DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 05/04/26. The applicant has overcome the 35 USC 112 rejection and the 102 rejection. Refer to the aforementioned amendment for specific details on applicant's rebuttal arguments and/or remarks. However, the present claims (including new claims 23-24) are now finally rejected over new grounds of rejection as formulated hereinbelow and for the reasons of record:
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2 and 7-22 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/26/05 and 01/08/26.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/11/26 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quy et al 2022/0093989 in view of the publication WO 2018/131221 (hereinafter WO’221).
As to claim 1:
Quy et al disclose that it is known in the art to make a battery pack module comprising a cooling device/plate for cooling a plurality of battery cells including a mounting frame/portion-plate contacting the battery cells for supporting/holding the battery cells and including a thermal breaking zone/rupturable part for venting (Abstract; 0002-0006; 0018-0022; 0034-0035; see Claims 1, 7-8 & 17; see Figures 1-4).
Figures 1-4, infra, illustrate the structure of the battery pack module:
Quy et al are applied, argued and incorporated herein for the reasons expressed supra. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the specific upper/lower plates including a multilayer film and their thickness.
As to claims 3, 23-24: In this respect, in the same field of applicant’s endeavor, WO’221 discloses that it is known to make a battery pack/module including, inter alia, a plurality of battery cells mounted on a lower plate and being enclosed by an upper plate wherein the upper/lower plates includes a multilayer structure/film and have a thickness of 0.5-1.5 mm (500-1500 µm) (Abstract; 0029; see Figures 1-4 & 9). With respect to the limitation “configured to rupture at the contact portions”, the same has been deemed inherently present in the contact points/portions/sections/areas and/or segments of the upper and the lower plate as any point thereof can rupture or is capable of rupturing at any predetermined pressure and/or temperature. Further, since independent claim 1 fails to define the specific material composition of the upper/lower plate and/or mount portion, or their specific thickness (if so intended), or any other significant characteristic capable of rupturing in response to certain operating conditions, the limitation “configure to rupture at the contact portions” adds nothing of significance to define patentability.
Figures 1-4 and 9, infra, depict the battery module structure:
In view of the above, it would have been within the ambit of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specific upper/lower plates of WO’221 including the multilayer film and their thickness in the battery pack module of Quy et al as WO’221 teaches that the specifically disclosed battery module upper/lower plates assist in providing a lid which is a for a cell tray and makes it possible to suppress the spread of fire to surrounding cells when heating or ignition of a cell occurs. Further, the claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations, or based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a “base” device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way is prima-facie obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US- 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
With respect to the thickness of the specific upper/lower plates, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the upper/lower plates of Quy et al by having the thickness as instantly clamed because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions (changes in size/proportion) of the claimed feature and a feature having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art feature, element or component, the claimed element, feature or component is not patentably distinct from the prior art element, feature or component. That is, limitations relating to the size of the element, feature or component are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art as it is noted that changes in size is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular thickness of the claimed of the upper/lower plates is critical. In re Rose 105 USPQ 237; In re Rinehart 189 USPQ 143; In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 220 USPQ 777 & 225 USPQ 232 (See MPEP 2144.04 Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale).
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the publication EP 4199215 (heretofore EP’215) in view of the publication WO 2018/131221 (hereinafter WO’221).
As to claim 1:
EP’215 discloses that it is known to make a battery pack/module including, inter alia, a plurality of battery cells and a module case accommodating the plurality of battery cells, wherein the module case include an upper plate positioned on the plurality of battery cells and a lower plate positioned below the plurality of battery cells so that the upper plate includes a vent hole and a first sealing cap in a second plate which faces the first plate, the vent hole through which gas is forced out, and the first sealing cap to seal the vent hole (Abstract; 0032-0033; 0034; 0036; 0040-0041; Figures 1 & 6) wherein the upper plate 210 includes a first plate 211 and a second plate 215, and a channel F; and the lower plate may be the same (0040-0041); and the battery module is configured such that the battery cells 100 are secured to the module housing (i.e., including the upper/lower plates) with a thermally conductive adhesive (0034).
Figures 1 and 6, infra, depict the battery module structure:
As to claim 4: EP’215 discloses the upper plate 210 includes a first plate 211 and a second plate 215, and a channel F; and the lower plate may be the same (0040-0041); and the battery module is configured such that the battery cells 100 are secured to the module housing (i.e., including the upper/lower plates) with a thermally conductive adhesive (0034). Examiner’s note: thus, in this case, EP’215 readily envision the formation of a layered structure/multilayer arrangement including upper/lower plates including first/second plates 211, 215 and a thermally conductive adhesive contacting the same to secure the battery cells (i.e., applicant’s outer protective layer, the reinforcement metal layer and the inner adhesive layer, respectively).
EP’215 is applied, argued and incorporated herein for the reasons expressed supra. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the specific upper/lower plates including a multilayer film and their thickness.
As to claims 3, 23-24: In this respect, in the same field of applicant’s endeavor, WO’221 discloses that it is known to make a battery pack/module including, inter alia, a plurality of battery cells mounted on a lower plate and being enclosed by an upper plate wherein the upper/lower plates includes a multilayer structure/film and have a thickness of 0.5-1.5 mm (500-1500 µm) (Abstract; 0029; see Figures 1-4 & 9). With respect to the limitation “configure to rupture at the contact portions”, the same has been deemed inherently present in the contact points/portions/sections/areas and/or segments of the upper and the lower plate as any point thereof can rupture or is capable of rupturing at any predetermined pressure and/or temperature. Further, since independent claim 1 fails to define the specific material composition of the upper/lower plate and/or mount portion, or their specific thickness (if so intended), or any other significant characteristic capable of rupturing in response to certain operating conditions, the limitation “configure to rupture at the contact portions” adds nothing of significance to define patentability.
Figures 1-4 and 9, infra, depict the battery module structure:
In view of the above, it would have been within the ambit of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specific upper/lower plates of WO’221 including the multilayer film and their thickness in the battery pack module of EP’215 as WO’221 teaches that the specifically disclosed battery module upper/lower plates assist in providing a lid which is a for a cell tray and makes it possible to suppress the spread of fire to surrounding cells when heating or ignition of a cell occurs. Further, the claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations, or based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a “base” device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way is prima-facie obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US- 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
With respect to the thickness of the specific upper/lower plates, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the upper/lower plates of Quy et al by having the thickness as instantly clamed because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions (changes in size/proportion) of the claimed feature and a feature having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art feature, element or component, the claimed element, feature or component is not patentably distinct from the prior art element, feature or component. That is, limitations relating to the size of the element, feature or component are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art as it is noted that changes in size is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular thickness of the claimed of the upper/lower plates is critical. In re Rose 105 USPQ 237; In re Rinehart 189 USPQ 143; In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 220 USPQ 777 & 225 USPQ 232 (See MPEP 2144.04 Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (a) Quy et al 2022/0093989 in view of the publication WO 2018/131221 (hereinafter WO’221) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of the publication EP 4199215 (heretofore EP’215).
Quy et al and WO’221 are both applied, argued and incorporated herein for the reasons expressed supra. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the specific multilayer including the outer protective layer, the reinforcement metal layer and the inner adhesive layer.
As to claim 4: In this respect, in the same field of applicant’s endeavor, EP’215 discloses that it is known to make a battery pack/module including, inter alia, a plurality of battery cells and a module case accommodating the plurality of battery cells, wherein the module case include an upper plate positioned on the plurality of battery cells and a lower plate positioned below the plurality of battery cells so that the upper plate includes a vent hole and a first sealing cap in a second plate which faces the first plate, the vent hole through which gas is forced out, and the first sealing cap to seal the vent hole (Abstract; 0032-0033; 0034; 0036; 0040-0041; Figures 1 & 6) wherein the upper plate 210 includes a first plate 211 and a second plate 215, and a channel F; and the lower plate may be the same (0040-0041); and the battery module is configured such that the battery cells 100 are secured to the module housing (i.e., including the upper/lower plates) with a thermally conductive adhesive (0034). Examiner’s note: thus, in this case, EP’215 readily envision the formation of a layered structure/multilayer arrangement including upper/lower plates including first/second plates 211, 215 and a thermally conductive adhesive contacting the same to secure the battery cells (i.e., applicant’s outer protective layer, the reinforcement metal layer and the inner adhesive layer, respectively). Figures 1 and 6, infra, depict the battery module structure:
In view of the above, it would have been within the ambit of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specific multilayer arrangement of EP’215 including the upper/lower plates including respective first/second plates and the thermally conductive adhesive (i.e., applicant’s outer protective layer, the reinforcement metal layer and the inner adhesive layer) in the battery pack module of Quy et al and WO’221 as EP’215 teaches that the specifically disclosed upper/lower plate including respective first/second plates and a thermally conductive adhesive assists in providing a battery module for quickly feeding a coolant to a battery cell in which a fire occurred and smoothly forcing venting gas out while also securing the battery cells to the module housing. Further, the claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations, or based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a “base” device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way is prima-facie obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US- 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the foregoing claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection, and because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Although believed unnecessary due to the new grounds of rejection, the examiner likes to briefly address the limitation “configured to rupture at the contact portions”. In this respect, the same has been deemed inherently present in the contact points/portions/sections/areas and/or segments of the upper and the lower plate as any point thereof can rupture or is capable of rupturing at any predetermined pressure and/or temperature. (emphasis added) Further, since independent claim 1 fails to define the specific material composition of the upper/lower plate and/or mount portion, or their specific thickness (if so intended), or any other significant characteristic capable of rupturing in response to certain operating conditions, the limitation “configure to rupture at the contact portions” adds nothing of significance to define patentability.
Applicant is kindly reminded that the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is substantially the same, or performs substantially the same functionality, or is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Further, applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Moreover, applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752