DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on Application 18/029,690 and in response to a Request for Continued Examination filed 06/03/2026.
Claims 1-13 are previously pending, of those claims, claim 1 has been amended, all amendments have been entered. Claims 1-13 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU (US 2020/0161606 A1) in view of PINON (US 2015/0037662 A1).
With respect to claim 1. YU teaches a battery module which includes a top plate 4, bottom plate 5, side plates 1 and 2, and end plates 9 which form an accommodation space (paragraph 0065). The side plates 1, 2 and end plates 9 are the claimed exterior member and is opned at an upper and lower sides thereof (see Figures 1-2). An elastic cushion 8 is sandwiched between the outermost battery unit of the module and a corresponding side plate (paragraph 0084). As seen in Figure 2 the elastic member 8 is in directly contact with the battery cell. The battery module further includes a conductive connecting pad 7 which is electrically connected to the terminals to electrically connect the cells (paragraph 0083).
YU does not explicitly teach a sensing block positioned at the front and rear side of the battery cell stack.
PINON teaches a battery module 22 (paragraph 0136). There is a power assembly 84 disposed between top and bottom compression plates 100 and 102 (paragraph 0138). The power assembly 84 includes a stack of battery cell assemblies 114 (paragraph 0138). Thermal gap pads 115 may be disposed between the power assemblies 84 and the top and bottom compression plates 100 and 102 (paragraph 0138) the thermal gap pads 115 may serve as spring elements that enable a uniform pressure provided to each battery cell of the power assembly 84 of the battery module 22 (paragraph 0163). The battery module 22 includes two interconnect assemblies 128 that couple each of the battery cells of the power assembly 84 (paragraph 0140). The interconnect assembly includes a cell interconnect board 130 and a number of sensors 132 (paragraph 0140). The interconnect assemblies 128 are taken to be the claimed sensing block positioned at a front and rear side of the battery cell stack (Figure 7).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the interconnect assembly including the cell interconnect board and sensors of PINON for the conductive connecting pad 7 of YU as this is a simple substitution of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results. Specifically, YU teaches the use of the conductive connecting pad 7 which electrically connect the terminals (paragraph 0083) and then PINON teaches similar cell interconnect boards provided on both side of the cell stacks and include the sensors (paragraph 0140).
With respect to claim 2-4. YU teaches the end plates 9 and the side plates plates which form the exterior member (paragraph 0065). This includes the section which covers the elastic cushion 8 (Figure 2).
With respect to claim 5. YU teaches elastic cushion which provides the battery with a swelling space (paragraph 0084) and is in a flat shape (Figure 2) and is therefore taken to be the claimed flat spring.
With respect to claim 6. YU teaches the outer surface of the exterior member is exposed (see Figure 1).
With respect to claim 7. YU teaches that the width of the exterior member is approximately equal to the width of the battery cell stack (see Figures 1-2).
With respect to claim 8. YU teaches that the exterior member is adjacent to a lower portion of the batter cell stack (Figure 2).
With respect to claim 12. YU teaches the battery module as noted above, but does not explicitly teach a battery pack comprising the module. PINON however teaches that the use of battery packs for applications of powering electric vehicles are well known (paragraph 0003). At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the battery module of YU in a battery pack of PINON as this is a known application of a known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
With respect to claim 13. YU teaches the elastic cushion is provided between the outermost battery and the side plate 1, 2, or between two neighboring battery units (paragraph 0084). Therefore YU teaches the embodiment where the elastic cushion is only provided between the outermost cell and the side plates. In such an embodiment the cells are taken to be in direct contact with each other.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU (US 2020/0161606 A1) in view of PINON (US 2015/0037662 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of YOO (US 2020/0388805 A1).
Claim 9 is dependent upon claim 1 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of YU and PINON. YU does not explicitly teach the exterior member is made of an elastic material, formed by wrapping the source of a structure, or is a thermal contraction tube.
YOO teaches a battery module that includes a heat-shrinkable tube (abstract). There is a battery module 200 including a heat-shrinkable tube 210 (paragraph 0052). The tube has a tubular shape with a hollow structure (paragraph 0073). The tube is configured to surround a portion of the cell assembly 100 (paragraph 0074). Such heat shrinkable tube allow for efficient heat transfer due to the close contact (paragraph 0090).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the plates forming the accommodating space of YU with the heat shrinkable tube of YOO as this is a simple substitution of one known prior art element for another in order toa achieve predictable results. Specifically YOO teaches the heat shrinkable tube may form side walls to accommodate the cell assemblies as swell as to protect the assemblies from external impact (paragraph 0075) therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would expect them to function similarly and predictably to the sidewalls of YU.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-30 of copending Application No. 18/019,643 in view of YU (US 2020/0161606 A1). Application ‘643 claims a battery module including an exterior member, and sensing blocks on the front and rear side of the cell stack (claim 15).
Application ‘643 does not explicitly claim an elastic member.
YU teaches a battery module which includes a top plate 4, bottom plate 5, side plate 1 and 2 which form an accommodation space (paragraph 0065). This accommodation space is taken to be the claimed exterior member. An elastic cushion 8 is sandwiched between the outermost battery unit of the module and a corresponding side plate (paragraph 0084). As seen in Figure 2 the elastic member 8 is in directly contact with the battery cell.
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the elastic members between the side of the outermost battery unit and the housing of YU for the battery module of Application ‘643 as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-7 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 06/03/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 and 12-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of YU and PINON have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of YU and PIONON.
On page 5 of Applicant ARgumetns/Remarks Applicant argues that YU teaches the top plate, bottom plate and side plates 1-2 are the exterior members. Therefore on page 7 Applicant argues that the amended claim 1 recites that the exterior member is configured to surround a front and rear side of the battery cell stack, and the sensing block is on the front and rear side. Therefore the thus defined exterior member of YU the exterior member and sensing bnlcoks are not both at the front and rear side. Insetad the exterior member would surround the lateral, top and bottom sides of the cells, and not the side and rear which has the sensing block. This argument is persuasive.
In view of the amendments the rejection in view of YU and PINON has been reconsidered and the claimed exterior member is redefined to include the side plates 1 and 2, as well as the end plates 9 (Figure 2 and paragraph 0065). The position of the sensing block in view of PINON would be equivalent to the connection pad 7 as seen in Figure 2, and therefore would also be present at the front and rear side of the cell stack, between the end plates 9 and the cell stack. The Examiner notes that the top plate and bottom plates 4 and 5 are taken to be additional elements to the exterior member. Such that the thus defined exterior member of YU would be open at the upper and lower sides.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722