DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4-19 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farag et al. (“Impact of the heating mechanism on the yield and composition of bio-oil from pyrolysis of kraft lignin” Biomass and Bioenergy 95 (2016) 344-353).
Regarding claim 1; Farag et al. teaches the microwave pyrolysis of softwood kraft lignin [2.1; para1]was carried out using a bench-scale microwave oven (microwave system generator) [2.2; para1]; wherein the kraft lignin was mixed with the solid product form the pyrolysis of lignin (char) as it contains 90% carbon and thus is an excellent microwave receptor [2.1, para5]. Farag et al. teaches the reactor was purged with nitrogen and heated (pyrolysis), followed by cooling in order to collect solid and liquid products (i.e. bio-oil; see Table 1) [2.2; Table1].
Fig. 2.
Fig. 2. Experimental setup. (1) Microwave heating oven, (3) quenching system, (4) target material, (5) stopper, (6) heating cables, (7) a line to the quenching system, (8) thermometers, (9) inert gas line, (10) 4 magnetrons, (11) muffle, (12) rotating metal plates, (13) heat exchangers, (14) collected liquid, (15) non-condensable gases.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 111233941), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Regarding claim 4; Want et al. teaches, in a preferred embodiment, a biooil comprising 90.3% monophenolic compounds [Ex2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag et al. (“Impact of the heating mechanism on the yield and composition of bio-oil from pyrolysis of kraft lignin” Biomass and Bioenergy 95 (2016) 344-353”),as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Wallace (“Microwave Pyrolysis Biochar Characterization and Modeling of Char Reinforced GFRP Biocomposites” Thesis, Univ. of Burnswick (2017)), where in the machine English translation is used for citation.
Farag et al. teaches the basic claimed method of pyrolysis of Kraft lignin, as set forth above, with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 2; Farag et al. teaches the use of a biochar, however fails to explicitly teach a spruce biochar and/or hemp biochar. Wallace teaches biochar produced from both softwood and hemp [3.1.1] is used as a microwave absorbing catalyst [3.1.2]. Farag et al and Wallace are analogous art because they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely microwave pyrolysis experiments of biomass materials. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add a hemp biochar, as taught by Wallace, to the method of Farag et al., and would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve desired microwave absorption, thus increasing the heating rate (i.e. speed of pyrolysis), as suggested by Wallace [2.1.2].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag et al. (“Impact of the heating mechanism on the yield and composition of bio-oil from pyrolysis of kraft lignin” Biomass and Bioenergy 95 (2016) 344-353”),as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sun et al. (CN 105868445), where in the machine English translation is used for citation.
Farag et al. teaches the basic claimed method of pyrolysis of Kraft lignin, as set forth above, with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 3; Farag et al. fails to teach wherein the microwave energy is generated at a power level in the range of 300 W to 600 W. Sun et al. teaches a method for simulating instantaneous temperature of a microwave pyrolysis biomass and biochar mixing sample [03]. Sun et al. establishing a heat distribution model of the mixed sample model during pyrolysis, considering heat exchange between the reactor model and the mixed sample model and an external environment; and, in the pyrolysis process, real-time monitoring. When the highest pyrolysis temperature reaches a predetermined temperature, the microwave power of the model is switched to a low power level, and when the highest pyrolysis temperature is lower than the set temperature, the microwave power of the microwave generating device model in the geometric model of the microwave pyrolysis system is switched to a high power level (300W power file for heating), when the highest pyrolysis temperature reaches 400 ° C, the power will be back to 0W; when the maximum pyrolysis temperature below 400 ° C, power file transferred back to repeat 300W, and so forth [054].
Farag et al. and Sun et al. are analogous art because they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely methods of microwave pyrolysis of biomass and biochar mixing samples. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to implement the microwave power model of Sun et al., in the method of pyrolysis of Kraft lignin, as taught by Farag et al., and would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent the occurrence of hot spots and flying temperature phenomena, as suggested by Sun et al. [034].
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767