DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Limitation “wherein the laser sensor or the cover is provided on the traveling body such that a minimum incident
angle of the laser light incident on the cover during rotation of the laser light decreases with an increase in a distance between the laser sensor and the cover.
“ is unclear. Nothing in claims indicate that the distance between sensor or cover can be changed, also it is unclear how minimum incident angle decreases(it is already minimum).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20180164829 A1.
Regarding claim 1 D1 teaches
1. (Original) A self-propelled device comprising:
a traveling body that is driven by a wheel;(fig. 3 21)
a laser sensor(fig. 5) that emits laser light while rotating the laser light around the laser sensor and receives reflected light of the laser light to output two-dimensional distance data representing a distance to an object located around the laser sensor for each angle around the laser sensor; [0029]and
a controller that controls traveling of the traveling body on a basis of the two- dimensional distance data output from the laser sensor,[0038] with [0007] and [0002]
wherein the laser sensor is provided on the traveling body such that a scan plane that is a region through which the laser light passes during rotation of the laser light has a predetermined angle with respect to a horizontal plane.(fig. 6)
3. (Currently Amended) The self-propelled device according to claim 1
further comprising a cover(41) that accommodates the laser sensor(4),(implicit the sensor is behind optical window)
wherein the laser sensor or the cover is provided on the traveling body such that an incident angle of the laser light with respect to the cover is greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees.(fig. 4 with fig. 6)
8. (Currently Amended) The self-propelled device according to claim 1 , wherein the traveling body includes three or more drive wheels.(fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Domel (see the NPL reference in IDS).
Regarding claim 2 D1 does not teach but Domel teaches
2. (Original) The self-propelled device according to claim 1, further comprising an arm robot provided on the traveling body,
wherein the laser sensor is provided on the traveling body such that the scan plane includes a movement range of the arm robot.(fig. 3 4 and page 5)
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 US 20180236654 A1.
Although D1 does not explicitly teach
5. (Currently Amended) The self-propelled device according to claim any one of claims 1 , wherein the controller sequentially acquires the two-dimensional distance data from the laser sensor while rotating the traveling body about a rotation axis in a vertical direction, and executes processing of generating three-dimensional data representing a space around the traveling body on a basis of the two-dimensional distance data that has been sequentially acquired.
It is just a matter of obvious modification commonly practiced in the field of LIDARs in order to achieve 3D imaging around the object as described in D2 [0025 0026] where head is rotated in order to achieve 3D coverage.
Although D1 does not explicitly teach
6. (Original) The self-propelled device according to claim 5, wherein the processing of generating the three-dimensional data is executed on a basis of a condition that the self-propelled device is included in a preset region.
7. (Currently Amended) The self-propelled device according to claim 5
wherein the self-propelled device is capable of communicating with a user terminal for operating the self-propelled device, and
the processing of generating the three-dimensional data is executed on a basis of reception of an execution command based on an operation for executing the processing from the user terminal.
Turning on or of by user can be simple operation of claim 7 and therefore can be considered a design choice , similarly operating robot in factory also can be considered design choices and therefore It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by *** with teaching by D1 in order to operate the robot in the factory environment.
Conclusion
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645