DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 10-18 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1, 2 and 13, given that “propylene” and “ethylene” denote monomers, it is unclear whether the continuous and discontinuous phases comprise monomers as opposed to polymers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and (a2) as being anticipated by US 2016/0257810 (Peterson).
Peterson discloses a method for making a modified heterophasic polyolefin composition comprising the steps of:
(a) providing a heterophasic polymer composition comprising a propylene polymer continuous phase and an ethylene polymer discontinuous phase [0010] having a melt flow rate (MFR) [0002] and a soluble fraction [0074] (meets Applicants’ step (a));
(b) providing a compatibilizing agent comprising (i) at least one tertiary carbon-hydrogen bond and (ii) at least one acrylic carbon-carbon double bond inclusive of unsaturated ester compounds of polyhydric alcohols having three hydroxy groups [0052] (meets Applicants’ step (b));
(c) providing a peroxide compound [0060] (meets Applicants’ step (c));
(d) feeding the components to a melt mixing apparatus [0045] (meets Applicants’ step (d)); and
(e) processing the components at a temperature above the melting temperature of the heterophasic polymer to form the composition [0045] (meets Applicants’ step (e)) (e.g., abstract, [0002], [0010-0018], [0035], [0045], [0052], [0060-0061], [0074], examples, claims).
As to claim 1, Peterson’s method of making Samples 3AG, 3AJ and 3BC (Table 8) meets the presently claimed requirements in terms of the types of materials used and method steps. Specifically, the compositions [0084] are made by melt-mixing, at a temperature above the melting temperature of the heterophasic polymer, (a) heterophasic polypropylene Lyondell Bassell Pro-Fax SD375S (inherently meets Applicants’ heterophasic thermoplastic polymer composition and inequality expression (i) because it is the same as Applicants’ exemplified 3F polypropylene having the specific MFR, SF and C2SF values per Table 3B), (b) unsaturated ester compatibilizing agents H7, H10 and H29 having the structures per Table 7 (meet Applicants’ compatibilizing agent derived from a polyol comprising three hydroxy groups and an unsaturated aliphatic carboxylic acid) and (c) peroxide compound Varox DBPH (meets Applicants’ peroxide compound because it is the same as Applicants’ exemplified peroxide [0081]). Notably, Peterson’s unsaturated ester compatibilizing agents H7, H10 and H29 have the following structures:
,
and
.
As to claims 3-5 and 14-16, given that Peterson’s heterophasic polypropylene Lyondell Bassell Pro-Fax SD375S is the same as Applicants’ exemplified polypropylene 3F, it would inherently meet all the presently claimed continuous and discontinuous phase limitations. Notably, Peterson’s propylene polymer continuous phase and ethylene polymer discontinuous phase are similarly constituted [0012].
As to claims 6 and 17, Peterson’s compatibilizing agents H7 and H29 have each of the three hydroxy groups esterified with an aliphatic carboxylic acid, i.e., (meth)acrylic acid.
As to claim 12, given that Peterson’s Varox DBPH peroxide is the same as that exemplified by Applicants [0081], it would be expected to be the same.
As to claim 13, given that Peterson uses the same heterophasic polypropylene Lyondell Bassell Pro-Fax SD375S as Applicants’ polypropylene 3F (Table 3B), it would be expected that the former would inherently have the same particle concentration of 0.47 per cubic micron governing the latter defining.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 23-26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0257810 (Peterson) described hereinabove.
As to claim 2, Peterson’s method for making the modified heterophasic polyolefin composition comprises the steps of:
(a) providing a heterophasic polymer composition comprising a propylene polymer continuous phase and an ethylene polymer discontinuous phase [0010] having a melt flow rate (MFR) [0002] and a soluble fraction [0074] (meets Applicants’ step (a));
(b) providing a compatibilizing agent inclusive of unsaturated ester compounds of polyhydric alcohols having three hydroxy groups [0052] (meets Applicants’ step (b));
(c) providing a peroxide compound [0060] (meets Applicants’ step (c)); ; and
(d) heating the components at a temperature above the melting temperature of the heterophasic polymer to produce a polymer composition [0045] (meets Applicants’ steps (e) and (f)).
Moreover, it is within the purview of Peterson’s inventive disclosure [0102], and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to pre-combine the heterophasic polymer, compatibilizing agent and peroxide compound in a closed container prior to heating the components at a temperature above the melting temperature of the heterophasic polymer (meets Applicants’ step (d)) and cooling the composition (meets Applicants’ step (g)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Peterson’s method of making Samples 3AG, 3AJ and 3BC to include pre-combining the heterophasic polymer, compatibilizing agent and peroxide compound in a closed container prior to heating the components at a temperature above the melting temperature of the heterophasic polymer and cooling the composition with the reasonable expectation of success.
As to claims 23-25, given that Peterson’s heterophasic polypropylene Lyondell Bassell Pro-Fax SD375S is the same as Applicants’ exemplified polypropylene 3F, it would inherently meet all the presently claimed continuous and discontinuous phase limitations.
As to claim 26, Peterson’s compatibilizing agents H7 and H29 have each of the three hydroxy groups esterified with an aliphatic carboxylic acid, i.e., (meth)acrylic acid.
As to claim 30, given that Peterson’s Varox DBPH peroxide is the same as that exemplified by Applicants [0081], it would be expected to be the same.
Claims 7, 10, 11, 18, 21, 22 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0257810 (Peterson) described hereinabove in view of US 2012/0289620 (Deheunynck)
As to claims 7, 18 and 27, Peterson does not appear to disclose compatibilizing agents derived from trimethylolpropane (2-(hydroxymethyl)-2-ethylpropane-1,3-diol). Deheunynck, directed to similar-such compositions comprising a (heterophasic) polyolefin, an unsaturated ester compound derived from a polyhydric alcohol having three or more hydroxy groups and a peroxide compound, discloses that ester compounds derived from trimethylolpropane and ester compounds derived from glycerol are functional alternative unsaturated ester compounds (e.g., abstract, [0012], [0035-0036]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use an unsaturated ester compound derived from trimethylolpropane as a functional alternative to Peterson’s unsaturated ester compounds with the reasonable expectation of success.
As to claims 10, 21 and 28, it would have been within the purview of Peterson’s inventive disclosure [0052] to use an unsaturated ester compound per formula (I) wherein R1, R2 and R3 have the structure per formula (VI) wherein the moiety -X1-CO-R5 is derived from 2,4-hexadienoic acid (sorbic acid). In this regard, Deheunynck discloses [0036] the common use of sorbic acid in the production of similar-such unsaturated ester compounds.
As to claims 11, 22 and 29, given that Deheunynck discloses trimethylolpropane trisorbate [0036] as a viable unsaturated ester compound functional alternative, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use said compound in Peterson’s composition with the reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/ANA L. WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765