DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received 04/27/2026, the following rejections have been withdrawn from the previous office action:
35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-6 and 8-14
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites “wherein a volume ratio of the 1,2-dimethoxyethane to the 2-methylfuran is 7:3”, which should be amended to read “wherein [[a]] the volume ratio of the 1,2-dimethoxyethane to the 2-methylfuran is 7:3” in order to improve claim limitation consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, 13, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Publication JP2003308874A (supplied by applicant, used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Inamasu, in view of Foreign Publication WO2019212153A1 (used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Inamasu discloses an electrolyte solution ([0031] electrolyte solution) for a lithium secondary battery ([0023] improved lithium conductivity, nonaqueous electrolyte battery having high charge/discharge efficiency), the electrolyte solution comprising a lithium salt ([0041] Li salt); a non-aqueous solvent ([0039] organic solvent); and an additive ([0031] benzo-1,4-dioxin and benzo-1,3-dioxole),
wherein the additive contains a benzodioxole-based compound or benzodioxane-based compound ([0031] benzo-1,4-dioxin and benzo-1,3-dioxole), and
the benzodioxole-based compound or benzodioxane-based compound has a hydrogen or an electron donating group substituted at a carbon between two oxygen atoms (see Formulas 1 and 2 of Inamasu below:
; [0013] X1-X8 are a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, a fluoroalkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, a phenyl group, an aryl group, an alkylphenyl group, or a derivative thereof), and
the non-aqueous solvent consists of 1,2-dimethoxyethane ([0039] dimethoxyethane) and a tetrahydrofuran derivative ([0039] tetrahydrofuran derivative; solvent may be present as mixture of two solvents).
Inamasu is silent on the tetrahydrofuran derivative being 2-methylfuran, and wherein a volume ratio of the 1,2-dimethoxyethane to the 2-methylfuran is 9:1 to 1:9.
In the analogous art of lithium battery electrolytes, Kim discloses the non-aqueous solvent consists of 1,2-dimethoxyethane and 2-methylfuran ([0056] dimethoxyethane; [0057] methylfuran), and a volume ratio of the linear ether (dimethoxyethane) to the cyclic ether (methylfuran) is 9:1 to 1:9 ([0058] mixed electrolyte solvent of cyclic ether and linear ether with a volume ratio of 1:0.3 to 1:2 to exhibit improved energy density).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Inamasu to select 2-methylfuran (also known as methylfuran) as the tetrahydrofuran derivative as disclosed by Kim as a selection of a known material based on its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Inamasu to select a linear ether to cyclic ether ratio in the mixed solvent of 1:0.3 to 1:2 as disclosed by Kim in order to exhibit improved energy density of the battery, as suggested by Kim.
Regarding claim 2, Inamasu discloses wherein the benzodioxole-based compound or benzodioxane-based compound is a compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 1:
[Chemical Formula 1]
(see Formulas 1 and 2 of Inamasu)
wherein R is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 10 carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 5 to 10 carbon atoms ([0013] X1-X8 are a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, a fluoroalkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, a phenyl group, an aryl group, an alkylphenyl group, or a derivative thereof),
Ra groups are the same as or different from each other, and each independently is a hydrogen or an electron donating group ([0013] X1-X8 are a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, a fluoroalkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, a phenyl group, an aryl group, an alkylphenyl group, or a derivative thereof), and
n is an integer of 1 to 3 (Formulas (1) and (2), n=2).
Regarding claim 3, Inamasu discloses wherein the Ra groups are the same as or different from each other, and each independently is a substituent having a Hammet substituent constant of 0 or less (page 11 of applicant's specification states hydrogen as an example of a substituent having a substituent constant of 0 or less, and [0013] of Inamasu states X1-X8 may be hydrogen).
Regarding claim 4, Inamasu discloses wherein Ra groups are the same as or different from each other, and each independently is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, an amino group, an alkylamino group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, a dialkylamino group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, an arylamino group having 6 to 10 carbon atoms, a diarylamino group having 12 to 20 carbon atoms, a hydroxyl group, an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, an aryl group having 6 to 10 carbon atoms, an alkoxy group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, an amide group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, an ester group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, an allyl group, an alkylallyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, and a dialkylallyl group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms (Formulas (1) and (2); [0013] X1-X8 are a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, a fluoroalkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, a phenyl group, an aryl group, an alkylphenyl group, or a derivative thereof).
Regarding claim 5, Inamasu discloses wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 above is a compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 1-1 or Chemical Formula 1-2:
[Chemical Formula 1-1]
(see Formula 2 of Inamasu; [0013] X5 and X6 may be an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom)
[Chemical Formula 1-2]
(see Formula 3 of Inamasu below)
.
Regarding claim 6, Inamasu discloses wherein the lithium salt Is LiBr ([0041]).
Regarding claim 10, Inamasu discloses wherein a content of the benzodioxole-based compound or benzodioxane-based compound is from 0.1 % by weight to 10 % by weight based on the total weight of the electrolyte solution ([0084] 2 wt % of benzo-1,4-dioxin).
Regarding claim 13, Inamasu discloses a lithium secondary battery ([0023] improved lithium conductivity, nonaqueous electrolyte battery having high charge/discharge efficiency) comprising the electrolyte solution of claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1); a positive electrode ([0031]); a negative electrode ([0031]); and a separator ([0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Inamasu discloses wherein the lithium secondary battery is a lithium-sulfur secondary battery ([0046] positive active material is Li-containing sulfate).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Publication JP2003308874A (supplied by applicant, used attached machine translation), hereafter Inamasu, in view of Foreign Publication WO2019212153A1 (used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Kim, as stated above for claim 1, and further in view of Foreign Publication KR20180114631A (supplied by applicant, used previously attached machine translation), hereafter Park.
Regarding claim 11, Inamasu is silent on wherein the electrolyte solution further comprises a nitric acid-based compound.
In the analogous art of secondary batteries, Park discloses wherein the electrolyte solution further comprises a nitric acid-based compound ([0054] electrolyte may contain compound with an intramolecular N-O bond, which has the effect of forming a stable film on the lithium electrode and greatly improving charge/discharge efficiency; [0055] nitric acid compound).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Inamasu to include a nitric acid-based compound in the electrolyte solution, as disclosed by Park, in order to form a stable film on the electrode and improve charge/discharge efficiency, as suggested by Park.
Regarding claim 12, Park further discloses wherein the nitric acid-based compound is lithium nitrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Inamasu further discloses wherein the volume ratio of the 1,2-dimethoxyethane to the 2-methylfuran is 1:0.3 to 1:2 (Kim, [0058] mixed electrolyte solvent of cyclic ether and linear ether with a volume ratio of 1:0.3 to 1:2), which encompasses the claimed volume ratio of the 1,2-dimethoxyethane to the 2-methylfuran of 7:3. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 on page 7 of applicant’s remarks that While Inamasu mentions tetrahydrofuran and dimethoxyethane among a broad list of possible solvents, Inamasu does not disclose or suggest a non-aqueous solvent consisting of 1,2-dimethoxyethane and 2-methylfuran as recited by amended claim 1, this argument is rendered moot in view of the new rejection of claim 1.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 on page 7 of applicant’s remarks that Inamasu teaches away from an ether-only solvent system as recited by amended claim 1 because Inamasu prefers a cyclic carbonate to be contained in the non-aqueous electrolyte, the examiner disagrees, and notes that “a reference does not teach away if it merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed” (MPEP 2145 (X) (D) (1)).
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 on page 8 of applicant’s remarks that while Kim lists methylfuran among possible cyclic ethers, Kim’s examples and preferred embodiments do not teach or suggest a non-aqueous solvent consisting of 1,2-dimethoxyethane and 2-methylfuran as recited in amended claim 1, the examiner disagrees, and notes, as stated in the rejection, that this combination is provided for by Kim ([0055] ether-based nonaqueous solvent, one or more of linear ethers and cyclic ethers; [0056] linear ether may be dimethoxyethane; [0057] cyclic ether may be methylfuran).
Conclusion
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754