DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/029679 filed on 12/16/2025 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and would like to provide a further clarification regarding the interpretation of the cited references.
In response to the argument on page 2 of Applicant’s Remark, “Business Telephony Application Server (BTAS)”. In fact, Examiner interprets the “in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS”. according to Dudley’s disclosure.
As stated in Dudley’s – page 3, par (0022), line 15-20, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS).
whereas the Examiner wants to provide further clarification of the cited claim limitation, whereas the Dudley’s is directed to “page 4, par (0032), line 1-10, from a presence server. The online presence information includes Short Message Service (SMS), Multimedia Message Service (MMS), Interne(Protocol (IP) Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), Wireless Application Protocol(WAP) exchange, structured data transfer, unstructured data transfer, Electronic message (E-Mail) exchange, Instant Messaging (IM) exchange, Wi-Fi Near Field Communication (NFC) exchange, etc.
Therefore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments.
In response to the argument on page 2 of Applicant’s Remark, “associated with the first user of the Centrex group”. In fact, Examiner interprets the “the consumer consent by sending a short code SMS, the consumer express consent by providing personal information such as phone number(contact number), the consumer call a given contact number(dialed by a second user) and provide his consent following an interactive Voice Response (IVR) or support personnel”. according to Dudley’’s disclosure.
As stated in Dudley’’s – page 4, par (0030), line 1-20, the consumer consent by sending a short code SMS, the consumer express consent by providing personal information such as phone number (contact number), the consumer call a given contact number (dialed by a second user) and provide his consent following an interactive Voice Response (IVR) or support personnel.
whereas the Examiner wants to provide further clarification of the cited claim limitation, whereas the Park’s is directed to “page 7, line 1-20, upon activation of the address book entry in the consumer device (wherein address book is user Centrex group), accessing online presence information of a consumer associated with the consumer device; customizing the business information based on the consumer's online presence information”.
Therefore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments.
In response to the argument on page 3 of Applicant’s Remark, “establish a connection between the BTAS and an Internet protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) core network associated with an IMS server, when the second user dials the mobile number and the fixed line is linked to the mobile number”. In fact, Examiner interprets the “the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS)”. according to Dudley’s disclosure.
As stated in Dudley’s – page 3, par (0022), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS).
whereas the Examiner wants to provide further clarification of the cited claim limitation, whereas the Dudley’s is directed to “page 13, par (0022), line 1-20, page 3, par (0023), line 1-20, RCS and IMS use Session Initiation protocol (SIP) protocol in order to control the multimedia communications sessions over IP defined in the suite, SIP is a text-based protocol where each transaction involves a client request that invokes a particular method or function on the relevant server and a response(wherein relevant server is BTAS server to establish the session). Once the sessions have been initiated, other protocols may be used to facilitate communication (wherein the servers are BTAS)”.
In response to the argument on page 3 of Applicant’s Remark, “invoke, upon establishing the connection between the BTAS and the IMS core network, at least one of a Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) create service and a FMC update service, to trigger a modification of an Initial Filter criteria (IFC) service chaining data in the IMS core network”. In fact, Examiner interprets the “the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers, RCS and IMS use Session Initiation protocol (SIP) protocol in order to control the multimedia communications sessions over IP defined in the suite, SIP is a text-based protocol where each transaction involves a client request that invokes a particular function on the relevant server and a response))”. according to Dudley’s disclosure.
As stated in Dudley’s – page 3, par (0022-0023), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers, RCS and IMS use Session Initiation protocol (SIP) protocol in order to control the multimedia communications sessions over IP defined in the suite, SIP is a text-based protocol where each transaction involves a client request that invokes a particular function on the relevant server and a response)).
whereas the Examiner wants to provide further clarification of the cited claim limitation, whereas the Kunarathnam’s is directed to “page 1, par (0003), line 1-10, telecommunications is in the process of transforn1ing into an all-IP fixed mobile convergence (FMC) based architecture and ubiquitous network, page 9, wherein the custom routing module filters (IFC) a list of possible service providers based upon business intelligence rules)”.
In response to the argument on page 4 of Applicant’s Remark, “in response to the conversion, transmit one or more invite request messages to the IMS core network associated with the mobile number link to the fixed line”. In fact, Examiner interprets the “the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals”. according to Dudley’s disclosure.
As stated in Dudley’s – (page 3, par (0022), line 10-15, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals.
whereas the Examiner wants to provide further clarification of the cited claim limitation, whereas the Dudley’s is directed to “page 3, par (0022), line 1-10, The user devices and the enterprise device include any device suitable for IP communications such as a mobile telephone, smart phone, personal digital assistant, laptop with data card, or laptop or PC connected over BA, IMS is in communication with the core network of the network operator, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals”.
In response to the argument on page 4 of Applicant’s Remark, “in response to the transmission, trigger a ringing mode on the mobile device and the fixed line device, to establish a call”. In fact, Examiner interprets the “the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS))”. according to Dudley’s disclosure.
As stated in Dudley’s – page 3, par (0022), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS)).
whereas the Examiner wants to provide further clarification of the cited claim limitation, whereas the Dudley’s is directed to “page 5, par (0040), line 1-10, the address book entry is selected to invoke the advanced communication exchange services supported by the enterprise device. The advanced communication exchange services refer to those communication exchange services that are available and supported by the enterprise device, in order to interact with the enterprise device via IM, call, or two-way video, the participation of an enterprise personnel at the enterprise device end required”.
In response to the argument on page 5 of Applicant’s Remark, “convert the short code to a relevant at least one of the fixed line number and the mobile number, when the second user dials the short code; and establish the call between at least one of the mobile device or the fixed line device associated with the second user, and at least one of the fixed line device or the mobile device associated with the first user, respectively”. In fact, Examiner interprets the “Samantha initiates an SMS message using her service provider, the service provider sends the session to AINP which checks to see if the number has been ported by checking the global Number Portability database (convert SMS into mobile number), AINP determines that the number has been ported, and validates the carrier's business rules to find the shortest path to terminate the SMS session”. according to Kunarathnam’s disclosure.
As stated in Kunarathnam’s – page 3, par (0022), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS)).
whereas the Examiner wants to provide further clarification of the cited claim limitation, whereas the Kunarathnam’s is directed to “page 6, par (0059), line 1-20, Samantha initiates an SMS message using her service provider, the service provider sends the session to AINP which checks to see if the number has been ported by checking the global Number Portability database(convert SMS into mobile number), AINP determines that the number has been ported, and validates the carrier's business rules to find the shortest path to terminate the SMS session”, and page 6, par (0063), line 1-20, the customer profile contains routing policy distribution preferences which help AINP determine how the subscriber would like tl1eir session routed. Using custom unique logic to determine BVR for the session, AINP organizes tl1e routing parameters based on their order of importance, determines one or more logic and optimization modules and invokes the modules, and analyzes the session using the selected criteria, AINP sends the resulting BVR to the SOP which terminates the session completes the network connection between subscriber device and subscriber services.
Therefore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments.
Thus, Dudley’s and Kunarathnam’s disclosure still covers the limitations of claims 1-20. Therefore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2, 5-10-11 and 14-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dudley (U.S 20150066641, Mar. 5, 2015) in view of Kunarathnam et al. (US 20120087368, Apr. 12, 2012).
Regarding Claim 1, Dudley discloses a system for providing a Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) service (page 3, par (0022), line 10-15, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals),
the system comprising a Business Telephony Application Server (BTAS) (page 3, par (0022), line 15-20, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS)),
the BTAS comprising a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises processor-executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to receive at least one of a contact number and a short code associated with a first user of a Central exchange (Centrex) group, dialed by a second user using at least one of a mobile device or a fixed line device, wherein the contact number and the short code corresponds to at least one of a mobile number and a fixed line number associated with the first user of the Centrex group(page 4, par (0030), line 1-20, the consumer consent by sending a short code SMS, the consumer express consent by providing personal information such as phone number(contact number), the consumer call a given contact number(dialed by a second user) and provide his consent following an interactive Voice Response (IVR) or support personnel);
establish a connection between the BTAS and an Internet protocol Multimedia Subsystem (MS) core network associated with an IMS server, when the second user dials the mobile number and the fixed line is linked to the mobile number(page 3, par (0022), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS));
invoke, upon establishing the connection between the BTAS and the IMS core network, at least one of a Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) create service and a FMC update service, to trigger a modification of an Initial Filter criteria (IFC) service chaining data in the IMS core network(page 3, par (0022-0023), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers, RCS and IMS use Session Initiation protocol (SIP) protocol in order to control the multimedia communications sessions over IP defined in the suite, SIP is a text-based protocol where each transaction involves a client request that invokes a particular function on the relevant server and a response));
in response to the conversion, transmit one or more invite request messages to the IMS core network associated with the mobile number link to the fixed line(page 3, par (0022), line 10-15, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals);
in response to the transmission, trigger a ringing mode on the mobile device and the fixed line device, to establish a call(page 3, par (0022), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS)).
Dudley discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except convert the short code to a relevant at least one of the fixed line number and the mobile number, when the second user dials the short code; and establish the call between at least one of the mobile device or the fixed line device associated with the second user, and at least one of the fixed line device or the mobile device associated with the first user, respectively.
Kunarathnam is the same field of invention teaches convert the short code to a relevant at least one of the fixed line number and the mobile number, when the second user dials the short code (page 6, par (0059), line 1-20, Samantha initiates an SMS message using her service provider, the service provider sends the session to AINP which checks to see if the number has been ported by checking the global Number Portability database(convert SMS into mobile number), AINP determines that the number has been ported, and validates the carrier's business rules to find the shortest path to terminate the SMS session); and establish the call between at least one of the mobile device or the fixed line device associated with the second user, and at least one of the fixed line device or the mobile device associated with the first user, respectively (page 6, par (0063), line 1-20, the customer profile contains routing policy distribution preferences which help AINP determine how the subscriber would like tl1eir session routed. Using custom unique logic to determine BVR for the session, AINP organizes tl1e routing parameters based on their order of importance, determines one or more logic and optimization modules and invokes the modules, and analyzes the session using the selected criteria, AINP sends the resulting BVR to the SOP which terminates the session completes the network connection between subscriber device and subscriber services).
Dudley and Kunarathnam l analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based convert the short code to a relevant at least one of the fixed line number and the mobile number, when the second user dials the short code the teaching of Dudley to include the customer profile contains routing policy distribution preferences which help AINP determine how the subscriber would like tl1eir session routed the teaching of Kunarathnam because it is providing for a service provider to maintain their current session costs and network topology through a central command and control web graphical user interface.
Regarding Claim 2, Dudley discloses the processor is further configured to determine periodically if, the call is answered on the fixed line device or the mobile device, by the first user; and disconnect the call in the mobile device or the fixed line device associated with the first user, when the call is answered in fixed line device or the mobile device, respectively, wherein the call is established upon disconnecting the call in the mobile device or the fixed line device, respectively(page 3, par (0022-0023), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers, RCS and IMS use Session Initiation protocol (SIP) protocol in order to control the multimedia communications sessions over IP defined in the suite, SIP is a text-based protocol where each transaction involves a client request that invokes a particular function on the relevant server and a response)).
Regarding Claim 5, Dudley discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except triggering the ringing mode on the mobile device and the fixed line device further comprises at least one of a ringing simultaneously on the fixed line device and the mobile device, and ringing sequentially first on the fixed line device and then on the mobile device, based on a provisioned parallel forking mode or a sequential forking mode.
Kunarathnam is the same field of invention teaches triggering the ringing mode on the mobile device and the fixed line device further comprises at least one of a ringing simultaneously on the fixed line device and the mobile device, and ringing sequentially first on the fixed line device and then on the mobile device, based on a provisioned parallel forking mode or a sequential forking mode (page 6, par (0062), line 1-20, the session which the signaling node receives from SOP 115 contains session parameters, session parameters may include, called party ID/called
party IP/URI, calling party ID/calling party IP/URI, calling party name, incoming trunk group/session or origination IP or ID/URI, subscriber location information, service ID, device information, automatic number identification (ANI) data, dialed number identification service (DNIS) data, subscriber identifier, subscriber IP address, subscriber name, incoming trunk group, session identifier, origination IP address, subscriber location data and service identifier).
Regarding Claim 6, Dudley discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the fixed line device associated with the first user displays a Calling Line Identification (CLI), and the mobile device associated with the first user displays the mobile number of the second user.
Kunarathnam is the same field of invention teaches the fixed line device associated with the first user displays a Calling Line Identification (CLI), and the mobile device associated with the first user displays the mobile number of the second user (page 6, par (0062), line 1-20, the session which the signaling node receives from SOP 115 contains session parameters, session parameters may include, called party ID/called party IP/URI, calling party ID/calling party IP/URI, calling party name, incoming trunk group/session or origination IP or ID/URI, subscriber location information).
Regarding Claim 7, Dudley discloses the fixed line device associated with the second user displays a Calling Line Identification (CLI) and the mobile device associated with the second user displays the short code of the first user(page 4, par (0030), line 1-20, the consumer consent by sending a short code SMS, the consumer express consent by providing personal information such as phone number(contact number), the consumer call a given contact number(dialed by a second user) and provide his consent following an interactive Voice Response (IVR) or support personnel).
Regarding Claim 8, Dudley discloses the ringing mode is triggered on at least one of the fixed line devices and the mobile device, the first user answers the call alternatively on an alternate contact number, by dialling a service code from the alternate contact number(page 4, par (0030), line 1-20, the consumer consent by sending a short code SMS, the consumer express consent by providing personal information such as phone number(contact number), the consumer call a given contact number(dialed by a second user) and provide his consent following an interactive Voice Response (IVR) or support personnel).
Regarding Claim 9, Dudley discloses the FMC service is activated upon inputting a pin via Dual-Tone Multi-Frequency Tones (DTMF), and the FMC service is deactivated upon inputting a pin via the DTMF, and wherein the FMC service is not deleted during deactivation(page 3, par (0022-0023), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers, RCS and IMS use Session Initiation protocol (SIP) protocol in order to control the multimedia communications sessions over IP defined in the suite, SIP is a text-based protocol where each transaction involves a client request that invokes a particular function on the relevant server and a response)).
Regarding Claim 10, Dudley discloses a method for providing a Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) service (page 3, par (0022), line 10-15, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals),
the system comprising a Business Telephony Application Server (BTAS) (page 3, par (0022), line 15-20, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS)),
the BTAS comprising a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises processor-executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to receive at least one of a contact number and a short code associated with a first user of a Central exchange (Centrex) group, dialed by a second user using at least one of a mobile device or a fixed line device, wherein the contact number and the short code corresponds to at least one of a mobile number and a fixed line number associated with the first user of the Centrex group(page 4, par (0030), line 1-20, the consumer consent by sending a short code SMS, the consumer express consent by providing personal information such as phone number(contact number), the consumer call a given contact number(dialed by a second user) and provide his consent following an interactive Voice Response (IVR) or support personnel);
establish a connection between the BTAS and an Internet protocol Multimedia Subsystem (MS) core network associated with an IMS server, when the second user dials the mobile number and the fixed line is linked to the mobile number(page 3, par (0022), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS));
invoke, upon establishing the connection between the BTAS and the IMS core network, at least one of a Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) create service and a FMC update service, to trigger a modification of an Initial Filter criteria (IFC) service chaining data in the IMS core network(page 3, par (0022-0023), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers, RCS and IMS use Session Initiation protocol (SIP) protocol in order to control the multimedia communications sessions over IP defined in the suite, SIP is a text-based protocol where each transaction involves a client request that invokes a particular function on the relevant server and a response));
in response to the conversion, transmit one or more invite request messages to the IMS core network associated with the mobile number link to the fixed line(page 3, par (0022), line 10-15, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals);
in response to the transmission, trigger a ringing mode on the mobile device and the fixed line device, to establish a call(page 3, par (0022), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS)).
Dudley discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except convert the short code to a relevant at least one of the fixed line number and the mobile number, when the second user dials the short code; and establish the call between at least one of the mobile device or the fixed line device associated with the second user, and at least one of the fixed line device or the mobile device associated with the first user, respectively.
Kunarathnam is the same field of invention teaches convert the short code to a relevant at least one of the fixed line number and the mobile number, when the second user dials the short code (page 6, par (0059), line 1-20, Samantha initiates an SMS message using her service provider, the service provider sends the session to AINP which checks to see if the number has been ported by checking the global Number Portability database(convert SMS into mobile number), AINP determines that the number has been ported, and validates the carrier's business rules to find the shortest path to terminate the SMS session);
and establish the call between at least one of the mobile device or the fixed line device associated with the second user, and at least one of the fixed line device or the mobile device associated with the first user, respectively (page 6, par (0063), line 1-20, the customer profile contains routing policy distribution preferences which help AINP determine how the subscriber would like tl1eir session routed. Using custom unique logic to determine BVR for the session, AINP organizes tl1e routing parameters based on their order of importance, determines one or more logic and optimization modules and invokes the modules, and analyzes the session using the selected criteria, AINP sends the resulting BVR to the SOP which terminates the session completes the network connection between subscriber device and subscriber services).
Dudley and Kunarathnam l analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based convert the short code to a relevant at least one of the fixed line number and the mobile number, when the second user dials the short code the teaching of Dudley to include the customer profile contains routing policy distribution preferences which help AINP determine how the subscriber would like tl1eir session routed the teaching of Kunarathnam because it is providing for a service provider to maintain their current session costs and network topology through a central command and control web graphical user interface.
Regarding Claim 11, Dudley discloses the processor is further configured to determine periodically if, the call is answered on the fixed line device or the mobile device, by the first user; and disconnect the call in the mobile device or the fixed line device associated with the first user, when the call is answered in fixed line device or the mobile device, respectively, wherein the call is established upon disconnecting the call in the mobile device or the fixed line device, respectively(page 3, par (0022-0023), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers, RCS and IMS use Session Initiation protocol (SIP) protocol in order to control the multimedia communications sessions over IP defined in the suite, SIP is a text-based protocol where each transaction involves a client request that invokes a particular function on the relevant server and a response)).
Regarding Claim 14, Dudley discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except triggering the ringing mode on the mobile device and the fixed line device further comprises at least one of a ringing simultaneously on the fixed line device and the mobile device, and ringing sequentially first on the fixed line device and then on the mobile device, based on a provisioned parallel forking mode or a sequential forking mode.
Kunarathnam is the same field of invention teaches triggering the ringing mode on the mobile device and the fixed line device further comprises at least one of a ringing simultaneously on the fixed line device and the mobile device, and ringing sequentially first on the fixed line device and then on the mobile device, based on a provisioned parallel forking mode or a sequential forking mode (page 6, par (0062), line 1-20, the session which the signaling node receives from SOP 115 contains session parameters, session parameters may include, called party ID/called party IP/URI, calling party ID/calling party IP/URI, calling party name, incoming trunk group/session or origination IP or ID/URI, subscriber location information, service ID, device information, automatic number identification (ANI) data, dialed number identification service (DNIS) data, subscriber identifier, subscriber IP address, subscriber name, incoming trunk group, session identifier, origination IP address, subscriber location data and service identifier).
Regarding Claim 15, Dudley discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the fixed line device associated with the first user displays a Calling Line Identification (CLI), and the mobile device associated with the first user displays the mobile number of the second user.
Kunarathnam is the same field of invention teaches the fixed line device associated with the first user displays a Calling Line Identification (CLI), and the mobile device associated with the first user displays the mobile number of the second user (page 6, par (0062), line 1-20, the session which the signaling node receives from SOP 115 contains session parameters, session parameters may include, called party ID/called party IP/URI, calling party ID/calling party IP/URI, calling party name, incoming trunk group/session or origination IP or ID/URI, subscriber location information).
Regarding Claim 16, Dudley discloses the fixed line device associated with
the second user displays a Calling Line Identification (CLI) and the mobile device associated with the second user displays the short code of the first user(page 4, par (0030), line 1-20, the consumer consent by sending a short code SMS, the consumer express consent by providing personal information such as phone number (contact number), the consumer call a given contact number(dialed by a second user) and provide his consent following an interactive Voice Response (IVR) or support personnel).
Regarding Claim 17, Dudley discloses when the ringing mode is triggered on at least one of the fixed line device or the mobile device, the first user answers the call alternatively on an alternate contact number, by dialling a service code from the
alternate contact number (page 4, par (0030), line 1-20, the consumer consent by sending a short code SMS, the consumer express consent by providing personal information such as phone number (contact number), the consumer call a given contact number (dialed by a second user) and provide his consent following an interactive Voice Response (IVR) or support personnel).
Regarding Claim 18, Dudley discloses the FMC service is activated upon inputting a pin via Dual-Tone Multi-Frequency Tones (DTMF), and the FMC service is deactivated upon inputting a pin via the DTMF, and wherein the FMC service is not deleted during deactivation(page 3, par (0022-0023), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers, RCS and IMS use Session Initiation protocol (SIP) protocol in order to control the multimedia communications sessions over IP defined in the suite, SIP is a text-based protocol where each transaction involves a client request that invokes a particular function on the relevant server and a response)).
Regarding Claim 19, Dudley discloses a User Equipment (UE) for providing a Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) service (page 3, par (0022), line 10-15, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals), the UE comprising a processor;
and a memory coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises processor-executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to transmit at least one of a contact number and a short code associated with a first user of a Central exchange (Centrex) group(page 4, par (0030), line 1-20, the consumer consent by sending a short code SMS, the consumer express consent by providing personal information such as phone number(contact number), the consumer call a given contact number(dialed by a second user) and provide his consent following an interactive Voice Response (IVR) or support personnel),
and establish a call between the user equipment associated with the second user and the first user(page 3, par (0022), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS)).
Dudley discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except dialled by a second user using at least one of the user equipment, wherein the contact number and the short code correspond to at least one of a mobile number and a fixed line number associated with the first user.
Kunarathnam is the same field of invention teaches dialled by a second user using at least one of the user equipment, wherein the contact number and the short code correspond to at least one of a mobile number and a fixed line number associated with the first user (page 6, par (0063), line 1-20, the customer profile contains routing policy distribution preferences which help AINP determine how the subscriber would like tl1eir session routed. Using custom unique logic to determine BVR for the session, AINP organizes tl1e routing parameters based on their order of importance, determines one or more logic and optimization modules and invokes the modules, and analyzes the session using the selected criteria, AINP sends the resulting BVR to the SOP which terminates the session completes the network connection between subscriber device and subscriber services).
Dudley and Kunarathnam l analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based convert the short code to a relevant at least one of the fixed line number and the mobile number, when the second user dials the short code the teaching of Dudley to include the customer profile contains routing policy distribution preferences which help AINP determine how the subscriber would like tl1eir session routed the teaching of Kunarathnam because it is providing for a service provider to maintain their current session costs and network topology through a central command and control web graphical user interface.
Regarding Claim 20, Dudley discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising machine-readable instructions that are executable by a processor to receive at least one of a contact number and a short code associated with a first user of a Central exchange (Centrex) group(page 4, par (0030), line 1-20, the consumer consent by sending a short code SMS, the consumer express consent by providing personal information such as phone number(contact number), the consumer call a given contact number(dialed by a second user) and provide his consent following an interactive Voice Response (IVR) or support personnel),
dialled by a second user using at least one of a mobile device or a fixed line device (page 4, par (0030), line 1-20, the consumer consent by sending a short code SMS, the consumer express consent by providing personal information such as phone number(contact number), the consumer call a given contact number(dialed by a second user) and provide his consent following an interactive Voice Response (IVR) or support personnel), wherein the contact number and the short code corresponds to at least one of a mobile number and a fixed line number associated with the first user of the Centrex group(page 3, par (0022), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS));
establish a connection between aBusiness Telephony Application Server (BTAS) and an Internet protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) core network associated with an IMS server, when the second user dials the mobile number and the fixed line is linked to the mobile number(page 3, par (0022-0023), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers);
invoke, upon establishing the connection between the BTAS and the IMS core network, at least one of a Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) create service and a FMC update service, to trigger a modification of an Initial Filter criteria (IFC) service chaining data in the IMS core network(page 3, par (0022-0023), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers, RCS and IMS use Session Initiation protocol (SIP) protocol in order to control the multimedia communications sessions over IP defined in the suite, SIP is a text-based protocol where each transaction involves a client request that invokes a particular function on the relevant server and a response));
in response to the conversion, transmit one or more invite request messages to the IMS core network associated with the mobile number link to the fixed line (page 3, par (0022), line 10-15, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals);
in response to the transmission, trigger a ringing mode on the mobile device and the fixed line device, to establish a call(page 3, par (0022), line 1-20, the IMS provides a form of Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) which aids in the communication of multimedia and voice applications from wireless to fixed terminals, in communication with the network available to the user devices and enterprise device, are multiple servers such as presence server and instant messaging servers which provide facilities and cloud storage for instant messaging and presence information publishing services (wherein the servers are BTAS)).
Dudley discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except convert the short code to a relevant at least one of the fixed line number and the mobile number, when the second user dials the short code; and establish the call between at least one of the mobile device or the fixed line device associated with the second user, and at least one of the fixed line device or the mobile device associated with the first user, respectively.
Kunarathnam is the same field of invention teaches convert the short code to a relevant at least one of the fixed line number and the mobile number, when the second user dials the short code(page 6, par (0059), line 1-20, Samantha initiates an SMS message using her service provider, the service provider sends the session to AINP which checks to see if the number has been ported by checking the global Number Portability database(convert SMS into mobile number), AINP determines that the number has been ported, and validates the carrier's business rules to find the shortest path to terminate the SMS session);
and establish the call between at least one of the mobile device or the fixed line device associated with the second user, and at least one of the fixed line device or the mobile device associated with the first user, respectively (page 6, par (0063), line 1-20, the customer profile contains routing policy distribution preferences which help AINP determine how the subscriber would like tl1eir session routed. Using custom unique logic to determine BVR for the session, AINP organizes tl1e routing parameters based on their order of importance, determines one or more logic and optimization modules and invokes the modules, and analyzes the session using the selected criteria, AINP sends the resulting BVR to the SOP which terminates the session completes the network connection between subscriber device and subscriber services).
Dudley and Kunarathnam l analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based convert the short code to a relevant at least one of the fixed line number and the mobile number, when the second user dials the short code the teaching of Dudley to include the customer profile contains routing policy distribution preferences which help AINP determine how the subscriber would like tl1eir session routed the teaching of Kunarathnam because it is providing for a service provider to maintain their current session costs and network topology through a central command and control web graphical user interface.
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claims 3 or 4 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 10 would be allowable if (i) claims 12 or 13 are incorporated into the independent claim 10.
Claim 19 would be allowable if (i) claims 12 are incorporated into the independent claim 19.
Claim 20 would be allowable if (i) claims 3 or 4 or 12 or 13 are incorporated into the independent claim 20.
The claim 1-4, 10-13, 17- and 20 have the conditional limitation “when the second user dials” and “when the call is answered” and “when the short code corresponds” and “when the call is established” and “when the ringing mode” and “a Fixed Mobile Convergence (FMC) create service and a FMC update service”, please clarify the conditional language features from the limitations of the claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: “(100), (200), etc.” on Claims 1-20 should be written in its expanded form.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464