the coil, wherein the height is measured in a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the coil. Leigh discloses an inductive coil with a 6 mm outer diameter (e.g., paragraph [0038] of Leigh). Thus, the housing of the electronics, as per the claim, would be at least 3 mm, where the height is measured in a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the coil. Leigh ‘602, in a related art: implantable prosthesis with an implantable component, teaches that the magnet 160 is completely encased in silicone so that its casing is 3.5, 4, 4.5, 5, 5.5, or 6 mm thick or a height that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the coil (e.g., paragraph [0109] of Leigh ‘602 discussing Fig. 1C of Leigh ‘602) and that, in another exemplary embodiment, the magnet can be fully inside the housing 122 (e.g., paragraph [0137] of Leigh ‘602: magnet 1160 is located within the boundaries of the housing 122)) and thus, the housing would be at least 3.5, 4, 4.5, 5, 5.5, or 6 mm thick or a height that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the coil in order to accommodate the magnet. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the thickness or height that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the coil of Leigh in view of Andersson can be at least 3.5 mm or greater in view of the teachings of Leigh ‘602 that the magnet has those dimensions and is located within the stimulator housing. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the apparatus of Leigh in view of Andersson so that the housing can have a thickness of at least 3 mm in the absence of criticality because such sizing was known to those skilled in the cochlear implant art.
Alternatively, with respect to thickness/height of the housing being at least half as that of the maximum diameter of the coil, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as taught by Leigh in view of Andersson so that thickness/height of the housing is at least half of the outer diameter of the inductive coil, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art [In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233] and Applicant does not appear to provide criticality for thickness/height of the housing being at least half as that of the maximum diameter of the coil.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31 and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CATHERINE M VOORHEES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792