DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN-108239215-A), in view of Zheng et al. (CN-105145566-A).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7, 13-16 and 19-21
Wang discloses a method for preparing an absorbent resin, an absorbent resin prepared from the preparation method, and an article (i.e., diaper, sanitary napkin) including the absorbent resin, the method comprising the steps of preparing and acryl-based absorbent resin by reacting acrylic acid, SF3 (a compound reading directly on Chemical Formula 1), and pentaerythritol triaryl ether (internal crosslinking agent); adding sodium hydroxide to the absorbent resin so as to neutralize same; pulverizing and classifying the neutralized/classified absorbent resin with a surface crosslinking agent (ethylene glycol diglycidal ether).
SF3 reads on the Chemical Formula 1 wherein R1 is a methyl group, R2 and R3 are hydrogen, L is an ethylene group (i.e., 2 carbons), R4 and R5 are methyl groups (i.e., 1 carbon), R6 is a dodecyl group (i.e., 12 carbons), and X is chlorine (claims 1, 6, 11-12 and 14-15; and paras 0029 and 0045-0048). Further this compound reads on Formula 1-1 where a is 5 and X is chlorine and it is expected to be antimicrobial, which is a property of the composition, and when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Although Wang does not disclose a compound where X= bromine, Wang does disclose the other limitations of the claim. However, Zheng discloses similar polymers, and teaches that a quaternary ammonium salt of methacrylic acid dimethyl aminoethyl easter and bromine has antibiotic properties (abstract), and discloses a nearly identical compound (see the product of Formula I) primarily differing from SF3 in that X = bromine and not chlorine. Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Wang by substituting bromine for chlorine, with a reasonable expectation of success and the expected benefit of introducing antimicrobial properties to the polymer, as suggested by Zheng. It is noted that both dodecyl and tetradecyl read on an alkyl having 6 to 20 carbon atoms.
Regarding claims 6 and 17
Wang discloses 2880 g of acrylic acid with 14.4 g SF3 (i.e., 0.5 parts by weight relative to 100 parts acrylic acid) (Example 3).
Regarding claim 8
The CRC is a property of the polymer, and when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 9
The maximum strain and recovery rate are properties of the polymer, and when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 10
The gel strength is a property of the polymer, and when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 11
The permeability is a property of the polymer, and when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 12
As the superabsorbent polymer has both internal and surface cross-linking, in the broadest reasonable interpretation this would be a core shell structure.
Regarding claim 18
Wang discloses heating the polymer with the surface crosslinking agent at 150 C (Example 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants argue that Wang does not disclose a compound where X = bromine. While this is true, it is not persuasive as the new reference of Zheng provides motivation for substituting chlorine with bromine, i.e., antimicrobial activity.
Applicants argue unexpected results in antimicrobial properties from the use of bromine. This is not persuasive as Zheng discloses quaternary ammonium with bromine has antimicrobial properties.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734