DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. In regard to claim 1, Applicant asserts the prior arts fail to teach the following limitations:
“a display area, wherein the display area comprises a normal display area and an optical component area, and a light transmittance within the optical component area is greater than a light transmittance within the normal display area”
“in a thickness direction of the display panel, the second insulating layer covers the at least one first insulating opening, and the first electrode and the at least one first insulating opening at least partially overlap”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. In regard to limitation A, Applicant argues Kang et al. (US 20220059633 A1; hereinafter “Kang”) fails to teach the limitation. Applicant states “the description of light transmittance in KANG primarily pertains
to the transmission area within the component area, rather than treating the component area
as a whole and comparing its transmittance within that of the main display area” (see for example Applicant Arguments/Remarks pg. 15). However, 37 CFR § 1.111 (b) states, "A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section." Applicant has failed to specifically point out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. As the component area CA is shown to contain a transmission area TA and the applicant has not point out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the prior art nor explain why the prior art cannot be combined, the Examiner asserts Kang teaches limitation A.
In regard to argument B, Applicant argues Li et al. (US 20210217781 Al; hereinafter "Li”), fails to teach the limitation. Applicant states “Although Li discloses that "the first conductive pattern layer is disposed on the second insulating layer" and "the second insulating layer is filled into the grooves," it does not clearly define the specific positional relationship between them in the thickness direction, such as whether they overlap, cover, or are offset”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. While the Examiner asserts that Fig. 2 of Li clearly shows a layout where the first electrode 301 overlaps the groove 220. The Examiner notes that Li teaches in FIG. 3, the driving connection electrode 230 and the groove 220 are overlapped in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate 221 (paragraph 82). Therefore, when the first electrode is considered to be formed of the first electrode 301 and its associated driving connection electrode 230, Li teaches the limitation in a thickness direction of the display panel, the second insulating layer covers the at least one first insulating opening, and the first electrode and the at least one first insulating opening at least partially overlap.
Applicant’s arguments in regard to claim 16 filed 01/15/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-15, 17, 19-22 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20210217781 A1; hereinafter “Li”), in view of Kang et al. (US 2022/0059633 A1; hereinafter “Kang”).
In regard to claim 1, Li teaches a display panel (a display panel 20) (Fig. 4 and paragraph 96), comprising: a display area (a display pixel area 210) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 37), wherein the display area comprises a normal display area and an optical component area (an area of the array substrate 200 to the right of a spacer layer 217 functions as the optical component area and an area to the left of the array substrate 200 to the right of a spacer layer 217 functions as the normal display area) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 89),
wherein the optical component area comprises a substrate (a base substrate 211) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 43), an insulating layer (a first insulating layer 212, a second insulating layer 214, a third insulating layer 216, a fourth insulating layer 218 and a gate insulating layer 207 comprise an insulating layer) and a first electrode (a first electrode 301 together with a driving connection electrode 230 functions as the first electrode) (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 43, 78, 80-81 and 93),
wherein the insulating layer comprises a first insulating layer (the gate insulating layer 207 and the first insulating layer 212 comprise a first insulating layer) and a second insulating layer (the second insulating layer 214, the third insulating layer 216, the fourth insulating layer 218 and comprises the second insulating layer), the second insulating layer is located on a side of the first insulating layer facing away from the substrate (the second insulating layer 214 is shown on the topside of the gate insulating layer 207 and the first insulating layer 212 in Fig. 2), and the first insulating layer comprises a first insulating sub-layer (the first insulating layer 212) in contact with the second insulating layer (the first insulating layer 212 is shown in contact with the second insulating layer 214 in Fig. 3); and
wherein the first electrode is located on a side of the second insulating layer facing away from the substrate (the first electrode 301 is shown on the topside of the second insulating layer 214 in Fig. 3); the first insulating sub-layer is provided with at least one first insulating opening (a groove 220 is shown in the first insulating layer 212 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 43); and in a thickness direction of the display panel, the second insulating layer covers the at least one first insulating opening (the second insulating layer 214 is shown covering the groove 220 in the first insulating layer 212 in Fig. 3), and the first electrode and the at least one first insulating opening at least partially overlap (the driving connection electrode 230 and the groove 220 are overlapped in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate 221) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 82).
However, Li doesn’t explicitly teach a light transmittance within the optical component area is greater than a light transmittance within the normal display area.
Kang teaches a display panel (a display panel 10) (Fig. 3 A and paragraph 33), comprising a display area (a display area DA) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 49), wherein the display area comprises a normal display area (a main display area MDA) and an optical component area (a component area CA) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 49), and a light transmittance within the optical component area is greater than a light transmittance within the normal display area (the transmittance of the transmission area TA located in the component area CA would have a higher transmittance than the main display area MDA) (Fig. 2A and paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Kang to have a light transmittance within the optical component area is greater than a light transmittance within the normal display area since this increases device functionality as it enable signals such as light, sound, or other wireless spectrum, to be transmitted through the transmission area TA from within the display or from an external device as taught by Kang (paragraph 52).
In regard to claim 2, Li teaches wherein the first insulating layer further comprises at least one second insulating sub-layer (the gate insulating layer 207 ) located on a side of the first insulating sub- layer facing the substrate (the gate insulating layer 207 is shown on the bottom side of the first insulating layer 212 in Fig. 3);
wherein one second insulating sub-layer at least in contact with the first insulating sub-layer is provided with at least one second insulating opening (the gate insulating layer 207 is shown in contact with the first insulating layer 212 and contains a groove 220) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 93), and in the thickness direction of the display panel, the at least one second insulating opening and the at least one first insulating opening at least partially overlap (the grooves 220 in both the gate insulating layer 207 and the first insulating layer 212 are shown overlapping in Fig .3); and
the second insulating layer fills the at least one first insulating opening and the at least one second insulating opening (the second insulating layer 214 is shown filling both the grooves in the gate insulating layer 207 and the first insulating layer 212 in Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 3, Li teaches wherein one second insulating sub-layer of the at least one second insulating sub-layer is provided with at least one second insulating opening (the gate insulating layer 207 is shown in contact with the first insulating layer 212 and contains a groove 220) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 93).
In regard to claim 4, Li teaches wherein in the thickness direction of the display panel, the first electrode covers the at least one first insulating opening (the first electrode 301 is shown covering the groove 220 in the first insulating layer 212 in Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 5, Li teaches wherein the first insulating layer is provided with one first insulating opening (a groove 220 is shown in the first insulating layer 212 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 43), an opening area of the one first insulating opening is S1 (the width of the groove 220), and a coverage area of the first electrode is S2 (as the width of the first electrode 301 is shown to have a larger width than the groove 220 in Fig. 3, the area of the first electrode 301 equal to the width of the groove 220 serves as a coverage area S2), wherein 0 ≤ (S2 - S1)/S1 ≤ 10% (as the width of the groove and the coverage area of the electrode are equal, the equation is met as it equals 0).
In regard to claim 6, Li teaches a pixel defining layer (a pixel defining layer 215) located on the side of the second insulating layer facing away from the substrate (the pixel defining layer 215 is shown on the topside of the second insulating layer 214 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 88), wherein the pixel defining layer is provided with a first pixel opening (an opening in the pixel defining layer 215 is shown containing an organic light emitting layer 302) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 89), and the first pixel opening exposes the first electrode (the opening in the pixel defining layer 215 is shown exposing the first electrode 301 in Fig. 3);
in the thickness direction of the display panel, the first pixel opening and the at least one first insulating opening do not overlap (an opening in the pixel defining layer 215 is shown not overlapping with a groove 220 is shown in the first insulating layer 212 to the far left in Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 7, Li teaches a pixel defining layer (a pixel defining layer 215) located on the side of the second insulating layer facing away from the substrate (the pixel defining layer 215 is shown on the topside of the second insulating layer 214 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 88), wherein the pixel defining layer is provided with a second pixel opening (an opening in the pixel defining layer 215 is shown containing an organic light emitting layer 302) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 89), and the second pixel opening exposes the first electrode (the opening in the pixel defining layer 215 is shown exposing the first electrode 301 in Fig. 3).
However, Li does not explicitly teach in the thickness direction of the display panel, the at least one first insulating opening covers the second pixel opening.
Kang teaches a display panel (a display panel 10) (Fig. 7 and paragraph 151), wherein in the thickness direction of the display panel, at least one first insulating opening (a first hole H1 interlayer insulating layer 115) covers a second pixel opening (a second opening OP2 in a pixel-defining layer 119) (Fig. 7 and paragraphs 131 and 158).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Kang to have in the thickness direction of the display panel, the at least one first insulating opening covers the second pixel opening since this allows for adjustment in the intensity of the light diffraction in the device as taught by Kang (paragraph 162).
In regard to claim 8, Li teaches a pixel defining layer (a pixel defining layer 215) located on the side of the second insulating layer facing away from the substrate (the pixel defining layer 215 is shown on the topside of the second insulating layer 214 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 88), wherein the pixel defining layer is provided with a third pixel opening (an opening in the pixel defining layer 215 is shown containing an organic light emitting layer 302) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 89), and the third pixel opening exposes the first electrode (the opening in the pixel defining layer 215 is shown exposing the first electrode 301 in Fig. 3); and
in the thickness direction of the display panel, the third pixel opening and the at least one first insulating opening partially overlap (the groove 220 is shown in the first insulating layer 212 is shown partially overlapping the opening in the pixel defining layer 215 in Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 9, Li teaches the display panel according to claim 1, further comprising: a first pixel circuit (second transistor 120) electrically connected to the first electrode (the second source electrode 123 or the second drain electrode 124 of the second transistor 120 is electrically connected to the first electrode 301) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 79),
wherein the first pixel circuit comprises a thin film transistor (the second transistor 120 is a thin film transistor) (paragraph 69), the thin film transistor comprises an active layer (a second active layer 122), a source-drain electrode (a second source electrode 123 and second drain electrode 124), and an interlayer insulating layer (a first insulating layer 212 within the second transistor 120) located between the active layer and the source-drain electrode (the first insulating layer 212 within the second transistor 120 is shown in between the second source electrode 123, second drain electrode 124 and the second active layer 122 in Fig. 3), wherein the interlayer insulating layer is provided with a source-drain via, and the source-drain electrode is electrically connected to the active layer through the source-drain via (the second source electrode 123 and second drain electrode 124 are shown connected to the second active layer 122 through a via in Fig. 3); and
the first insulating layer comprises the interlayer insulating layer (the first insulating layer 212 within the second transistor 120 forms the aforementioned interlayer insulating layer), and the at least one first insulating opening comprises a via prepared in a same process as the source-drain via (as the groove 220 is present in the first insulation layer 212 the method of forming a device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight).
In regard to claim 10, Li teaches wherein the optical component area further comprises a compensation structure (a storage capacitor Cst) comprising at least one compensation film (a second capacitor electrode 412) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 86), wherein in the thickness direction of the display panel, the first electrode and the compensation structure at least partially overlap (the first electrode 301 is shown overlapping the storage capacitor Cst in Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 11, Li teaches wherein the first electrode covers the compensation structure (the first electrode 301 is shown overlapping the storage capacitor Cst in Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 12, Li teaches wherein the at least one compensation film comprises a metal compensation film (a second capacitor electrode 412 can be formed of indium tin oxide) (paragraphs 67 and 86).
In regard to claim 14, Li teaches the display panel, wherein the display panel further comprises a first light-emitting element (a light emitting element 300) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 78), and the first light-emitting element comprises the first electrode (the first electrode is shown to be a part of the lighting element 300 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 78).
Li doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the first light-emitting element comprises a first red light-emitting element, a first green light-emitting element, and a first blue light-emitting element; the first red light-emitting element comprises a first red electrode, the first green light-emitting element comprises a first green electrode, and the first blue light-emitting element comprises a first blue electrode; the at least one first insulating opening comprises at least one first insulating sub-opening, at least one second insulating sub-opening, and at least one third insulating sub-opening; in the thickness direction of the display panel, the first red electrode and the at least one first insulating sub-opening at least partially overlap, the first green electrode and the at least one second insulating sub-opening at least partially overlap, and the first blue electrode and the at least one third insulating sub-opening at least partially overlap; and an opening area sum of the at least one third insulating sub-opening is greater than an opening area sum of the least one first insulating sub-opening, the opening area sum of the at least one first insulating sub-opening is greater than an opening area sum of the at least one second insulating sub-opening
However, the examiner takes official notice Li teaches the following due to the equivalence of components and their known uses within the art.
Li teaches wherein the first light-emitting element comprises a first red light-emitting element, a first green light-emitting element, and a first blue light-emitting element (as the array substrate contains multiple pixel units 201 and the pixel defining layer 215 prevents cross-color during the display operation, any lighting element 300 in a pixel unit 201 is capable of being a red, green or blue light emitting unit) (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, paragraphs 37 and 88); the first red light-emitting element comprises a first red electrode, the first green light-emitting element comprises a first green electrode, and the first blue light-emitting element comprises a first blue electrode (as the array substrate contains multiple pixel units 201 and the pixel defining layer 215 prevents cross-color during the display operation, and it is well known in the art any lighting element 300 in a pixel unit 201 is capable of being a red, green or blue light emitting unit and any associated first electrode 301 would function as a first red, blue or green electrode) (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, paragraphs 37 and 88); the at least one first insulating opening comprises at least one first insulating sub-opening (the groove 220 in the gate insulating layer 207 under one of the plurality of first electrodes designated as the first red electrode), at least one second insulating sub-opening (the groove 220 in the gate insulating layer 207 under one of the plurality of first electrodes designated as the first green electrode), and at least one third insulating sub-opening (the groove 220 in the gate insulating layer 207 under one of the plurality of first electrodes designated as the first blue electrode) (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3); in the thickness direction of the display panel, the first red electrode and the at least one first insulating sub-opening at least partially overlap, the first green electrode and the at least one second insulating sub-opening at least partially overlap, and the first blue electrode and the at least one third insulating sub-opening at least partially overlap (as shown in Fig. 3 the first electrode 301 of the lighting element 300 overlaps the groove 220 in the gate insulating layer 207 and therefore the plurality of first electrodes 301 designated as the first red, green and blue electrodes would do the same);
Further, Li doesn’t explicitly teach an opening area sum of the at least one third insulating sub-opening is greater than an opening area sum of the least one first insulating sub-opening, the opening area sum of the at least one first insulating sub-opening is greater than an opening area sum of the at least one second insulating sub-opening.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the sum area of an opening area different sizes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The Examiner notes that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed opening areas or any unexpected results arising therefrom as the specification allows for the opening areas sizes to be different or the same, either results in adequate heat dissipation within the device (paragraphs 81 and 83). Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen are critical. In re Woodruf, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In regard to claim 15, Li teaches the display panel, wherein the display panel further comprises a first light-emitting element (a light emitting element 300) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 78), and the first light-emitting element comprises the first electrode (the first electrode is shown to be a part of the lighting element 300 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 78).
Li doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the first light-emitting element comprises a first red light-emitting element, a first green light-emitting element, and a first blue light-emitting element; the first red light-emitting element comprises a first red electrode, the first green light-emitting element comprises a first green electrode, and the first blue light-emitting element comprises a first blue electrode; the at least one first insulating opening comprises at least one first insulating sub-opening, at least one second insulating sub-opening, and at least one third insulating sub-opening; in the thickness direction of the display panel, the first red electrode and the at least one first insulating sub-opening at least partially overlap, the first green electrode and the at least one second insulating sub-opening at least partially overlap, and the first blue electrode and the at least one third insulating sub-opening at least partially overlap; and an opening area sum of the at least one third insulating sub-opening is greater than an opening area sum of the least one first insulating sub-opening, the opening area sum of the at least one first insulating sub-opening is greater than an opening area sum of the at least one second insulating sub-opening
However, the examiner takes official notice Li teaches the following due to the equivalence of components and their known uses within the art.
Li teaches wherein the first light-emitting element comprises a first red light-emitting element, a first green light-emitting element, and a first blue light-emitting element (as the array substrate contains multiple pixel units 201 and the pixel defining layer 215 prevents cross-color during the display operation, any lighting element 300 in a pixel unit 201 is capable of being a red, green or blue light emitting unit) (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, paragraphs 37 and 88); the first red light-emitting element comprises a first red electrode, the first green light-emitting element comprises a first green electrode, and the first blue light-emitting element comprises a first blue electrode (as the array substrate contains multiple pixel units 201 and the pixel defining layer 215 prevents cross-color during the display operation, and it is well known in the art any lighting element 300 in a pixel unit 201 is capable of being a red, green or blue light emitting unit and any associated first electrode 301 would function as a first red, blue or green electrode) (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, paragraphs 37 and 88); the at least one first insulating opening comprises at least one first insulating sub-opening (the groove 220 in the gate insulating layer 207 under one of the plurality of first electrodes designated as the first red electrode), at least one second insulating sub-opening (the groove 220 in the gate insulating layer 207 under one of the plurality of first electrodes designated as the first green electrode), and at least one third insulating sub-opening (the groove 220 in the gate insulating layer 207 under one of the plurality of first electrodes designated as the first blue electrode) (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3); in the thickness direction of the display panel, the first red electrode and the at least one first insulating sub-opening at least partially overlap, the first green electrode and the at least one second insulating sub-opening at least partially overlap, and the first blue electrode and the at least one third insulating sub-opening at least partially overlap (as shown in Fig. 3 the first electrode 301 of the lighting element 300 overlaps the groove 220 in the gate insulating layer 207 and therefore the plurality of first electrodes 301 designated as the first red, green and blue electrodes would do the same); and an opening area sum of the at least one first insulating sub-opening, an opening area sum of the at least one second insulating sub-opening, and an opening area sum of the at least one third insulating sub-opening are the same (as the grooves 220 formed in the gate insulating layer 207 in the plurality of pixel units 201 are formed in the same manner the grooves associated with the red, blue and green lighting element 300 would be the same size).
In regard to claim 17, Li teaches wherein the second insulating layer is in contact with the first electrode (the fourth insulating layer 218 of the aforementioned second insulating layer is in contact with the first electrode 301).
In regard to claim 19, Li teaches the display panel according, further comprising: a pixel circuit (a pixel circuit as described in paragraph 40), wherein the pixel circuit comprises a second pixel circuit (second transistor 120) located in the optical component area and electrically connected to the first electrode (the second transistor 120 is electrically connected to the first electrode 301) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 79); and
in the thickness direction of the display panel, the second pixel circuit and the at least one first insulating opening at least partially overlap (the second drain electrode 124 of the second transistor 120 is shown overlapping the groove 220 in Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 20, Li teaches further comprising: at least one thermal conductive bridge in contact with the second insulating layer (the portion of the third insulating layer 216 over the first and second transistor 110 and 120 serves a s a thermal conductive bridge due to its insulating properties and therefore does not conduct electricity or generate heat) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 116).
In regard to claim 21, Li teaches a first display area and a second display area (the first and second display area are shown in annotated Fig. 3 below),
wherein the first display area surrounds at least part of the optical component area (the first display area is shown surrounding the area to the right of the area of the array substrate 200 to the right of a spacer layer 217 in annotated Fig. 3 below), and the second display area surrounds at least part of the first display area (as the first and second display areas are adjacent to one another the second display area is shown surrounding the first display areas in annotated Fig. 3); and
in the thickness direction of the display panel, the thermal conductive bridge overlaps at least one of the first display area or the second display area (the portion of the third insulating layer 216 over the first and second transistor 110 and 120 is shown in the first and second display area in annotated Fig. 3 below).
In regard to claim 22, Li teaches wherein the first insulating sub-layer is provided with a plurality of first insulating openings (the first insulating layer 212 has a plurality of grooves 220 as shown in Fig. 3);
in different unit areas, a maximum value of an opening area sum of the plurality of first insulating openings is S3 and a minimum value of the opening area sum of the plurality of first insulating openings is S4 (the sum of the grooves 220 around the transistors as shown in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 62), wherein (S3 - S4) / S3 ≤ 20% (the plurality of grooves 220 can be formed around the gate of any transistor and therefore the grooves in the different areas can be the same size thus satisfying the equation by S3- S4 equaling 0) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 62).
In regard to claim 25, the display panel according, further comprising: a first display area (the inner portion of the display pixel area 210 as shown in annotated Fig. 1) and a second display area (the outer portion of the display pixel area 210 as shown in annotated Fig. 1) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 37),
wherein the first display area surrounds at least part of the optical component area, and the second display area surrounds at least part of the first display area (the outer portion of the display pixel area 210 is shown surrounding the inner portion, where the inner portion is shown containing the pixel unit 201 which contain the area to the right of the spacer layer 217) (annotated Fig. 1, Fig. 3 and paragraph 40); and
the display panel further comprises a pixel circuit (a pixel circuit as described in paragraph 40), wherein the pixel circuit comprises a first pixel circuit (second transistor 120) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 79), and the first pixel circuit is located in the first display area and is electrically connected to the first electrode (the second transistor 120 is electrically connected to the first electrode 301) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 79).
In regard to claim 26, Li teaches a display device (a mobile phone) (paragraph 98), comprising: a display panel (a display panel 20) (Fig. 4 and paragraph 96), wherein the display panel comprises an optical component area (an area of the array substrate 200 to the right of a spacer layer 217 as shown in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 89), wherein the optical component area comprises a substrate (a base substrate 211) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 43), an insulating layer (a first insulating layer 212, a second insulating layer 214, a third insulating layer 216, a fourth insulating layer 218 and a gate insulating layer 207 comprise an insulating layer) and a first electrode (a first electrode 301) (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 43, 78, 80 and 93),
wherein the insulating layer comprises a first insulating layer (the gate insulating layer 207 and the first insulating layer 212 comprise a first insulating layer) and a second insulating layer (the second insulating layer 214, the third insulating layer 216, the fourth insulating layer 218 and comprises the second insulating layer), the second insulating layer is located on a side of the first insulating layer facing away from the substrate (the second insulating layer 214 is shown on the topside of the gate insulating layer 207 and the first insulating layer 212 in Fig. 2), and the first insulating layer comprises a first insulating sub-layer (the first insulating layer 212) in contact with the second insulating layer (the first insulating layer 212 is shown in contact with the second insulating layer 214 in Fig. 3); and
wherein the first electrode is located on a side of the second insulating layer facing away from the substrate (the first electrode 301 is shown on the topside of the second insulating layer 214 in Fig. 3); the first insulating sub-layer is provided with at least one first insulating opening (a groove 220 is shown in the first insulating layer 212 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 43); and in a thickness direction of the display panel, the second insulating layer covers the at least one first insulating opening (the second insulating layer 214 is shown covering the groove 220 in the first insulating layer 212 in Fig. 3), and the first electrode and the at least one first insulating opening at least partially overlap (the driving connection electrode 230 and the groove 220 are overlapped in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate 221) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 82).
Kang teaches a display panel (a display panel 10) (Fig. 3 A and paragraph 33), comprising a display area (a display area DA) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 49), wherein the display area comprises a normal display area (a main display area MDA) and an optical component area (a component area CA) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 49), and a light transmittance within the optical component area is greater than a light transmittance within the normal display area (the transmittance of the transmission area TA located in the component area CA would have a higher transmittance than the main display area MDA) (Fig. 2A and paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Kang to have a light transmittance within the optical component area is greater than a light transmittance within the normal display area since this increases device functionality as it enable signals such as light, sound, or other wireless spectrum, to be transmitted through the transmission area TA from within the display or from an external device as taught by Kang (paragraph 52).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Kang as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2014/0140019 A1; hereinafter “Park”)
In regard to claim 16, Li teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer further comprises a third insulating sub-layer (the gate insulating layer 207) and a fourth insulating sub-layer (the first insulating layer 212) (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 43 and 91), and at least the third insulating sub-layer and the fourth insulating sub-layer located between the third insulating sub-layer and the second insulating layer is provided with at least one insulating opening (both the gate insulating layer 207 and the first insulating layer 212 are shown to contain an opening for the groove 220 as shown in Fig. 3).
However, Li in view of Kang doesn’t explicitly teach compactness of the third insulating sub-layer is greater than compactness of the fourth insulating sub-layer.
Park teaches a display panel (a display apparatus 1) (Fig.2A and paragraph 53), wherein compactness of the third insulating sub-layer (a first insulating layer 12) is greater than compactness of the fourth insulating sub-layer (a second insulating layer 14 is formed thicker than the first insulating layer 12) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 94).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings Li with the teachings of Park to have compactness of the third insulating sub-layer is greater than compactness of the fourth insulating sub-layer since layer compactness since insulating layer thickness is chosen based on the needs of insulation and components needed to be separated as taught by Park (paragraph 94). Further the examiner notes that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed compactness of the third insulating sub-layer or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen compactness of the third insulating sub-layer is critical. In re Woodruf, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Kang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wakita et al. (US 2016/0002407 A1; hereinafter “Wakita”).
In regard to claim 23, Li doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the substrate is embedded with dopant particles, wherein a thermal conductivity of the dopant particles is greater than a thermal conductivity of a material of the substrate.
Wakita teaches a display panel (a flexible display panel), wherein a substrate is embedded with dopant particles (polyimide precursor resin containing an inorganic filler) (paragraphs 4 and 92), wherein a thermal conductivity of the dopant particles is greater than a thermal conductivity of a material of the substrate (the silica fine particles, alumina fine particles, titania fine particles, zirconia fine particles have a higher thermal conductivity than the materials used as the polyimide precursor that will become a polyimide film) (paragraphs 20 and 52).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine teachings of Li with the teachings of Wakita to have the substrate is embedded with dopant particles, wherein a thermal conductivity of the dopant particles is greater than a thermal conductivity of a material of the substrate since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEYON ALI-SIMAH PUNCHBEDDELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893