DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a first action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 1-26, 48, and 61 are pending in this application.
Priority
This instant application is a 35 USC 371 National Stage filing of international application No. PCT/US21/52269 filed on 28 Sep. 2021 and claims benefit under 35 USC 119(e) to US provisional application No. 63/086,163 filed on 1 Oct. 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 30 Mar. 2023, 18 Apr. 2023, 18 Apr. 2023, 3 May 2023, and 28 Jul. 2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 9, it is not clear if the following recitations are merely examples, alternate names, abbreviations or required limitations: “(DTIC)” “(nitrogen mustard)”, “(BCNU)”, “(CCNU)”, “(ara-C)”, “(Adriamycin)”, or “(VP-16)”.
Claim 9 contains the trademark/trade names Adriamycin and VP-16. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade names are used to identify/describe pharmaceutic preparations for the treatment of cancer and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
In claim 13, the recitation of “other PSMA ligands/inhibitors” is indefinite because it is not clear what qualifies as other PSMA ligands/inhibitors, as this is neither a term of art nor clearly defined in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-26, 48, and 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bander et al. (WO 2018/204477 A1; published 8 Nov. 2018; see IDS filed 30 Mar. 2023), in view of Bander et al. (WO 02/098897 A2; published 12 Dec. 2002; see attached 892; “Bander et al. II”) and Liu et al. (Cancer Res.; published 1998; see attached 892).
Bander et al. teach methods and reagents for tumor targeting with greater efficacy and less toxicity (see title). Bander et al. teach a method of treating cancer comprising a first agent couple to a first cancer therapeutic component and providing a second agent comprising a second targeting component coupled to a second therapeutic component (see abstract). The invention has devised a way to overcome the MTD of a targeted agent in order to achieve improved efficacy ([0009], [0023]). The cancer is prostate cancer, neuroendocrine cancer, breast cancer, or non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma ([0026]). Neuroendocrine tumors include carcinoid tumors, etc ([0072]). The first and second agent may target different molecular targets on the same cell or may bind to the same receptor (e.g., PSMA) expressed by the same cell type or HER1 and HER2 expressed on the same cell type ([0041]-[0042]). The first and second therapeutic component is a radionuclide selected from 177Lu, etc ([0045]-[0046]) or a chemotherapeutic agent selected from the group consisting of busulfan, etc ([0048]). Doses can range from 25% to about 100% of the MTD ([0051], [0053]). In one embodiment the first agent is J591-177Lu and the second agent is PSMA617-177Lu or PSMA I&T-177Lu ([0071]). In one embodiment the first and second component target the somatostatin receptor ([0073], [0076]) or the HER receptor family ([0078]) and the cancer is breast cancer ([0077]-[0078]). The cancer may be non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma and the first and second component target CD20 ([0080]-[0081]). Bander et al. disclose a method of treating/imaging cancer in a subject comprising administering to the subject having cancer a composition comprising J591-177Lu (i.e. 75 µCi) and PSMA-617-177Lu (200 µCi) well below its MTD (example 2; Figs. 2, 3). (This reads on method and composition that administers to a subject having human prostate cancer cells a combination therapeutic for treating cancer comprising (i) a first targeting component coupled to a cancer therapeutic (PSMA-617-177Lu; small molecule), and (ii) a second agent comprising a second targeting component coupled to a second therapeutic component (J591-177Lu; antibody) wherein the second agent increases the uptake and internalization of the first or an targeting component wherein the first and second agents are different and target the same molecular target (PSMA) and target a cancer cell receptor.) Where the target molecule/receptor is internalized additive amounts of the 2 will therefore be internalized. If the 2 targeting agents have different properties and are non-overlapping, the 2 agents can be co-administered to result in additive binding/uptake by targeted cells without causing any added toxicity ([0104]). The tumor gets additive dosing while the non-target normal tissues do not receive additive doses ([0109]). Bander et al. teach human subjects (pg. 22).
Bander et al. do not disclose the instant methods of treating/imaging, combination therapeutic or imaging system wherein the second agent comprises a second targeting component alone such as J591. Bander et al. do not further exemplify a method optionally wherein the subject is human and optionally wherein the maximum tolerated dose of cancer therapeutic is given during the administering of the combination or a method wherein the cancer therapeutic is busulfan or wherein the subject is human. Bander et al. do not further exemplify a method wherein the cancer is a neuroendocrine cancer such as carcinoid tumors or wherein the first or second targeting components target the somatostatin receptor-2 isoform.
Bander et al. II teach modified antibodies to prostate-specific membrane antigen and uses thereof (see title). Bander et al. II teach J591 [0010], [0012]). Bander et al. II teach that the antibody can be administered alone in non-derivatized unconjugated form ([0059], [0061], [p0087) to thereby ablate or kill the PSMA-expressing cancer by e.g. antibody dependent cell killing mechanisms ([0070],[0076], [00118], [00254]). Combinations of the anti-PSMA antibody and a drug are in the scope of the invention ([0062], [0077], [0078], [00269]). Bander et al. teach internalization ([0014], [0267]).
Liu et al. teach constitutive and antibody induced internalization of prostate membrane antigen (see title). Liu et al. that in the presence of mAb J591 to PSMAext, the rate of internalization of PMSA increased up to 3-fold in a dose dependent manner reaching a maximum rate at an antibody concentration of 1-2 µg/mL (pg. 4058; Fig. 4,
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combinations and method of Bander et al. (combinations and methods comprising J591-177Lu and PSMA-617-177Lu for the treatment of PSMA expressing cancers) so that the second agent antibody such as J591-177Lu is administering alone in unconjugated form as in J591 without a therapeutic component as taught and made obvious by Bander et al., Bander et al. II and Liu et al. because the J591 alone would have been expected to provide simplified compositions and methods (e.g. fewer (radio)synthesis steps) wherein the J591 alone in combination with PSMA-617-177Lu would have been expected to advantageously enable additive internalization of the PSMA-617-177Lu whereby improving PSMA-617-177Lu imaging and therapy and efficacy.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bander et al. so that the first and second targeting agents target different targets on the same cell as taught by Bander et al. because it would have been expected to enable an equivalent method of treating cancer using a second agent that induces internalization of the first agent. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bander et al. so that the subject is human and so that the maximum therapeutic dose of the cancer therapeutic is given during the administering as taught by Bander et al. because it would have been expected to advantageously enable maximal therapeutic efficacy optionally in human subjects. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bander et al. so that the cancer therapeutic agent is a chemotherapeutic agent such as busulfan as taught by Bander et al. because it would have been expected to enable enhanced chemotherapeutic treatment of PSMA expressing cancer such as prostate cancer. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Bander et al. so that first and second therapeutic agent target somatostatin receptor-2 isoform and so that the cancer is a neuroendocrine cancer such as a carcinoid tumor or so that the first and second component target the HER receptor family and the cancer is breast cancer or so that the first and second component target is CD20 and cancer is non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma as taught by Bander et al. because it would have been expected to advantageously enable a simplified and equivalent combination treatments of carcinoid tumors, breast cancer, and non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma where the second agent improves internalization of the first agent.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-26, 48, and 61 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-59 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,247 B2, in view of Bander et al. (WO 2018/204477 A1; published 8 Nov. 2018; see IDS filed 30 Mar. 2023), and Bander et al. (WO 02/098897 A2; published 12 Dec. 2002; see attached 892; “Bander et al. II”).
Claims 1-59 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,247 B2 claim a combination therapeutic and a method of treating prostate cancer the method comprising administering to the subject having prostate cancer the first agent coupled to a first therapeutic component and a second agent coupled to a second therapeutic component under conditions effective to treat prostate cancer optionally wherein the first and second targeting components target the same or different molecular targets on the same cell optionally wherein the MTD or less than the MTD of the first and second components are given, optionally wherein the first and second components are selected from 177Lu etc, optionally wherein the first agent is J591-177Lu and the second agent is PMSA-617-177Lu and optionally wherein the subject is human.
Claims 1-59 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,247 B2 do not claim the instant methods of treating/imaging, combination therapeutic or imaging system wherein the second agent comprises a second targeting component alone such as J591. Claims 1-59 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,247 B2 do not further claim the instant method wherein the cancer therapeutic is a chemotherapeutic selected from busulfan, etc. Claims 1-59 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,247 B2 do not further claim the instant method the cancer is a neuroendocrine cancer such as carcinoid tumors and the first and second components target the somatostatin receptor-2 isoform or further claim a method wherein the cancer is non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and the first and second components target CD20 or claim a method wherein the cancer is breast cancer and the first and second components target the HER receptor family.
Bander et al. teach as discussed above.
Bander et al. II teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify claims 1-59 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,247 B2 to arrive at the instant methods of imaging or treating or the combination therapeutic or imaging system so that the second agent comprising the second targeting component is alone without the therapeutic component such as in J591 as taught by Bander et al. and Bander et al. II because the second component alone such as J591 without the therapeutic component would have been expected to advantageously provide simplified methods and compositions (e.g. fewer (radio)synthesis steps) and enable improved imaging by therapy by providing additive internalization of the first agent whereby enhancing tumor uptake and retention.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-59 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,247 B2 so that the cancer therapeutic component is a chemotherapeutic component such as busulfan as taught by Bander et al. because the chemotherapeutic component such as busulfan would have been expected to provide an equivalent therapeutic component capable of treating cancer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-59 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,247 B2 so that first and second therapeutic agent target somatostatin receptor-2 isoform and the cancer is a neuroendocrine cancer such as a carcinoid tumor or so that the first and second component target the HER receptor family and the cancer is breast cancer or so that the first and second component target CD20 and cancer is non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma as taught by Bander et al. because it would have been expected to advantageously enable a simplified and equivalent combination treatments of carcinoid tumors, breast cancer, and non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma where the second agent alone induces internalization of the first agent.
Claims 1-26, 48, and 61 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,101 B2, in view of Bander et al. (WO 2018/204477 A1; published 8 Nov. 2018; see IDS filed 30 Mar. 2023), and Bander et al. (WO 02/098897 A2; published 12 Dec. 2002; see attached 892; “Bander et al. II”).
Claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,101 B2 claim a method for treating prostate cancer, the method comprising co-administering to a subject in need thereof, a therapeutically effective amount of J591-Ac225 and a therapeutically effective amount of a PSMA-Lu177 peptide, wherein the subject is human wherein the PSMA-Lu177 is administered at its MTD or less than its MTD.
Claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,101 B2 do not claim the instant methods of treating/imaging, combination therapeutic or imaging system wherein the second agent comprises a second targeting component alone such as J591. Claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,101 B2 do not further claim the instant method wherein the cancer therapeutic is a chemotherapeutic selected from busulfan, etc. Claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,101 B2 do not further claim the instant method the cancer is a neuroendocrine cancer such as carcinoid tumors and the first and second components target the somatostatin receptor-2 isoform or further claim a method wherein the cancer is non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and the first and second components target CD20 or claim a method wherein the cancer is breast cancer and the first and second components target the HER receptor family.
Bander et al. teach as discussed above.
Bander et al. II teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,101 B2 to arrive at the instant methods of imaging or treating or the combination therapeutic or imaging system so that the second agent comprising the second targeting component is alone without the therapeutic component such as J591 as taught by Bander et al. and Bander et al. II because the second component alone such as J591 without the therapeutic component would have been expected to advantageously provide simplified methods and compositions (e.g. fewer (radio)synthesis steps) and enable improved imaging by therapy by providing additive internalization of the first agent whereby enhancing tumor uptake and retention.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,101 B2 so that the cancer therapeutic component is a chemotherapeutic component such as busulfan as taught by Bander et al. because the chemotherapeutic component such as busulfan would have been expected to provide an equivalent therapeutic component capable of treating cancer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,101 B2 so that first and second therapeutic agent target somatostatin receptor-2 isoform and the cancer is a neuroendocrine cancer such as a carcinoid tumor or so that the first and second component target the HER receptor family and the cancer is breast cancer or so that the first and second component target CD20 and cancer is non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma as taught by Bander et al. because it would have been expected to advantageously enable a simplified and equivalent combination treatments of carcinoid tumors, breast cancer, and non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma.
Claims 1-26, 48, and 61 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,503 B2, in view of Bander et al. (WO 2018/204477 A1; published 8 Nov. 2018; see IDS filed 30 Mar. 2023), and Bander et al. (WO 02/098897 A2; published 12 Dec. 2002; see attached 892; “Bander et al. II”).
Claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,503 B2 claim a combination therapeutic and a method for treating prostate cancer, the method comprising co-administering to a subject in need thereof, a therapeutically effective amount of J591-Ac225 and a therapeutically effective amount of a PSMA ligand inhibitor wherein the PSMA ligand/inhibitor is PSMA-Lu177 optionally wherein the J591-Ac225 and PSMA ligand/inhibitor are co-administered allowing to be dosed at about 25% to 100% of their MTD.
Claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,503 B2 do not claim the instant methods of treating/imaging, combination therapeutic or imaging system wherein the second agent comprises a second targeting component alone such as J591. Claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,503 B2 do not further claim the instant method wherein the cancer therapeutic is a chemotherapeutic selected from busulfan, etc. Claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,503 B2 do not further claim the instant method the cancer is a neuroendocrine cancer such as carcinoid tumors and the first and second components target the somatostatin receptor-2 isoform or further claim a method wherein the cancer is non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and the first and second components target CD20 or claim a method wherein the cancer is breast cancer and the first and second components target the HER receptor family.
Bander et al. teach as discussed above.
Bander et al. II teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,503 B2 to arrive at the instant methods of imaging or treating or the combination therapeutic or imaging system so that the second agent comprising the second targeting component is alone without the therapeutic component such as J591 as taught by Bander et al. and Bander et al. II because the second component alone such as J591 without the therapeutic component would have been expected to advantageously provide simplified methods and compositions (e.g. fewer (radio)synthesis steps) and enable improved imaging by therapy by providing additive internalization of the first agent whereby enhancing tumor uptake and retention.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,503 B2 so that the cancer therapeutic component is a chemotherapeutic component such as busulfan as taught by Bander et al. because the chemotherapeutic component such as busulfan would have been expected to provide an equivalent therapeutic component capable of treating cancer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,503 B2 so that first and second therapeutic agent target somatostatin receptor-2 isoform and the cancer is a neuroendocrine cancer such as a carcinoid tumor or so that the first and second component target the HER receptor family and the cancer is breast cancer or so that the first and second component target CD20 and cancer is non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma as taught by Bander et al. because it would have been expected to advantageously enable a simplified and equivalent combination treatments of carcinoid tumors, breast cancer, and non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma.
Claims 1-26, 48, and 61 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20, and 28-30 of copending Application No. 18/247,427, in view of Bander et al. (WO 2018/204477 A1; published 8 Nov. 2018; see IDS filed 30 Mar. 2023), and Bander et al. (WO 02/098897 A2; published 12 Dec. 2002; see attached 892; “Bander et al. II”). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-20, and 28-30 of copending Application No. 18/247,427 claim a therapeutic composition and a method of treating cancer comprising administering a first agent comprising a first targeting component coupled to a first cancer therapeutic component such as J591-Lu177 and second agent coupled comprising a second targeting component coupled to second cancer therapeutic such as PSMA 617-Lu177 optionally wherein the first and second targeting components target the same or different molecular targets on the same cell, optionally wherein the MTDs or less than the MTDS of the first and second therapeutic components are given, optionally wherein the first and/or second therapeutic component is cytotoxic agent such as busulfan, optionally wherein the subject is human, optionally wherein the cancer is a prostate cancer , neuroendocrine cancer, breast cancer, non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and optionally wherein the first and second therapeutic components are different and target a cancer cell membrane molecule.
Claims 1-20, and 28-30 of copending Application No. 18/247,427 do not claim the instant methods of treating/imaging, combination therapeutic or imaging system wherein one of the targeting components is alone without a therapeutic component such as J591. Claims 1-20, and 28-30 of copending Application No. 18/247,427 do not claim the instant method wherein the first and second targeting components target the somatostatin receptor-2 isoform or the HER receptor family or CD20 or wherein the neuroendocrine cancer is selected from carcinoid tumors.
Bander et al. teach as discussed above.
Bander et al. II teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify claims 1-20, and 28-30 of copending Application No. 18/247,427 to arrive at the instant methods of imaging or treating or the combination therapeutic or imaging system so that the antibody agent comprising the targeting component is alone without the therapeutic component such as J591 and increases internalization of the other agent comprising a therapeutic component as taught by Bander et al. and Bander et al. II because the antibody agent alone such as J591 without the therapeutic component would have been expected to advantageously provide simplified methods and compositions (e.g. fewer (radio)synthesis steps) and enable improved imaging and therapy by providing additive internalization of the agent comprising a therapeutic component whereby enhancing tumor uptake and retention.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-20, and 28-30 of copending Application No. 18/247,427 so the first and second targeting components target the somatostatin receptor-2 isoform or the HER receptor family or CD20 or wherein the neuroendocrine cancer is selected from carcinoid tumors as taught by Bander et al. those targeting components would have been expected to advantageously enable targeting neuroendocrine cancer, breast cancer, or non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and because the carcinoid tumors would have been expected be neuroendocrine tumors comprising somatostatin receptors.
Conclusion
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618