DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 3 – 4, 6 and 9 are pending. Claims 1 – 2, 5 and 7 – 8 are cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 – 4, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warfvinge (U. S. Patent No. 4,594,748) in view of Testone (5596783 A).
Regarding Independent Claim 3, Warfvinge teaches a dust removal device (web cleaner, 1)
comprising: a dedusting head (wall, 19) disposed to face a surface of a target object (web, 9) to be dedusted that moves in a predetermined moving direction (direction of arrow, 18) relative to the dedusting head (Fig. 3),the dedusting head (9) including a discharge outlet (slit, 7) and suction inlet (slits 6 and 8) formed on a bottom surface facing the surface of the target object (9) and arranged at a predetermined interval in the moving direction of the target object (9) relative to the dedusting head (9; Fig. 3), the discharge outlet being configured to discharge gas toward the surface of the target object (Abstract), and the suction inlet (6 and 8) being configured to suck gas from the surface of the target object while the discharge outlet is discharging the gas (Col. 2, line 62 – Col. 3, line 50); wherein the dedusting head (9) further comprises gas discharge paths (Annotated Fig. 3), each of which extending from an opening facing the surface of the target object (9) to the slit; and wherein a cross-section of each of the gas discharge paths (Annotated Fig. 3), parallel to the extending direction of the slit and perpendicular to the slit, has a shape that gradually widens from the opening toward both ends of the slit in the extending direction (As shown in Fig. 3, as the gas flows pass the blades, 10 and 11 the flow gradually widens and further is in an arc shape).
.
Although Warfvinge teaches a plurality of suction inlets, the references fails to explicitly teach wherein the discharge outlet comprises a plurality of slits arranged in an arrangement direction traversing the moving direction of the target object relative to the dedusting head, each slit extending in an extending direction traversing the arrangement direction of the plurality of slits and inclining obliquely with respect to the moving direction of the target object relative to the dedusting head
Testone, however, teaches the discharge outlet comprises a plurality of slits (spaces, 58) arranged in an arrangement direction traversing the moving direction of the target object (S) relative to the dedusting head (12; Fig. 6), each slit (58) extending in an extending direction traversing the arrangement direction of the plurality of slits and inclining obliquely with respect to the moving direction of the target object relative to the dedusting head (suction hood, 12; Figs. 5 and 6)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Warfvinge to further include a plurality of slits, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MEP 2144.04). This modification would be beneficial in providing sufficient gas in which to remove the particles from the web and further could serve as a backup in case one port is not working.
Regarding Claim 4, Warfvinge, as modified, teaches the dust removal device (web cleaner, 1) wherein a cross-section of the gas discharge path (Annotated Fig. 3) has a shape which gradually expands in an arc shape (As shown in Fig. 3, as the gas flows pass the blades, 10 and 11 the flow is an arc shape).
Regarding Claim 6, Warfvinge, as modified, teaches the dust removal device (web cleaner, 1)
according to claim 3 as discussed above.
Warfvinge does not teach wherein the plurality of slits are arranged in parallel.
Testone, however, teaches wherein the plurality of slits (58) are arranged in parallel (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Warfvinge to further include each of the plurality of slits is formed inclining obliquely to the direction of relative movement of the object to be dedusted, as taught by Testone, providing sufficient gas in which to remove the particles from the web and further could serve as a backup in case one port is not working.
Regarding Claim 9, Warfvinge, as modified, teaches the dust removal device (web cleaner, 1)
according to claim 3 as discussed above.
Warfvinge does not teach wherein the arrangement direction of the slits is perpendicular to the moving direction of the target object..
Testone, however, teaches wherein the arrangement direction of the slits (58) is perpendicular to the moving direction of the target object (S; Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Warfvinge to further include each of the plurality of slits extends in parallel to the direction of relative movement of the object to be dedusted, as taught by Testone, providing sufficient gas in which to remove the particles from the web and further could serve as a backup in case one port is not working.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated December 22, 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 2 - 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, after further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Testone.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723