Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-14 and 16-20; drawn to a fusion protein, a nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein, a vector comprising a nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein, a cell comprising a nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein, an a kit comprising a nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein) in the reply filed on December 16, 2025, is acknowledged.
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Group II), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
DETAILED ACTION
The amended claims filed on December 16, 2025, have been acknowledged. In light of the Applicant’s elected species, claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are pending and examined on the merits.
Priority
The applicant claims foreign priority from EP20207716.0 filed on November 16, 2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55, received March 30, 2023. Claims 1-14 and 16-20 find support in foreign application EP20207716.0 filed on November 16, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on May 10, 2023, have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9-10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Binder et al. (J. Mol. Biol. 400: 783–802. 2010; referenced in IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Binder teaches a nucleic acid encoding a fusion protein comprising:
an N-terminal OmpA secretory signal peptide,
an anticalin specific for CTLA-4 (an exogenous ligand),
a transmembrane domain (an autotranporter (e.g. EspP) incorporated in the outer membrane of E.coli). The instant specification discloses that the term "transmembrane domain" as used herein designates any cell membrane-spanning protein domain (page 7, lines 8-9). The autotransporter domain is considered to fall within Applicant’s definition of a transmembrane domain;
and an affinity Tag A3C5 (Figure 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 9-10, Binder teaches that they quantified functional cell surface display of the different Anticalin-autotransporter fusion proteins in E. coli cells by incubating the fusion proteins with CTLA4 labelled with fluorescein (an organic dye) (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Binder teaches that their nucleic acid encoding the fusion protein does not include a fluorescent protein (Figure 1).
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application No: 20050142539 (Herman).
Regarding claims 1 and 9-10, Herman teaches a fusion protein composition comprising a multispecific ligand containing at least a first ligand binding moiety and a second ligand binding moiety, nucleic acids encoding the multispecific ligand, and host cells comprising the nucleic acid.
Herman teaches that the polynucleotide sequence encoding the multispecific ligand can comprise a signal peptide for secretion of the ligand (i.e. a secretory signal peptide);
Herman teaches that the ligand binding moiety can comprise anticalins (a lipocalin-derived binding moiety) for binding to a target ligand (i.e. specific binding to an exogenous ligand);
Herman teaches that the multispecific ligand can comprise an ABC transporter protein (which comprises multiple transmembrane domains) or a complex comprising a transmembrane protein (abstract and paragraphs 0013-0014, 0093, 0119, 0158, 0198-0200, 0222-0223, and 0257).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Herman teaches that one of the ligand binding moieties can bind to a radiolabelled cytokine or a radionuclide bearing ligand (paragraphs 0171, 0223, and 0298). Herman teaches examples of radionuclides including I131 (paragraph 0385).
Regarding claim 3, Herman teaches that the nucleic acid can include a tag for purification, such as a His tag (paragraphs 0014 and 0487).
Regarding claim 8, Herman teaches that the invention is directed to DNA or to a vector or other vehicle suitable for gene therapy comprising DNA and that the use of AAV vectors to deliver DNA for gene therapy is a well known option (paragraphs 0014 and 0457).
Regarding claim 19, Herman teaches nucleic acids encoding their fusion protein that do not include a fluorescent protein. Herman teaches that fluorescent dyes can be conjugated to the antibody and, thus, would not be a part of the nucleic acid encoding the multispecific ligand itself (paragraph 0394).
Claims 1,3-4, 6, 8-10, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application No: 20080196113 (Fitzgerald).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 8-10, Fitzgerald teaches a nucleic acid encoding a fusion protein comprising a nucleic acid sequencing encoding mature exons 1 and 2 of INSP153 and comprising:
Fitzgerald teaches that the sequence can include a secretory sequence and that exon 1 of INSP153 includes a signal peptide sequence;
Fitzgerald teaches that INSP153 is a lipocalin protein and can have specific binding to an exogenous ligand;
Fitzgerald teaches that the fusion protein can be modified to include a GPI anchor
Fitzgerald teaches that the invention provides a vector, such as retroviruses and adenoviruses, that contains the nucleic acid molecule encoding the fusion protein and a host cell transformed with the vector (paragraphs 0053-0061, 0103-0104, 0108-0113, 0172, 0285, claims 54-56, and Figure 9).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Fitzgerald teaches that specialized vector constructions may also be used to facilitate purification of proteins, as desired, by joining sequences encoding the polypeptides of the invention to a nucleotide sequence encoding a polypeptide domain that will facilitate purification of soluble proteins, such as through FLAG affinity purification (paragraph 0194).
Regarding claim 4, Fitzgerald teaches that the nucleic acid can further comprise a fluorescent reporter gene for selecting cells expressing the protein of interest (paragraphs 0186-0191).
Regarding claim 19, Fitzgerald teaches that the nucleic acid can use methods other than using fluorescent reporters to assess expression of thew protein in the host cell (paragraphs 0186-0191). Thus, Fitzgerald teaches nucleic acids that would not have a fluorescent reporter.
Claims 1, 4, 7-14, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent No: 10428141 (Orentas).
Regarding claims 1 and 7-11, Orentas teaches a nucleic acid encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (a fusion protein) comprising:
A secretory signal peptide;
at least one lipocalin-based antigen binding antigen (anticalins) that binds to ROR1 (an exogenous ligand); and
a CD28 or CD4 transmembrane domain.
Orentas teaches that the CAR can be contained in a vector, such as a retrovirus.
Orentas teaches host cells, including CD8+ T cells (a lymphocyte), comprising the nucleic acid encoding a chimeric antigen receptor and host cells comprising the CAR protein (column 5, line 29-column 10, line 13, column 23, lines 18-26).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Orentas teaches that CARs can be modified to express a detectable marker, such as GFP (column 8, lines 55-59, column 34, line 51-column 35, line 22, column 38, line 64-column 39, line 6, column 42, lines 26-35).
Regarding claim 12, Orentas teaches host cells, including CD8+ T cells (a lymphocyte), comprising the nucleic acid encoding a chimeric antigen receptor and host cells comprising the CAR protein (column 5, line 29-column 10, line 13, column 23, lines 18-26). As part of expressing the CAR in the host cell, the host cell would have CAR proteins and the nucleic acid encoding the CAR at the same time.
Regarding claim 13, Orentas teaches kits comprising the nucleic acid encoding the CAR and conjugated, such as ligands (column 31, lines 11-27 and column 47, lines 7-55).
Regarding claim 14, Orentas teaches that the cell comprising the nucleic acid encoding the CAR can be used to treat cancer (column 41, line 57-column 42, line 51).
Regarding claim 19, Orentas teaches that the nucleic acid encoding the CAR can be labeled with an enzyme instead of using fluorescence (column 42, lines 26-35). This nucleic acid would not include a fluorescent protein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-10, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rauth et al. (Biochem. J. 473: 1563-1578. 2016) and further in view of Müller (J Bioproces Biotechniq 2: 1-21. 2012).
Regarding claims 1 and 9-10, Rauth teaches engineering three anticalins based on a human lipocalin scaffold that bind to the VFFAED epitope associated with Amyloid beta (abstract and Figure 4). As can be seen in Figure 4, the anticalins bind to hexamer and decamer peptides comprising the epitope. Rauth teaches that these Anticalins provide useful protein reagents to study the molecular pathology of Alzheimer’s disease.
Rauth does not teach a nucleic acid encoding their anticalin nor wherein the anticalin includes a secretory signal peptide and a GPI anchored domain.
However, Muller teaches that protein chips are useful for understanding the pathophysiology of common multifactorial diseases, such as determining protein expression, profiling cell surface markers, identifying biomarkers, and measuring diagnostic factors. Muller teaches that protein chips have the issue of non-quantitative detection and immobilization, respectively, of the (indirectly and directly tagged) analytes in course of (partial) masking of the epitopes recognized by the immobilizing anticalin. The problem may be (partially) overcome by a novel type of protein chip that is based on glycosylphosphatidylinositol- (GPI-) anchored proteins (GPI-proteins). Muller teaches that recombinant nucleic acids encoding anticalins as part of a plasmid can be modified to include a signal sequence I (a secretory signal peptide) and signal sequence II (a GPI anchor domain) to generate a GPI-anchored protein in a transfected host cell for improved protein analysis (page 10, column 1, paragraph 3-pagte 12, column 2, paragraph 2 and Figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the anticalin of Rauth by including a secretory signal and a GPI anchored domain as part of a nucleic acid encoding the anticalin, as identified by Muller, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to modify with a reasonable expectation of success because Rauth discusses using their anticalins to study the molecular pathology of Alzheimer’s disease and Muller teaches that protein chips are useful for understanding the pathophysiology of common multifactorial diseases, such as determining protein expression, profiling cell surface markers, identifying biomarkers, and measuring diagnostic factors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to consider using the anticalin of Rauth as part of a protein chip to study the pathophysiology of amyloid beta and, by extension, Alzheimer’s disease.
Furthermore, Muller teaches that protein chips have the issue of non-quantitative detection and immobilization, respectively, of the (indirectly and directly tagged) analytes in course of (partial) masking of the epitopes recognized by the immobilizing anticalin. The problem may be (partially) overcome by a novel type of protein chip that is based on glycosylphosphatidylinositol- (GPI-) anchored proteins (GPI-proteins). Muller teaches that recombinant nucleic acids encoding anticalins as part of a plasmid can be modified to include a signal sequence I (a secretory signal peptide) and signal sequence II (a GPI anchor domain) to generate a GPI-anchored protein in a transfected host cell for improved protein analysis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the anticalin of Rauth as part of the protein chip to include signal sequences I and II as this will improve detection and immobilization.
As Muller uses their GPI anchored protein chips as part of a plasmid system to express the anticalin of interest, it would have been obvious to make this a nucleic acid and transfect a host cell with the nucleic acid encoding the anticalin fusion protein to express the anticalin fusion protein on the surface of the host cell.
Regarding claim 19, as can be seen in Figure 8 of Muller, there is no fluorescent protein encoded by the nucleic acid.
Regarding claim 20, as stated supra, Rauth teaches that their anticalins that bind amyloid beta bind hexamer and decamer epitopes (Figure 4).
Song teaches that the ex vivo method enables precise control (for variables such as the dose). Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/KEENAN A BATES/Examiner, Art Unit 1631