DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
______________________________________________________________
Claims 1-7, 10 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 13-19 of copending Application No. 18/288,647 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
With respect to claim 1¸ copending Application No. 18/288,647 claims a tape applicator; wherein the cutting section comprises: a cutting head comprising a base surface and a cutting blade extending from the base surface, the cutting blade having a blade base where the cutting blade intersects with and extends from the base surface, and the cutting blade having a cutting edge disposed above the base surface; a pinching head comprising a first pinching projection and a second pinching projection separated by a blade slot; a Y-axis extending from a midpoint of the blade base and extending orthogonal to the base surface, a longitudinal blade axis extending from the midpoint to a center point of the cutting edge, and a first angle greater than 0 degrees between the Y-axis and the longitudinal blade axis; a Z-axis tangent to the base surface, passing through the midpoint, and parallel to the blade base, a cutting edge axis passing through the center point and tangent to the cutting edge, and a second angle less than 80 degrees between the Z-axis and the cutting edge axis; and[[an]]the adhesive tape spool unwind for dispensing [[an]]the adhesive tape, wherein at least one of the cutting head and the pinching head is movable from a first position with the cutting blade disposed outside of the blade slot to a second position with the cutting blade disposed at least partially within the blade slot (Claim 13).
With respect to claim 2, copending Application No. 18/288,647 claims the first angle is between 3 and 8 degrees (Claim 14).
With respect to claim 3, copending Application No. 18/288,647 claims a second angle of between 10 and 18 degrees (Claim 15).
Claim 4 is claimed in claim 16 of copending Application No. 18/288,647.
Claim 5 is claimed in claim 17 of copending Application No. 18/288,647
Claim 6 is claimed in claim 18 of copending Application No. 18/288,647.
Claim 7 is claimed in claim 19 of copending Application No. 18/288,647
With respect to claim 10, copending Application No. 18/288,647 claims a guide wheel in the adhesive tape path that is located between the adhesive spool unwind and the tape applicator head such that the adhesive tape moving along the adhesive tape path will wrap at least a portion of an outer circumference of the guide wheel (Claim 9)
With respect to claim 15¸ copending Application No. 18/288,647 claims a tape applicator; wherein the cutting section comprises: a cutting head comprising a base surface and a cutting blade extending from the base surface, the cutting blade having a blade base where the cutting blade intersects with and extends from the base surface, and the cutting blade having a cutting edge disposed above the base surface; a pinching head comprising a first pinching projection and a second pinching projection separated by a blade slot; a Y-axis extending from a midpoint of the blade base and extending orthogonal to the base surface, a longitudinal blade axis extending from the midpoint to a center point of the cutting edge, and a first angle greater than 0 degrees between the Y-axis and the longitudinal blade axis; a Z-axis tangent to the base surface, passing through the midpoint, and parallel to the blade base, a cutting edge axis passing through the center point and tangent to the cutting edge, and a second angle less than 80 degrees between the Z-axis and the cutting edge axis; and[[an]]the adhesive tape spool unwind for dispensing [[an]]the adhesive tape, wherein at least one of the cutting head and the pinching head is movable from a first position with the cutting blade disposed outside of the blade slot to a second position with the cutting blade disposed at least partially within the blade slot (Claim 13).
A guide wheel in the adhesive tape path that is located between the adhesive spool unwind and the tape applicator head such that the adhesive tape moving along the adhesive tape path will wrap at least a portion of an outer circumference of the guide wheel (Claim 9)
An adhesive tape and spool (Claim 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites a “second magnet”. However, the first mention of a first magnet is in claim 13. Claim 14 does not depend from claim 13. Thus, it is unclear if there is a first magnet in claim 14.
For examination purposes, claim 14 will be examined as if depending from claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
__________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, 15, 28, 35 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG (US 2016/0122150) in view of CHU et al. (US 2018/0370749) and OH (US 2016/0304309)
With respect to claim 1, JIANG discloses a tape applicator (Abstract) comprising a cutting head, 102 (Figure 1) comprising a base surface and a cutting blade, 110, extending from the base surface; the cutting blade having a blade base that intersects with and extends from the base surface. The blade having a cutting edge disposed above the base surface (Paragraph [0014]-[0016]; Figure 2B, annotated below). The applicator further comprises a pinching head, 130, (Paragraphs [0015], [0016]) comprising a first pinching projection, 134, and a second pinching projection , 138, separated by a slot (Paragraphs [0015], [0016]) such that the cutting blade is disposed outside of the slot (Figure 2a) and moved to a second cutting position with the blade within the slot (Figure 2B; Paragraph [0016]).
[AltContent: textbox (Cutting edge above base surface, when device is flipped)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Blade extending from base surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cutting head base surface)][AltContent: arrow]
JIANG further discloses a tape spool, 150, (Paragraph [0014]) for dispensing the adhesive tape and the cutting blade
JIANG does not explicitly disclose the claimed first angle. CHU et al. discloses a tape dispenser (Abstract). The cutting angle (Figure 7; and equivalent to measuring the first angle as claimed) is between 12 and 25 degrees (Paragraph [0043]). Such an angle leads to saving labor when cutting the tape (Paragraph [0044]).
JIANG does not explicitly disclose the claimed second angle. OH discloses a tape dispenser (Abstract). The cutting blade 40, is angled (Figure 6; and equivalent to measuring the second angle as shown in instant figure 5) of between 60 and 85 degrees (Paragraph [0009] and [0020]) in order to more easily cut the tape.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the first angle of the cutting blade of JIANG with an angle of between 12 and 25 degrees, as taught by CHU et al., and to also provide a second angle of between 60 and 85 degrees, as taught by OH, so that the tape is easier to cut.
With respect to claim 2, the courts have generally held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2144.05, I. See also, In re Scherl, 156 F.2d 72, 74-75, 70 USPQ 204, 205-206 (CCPA 1946) (prior art showed an angle in a groove of up to 90° and an applicant claimed an angle of no less than 120°). MPEP 2144.05, I.
As seen in related case law, even a difference of 30 degrees between a claimed angle and prior art angle was considered prima facie obvious. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the first angle between 3 and 8 degrees in CHU et al. so that the tape can be easier to cut. Specifically, the inclusion of the inclined angle to the blade, as compared to no angle, is what produces the desired effect. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would still expect an improvement in cutting performance within the claimed angle.
With respect to claim 3, the courts have generally held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2144.05, I. See also, In re Scherl, 156 F.2d 72, 74-75, 70 USPQ 204, 205-206 (CCPA 1946) (prior art showed an angle in a groove of up to 90° and an applicant claimed an angle of no less than 120°). MPEP 2144.05, I.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the first angle between 10 and 18 degrees in OH so that the tape can be easier to cut. Specifically, the inclusion of the inclined angle to the blade, as compared to no angle, is what produces the desired effect. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would still expect an improvement in cutting performance within the claimed angle.
With respect to claim 4, JIANG shows that the cutting blade is in alignment with the blade slot (Figures 2a and 2b).
With respect to claim 5¸ JIANG shows that the adhesive tape is between the pinching head and the base surface when pinching head is in the second position (Figures 2a and 2b).
With respect to claim 10, JIANG does not explicitly disclose the claimed tape guide wheel. OH discloses a guide wheel, 30, disposed proximate to the cutting head and in the tape path (Figure 3) so as to guide withdrawal of the tape (Paragraphs [0003] and [0040]-[0043]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a guide roller in the tape path, and near the tape head of JIANG, as taught by OH so as to guide the tape from the roll to the tape head.
With respect to claim 15¸ JIANG discloses a tape applicator (Abstract) comprising a cutting head, 102 (Figure 1) comprising a base surface and a cutting blade, 110, extending from the base surface; the cutting blade having a blade base that intersects with and extends from the base surface. The blade having a cutting edge disposed above the base surface (Paragraph [0014]-[0016]; Figure 2B, annotated below). The applicator further comprises a pinching head, 130, (Paragraphs [0015], [0016]) comprising a first pinching projection, 134, and a second pinching projection separated by a slot (Paragraphs [0015], [0016]) such that the cutting blade is disposed outside of the slot (Figure 2a) and moved to a second cutting position with the blade within the slot (Figure 2B; Paragraph [0016]).
[AltContent: textbox (Cutting edge above base surface, when device is flipped)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Blade extending from base surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cutting head base surface)][AltContent: arrow]
JIANG further discloses an adhesive tape and tape spool, 150, (Paragraphs [0013], [0014]) for dispensing the adhesive tape and the cutting blade
JIANG does not explicitly disclose the claimed first angle. CHU et al. discloses a tape dispenser (Abstract). The cutting angle (Figure 7; and equivalent to measuring the first angle as claimed) is between 12 and 25 degrees (Paragraph [0043]). Such an angle leads to saving labor when cutting the tape (Paragraph [0044]).
JIANG does not explicitly disclose the claimed second angle. OH discloses a tape dispenser (Abstract). The cutting blade 40, is angled (Figure 6; and equivalent to measuring the second angle as shown in instant figure 5) of between 60 and 85 degrees (Paragraph [0009] and [0020]) in order to more easily cut the tape.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the first angle of the cutting blade of JIANG with an angle of between 12 and 25 degrees, as taught by CHU et al., and to also provide a second angle of between 60 and 85 degrees, as taught by OH, so that the tape is easier to cut.
JIANG does not explicitly disclose the claimed tape guide wheel. OH discloses a guide wheel, 30, disposed proximate to the cutting head and in the tape path (Figure 3) so as to guide withdrawal of the tape (Paragraphs [0003] and [0040]-[0043]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a guide roller in the tape path, and near the tape head of JIANG, as taught by OH so as to guide the tape from the roll to the tape head.
With respect to claim 28, JIANG discloses a tape applicator (Abstract) comprising a cutting head, 102 (Figure 1) comprising a base surface and a cutting blade, 110, extending from the base surface; the cutting blade having a blade base that intersects with and extends from the base surface. The blade having a cutting edge disposed above the base surface (Paragraph [0014]-[0016]; Figure 2B, annotated below). The applicator further comprises a pinching head, 130, (Paragraphs [0015], [0016]) comprising a first pinching projection, 134, and a second pinching projection separated by a slot (Paragraphs [0015], [0016]) such that the cutting blade is disposed outside of the slot (Figure 2a) and moved to a second cutting position with the blade within the slot (Figure 2B; Paragraph [0016]).
[AltContent: textbox (Cutting edge above base surface, when device is flipped)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Blade extending from base surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cutting head base surface)][AltContent: arrow]
JIANG further discloses an adhesive tape and tape spool, 150, (Paragraphs [0013], [0014]) for dispensing the adhesive tape and a cutting blade. The adhesive side of the tape engages the pinching head while the non-adhesive side of the tape with the cutting bladed based on the movement of the pinching head (Paragraphs [0013], [0016]) and cutting said tape with the cutting blade based on this movement.
JIANG does not explicitly disclose the claimed first angle. CHU et al. discloses a tape dispenser (Abstract). The cutting angle (Figure 7; and equivalent to measuring the first angle as claimed) is between 12 and 25 degrees (Paragraph [0043]). Such an angle leads to saving labor when cutting the tape (Paragraph [0044]).
JIANG does not explicitly disclose the claimed second angle. OH discloses a tape dispenser (Abstract). The cutting blade 40, is angled (Figure 6; and equivalent to measuring the second angle as shown in instant figure 5) of between 60 and 85 degrees (Paragraph [0009] and [0020]) in order to more easily cut the tape.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the first angle of the cutting blade of JIANG with an angle of between 12 and 25 degrees, as taught by CHU et al., and to also provide a second angle of between 60 and 85 degrees, as taught by OH, so that the tape is easier to cut.
JIANG does not explicitly disclose the claimed tape guide wheel. OH discloses a guide wheel, 30, disposed proximate to the cutting head and in the tape path (Figure 3) so as to guide withdrawal of the tape (Paragraphs [0003] and [0040]-[0043]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a guide roller in the tape path, and near the tape head of JIANG, as taught by OH so as to guide the tape from the roll to the tape head.
OH further discloses placing the applicator on the work surface (Paragraphs [0003], [0004]), moving the applicator along the work surface for applying the adhesive tape to the work surface (Paragraph [0004]), then cutting the tape (e.g., by moving the pinching heat of JIANG, as taught above) (Paragraphs [0005], [0006]).
With respect to claim 35, JIANG discloses coupling the adhesive tape with a spool, 120, and threading the tape through the dispenser (Paragraphs [0014] and [0016]). OH discloses that the tape is received by the tape guide wheel, which is disposed proximate to the cutting head in the tape path (Paragraphs [0003] and [0040]-[0043]).
With respect to claim 36, OH discloses at least one guide roller (Paragraph [0003]) for sliding the applicator on the first surface at a displaced angle (Paragraphs [0001]-[0005]).
________________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG (US 2016/0122150) in view of CHU et al. (US 2018/0370749) and OH (US 2016/0304309) as applied to claims 1-5, 10, 15, 28, 35 and 36 above, and further in view of LANGERAK (US 2004/0129386).
With respect to claims 6 and 7¸ modified JIANG does not explicitly disclose a push button for actuating the pinching head for cutting the tape. LANGERAK discloses a tape dispenser (Abstract). The pivot arm, 34, is connected to a push button, 32, to effect cutting of the tape (Paragraph [0032]; Figure 5). The button is accessible from outside of a housing while the lever is inside the housing (Figures 1 and 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a housing for the components of the dispenser of JIANG, and a push bottom to move the lever to perform cutting, as taught by LANGERAK so that the tape can be protected from contaminates.
Moreover, the pinching head of JIANG performs the cutting operation. Thus, the button would be coupled to the pinching head.
______________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 8, 9, 39 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG (US 2016/0122150) in view of CHU et al. (US 2018/0370749) and OH (US 2016/0304309) as applied to claims 1-5, 10, 15, 28, 35 and 36 above, and further in view of LIPOWSKY (US 0,833,470).
With respect to claims 8 and 9, modified JIANG does not explicitly disclose the claimed brackets and springs. LIPOWSKY discloses a sheet cutting machine (Title). Within the recess housing the cutting blade, g, (formed by a and a’) there are provided a first bracket, e, and a second bracket, e’ (Figures 2-4), that are spaced apart from the base surface of the recess in the cutting head. Between each of the brackets and the base surface are placed springs, f and f’, such that the cutting blade is disposed between the brackets. During cutting (second position of JIANG), the two projections (equivalent to projections 134 and 138 of JIANG) are provided with contact portions, z and z’, that contact respective brackets to displace those brackets and force the tape to be cut by the blade (lines 25-83; Figures 2-4). Such a cutting mechanism is simple, inexpensive and cheap (lines 15-20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the cutting head of JIANG with a first bracket extending from the base surface of the cutting head, the first bracket defining a first contact portion that is spaced apart from the base surface; a first spring member disposed between the base surface and the first contact portion; a second bracket extending from the base surface, such that the cutting blade is disposed between the first bracket and the second bracket, the second bracket defining a second contact portion that is spaced apart from the base surface; and a second spring member disposed between the base surface and the second contact portion wherein the adhesive tape is held between the first pinching projection and the first contact portion, and the second pinching projection and the second contact portion when at least one of the cutting head and the pinching head is in the second position, as taught by LIPOWSKY in order to provide simple, inexpensive and cheap cutting.
With respect to claims 39 and 41¸ modified JIANG does not explicitly disclose the claimed brackets and springs. LIPOWSKY discloses a sheet cutting machine (Title). Within the recess housing the cutting blade, g, (formed by a and a’) there are provided a first bracket, e, and a second bracket, e’ (Figures 2-4), that are spaced apart from the base surface of the recess in the cutting head. Between each of the brackets and the base surface are placed springs, f and f’, such that the cutting blade is disposed between the brackets. During cutting (second position of JIANG), the two projections (equivalent to projections 134 and 138 of JIANG) are provided with contact portions, z and z’, that contact respective brackets to displace those brackets and force the tape to be cut by the blade (lines 25-83; Figures 2-4). Such a cutting mechanism is simple, inexpensive and cheap (lines 15-20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the cutting head of JIANG with a first bracket extending from the base surface of the cutting head, the first bracket defining a first contact portion that is spaced apart from the base surface; a first spring member disposed between the base surface and the first contact portion; a second bracket extending from the base surface, such that the cutting blade is disposed between the first bracket and the second bracket, the second bracket defining a second contact portion that is spaced apart from the base surface; and a second spring member disposed between the base surface and the second contact portion wherein the adhesive tape is held between the first pinching projection and the first contact portion, and the second pinching projection and the second contact portion when at least one of the cutting head and the pinching head is in the second position, as taught by LIPOWSKY in order to provide simple, inexpensive and cheap cutting.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: VULPITTA et al. (US 2016/0122151) discloses turning boards, 138 and 132 for folding over the edges of the adhesive tape (Paragraphs [0036] and [0036]), the cutting head is not necessarily disposed between the tape guide wheel and the turning board, per se.
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745