DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 12/30/2025. Claims 1 and 3 are currently amended. Claims 1-17 are pending review in this action. The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claim 3. The previous 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claim 1, however the previously cited prior art has been upheld as reading on the claims. Updated rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are detailed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 11/08/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanai et al. (US 2008/0171259 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 05/29/2024) further in view of Shimizu et al. (US 2014/0308550 A1).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Kanai discloses a battery module, comprising: a cell assembly (assembled battery, 80) including a plurality of secondary batteries (laminated battery, 1) stacked on each other (Figures 1 and 8, [0045, 0047, 0080]). Kanai further discloses a module case (housing case, 70) including a lower plate (bottom, 78), at least one side plate (side wall, 75), and an upper plate (lid, 50) to form an inner space so that the cell assembly (assembled battery, 80) is accommodated therein, the module case (housing case, 70) including a trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) formed in at least a part of an inner surface of the at least one side plate (side wall, 75) to be concave outward (Figures 7 and 8, [0081-0083]). Kanai further discloses that the module case (housing case, 70) having a front side and a rear side, a first direction (see annotated Figure 7 below) extending between the front side and the rear side of the module case (housing case, 70) and a first centerline (see annotated Figure 7 below) between the front side and the rear side extending in a second direction (see annotated Figure 7 below), where the trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) may be formed to be offset in the first direction (see annotated Figure 7 below) (Figures 7 and 8).
Kanai is deficient in disclosing that a center of the trap is formed to be offset from the first centerline in the first direction.
Shimizu discloses a battery module (battery pack, 200) comprising a plurality of secondary batteries (cells, 100) stacked together and accommodated in a module case (pack case, 20) (Figure 2, [0049-0051, 0057]). Shimizu further discloses that the module case (pack case, 20) comprises a trap (first exhaust passage, 50, and first exhaust port, 53) (Figure 2, [0051]). Shimizu further discloses that the trap (first exhaust passage, 50, and first exhaust port, 53) is located only on one side of a centerline (centerline from left to right of page in Figure 2) of the battery module (battery pack, 200) (Figure 2).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the location of the trap of Kanai relative to the first centerline, a location which is fully on one side of the first centerline, as it is known in the art as a useful configuration for a trap to be located only one side of a centerline of a battery module, as taught by Shimizu. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification the skilled artisan would appreciate that a center of the trap is necessarily formed to be offset from the first centerline in the first direction. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 7 (Kanai US 2008/0171259 A1)
In Regards to Claim 2 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Kanai further discloses that the trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) protrudes outward at an outer surface of the at least one side plate (side wall, 75) (Figure 7, [0082]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
In Regards to Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Kanai further discloses that the plurality of secondary batteries (laminated battery, 1) are pouch-type (laminated) secondary batteries and the plurality of pouch-type secondary batteries (laminated battery, 1) are stacked in a vertical direction in a laid-down state (Figures 1 and 7, [0045, 0047]). Kanai further discloses that an electrode lead (electrode terminals, 3/4) of each of the plurality of pouch-type secondary batteries (laminated battery, 1) is located in the first direction (see annotated Figure 7 below), and wherein the module case (housing case, 70) is configured such that at least one of the front side and the rear side is open (electrode ejection slot, 74) (Figures 1 and 7, [0048, 0081]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
In Regards to Claim 4 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Kanai further discloses that when gas is generated from the cell assembly (assembled battery, 80), the module case (housing case, 70) is configured to discharge the generated gas to at least one of the front side and the rear side of the module case (housing case, 70) via the gas path (77) (Figure 8, [0082-0083]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
In Regards to Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Kanai discloses that the trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) is configured to be located at only one side of the first centerline (see annotated Figure 7 above). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
In Regards to Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Kanai further discloses that the at least one side plate (side wall, 75) includes a left plate (“back” side wall, 75, in Figure 7) and a right plate (“front” side wall, 75, in Figure 7) (Figure 7, [0081]).
Kanai is deficient in disclosing that the trap includes a left trap formed at the left plate and a right trap formed at the right plate, and wherein the left trap and the right trap are configured to be located at opposite sides of the first centerline.
Shimizu discloses a battery module (battery pack, 200) comprising a plurality of secondary batteries (cells, 100) stacked together and accommodated in a module case (pack case, 20) (Figure 2, [0049-0051, 0057]). Shimizu further discloses that the module case (pack case, 20) comprises a first trap (first exhaust passage, 50, and first exhaust port, 53) and a second trap (second exhaust passage, 60, and second exhaust port, 63) (Figure 2, [0051]). Shimizu further discloses that the first trap (first exhaust passage, 50, and first exhaust port, 53) and the second trap (second exhaust passage, 60, and second exhaust port, 63) are located on opposite sides of a centerline (centerline from left to right of page in Figure 2) of the battery module (battery pack, 200) (Figure 2).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the trap configuration of Kanai to include a first trap on the left plate and a second trap on the right plate, wherein the first trap and the second plate are location on opposite sides of the first centerline, as such a trap configuration is known in the art as a useful configuration for two traps to be located on opposite sides of a centerline of a battery module, as taught by Shimizu. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
In Regards to Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Kanai further discloses that a depth of the concave portion of the trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) gradually increases in the first direction (see annotated Figure 7 above). Particularly, a depth of the concave portion at the ejection port (72) is greater than a depth of the concave portion at a region adjacent the ejection port (72) in the front direction (see annotated Figure 7 below). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
Annotated Figure 7 (Kanai US 2008/0171259 A1)
In Regards to Claim 9 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Kanai further discloses that the module case (housing case, 70) further includes a protrusion (ejection port, 72) formed at a front end of the trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) to protrude in the second direction (see annotated Figure 7 above) (Figure 7, [0083]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
In Regards to Claim 10 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Kanai further discloses that a front end and a rear end of the trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) is formed to be concave in the first direction (see annotated Figure 7 below). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 10 are met.
Annotated Figure 7 (Kanai US 2008/0171259 A1)
In Regards to Claim 11 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Kanai is deficient in disclosing a battery pack, comprising a plurality of battery modules according to Claim 1.
Shimizu discloses a battery module (battery assemblies) comprising a plurality of secondary batteries (batteries) [0002]. Shimizu further discloses that one or more battery modules (battery assemblies) may be connected together to form a battery pack in order to power electronic devices [0002].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to connect multiple battery modules of Kanai together to form a battery pack, as such a configuration is known in the art as suitable method of scaling the output of a battery configuration, as taught by Shimizu. Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 11 are met.
In Regards to Claim 12 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Kanai further discloses an energy storage system (battery module for electric automobile), comprising the battery module according to Claim 1 (Figure 8, [0002]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 12 are met.
In Regards to Claim 13 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Kanai further discloses that the trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) comprises a first end wall (see annotated Figure 7 below), a second end wall (see annotated Figure 7 below), and a central wall (see annotated Figure 7 below) extending between the first end wall (see annotated Figure 7 below) and the second end wall (see annotated Figure 7 below) (Figure 7). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 13 are met.
Annotated Figure 7 (Kanai US 2008/0171259 A1)
In Regards to Claim 14 (Dependent Upon Claim 13):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 13 as set forth above.
Kanai is silent to the dimensions of the first end wall and the second end wall in the second direction.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the length of the first end wall, a length which is greater than the length of the second end wall, as such a length configuration is one of a finite number of possible length configurations that the first end wall and the second end wall could have wherein the central wall may extend between the first end wall and the second end wall (MPEP 2143 I, E). For example, the first end wall may only have a length which is greater than, less than, or equal to the length of the second end wall. Upon the above selection, all of the limitations of Claim 14 are met.
In Regards to Claim 15 (Dependent Upon Claim 13):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 13 as set forth above. Kanai further discloses a protrusion (ejection port, 72) extending outwardly from the central wall (see annotated Figure 7 below) (Figure 7, [0083]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 15 are met.
In Regards to Claim 16 (Dependent Upon Claim 13):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 13 as set forth above. Kanai further discloses a guide (gas path, 77) formed in the at least one side plate (side wall, 75), the guide (gas path, 77) being parallel to the central wall (see annotated Figure 7 below) (Figures 7 and 8, [0083]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 16 are met.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanai et al. (US 2008/0171259 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 05/29/2024) as modified by Shimizu et al. (US 2014/0308550 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitai (US 4,117,205).
In Regards to Claim 8 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above. Kanai further discloses that the at least one side plate (side wall, 75) further includes a guide (gas path, 77) which leads towards the trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) (Figure 8, [0083]). Kanai further discloses that the guide (gas path, 77) serves to direct fluid (gas) towards the trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) (Figure 8, [0083]).
Kanai is deficient in disclosing that the guide is formed to be inclined toward the trap.
Kitai discloses a battery module (storage battery, 10) comprising a module case (battery casing, 12, and closure, 14), wherein the module case (battery casing, 12, and closure, 14) comprises a trap (returning port, 36) (Figures 1 and 2, p.4, Col. 2, lines 50-57, and p. 5, Col. 4, lines 29-36). Kitai further discloses that the module case (battery casing, 12, and closure, 14) further includes a guide (inclined bottom, 32) which is inclined towards the trap (returning port, 36), thus serving to direct fluid (water) towards the trap (returning port, 36) (Figure 2, p. 5, Col. 4, lines 29-36).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the guide of Kanai to be inclined towards the trap, as it is known in the art that having a guide for fluid be inclined towards a trap within a battery module, as taught by Kitai. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanai et al. (US 2008/0171259 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 05/29/2024) as modified by Shimizu et al. (US 2014/0308550 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Suba et al. (US 2019/0181419 A1).
In Regards to Claim 17 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kanai as modified by Shimizu discloses the battery module of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Kanai is deficient in disclosing that the battery module comprises a mesh or porous material in the trap.
Suba discloses a battery module (battery, 100) comprising a plurality of secondary batteries (jellyrolls, 208) accommodated within a module case (sidewalls, 102) (Figures 2 and 3, [0110-0111]). Suba further discloses that the module case (sidewalls, 102) comprises a trap (vent assembly, 300) (Figure 2, [0130]). Suba further discloses that the trap (vent assembly, 300) includes a mesh, which serves to lower temperature of gas being discharged from the battery module (battery, 100), thus improving the overall safety of the battery module (battery, 100) (Figure 2, [0130, 0261]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the trap of Kanai to include the mesh of Suba in order to reduce the temperature of the exhaust gas, thus improving the overall safety of the battery module, as taught by Suba. Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 17 are met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the limitation “a center of the trap being formed to be offset from the first centerline in the first direction” of amended Claim 1 is not taught by the previously cited prior art. The Applicant specifically argues that the trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) of Kanai et al. (US 2008/0171259 A1) is arranged to align with the first centerline in the first direction.
The examiner acknowledges that Kanai fails to explicitly disclose that a center of the trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) is offset from the first centerline (see annotated Figure 7 above) in the first direction (see annotated Figure 7 above). However, the examiner notes that Kanai as modified by Shimizu et al. (US 2014/0308550 A1) (as detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1) meets all of the limitations of Claim 1.
As stated above in the rejection of Claim 1, Kanai discloses a module case (housing case, 70), the module case (housing case, 70) including a trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) formed in at least a part of an inner surface of the at least one side plate (side wall, 75) to be concave outward (Figures 7 and 8, [0081-0083]). Kanai further discloses that the module case (housing case, 70) having a front side and a rear side, a first direction (see annotated Figure 7 below) extending between the front side and the rear side of the module case (housing case, 70) and a first centerline (see annotated Figure 7 below) between the front side and the rear side extending in a second direction (see annotated Figure 7 below), where the trap (duct, 71, and ejection port, 72) may be formed to be offset in the first direction (see annotated Figure 7 below) (Figures 7 and 8).
Kanai is deficient in disclosing that a center of the trap is formed to be offset from the first centerline in the first direction.
Shimizu discloses a battery module (battery pack, 200) comprising a plurality of secondary batteries (cells, 100) stacked together and accommodated in a module case (pack case, 20) (Figure 2, [0049-0051, 0057]). Shimizu further discloses that the module case (pack case, 20) comprises a trap (first exhaust passage, 50, and first exhaust port, 53) (Figure 2, [0051]). Shimizu further discloses that the trap (first exhaust passage, 50, and first exhaust port, 53) is located only on one side of a centerline (centerline from left to right of page in Figure 2) of the battery module (battery pack, 200) (Figure 2).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the location of the trap of Kanai relative to the first centerline, a location which is fully on one side of the first centerline, as it is known in the art as a useful configuration for a trap to be located only one side of a centerline of a battery module, as taught by Shimizu. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification the skilled artisan would appreciate that a center of the trap is necessarily formed to be offset from the first centerline in the first direction. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 7 (Kanai US 2008/0171259 A1)
The examiner additionally notes that the term “a center” as written is a broad limitation and is subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of the prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.E.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724