DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
This office action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed on 3/31/23. As directed by the amendment: claim 3 has been amended, no claims have been canceled, and new claim 4 has been added. Thus, claims 1-4 are presently pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “cushioning mechanism” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a cushioning mechanism for..” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the surface with the brush bristles provided” is unclear and requires clarification.
Claim 2 recites “inside the surface with the brush bristles provided,” which is unclear and requires clarification.
Any remaining claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim limitation “cushioning mechanism for” in claim 2 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kosecoff et al. (2022/0088407).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 1 Kosecoff discloses a brush configured to apply an electric current to a human body, the brush comprising: a brush body (structure in figure 1 not including tines 108); electrodes 150 respectively provided at tips of brush bristles (Fig. 1); a sensor provided on a surface of the brush body [0029], the surface with the brush bristles provided [0029]; and a controller [0029] configured to control motions of the brush bristles based on a detection output signal of the sensor ([0029-0030] the sensors provide input to a controller, which then controls the output of the one or more hair and scalp treatment systems based on the information provided by the sensors, the one or more treatment systems including a haptic vibrating massager 158).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosecoff as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Purvis et al. (6,283,930).
Regarding claim 2, Kosecoff is silent regarding a cushioning mechanism for the brush bristles is provided inside the surface with the brush bristles provided. However, Purvis teaches a cushioning mechanism (18, Col. 5, ll. 16-20) for the brush bristles is provided inside the surface with the brush bristles 14 provided. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kosecoff’s body where 100 is pointing that meets proximal ends of tines 108 with a pliant material, as taught by Purvis, for the purpose of reducing vibrations as desired (Col. 2, ll. 53-57 Purvis).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosecoff as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawa et al. (2018/0015299).
Regarding claim 3, Kosecoff is silent regarding a stand configured to store the brush bristles of the brush body while keeping a predetermined posture of the brush bristles facing toward a mounting surface. However, in fig. 4 Kawa teaches a stand 20 configured to store the brush bristles of the brush body while keeping a predetermined posture of the brush bristles facing toward a mounting surface 28 [0036]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kosecoff’s brush with the addition of a stand, as taught by Kawa, for the purpose of cooling the device after use ([0036] Kawa).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosecoff and Purvis, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kawa et al. (2018/0015299).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Kosecoff is silent regarding a stand configured to store the brush bristles of the brush body while keeping a predetermined posture of the brush bristles facing toward a mounting surface. However, in fig. 4 Kawa teaches a stand 20 configured to store the brush bristles of the brush body while keeping a predetermined posture of the brush bristles facing toward a mounting surface 28 [0036]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Kosecoff’s brush with the addition of a stand, as taught by Kawa, for the purpose of cooling the device after use ([0036] Kawa).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shakour et al. (2019/0328261) directed towards a brush having electrodes and Planard-Luong (2019/0001125) directed towards a skin contacting device with electrodes.
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785