DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in EP on 12/9/2020. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the EP20212745.2 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Only the certified copy of EP20206952.2 has been filed.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 2/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/3/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the shading, unclear lines and handwritten reference numbers make the figures and specific structures unclear. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference #160. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first and second guide walls, common transversal edge, a separating edge at an end opposite the common transversal edge, the first and second guide walls form a curved and continuous transition between the separating edges and the common transverse edge, the six flow paths, a common bar element as recited in claims 12 and 20. must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3, “base (60)” should read “base”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, “one venting comprises” should read --one venting element comprises--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, “equally distributed around” should read --equally distributed vents around--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim fails to include the structure at the end of the sentence that is supposed to be comprised of. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation, “connecting the base to the body” in line 2. It is unclear whether the base is referring to the base of the housing or the base of the static mixer or some other base. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation, “the outer surface comprises one or more.” In lines 2-3 without reciting the structure that is being comprised of. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation, “an inner surface of the base comprises” in line 4. It is unclear whether the base is referring to the base of the housing or the base of the static mixer or some other base. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schulz et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0095833).
Regarding claim 1, Schulz et al. discloses a static mixing tip (figure 3B, reference #310 and 320; [0017]) comprising:
a static mixer (reference #230) having a base (reference #220; bottom end of reference #230);
a housing (reference #100) having a base (reference #134) and a body (reference #133);
a head space disposed between the housing and the static mixer (reference #25 and 101);
a sealing lip disposed on the base of the static mixer to provide a seal between the base of the static mixer and the housing (reference #140; [0044]-[0045]); and
at least one venting element disposed on the sealing lip of the static mixer or the housing (reference #150),
the at least one venting element is configured to provide a gas flow communication between two sides of the sealing lip, and a gaseous connection between the head space and an exterior ambient atmosphere outside the static mixing tip such that a portion of gases trapped in the head space between the housing and the static mixer has a pathway to escape to the exterior ambient atmosphere during normal operation and operation of the static mixing tip (figures 4A-4C, reference #20, 25 and 150; [0051]; [0054]; [0063]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 2, Schulz et al. discloses wherein the at least one venting element comprises vents radially oriented around the sealing lip or the housing (figures 1B, 1C, 3B, 3C and 4A-4C, reference #150; [0045]; [0051]; [0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Schulz et al. discloses wherein the at least one venting comprises a plurality of vents, each vent of the plurality of vents having a depth or width of 0.005 mm to 0.1 mm (reference #150; [0058]).
Regarding claim 4, Schulz et al. discloses wherein the at least one venting element comprises a plurality of vents equal in size (figures 1B and 1C, reference #150).
Regarding claim 6, Schulz et al. discloses wherein the at least one venting element comprises a plurality of vents, each vent of the plurality of vents disposed on an inner surface of the base of the housing such that a portion of the at least one venting element overlaps with a portion of an interface between the sealing lip and the housing along an axial direction (reference #150; [0046]; [0053]).
Regarding claim 7, Schulz et al. discloses wherein the at least one venting element comprises approximately equally distributed around the sealing lip of the static mixer or the housing (figures 1B, 1C, 3B, 3C and 4A-4C, reference #150; [0045]; [0051]; [0053]).
Regarding claim 8, Schulz et al. discloses wherein the at least one venting element comprises a plurality of vents, each vent of the plurality of vents configured to enable material entering the static mixing tip to push air out through the plurality of vents and seal the vents (figures 4A-4C, reference #20 and 150; [0051]; [0054]; [0063]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 9, Schulz et al. discloses wherein the housing comprises a substantially truncated conical inner surface connecting the base to the body (figures 1B and 3B, reference #131 between reference #133 and 134).
Regarding claim 10, Schulz et al. discloses wherein the housing comprises an outer surface connecting the base to the body, and the outer surface comprises one or more (figures 1A and 1B, reference #132).
Regarding claim 11, Schulz et al. discloses wherein the at least one venting element comprises a plurality of vents configured to enable air but not viscous mass to pass through the vents during normal mixing and dispensing operations at pressures of less than 2 bar (reference #150; [0062]).
Regarding claim 17, Schulz et al. discloses wherein the at least one venting element comprises a plurality of vents disposed approximately equally distributed around the sealing lip of the static mixer or the housing (figures 1B, 1C, 3B, 3C and 4A-4C, reference #150; [0045]; [0051]; [0053]), the sealing lip or the housing comprises four or more vents (figures 1B, 1C, 3B, 3C and 4A-4C, reference #150; [0045]; [0051]; [0053]), and an inner surface of the base comprises two or more equally distributed alternating crests and troughs (reference #135; [0047]).
Regarding claim 19, Schulz et al. discloses wherein the housing comprises an outer surface connecting the base to the body (reference #132), and the outer surface comprises two or more equally spaced ribs (reference #135).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz et al. in view of Linne et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0135963).
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Schulz et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. While the reference discloses an assembly of mixing elements (figures 3B-4C, reference #230), they do not have the exact shape as recited.
Linne et al. teaches another mixing element for plastic inside a tubular housing ([0002]). The reference teaches wherein the static mixer comprises an assembly of mixing elements to separate a material to be mixed into a plurality of streams, each mixing element comprising first and second guide walls with a common transversal edge, a separating edge at an end opposite the common transversal edge, the first and second guide walls form a curved and continuous transition between the separating edges and the common transverse edge, the transversal edge is configured to divide the material to be mixed, and the first and second guide walls and common transversal edge of a mixing element divide the material into six flow paths, and the assembly of mixing elements includes five or more mixing elements connected to one another via a common bar element (figures 1-7, reference #100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the mixing elements of Schulz et al. to have to the shaped walls and edges of Linne et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach mixing elements for plastic inside a tubular housing. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the mixing element as taught by Linne et al. because it ensures thorough mixing in the desired mixed ratio, and as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 18, Schulz et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. The reference further discloses wherein the housing comprises a substantially truncated conical inner surface connecting the base to the body (figures 1B and 3B, reference #131 between reference #133 and 134). However, the reference does not explicitly disclose a lateral surface of the base of the static mixer above the sealing lip is substantially conically truncated.
Linne et al. teaches another mixing element for plastic inside a tubular housing ([0002]). The reference teaches wherein a lateral surface of the base of the static mixer above the sealing lip is substantially conically truncated (see figures 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the shape of the base of the static mixing of Schulz et al. to have to be conically truncated as taught by Linne et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach mixing elements for plastic inside a tubular housing. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the shape of the static mixer as taught by Linne et al. because it ensures thorough mixing in the desired mixed ratio, and as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH INSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774