DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 41, 59, and 60 have been amended.
Claims 41-60 are pending.
1. Amendment made to claim 59 filed on 10/15/2025 has been considered and accepted by the examiner. Therefore, the Claim Objection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 41-43, 49-50, 53-55, 57-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KADIRI et al. (US 20230345509, hereinafter, “KADIRI”) in view of SHIN et al. (US 20190174510, hereinafter, “SHIN”).
Claim 41. KADIRI teaches: A method of paging for multicast and broadcast services (MBS) data transmission, - See Fig. 3, ¶ [0120 - 0121], (“the base station 105-a may transmit an MBS notification…to notify the UEs of the multicast services or of a transmission of the multicast data”)
comprising receiving, by a user equipment (UE), - See Fig. 2-3, ¶ [0123], (“the base station 105-a may notify the UEs 115-a and 115-b…”) downlink control information (DCI) associated with a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) - See Fig. 2, 14, ¶ [0123], (“the base station 105-a may notify the UEs 115-a and 115-b of the one or more multicast services…UE 115-a may receive DCI 205 in a PDCCH transmission from the base station 105-a…the DCI 205 may be a DCI format 1_0, and may be scrambled with a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI).”); ¶ [0128], (“CRC bits of DCI 205 may be scrambled by a multicast P-RNTI (which may be based on the G-RNTI used for multicast transmissions).”) and used for scheduling paging information, - in ¶ [0123], (“the indicator may indicate that the DCI 205 contains scheduling information for the location to receive paging messages transmitted from the base station 105-a in one or more paging occasions…”)
wherein at least one of the first RNTI - in ¶ [0128], (“CRC bits of DCI 205 may be scrambled by a multicast P-RNTI (which may be based on the G-RNTI used for multicast transmissions). UEs in the multicast paging group (e.g., UEs 115-a and 115-b) that are configured to receive a multicast service identified by the G-RNTI may monitor for a DCI scrambled by the G-RNTI or P-RNTI during multicast paging occasions.”) or the DCI indicates that the paging information, scheduled by the DCI, - in ¶ [0140 - 0141], (“the UE 115-c may receive a DCI at that indicates one or more paging occasions for receiving trigger messages from the base station 105-b, where the trigger message is an RRC paging message 315 indicating the one or more multicast services…the UE 115-c may determine that the scheduling information contained in the DCI is scheduling the one or more multicast services based on a one bit indicator in the DCI”) is associated with a first MBS service; - in ¶ [0130], (“…to identify the multicast service (as identified by the G-RNTI, TMGI, MBS session ID, etc.).”) and
receiving MBS data based on the paging information. - in ¶ [0125], (“Based on the multicast paging record type and the multicast paging identity, the UE 115-a may determine that the base station 105-a has multicast services to transmit and may transition to an RRC connected state to receive the multicast services.”); ¶ [0120 - 0121], (“the base station 105-a may transmit an MBS notification (e.g., a paging message, short message, or MCCH change notification) to the UEs 115 to notify the UEs of the multicast services or of a transmission of the multicast data…the MBS notification may prompt the UEs 115 to enter an RRC connected state to receive the data via an MRB...UEs 115 may support receiving the multicast resources while in an idle or inactive state, where UEs 115 may or may not enter into an RRC connected state to receive multicast data.”)
wherein the DCI includes generic MBS notification DCI - in ¶ [0119 - 0120], (“the MBS notification may be an MBS-P-RNTI…the base station 105-a may transmit an MBS notification (e.g., a paging message, short message, or MCCH change notification) to the UEs 115 to notify the UEs of the multicast services”) whose cyclic redundancy check (CRC) is masked with MBS-P-RNTI, - in ¶ [0128], (“CRC bits of DCI 205 may be scrambled by a multicast P-RNTI…UEs in the multicast paging group (e.g., UEs 115-a and 115-b) that are configured to receive a multicast service identified by the G-RNTI may monitor for a DCI scrambled by the G-RNTI or P-RNTI”) and includes G-RNTI and Notification Information. - in ¶ [0125], (“the multicast group paging identity may be a group-RNTI (G-RNTI)”); ¶ [0143], (“the MCCH change notification 325 may be a DCI scrambled with a MCCH RNTI…may be a single bit or a group of bits in the DCI message such that each bit of the group of bits indicates a different type of MCCH content change (e.g., a start of a new multicast-broadcast session…”)
KADIRI does not explicitly teach:
wherein the DCI includes generic MBS notification DCI whose cyclic redundancy check (CRC) is masked with MBS-P-RNTI, and includes G-RNTI and Notification Information.
However, SHIN teaches:
wherein the DCI includes generic MBS notification DCI whose cyclic redundancy check (CRC) is masked with MBS-P-RNTI, and includes G-RNTI and Notification Information. - in ¶ [0454], (“the corresponding DCI may be configured to carry information about an SC-MCCH change notification (simultaneously) while scheduling an SC-MTCH…the method does not require an additional DCI field and carries information about an SC-MCCH change notification without increasing the number of blind decoding of a UE.”, This confirms notification information can be carried in the same DCI.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KADIRI with SHIN to include Notification Information, as taught by SHIN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve payload handling by including the Notification information within the same DCI received by the UE, as suggested by SHIN, the method does not require an additional DCI field and carries information about an SC-MCCH change notification without increasing the number of blind decoding of a UE. - ¶ [0454]
Claim 42. Combination of KADIRI and SHIN teaches The method of claim 41, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KADIRI teaches:
wherein the UE is in one of a radio resource control (RRC) idle state and an RRC inactive state. - See Fig. 3, ¶ [0121], (“UEs 115 may support receiving the multicast resources while in an idle or inactive state”)
Claim 43. Combination of KADIRI and SHIN teaches The method of claim 41, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KADIRI teaches:
further comprising monitoring a downlink control channel for the first RNTI. – in ¶ [0128], (“(e.g., UEs 115-a and 115-b) that are configured to receive a multicast service identified by the G-RNTI may monitor for a DCI scrambled by the G-RNTI or P-RNTI during multicast paging occasions.”); ¶ [0123], (“the UE 115-a may receive DCI 205 in a PDCCH transmission from the base station…the DCI 205 may be a DCI format 1_0, and may be scrambled with a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI).”)
Claim 49. Combination of KADIRI and SHIN teaches The method of claim 41, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KADIRI teaches:
wherein, the first RNTI is associated with a plurality of MBS services. - in ¶ [0130], (“the base station 105-a may allocate a set of the reserved short message bits (e.g., bits 4 through 6) to identify the multicast service (as identified by the G-RNTI, TMGI, MBS session ID, etc.)…For example, bit set value of 101 may indicate a first multicast-broadcast service (e.g., MBS service X), a bit set value of 110 may indicate a second multicast-broadcast service (e.g., MBS service Y)…The base station 105-a may further transmit dedicated RRC signaling which may indicate a mapping between multicast service IDs or multicast service grouping IDs and associated short message bits so that the UE 115-a may identify associated multicast services associated with the bit values given in the short message.”)
Claim 50. Combination of KADIRI and SHIN teaches The method of claim 41, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KADIRI does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first RNTI is a predetermined value.
However, SHIN teaches:
wherein the first RNTI is a predetermined value. – See Fig. 27B, ¶ [0347], (“predefined (or preconfigured) RNTI value.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KADIRI with SHIN to include the first RNTI is a predetermined value, as taught by SHIN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve efficiency, as suggested by SHIN, a system for supporting low complexity and low power consumption. - ¶ [0299]
Claim 53. Combination of KADIRI and SHIN teaches The method of claim 41, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KADIRI teaches:
wherein the DCI defines a value associated with the first MBS service. - in ¶ [0128 - 0130], (“The DCI 205 may further indicate that the network may use a PDCCH short message for triggering the UE…CRC bits of DCI 205 may be scrambled by a multicast P-RNTI…the base station 105-a may allocate a set of the reserved short message bits (e.g., bits 4 through 6) to identify the multicast service (as identified by the G-RNTI, TMGI, MBS session ID, etc.)…bit set value of 101 may indicate a first multicast-broadcast service (e.g., MBS service X)”)
Claim 54. Combination of KADIRI and SHIN teaches The method of claim 53, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KADIRI teaches:
wherein the defined value corresponds to an MBS service-specific RNTI associated with the first MBS service. - in ¶ [0128 – 0130], (“The DCI 205 may further indicate that the network may use a PDCCH short message for triggering the UE…CRC bits of DCI 205 may be scrambled by a multicast P-RNTI…the base station 105-a may allocate a set of the reserved short message bits (e.g., bits 4 through 6) to identify the multicast service (as identified by the G-RNTI, TMGI, MBS session ID, etc.)…For example, bit set value of 101 may indicate a first multicast-broadcast service (e.g., MBS service X)”)
Claim 57. Combination of KADIRI and SHIN teaches The method of claim 41, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KADIRI teaches:
further comprising monitoring a downlink control channel for the first RNTI, wherein the monitoring is based on discontinuous reception (DRX) procedure. – in ¶ [0128], (“UEs in the multicast paging group (e.g., UEs 115-a and 115-b) that are configured to receive a multicast service identified by the G-RNTI may monitor for a DCI scrambled by the G-RNTI or P-RNTI during multicast paging occasions.”); ¶ [0123], (“the UE 115-a may receive DCI 205 in a PDCCH transmission from the base station 105-a. In some examples, the DCI 205 may be a DCI format 1_0, and may be scrambled with a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI).”)
KADIRI does not explicitly teach:
wherein the monitoring is based on discontinuous reception (DRX) procedure.
However, SHIN teaches:
wherein the monitoring is based on discontinuous reception (DRX) procedure. - in ¶ [0367], (“A UE in the idle mode may monitor the DCI format N2 (or size of the DCI format N2) by using Paging-RNTI (P-RNTI) to watch (i.e. detect) paging…during a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle of the UE.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KADIRI with SHIN to include based on a discontinuous reception procedure, as taught by SHIN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by SHIN, a system for supporting low complexity and low power consumption. - ¶ [0299]
Claim 58. Combination of KADIRI and SHIN teaches The method of claim 57, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KADIRI teaches:
wherein the DRX procedure includes a determination of paging occasions and wherein monitoring the downlink control channel includes monitoring the downlink control channel at the paging occasions. - in ¶ [0128], (“UEs in the multicast paging group (e.g., UEs 115-a and 115-b) that are configured to receive a multicast service identified by the G-RNTI may monitor for a DCI scrambled by the G-RNTI or P-RNTI during multicast paging occasions.”); ¶ [0123], (“the UE 115-a may receive DCI 205 in a PDCCH transmission from the base station 105-a. In some examples, the DCI 205 may be a DCI format 1_0, and may be scrambled with a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI)…the indicator may indicate that the DCI 205 contains scheduling information for the location to receive paging messages transmitted from the base station 105-a in one or more paging occasions…For a value of 11, the indicator may indicate that the DCI 205 contains both scheduling information for paging occasions along with the PDCCH short message.”)
KADIRI does not explicitly teach:
wherein the DRX procedure includes a determination of paging occasions and wherein monitoring the downlink control channel includes monitoring the downlink control channel at the paging occasions.
However, SHIN teaches:
wherein the DRX procedure includes a determination of paging occasions and wherein monitoring the downlink control channel includes monitoring the downlink control channel at the paging occasions. - in ¶ [0367], (“A UE in the idle mode may monitor the DCI format N2 (or size of the DCI format N2) by using Paging-RNTI (P-RNTI) to watch (i.e. detect) paging…during a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle of the UE.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KADIRI with SHIN to specify the DRX procedure, as taught by SHIN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce power consumption, as suggested by SHIN, a system for supporting low complexity and low power consumption. - ¶ [0299]
Claim 59. KADIRI teaches: A method of paging for multicast and broadcast services (MBS) data
transmission, comprising: - See Fig. 3, ¶ [0120 - 0121], (“the base station 105-a may transmit an MBS notification…to notify the UEs of the multicast services or of a transmission of the multicast data”)
monitoring, by a user equipment (UE), - See Fig. 2-3, ¶ [0128], (“UEs 115-a and 115-b that are configured to receive a multicast service identified by the G-RNTI may monitor…”) a downlink control channel for a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), – in ¶ [0128], (“UEs in the multicast paging group (e.g., UEs 115-a and 115-b) that are configured to receive a multicast service identified by the G-RNTI may monitor for a DCI scrambled by the G-RNTI or P-RNTI during multicast paging occasions.”); ¶ [0123], (“the UE 115-a may receive DCI 205 in a PDCCH transmission from the base station 105-a. In some examples, the DCI 205 may be a DCI format 1_0, and may be scrambled with a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI).”)
wherein the UE corresponds to at least one of a first radio resource control (RRC) state or a second RRC state, - See Fig. 3, ¶ [0121], (“UEs 115 may support receiving the multicast resources while in an idle or inactive state”) and wherein monitoring the downlink control channel is based on a discontinuous reception (DRX) procedure; – in ¶ [0128], (“UEs in the multicast paging group (e.g., UEs 115-a and 115-b) that are configured to receive a multicast service identified by the G-RNTI may monitor for a DCI scrambled by the G-RNTI or P-RNTI during multicast paging occasions.”); ¶ [0123], (“the UE 115-a may receive DCI 205 in a PDCCH transmission from the base station 105-a. In some examples, the DCI 205 may be a DCI format 1_0, and may be scrambled with a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI).”)
receiving, by the UE, - See Fig. 2-3, ¶ [0123], (“the base station 105-a may notify the UEs 115-a and 115-b…”) downlink control information (DCI) associated with the RNTI - See Fig. 2, 14, ¶ [0123], (“the base station 105-a may notify the UEs 115-a and 115-b of the one or more multicast services using RRC paging techniques. For example, the UE 115-a may receive DCI 205 in a PDCCH transmission from the base station 105-a. In some examples, the DCI 205 may be a DCI format 1_0, and may be scrambled with a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI).”); ¶ [0128], (“CRC bits of DCI 205 may be scrambled by a multicast P-RNTI (which may be based on the G-RNTI used for multicast transmissions).”) and used for scheduling paging information, - in ¶ [0123], (“the indicator may indicate that the DCI 205 contains scheduling information for the location to receive paging messages transmitted from the base station 105-a in one or more paging occasions”)
wherein at least one of the RNTI - in ¶ [0128], (“CRC bits of DCI 205 may be scrambled by a multicast P-RNTI (which may be based on the G-RNTI used for multicast transmissions). UEs in the multicast paging group (e.g., UEs 115-a and 115-b) that are configured to receive a multicast service identified by the G-RNTI may monitor for a DCI scrambled by the G-RNTI or P-RNTI during multicast paging occasions.”) or the DCI indicates that the paging information, scheduled by the DCI, - in ¶ [0140 - 0141], (“the UE 115-c may receive a DCI at that indicates one or more paging occasions for receiving trigger messages from the base station 105-b, where the trigger message is an RRC paging message 315 indicating the one or more multicast services…the UE 115-c may determine that the scheduling information contained in the DCI is scheduling the one or more multicast services based on a one bit indicator in the DCI”) is associated with a first MBS service; - in ¶ [0130], (“…to identify the multicast service (as identified by the G-RNTI, TMGI, MBS session ID, etc.).”) and
receiving MBS data based on the paging information, - in ¶ [0125], (“Based on the multicast paging record type and the multicast paging identity, the UE 115-a may determine that the base station 105-a has multicast services to transmit and may transition to an RRC connected state to receive the multicast services.”); ¶ [0120 - 0121], (“the base station 105-a may transmit an MBS notification (e.g., a paging message, short message, or MCCH change notification) to the UEs 115 to notify the UEs of the multicast services or of a transmission of the multicast data…the MBS notification may prompt the UEs 115 to enter an RRC connected state to receive the data via an MRB...UEs 115 may support receiving the multicast resources while in an idle or inactive state, where UEs 115 may or may not enter into an RRC connected state to receive multicast data.”)
wherein the DCI includes generic MBS notification DCI - in ¶ [0119 - 0120], (“the MBS notification may be an MBS-P-RNTI…the base station 105-a may transmit an MBS notification (e.g., a paging message, short message, or MCCH change notification) to the UEs 115 to notify the UEs of the multicast services”) whose cyclic redundancy check (CRC) is masked with MBS-P-RNTI, - in ¶ [0128], (“CRC bits of DCI 205 may be scrambled by a multicast P-RNTI…UEs in the multicast paging group (e.g., UEs 115-a and 115-b) that are configured to receive a multicast service identified by the G-RNTI may monitor for a DCI scrambled by the G-RNTI or P-RNTI”) and includes G-RNTI and Notification Information. - in ¶ [0125], (“the multicast group paging identity may be a group-RNTI (G-RNTI)”); ¶ [0143], (“the MCCH change notification 325 may be a DCI scrambled with a MCCH RNTI…may be a single bit or a group of bits in the DCI message such that each bit of the group of bits indicates a different type of MCCH content change (e.g., a start of a new multicast-broadcast session…”)
KADIRI does not explicitly teach:
wherein the UE corresponds to at least one of a first radio resource control (RRC) state or a second RRC state and wherein monitoring the DCI is based on a discontinuous reception (DRX) procedure; wherein the DCI includes generic MBS notification DCI whose cyclic redundancy check (CRC) is masked with MBS-P-RNTI, and includes G-RNTI and Notification Information.
However, SHIN teaches:
wherein the UE corresponds to at least one of a first radio resource control (RRC) state or a second RRC state and wherein monitoring the DCI is based on a discontinuous reception (DRX) procedure; - in ¶ [0367], (“A UE in the idle mode may monitor the DCI format N2 (or size of the DCI format N2) by using Paging-RNTI (P-RNTI) to watch (i.e. detect) paging…during a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle of the UE.”)
wherein the DCI includes generic MBS notification DCI whose cyclic redundancy check (CRC) is masked with MBS-P-RNTI, and includes G-RNTI and Notification Information. - in ¶ [0454], (“the corresponding DCI may be configured to carry information about an SC-MCCH change notification (simultaneously) while scheduling an SC-MTCH…the method does not require an additional DCI field and carries information about an SC-MCCH change notification without increasing the number of blind decoding of a UE.”, This confirms notification information can be carried in the same DCI.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KADIRI with SHIN to include Notification Information and based on a discontinuous reception procedure, as taught by SHIN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve payload handling and reduce power consumption by including the Notification information within the same DCI received by the UE, as suggested by SHIN, the method does not require an additional DCI field and carries information about an SC-MCCH change notification without increasing the number of blind decoding of a UE. - ¶ [0454]
Claim 55 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 49 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claim 60 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 41 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 44-48, 51-52, 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KADIRI et al. (US 20230345509, hereinafter, “KADIRI”) in view of SHIN et al. (US 20190174510, hereinafter, “SHIN”), and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 20240032070, hereinafter, “Zhou”).
Claim 44. Combination of KADIRI and SHIN teaches The method of claim 41, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of KADIRI and SHIN does not explicitly teach:
further comprising processing a transport block (TB), scheduled by the DCI and comprising the paging information.
However, Zhou teaches:
further comprising processing a transport block (TB), scheduled by the DCI - See Fig. 27A, ¶ [0266], (“a first wireless device (e.g., WD1) may receive from a base station transport blocks (TBs) dedicated for the first wireless device, and/or scheduled by a DCI with a first UE specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, MCS-C-RNTI, etc.)”) and comprising the paging information. - in ¶ [0268], (“The broadcast TBs may comprise…paging information message, etc. In an example, when receiving broadcasted system information, or paging information…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KADIRI and SHIN with Zhou to include processing a transport block, scheduled by the DCI and comprising the paging information, as taught by Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve system efficiency, as suggested by Zhou, simplify MBS implementation of a wireless device and reduce power consumption, the flexibility of downlink scheduling may be reduced and result in reduced system throughput. - ¶ [0276]
Claim 45. Combination of KADIRI, SHIN, and Zhou teaches The method of claim 44, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KADIRI teaches:
wherein the first RNTI is associated with a plurality of MBS services comprising the first MBS service. - in ¶ [0130], (“the base station 105-a may allocate a set of the reserved short message bits…to identify the multicast service (as identified by the G-RNTI, TMGI, MBS session ID, etc.). In some cases, the base station 105-a may use the set of bits to notify the UE 115-a of a number of different multicast services…bit set value of 110 may indicate a first group of multicast-broadcast services (e.g., MBS group 1 services), a bit set value of 111 may indicate a second group of multicast-broadcast services (e.g., MBS group 2 services).”)
Claim 46. Combination of KADIRI, SHIN, and Zhou teaches The method of claim 45, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KADIRI teaches:
wherein the paging information comprises notification information associated with each of the plurality of the MBS services. - in ¶ [0140], (“the UE 115-c may receive a DCI…the trigger message is an RRC paging message 315 indicating the one or more multicast services.”); ¶ [0143], (“the UE 115-c may receive a MCCH change notification…”)
Claim 47. Combination of KADIRI, SHIN, and Zhou teaches The method of claim 46, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KADIRI teaches:
wherein the notification information associated with individual MBS services comprise one or more of: - in ¶ [0140], (“the UE 115-c may receive a DCI…the trigger message is an RRC paging message 315 indicating the one or more multicast services.”); ¶ [0143], (“the UE 115-c may receive a MCCH change notification…”)
an MBS service-specific radio network temporary radio network identifier (RNTI) for scheduling MBS data associated with an MBS service; - in ¶ [0143], (“the MCCH change notification 325 may be a DCI scrambled with a MCCH RNTI…the group of bits indicates a different type of MCCH content change (e.g., a start of a new multicast-broadcast session, an addition of a multicast-broadcast service…”) control channel change information; - in ¶ [0143], (“MCCH change notification 325… indicates a different type of MCCH content change (e.g., a start of a new multicast-broadcast session, an addition of a multicast-broadcast service, an indication of a multicast-broadcast service update, a change in MCCH content or service, etc.).”) and a MBS session start time. - in ¶ [0143], (“the MCCH change notification 325…indicates a different type of MCCH content change (e.g., a start of a new multicast-broadcast session”)
Claim 48. Combination of KADIRI, SHIN, and Zhou teaches The method of claim 47, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
KADIRI teaches:
wherein the MBS session start time - in ¶ [0133], (“The network may periodically update MCCH content during a MCCH modification period based on the start of a multicast broadcast session or other MCCH configuration changes.”) is based on a system frame number. - in ¶ [0083], (“Time intervals of a communications resource may be organized according to radio frames…Each radio frame may be identified by a system frame number (SFN) (e.g., ranging from 0 to 1023).”)
Claim 51. Combination of KADIRI and SHIN teaches The method of claim 41, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of KADIRI and SHIN does not explicitly teach:
further comprising receiving a RRC release message comprising a first parameter indicating the first RNTI, wherein the RRC release message indicates transition of the UE from an RRC connected state to an RRC idle state.
However, Zhou teaches:
further comprising receiving a RRC release message comprising a first parameter indicating the first RNTI, - in ¶ [0273], (“The one or more RRC messages may further indicate configuration parameters of PDCCH for the MBS (e.g., referred to as MBS PDCCH), where the MBS PDCCH may carry a DCI with CRC scrambled by an MBS-specific/dedicated RNTI (e.g., MBS-RNTI, SC-RNTI, G-RNTI, etc.)”) wherein the RRC release message indicates transition of the UE from an RRC connected state to an RRC idle state. - See Fig. 6, ¶ [0110], (“The RRC state may transition from RRC connected 602 to RRC idle 604 through a connection release procedure 608 or to RRC inactive”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KADIRI and SHIN with Zhou to include receiving a RRC release message comprising a first parameter indicating the first RNTI, as taught by Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve system efficiency, as suggested by Zhou, simplify MBS implementation of a wireless device and reduce power consumption, the flexibility of downlink scheduling may be reduced and result in reduced system throughput. - ¶ [0276]
Claim 52. Combination of KADIRI and SHIN teaches The method of claim 41, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of KADIRI and SHIN does not explicitly teach:
further comprising receiving a RRC release message comprising an information element, the information element comprising a first parameter defining the first RNTI, wherein the RRC release message indicates transition of the UE from an RRC connected state to an RRC inactive state.
However, Zhou teaches:
further comprising receiving a RRC release message comprising an information element, the information element comprising a first parameter defining the first RNTI, - See Fig. 6, ¶ [0109], (“a connection release procedure”); ¶ [0280], (“the one or more RRC messages…of the MBS session may comprise at least one of…a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI), an MBS-RNTI (or G-RNTI, SC-RNTI, etc.) associated with the MBS session…The MBS session identifier may contain octet 3-5 of the IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI).”) wherein the RRC release message indicates transition of the UE from an RRC connected state to an RRC inactive state. - See Fig. 6, ¶ [0109], (“The RRC state may transition from RRC connected 602 to RRC idle 604 through a connection release procedure 608 or to RRC inactive 606 through a connection inactivation procedure 610.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KADIRI and SHIN with Zhou to include an information element, as taught by Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve signaling efficiency, as suggested by Zhou, by transmitting a system information or paging message scheduled by a broadcast scheduling DCI to a group of wireless devices, a base station may improve signaling efficiency for the base station. - ¶ [0268]
Claim 56 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 44 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475