DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-11, 13-15, 17, 20-25, and 27 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 9 in the reply filed on August 4, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 10, 11, 13-15, 17, 20-25, and 27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 4, 2025. Claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 9 are currently under examination.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: said claim is objected to for depending upon a rejected based claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nilius, US 2004/0106564 A1; Published: 06/03/04.
Independent claim 1 is drawn to a composition comprising a microorganism comprising an exogenous nucleic acid encoding a protease inhibitor.
Nilius discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising an expressible nucleic acid which codes for the effective material of secretory leucocyte protease inhibitor (SLPI) contained in a living, non-pathogenic microorganism (see paragraph 0037&0050; meetings claim 1, and 4-5). Further, Nilius discloses that in a preferred embodiment the isolated and purified effective material contained in the effective material is administered orally (see paragraph 0053; meets claim 7). As it pertains to claim 6, the composition of Nilius contains identical components to that which is claimed, particularly as it pertains to the protease inhibitor. Said inhibitor necessarily inhibits the activity of a protease selected from the group consisting of trypsin-1, trypsin-2, trypsin-3, chymotrypsin like elastase 2A, chymotrypsin like elastase 3B, chymotrypsin, a kallikrein, plasmin, thrombin, and combinations thereof, absent evidence to the contrary.
Since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing applicants’ composition with the composition of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilius, US 2004/0106564 A1; Published: 06/03/04 as applied to claims 1 and 4-7 above, and further in view of Picataggio et al., WO 2011/006126 A2; Published: 01/13/11.
Independent claim 1 is drawn to a composition comprising a microorganism comprising an exogenous nucleic acid encoding a protease inhibitor.
Dependent claim 2 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein said microorganism is selected from the group consisting of Alistipes putredinis, Ruminococcus bromii, Alistipes finegoldi, Alistipes shahii, Collinsella aerofaciens, Alistipes onderdonkii, Eubacterium siraeum, Odoribacter splanchnicus, Adlercreutzia equolifaciens, Barnesiella intestinihominis, Parabacteroides goldsteinii, and Roseburia hominis.
Nilius teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising an expressible nucleic acid which codes for the effective material of secretory leucocyte protease inhibitor (SLPI) contained in a living, non-pathogenic microorganism (see paragraph 0037&0050; meeting claims 1, and 4-5). Further, Nilius teaches that in a preferred embodiment the isolated and purified effective material contained in the effective material is administered orally (see paragraph 0053; meets claim 7). As it pertains to claim 6, the composition of Nilius contains identical components to that which is claimed, particularly as it pertains to the protease inhibitor. Said inhibitor necessarily inhibits the activity of a protease selected from the group consisting of trypsin-1, trypsin-2, trypsin-3, chymotrypsin like elastase 2A, chymotrypsin like elastase 3B, chymotrypsin, a kallikrein, plasmin, thrombin, and combinations thereof, absent evidence to the contrary.
Nilius do not specifically teach their microorganism is selected from the group consisting of Alistipes putredinis, Ruminococcus bromii, Alistipes finegoldi, Alistipes shahii, Collinsella aerofaciens, Alistipes onderdonkii, Eubacterium siraeum, Odoribacter splanchnicus, Adlercreutzia equolifaciens, Barnesiella intestinihominis, Parabacteroides goldsteinii, and Roseburia hominis.
Picataggio teaches microorganisms selected often and suitable for genetic manipulation and often can be cultured at cell densities useful for industrial production of a target product. The term "engineered microorganism" as used herein refers to a modified microorganism that includes one or more activities distinct from an activity present in a microorganism utilized as a starting point (hereafter a "host microorganism"). An engineered microorganism includes a heterologous polynucleotide in some embodiments, and in certain embodiments, an engineered organism has been subjected to selective conditions that alter an activity, or introduce an activity, relative to the host microorganism. Thus, an engineered microorganism has been altered directly or indirectly by a human being. A host microorganism sometimes is a native microorganism, and at times is a microorganism that has been engineered to a certain point.
In certain embodiments, an engineered microorganism is a prokaryotic microorganism (e.g., bacterium), and in certain embodiments, an engineered microorganism is a non-prokaryotic microorganism. In some embodiments, an engineered microorganism is a eukaryotic microorganism (e.g., yeast, fungi, amoeba) (see page 12). Lastly, any suitable prokaryote, specifically, Ruminococcus bromii, may be selected as a host microorganism, engineered microorganism or source for a heterologous polynucleotide (see page 13).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to employ bacteria useful for the production of a targeted product with a reasonable expectation of success. The claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith,--USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396).
Accordingly, the subject matter of claim 2 would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention, absent evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
6. No claim is allowed.
/LAKIA J JACKSON-TONGUE/Examiner, Art Unit 1645 October 23, 2025
/BRIAN GANGLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645