DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 and 16 in the reply filed on November19, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because it refers back to multiple dependent claims (1 and 6). Specifically, it is unclear whether claim 7 depends on claim 1, claim 6, or any one of claims 1 through 6.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the parenthetical expression Mn(0.1 to 0.50)MoS₂. It is unclear whether the numerical composition refers to Mn or MoS₂; clarification is required to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheehan et al (US 2013/0234037 A1).
Applicant’s claimed invention is directed to a method for producing methanol (CH30H) from carbon dioxide (C02) and hydrogen (H2), characterized in that comprising reacting CO2 is reacted with H2 over a manganese-promoted molybdenum (IV) sulfide catalyst.
Sheehan teaches the reactor was filled with CO2 to 250 psi and 500 psi of H2 leading to a total pressure at 750 psi > 10 bar. The reactor was then heated to 275° C., for 15 hours prior to cooling and product collection. For product collection, the reactor was vented and disassembled to recover liquid at the bottom of the reactor [0112].
Sheehan teaches sulfide containing Mo based catalyst can be prepared by coprecipitating metal salts with ammonium sulfide, in many cases these can be substituted with a suitable metal salt [0094].
Sheehan teaches the molar ratio of reductant gas:CO2 in the feed mixture is about 10:1 to about 1:10. In some embodiments, the molar ratio of reductant gas:CO2 in the feed mixture is about 5:1 to about 0.5:1. In some embodiments, the ratio of reductant gas:CO2 in the feed mixture is about 3:1 to about 1:1. In some embodiments, the ratio of reductant gas:CO2 in the feed mixture is about 2:1, which falls within the same rage of partial pressure ratio of CO2 to H2 is about 1:2.5 to 1:3.5.
Sheehan teaches the molybdenum is present in an amount of 10-40 wt. %, 10-30 wt. %, or 10-20 wt. % of the total amount of the one or more first elements, the molybdenum, the one or more second element [0038]. One or more second elements selected from sulfur, carbon, oxygen, phosphorus and nitrogen [0014].
Sheehan discloses that carbon dioxide is generated from fossil fuel including the flue gas and atmosphere [0005].
The primary goal of both the claimed invention and Sheehan is to produce alcohol from CO2 hydrogenation, utilizing the same, or closely related, manganese-promoted molybdenum sulfide chemistry.
The claimed method represents a predictable variation of Sheehan. The use of Mn-promoted molybdenum sulfide to catalyze the reduction of carbon dioxide
to methanol was known or predictable, as MoS2-baded catalyst with specific promoter are established in the art for this reaction. A person ordinary skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine these teachings to produce methanol, as it was a known outcome of the catalyst system described in Sheehan.
/JAFAR F PARSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692