DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 02/05/2026, claims 1-25 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Claims 18-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Method Claims 18-21 are being dependent under claim 16 which is a Device claim. It appears to be a typographic error(s). Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examinations, Examiner will interpret the claim(s) as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Issue:
Claim 1 recites "receiving, from the base station, information that indicates which slots of a plurality of slots are to be monitored for a PDCCH during a monitoring span wherein the monitoring span has a configured length of a first number of slots, and the periodicity indicated by the first parameter is set to be an integer multiple of the configured length of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots…” [Emphasis Added]
The claimed elements are reviewed in light of the specification to determine whether the claimed elements are sufficiently supported by the description of the current application and the provisional application 63/089,046. In view of the specification, the specification only provides the search space for monitoring periodicity that can be set as multiple integers of X (e.g., 8) and monitoring Slot Periodicity and Offset. See paragraphs 0122. Nowhere does in the specification implicitly and/or explicitly provide “wherein the monitoring span has a configured length of a first number of slots, and the periodicity indicated by the first parameter is set to be an integer multiple of the configured length of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots”. More specifically, the specification fails to disclose the periodicity indicated by the first parameter is set to be an integer multiple of the configured length of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots. In view of the above analysis, the instant specification fails to support an adequate written description of the current claim. Thus, the instant claim introduces elements or limitations which are not supported by the as-filed disclosure violate the written description requirement.
New matter includes not only the addition of wholly unsupported subject matter but may also include adding specific percentages or compounds after a broader original disclosure, or even the omission of a step from a method. See MPEP § 608.04 to § 608.04(c). See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP § 2163.05 for guidance in determining whether the addition of specific percentages or compounds after a broader original disclosure constitutes new matter. See, e.g., In re Lukach, 442 F.2d 967, 169 USPQ 795 (CCPA 1971). Therefore, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, para. 1, for lack of adequate written description. Independent claims 10 and 16 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, para. 1, based on the same/similar reason as discussed in above. Dependent claims 2-25 are also rejected as being dependency upon the rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, and 9-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou (US 2021/0029726 A1) in view of LIN et al. (US 2020/0169991 A1), and further in view of Hamidi-Sepehr et al. (US 2021/0168782 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Papasakellariou teaches an apparatus that performs wireless communication, the apparatus comprising:
a processor; and memory coupled with the processor, the memory storing executable instructions stored thereon that when executed by the processor cause the processor to effectuate operations comprising:
receiving, from a base station, parameters defining a monitoring span (See Fig. 9: A time span for PDCCH monitoring is defined by a pair of (X,Y) values in the unit of symbols. ¶ [0085]) for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring (See Fig. 1: the Network to provide the UE a PDCCH monitoring periodicity and offset for slots. ¶ [0073]), the parameters including;
a first parameter indicating slots for PDCCH monitoring configured as periodicity and offset (See Fig. 9: the UE is provided with…a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of ks slots and a PDCCH monitoring offset of os slots. ¶ [0073]);
a second parameter indicating a number of consecutive slots included in the monitoring span (See Fig. 9: The UE monitors PDCCH candidates for search space set s for Ts consecutive slots, starting from slot ns,f μ…¶ [0075]);
receiving, from the base station, information that indicates which slot of plurality of slots are to be monitored for a PDCCH during a monitoring span (See Fig. 9: a UE is configured to monitor PDCCH for a DCI format S that includes fields providing values for a set of parameters in step 910. ¶ [0143]). See also ¶ [085] for the method wherein a time span for PDCCH monitoring is defined by a pair of (X,Y) values in the unit of symbols. For any two PDCCH monitoring occasions of a same search space set or of different search space sets…), wherein the monitoring span (See Fig. 9: When a UE is configured to monitor PDCCH candidates over different time spans (X,Y) on a same cell. ¶ [0111]) has a configured length of a first number of slots (See Fig. 9: a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of ks slots (i.e., first number of slots)...¶ [0073]), and the periodicity indicated by the first parameter is set to be a number of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots (See Fig. 9: the UE is provided with a search space set index s and a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of ks slots. ¶ [0073]).
in response to the information, monitoring the PDCCH in the slots to be monitored over the monitoring span (See Fig. 7: When a UE is configured to monitor PDCCH candidates over different time spans (X,Y) on a same cell, the UE determines a total number of PDCCH candidates and a total number of non-overlapped CCEs that the UE can monitor in the active DL BWP of the cell according to corresponding UE capabilities for the smallest gap of the time spans. ¶ [0111] and ¶ [0112]) wherein
Even though, Papasakellariou teaches the method of receiving monitoring parameters indicating slots for PDCCH monitoring periodicity and offset and monitoring the PDCCH candidates for consecutive slots, Papasakellariou doesn’t explicitly provide monitoring the PDCCH within the monitoring span.
However, LIN further discloses monitoring the PDCCH within the monitoring span (See Fig. 2B: the parameter duration (i.e., monitoring span) may imply the number of consecutive PDCCH monitoring occasions that the indicator lasts. For example, if duration=3, a specific sub-slot (wherein search space sets with the configured monitoring periodicity) may remain activated for the next three consecutive monitoring occasions and then may be deactivated accordingly. ¶ [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide monitoring the PDCCH within the monitoring span as taught by LIN to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou, so that it would provide that when there is a need for scheduling URLLC data, a sub-slot may be activated; otherwise, the sub-slot may be deactivated to reduce power consumption. LIN: ¶ [0048].
Neither Papasakellariou nor LIN explicitly teaches an integer multiple of the configured length of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots.
However, Hamidi-Sepehr teaches an integer multiple of the configured length of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots (Hamidi-Sepehr: determining a set of monitored slots based on a bitmap of equal length to the monitoring periodicity that identifies selected monitored slots within the monitoring periodicity. ¶ [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide an integer multiple of the configured length of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots as taught by Hamidi-Sepehr to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou, so that it would provide various processes related to PDCCH monitoring enhancements, achieving more flexibility in terms of monitoring occasions and scheduling opportunities. Hamidi-Sepehr: ¶ [0012].
Regarding claim 2; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein the monitoring span is received from a base station (Papasakellariou: See Fig. 1, enabling a gNB to select appropriate parameters for PDSCH or PDCCH transmissions to a UE. ¶ [0061]).
Regarding claim 3; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein the PDCCH is monitored for a threshold maximum number of scheduled PDCCH candidates (Papasakellariou: ¶ [0071]).
Regarding claim 4; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein only monitor contiguous slots within the PDCCH monitoring span (See Fig. 1: A UE determines a PDCCH monitoring occasion on an active DL BWP from the PDCCH monitoring periodicity, the PDCCH monitoring offset, and the PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot. ¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 5; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein the PDCCH monitoring span are consecutive and non-overlapping in time-domain (See Fig. 9: The UE monitors PDCCH candidates for search space set s for Ts consecutive slots, starting from slot ns,f μ…¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 6; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein the search space in the PDCCH monitoring span is configured as multiple periods of PDCCH monitoring span (Papasakellariou: ¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 7; Papasakellariou in view of LIN teaches the apparatus the operations further receiving the maximum number of scheduled PDCCHs to monitor per span (Papasakellariou: Abstract), wherein the maximum number of PDDCHs to monitor per slot is used to limit blind decoding (BD) or control channel element (CCE) for an aligned monitoring span or non-aligned monitoring span (LIN: performing PDCCH monitoring based on at least one of the first PDCCH monitoring configuration and the second PDCCH monitoring configuration. The maximum number of non-overlapped CCEs in one slot is bound by a slot CCE limit. The slot CCE limit of the first PDCCH monitoring configuration is different from the slot CCE limit of the second PDCCH monitoring configuration. See Abstract and ¶ [0042].)
Regarding claim 9; Papasakellariou teaches the system wherein the apparatus is a user equipment (See Fig. 9: The UE monitors PDCCH candidates for search space set s for Ts consecutive slots, starting from slot ns,f μ…¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 10; Papasakellariou teaches an apparatus that performs wireless communication, the apparatus comprising:
a processor; and memory coupled with the processor, the memory comprising executable instructions stored thereon that when executed by the processor cause the processor to effectuate operations comprising:
determining , from a base station (See Fig. 1: A gNB transmits data information or DCI through respective physical DL shared channels (PDSCHs) or physical DL control channels (PDCCHs). A PDSCH or a PDCCH can be transmitted over a variable number of slot symbols including one slot symbol. ¶ [0055]), parameters defining a monitoring span (See Fig. 1: the Network to provide the UE a PDCCH (i.e., DL from gNB to UE) monitoring periodicity and offset for slots. ¶ [0073]) for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring (See Fig. 1: the Network to provide the UE a PDCCH monitoring periodicity and offset for slots. ¶ [0073]), the parameters including;
a first parameter indicating slots for PDCCH monitoring configured as periodicity and offset (See Fig. 9: the UE is provided with…a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of ks slots and a PDCCH monitoring offset of os slots. ¶ [0073]);
a second parameter indicating a number of consecutive slots included in the monitoring span (See Fig. 9: The UE monitors PDCCH candidates for search space set s for Ts consecutive slots, starting from slot ns,f μ…¶ [0075]);
sending information that indicates which slot of plurality of slots are to be monitored for a PDCCH during a monitoring span (See Fig. 9: a UE is configured to monitor PDCCH for a DCI format S that includes fields providing values for a set of parameters in step 910. ¶ [0143]). See also ¶ [085] for the method wherein a time span for PDCCH monitoring is defined by a pair of (X,Y) values in the unit of symbols. For any two PDCCH monitoring occasions of a same search space set or of different search space sets…), wherein the monitoring span (See Fig. 9: When a UE is configured to monitor PDCCH candidates over different time spans (X,Y) on a same cell. ¶ [0111]) has a configured length of a first number of slots (See Fig. 9: a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of ks slots (i.e., first number of slots)...¶ [0073]), and the periodicity indicated by the first parameter is set to be a number of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots (See Fig. 9: the UE is provided with a search space set index s and a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of ks slots. ¶ [0073]).
in response to the information, monitoring the PDCCH in the slots to be monitored over the monitoring span (See Fig. 7: When a UE is configured to monitor PDCCH candidates over different time spans (X,Y) on a same cell, the UE determines a total number of PDCCH candidates and a total number of non-overlapped CCEs that the UE can monitor in the active DL BWP of the cell according to corresponding UE capabilities for the smallest gap of the time spans. ¶ [0111] and ¶ [0112]) wherein
Even though, Papasakellariou teaches the method of receiving monitoring parameters indicating slots for PDCCH monitoring periodicity and offset and monitoring the PDCCH candidates for consecutive slots, Papasakellariou doesn’t explicitly provide monitoring the PDCCH within the monitoring span.
However, LIN further discloses monitoring the PDCCH within the monitoring span (See Fig. 2B: the parameter duration (i.e., monitoring span) may imply the number of consecutive PDCCH monitoring occasions that the indicator lasts. For example, if duration=3, a specific sub-slot (wherein search space sets with the configured monitoring periodicity) may remain activated for the next three consecutive monitoring occasions and then may be deactivated accordingly. ¶ [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide monitoring the PDCCH within the monitoring span as taught by LIN to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou, so that it would provide that when there is a need for scheduling URLLC data, a sub-slot may be activated; otherwise, the sub-slot may be deactivated to reduce power consumption. LIN: ¶ [0048].
Neither Papasakellariou nor LIN explicitly teaches an integer multiple of the configured length of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots.
However, Hamidi-Sepehr teaches an integer multiple of the configured length of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots (Hamidi-Sepehr: determining a set of monitored slots based on a bitmap of equal length to the monitoring periodicity that identifies selected monitored slots within the monitoring periodicity. ¶ [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide an integer multiple of the configured length of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots as taught by Hamidi-Sepehr to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou, so that it would provide various processes related to PDCCH monitoring enhancements, achieving more flexibility in terms of monitoring occasions and scheduling opportunities. Hamidi-Sepehr: ¶ [0012].
Regarding claim 12; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein the information is sent to a UE (See Fig. 1: the UE is provided with a search space set index s, 0≤s<40, an association between the search space set s and a CORESET p, a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of ks slots and a PDCCH monitoring offset of os slots, a PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot. ¶ [0073]).
Regarding claim 13; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein the PDCCH is monitored for a threshold maximum number of scheduled PDCCH candidates (Papasakellariou: ¶ [0071]).
Regarding claim 14; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein the information includes to only monitor contiguous slots within the PDCCH monitoring span (See Fig. 1: A UE determines a PDCCH monitoring occasion on an active DL BWP from the PDCCH monitoring periodicity, the PDCCH monitoring offset, and the PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot. ¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 15; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein the PDCCH monitoring span are consecutive and non-overlapping in time-domain (See Fig. 9: The UE monitors PDCCH candidates for search space set s for Ts consecutive slots, starting from slot ns,f μ…¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 16; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the apparatus is a base station (See Fig. 1: A gNB transmits data information or DCI through respective physical DL shared channels (PDSCHs) or physical DL control channels (PDCCHs). A PDSCH or a PDCCH can be transmitted over a variable number of slot symbols including one slot symbol. ¶ [0055]).
Regarding claim 17; Papasakellariou teaches a method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, parameters defining a monitoring span (See Fig. 9: A time span for PDCCH monitoring is defined by a pair of (X,Y) values in the unit of symbols. ¶ [0085]) for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring (See Fig. 1: the Network to provide the UE a PDCCH monitoring periodicity and offset for slots. ¶ [0073]), the parameters including;
a first parameter indicating slots for PDCCH monitoring configured as periodicity and offset (See Fig. 9: the UE is provided with…a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of ks slots and a PDCCH monitoring offset of os slots. ¶ [0073]);
a second parameter indicating a number of consecutive slots included in the monitoring span (See Fig. 9: The UE monitors PDCCH candidates for search space set s for Ts consecutive slots, starting from slot ns,f μ…¶ [0075]);
receiving, from the base station, information that indicates which slot of plurality of slots are to be monitored for a PDCCH during a monitoring span (See Fig. 9: a UE is configured to monitor PDCCH for a DCI format S that includes fields providing values for a set of parameters in step 910. ¶ [0143]). See also ¶ [085] for the method wherein a time span for PDCCH monitoring is defined by a pair of (X,Y) values in the unit of symbols. For any two PDCCH monitoring occasions of a same search space set or of different search space sets…), wherein the monitoring span (See Fig. 9: When a UE is configured to monitor PDCCH candidates over different time spans (X,Y) on a same cell. ¶ [0111]) has a configured length of a first number of slots (See Fig. 9: a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of ks slots (i.e., first number of slots)...¶ [0073]), and the periodicity indicated by the first parameter is set to be a number of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots (See Fig. 9: the UE is provided with a search space set index s and a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of ks slots. ¶ [0073]).
in response to the information, monitoring the PDCCH in the slots to be monitored over the monitoring span (See Fig. 7: When a UE is configured to monitor PDCCH candidates over different time spans (X,Y) on a same cell, the UE determines a total number of PDCCH candidates and a total number of non-overlapped CCEs that the UE can monitor in the active DL BWP of the cell according to corresponding UE capabilities for the smallest gap of the time spans. ¶ [0111] and ¶ [0112]) wherein
Even though, Papasakellariou teaches the method of receiving monitoring parameters indicating slots for PDCCH monitoring periodicity and offset and monitoring the PDCCH candidates for consecutive slots, Papasakellariou doesn’t explicitly provide monitoring the PDCCH within the monitoring span.
However, LIN further discloses monitoring the PDCCH within the monitoring span (See Fig. 2B: the parameter duration (i.e., monitoring span) may imply the number of consecutive PDCCH monitoring occasions that the indicator lasts. For example, if duration=3, a specific sub-slot (wherein search space sets with the configured monitoring periodicity) may remain activated for the next three consecutive monitoring occasions and then may be deactivated accordingly. ¶ [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide monitoring the PDCCH within the monitoring span as taught by LIN to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou, so that it would provide that when there is a need for scheduling URLLC data, a sub-slot may be activated; otherwise, the sub-slot may be deactivated to reduce power consumption. LIN: ¶ [0048].
Neither Papasakellariou nor LIN explicitly teaches an integer multiple of the configured length of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots.
However, Hamidi-Sepehr teaches an integer multiple of the configured length of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots (Hamidi-Sepehr: determining a set of monitored slots based on a bitmap of equal length to the monitoring periodicity that identifies selected monitored slots within the monitoring periodicity. ¶ [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide an integer multiple of the configured length of the monitoring span expressed in the same first number of slots as taught by Hamidi-Sepehr to have incorporated in the system of Papasakellariou, so that it would provide various processes related to PDCCH monitoring enhancements, achieving more flexibility in terms of monitoring occasions and scheduling opportunities. Hamidi-Sepehr: ¶ [0012].
Regarding claim 18; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein the monitoring span is received from a base station (Papasakellariou: See Fig. 1, enabling a gNB to select appropriate parameters for PDSCH or PDCCH transmissions to a UE. ¶ [0061]).
Regarding claim 19; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein only monitor contiguous slots within the PDCCH monitoring span (See Fig. 1: A UE determines a PDCCH monitoring occasion on an active DL BWP from the PDCCH monitoring periodicity, the PDCCH monitoring offset, and the PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot. ¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 20; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein the PDCCH monitoring span are consecutive and non-overlapping in time-domain (See Fig. 9: The UE monitors PDCCH candidates for search space set s for Ts consecutive slots, starting from slot ns,f μ…¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 21; Papasakellariou in view of LIN teaches the apparatus the operations further receiving the maximum number of scheduled PDCCHs to monitor per span (Papasakellariou: Abstract), wherein the maximum number of PDDCHs to monitor per slot is used to limit blind decoding (BD) or control channel element (CCE) for an aligned monitoring span or non-aligned monitoring span (LIN: performing PDCCH monitoring based on at least one of the first PDCCH monitoring configuration and the second PDCCH monitoring configuration. The maximum number of non-overlapped CCEs in one slot is bound by a slot CCE limit. The slot CCE limit of the first PDCCH monitoring configuration is different from the slot CCE limit of the second PDCCH monitoring configuration. See Abstract and ¶ [0042].)
Regarding claim 22; Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein the PDCCH is monitored for a threshold maximum number of scheduled PDCCH candidates (Papasakellariou: ¶ [0071]).
Regarding claims 23-25, Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus wherein the first parameter is a SlotPeriodicityAndOffset (See Fig. 9: the UE is provided with…a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of ks slots and a PDCCH monitoring offset of os slots. ¶ [0073]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
In response to the RCE amendment, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-25 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416