DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amended claims submitted on 06/30/2026. Claims 1 and 16-35 are pending, and Claims 1, 28, 32, and 34 are amended. Claims 2-15 were previously cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 16-18, 23-26, 28-30, 32-33, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelka (Pelka, Michal, Karol Majek, and Janusz Bedkowski. "Testing the affordable system for digitizing USAR scenes." In 2019 IEEE International Symposium on Safety, Security, and Rescue Robotics (SSRR), pp. 1-2. IEEE, 2019.) in view of Metzler (US 2020/0363202 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Pelka discloses a mobile scanning assembly comprising at least one scanning device mounted on a platform for 2D or 3D measurement of objects/regions (Abstract: “backpack based 3D mapping system for digitizing USAR scenes.”),
wherein the platform is guided in such a way that it can be moved along a predetermined path of movement (Abstract: “This configuration allows the operator to collect and process 3D point clouds to obtain a consistent 3D map.”), and having a computing unit that is in data connection with the scanning device (Abstract: “three Velodynes VLP16, custom electronics for multi-lidar synchronization and VR Zotac GO backpack computer equipped with GeForce GTX1070”), and having a device for location detection (Abstract: “The academic 6DSLAM is used for loop closure and finally classical ICP algorithm refines the final 3D point cloud.” 6DSLAM capability is indicative of location detection),
wherein the computing unit is adapted to evaluate the data determined via the scanning device, which is operated preferably in an MMS rotation mode, and the device for location detection, and to determine a trajectory of the scanning assembly (Abstract: “Lidar odometry
corrects trajectory and reduces scale error from VO”; Column 1, Para 2: “Third lidar mounted in 45 degree can be used both: in trajectory correction and scene reconstruction.”),
Pelka does not teach and Metzler does teach wherein the computing unit is adapted, in an event of insufficient data quality of the trajectory or of a 3D cloud of points, to determine at least one position for additionally performing a static scan and to output corresponding information ([0189]: “there is a detection by way of a continuous analysis of the continuously updated outline as to whether the clear view of the last measurement region and/or task region is obstructed.”; [0190]: “In this case, the user 202 can be prompted, for example, to perform a new stationary scan from a position ascertained as suitable.”; [0195] teaches that “a previously ascertained suitable position and/or alignment of the device 201 can be adopted by the device 201 itself in automated fashion.” This indicates that the computing unit can be configured to determine the stationary scan position.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Metzler to perform additional static scans if needed to achieve optimal data quality into the device of Pelka. Metzler notes in [0138] that “a certain amount of overlap between the measurement regions or point clouds is advantageous or necessary”, so ensuring that such overlap is possible is highly beneficial to the operation of the device and the end user by ensuring that there are no data gaps along the trajectory.
Regarding Claim 16, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Pelka further discloses wherein the MMS rotation mode is an MMS SLAM rotation mode (Abstract: “The academic 6DSLAM is used for loop closure and finally classical ICP algorithm refines the final 3D point cloud.”; Column 1, para 2: “Third lidar mounted in 45 degree can be used both: in trajectory correction and scene reconstruction.”).
Regarding Claim 17, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Pelka further discloses wherein the computing unit is synchronized with an evaluation unit of at least one scanning device and is adapted to process the scan and location data acquired in mobile and static mode with an aim of registration in a field (Abstract: “To reach satisfactory accuracy we use RealSense as initial guess of trajectory from Visual Odometry (VO). Lidar odometry corrects trajectory and reduces scale error from VO. The academic 6DSLAM is used for loop closure and finally classical ICP algorithm refines the final 3D point cloud.”).
Regarding Claim 18, which depends from rejected Claim 17, Pelka further discloses wherein the computing unit is adapted to synchronize processed data sets/scan data back to the evaluation unit of the scanning device (Abstract: “The academic 6DSLAM is used for loop closure and finally classical ICP algorithm refines the final 3D point cloud.” Loop closure requires that the corrected mobile data set is synchronized with the scanning device in order to ensure that the loop is actually closed.; Abstract: “The system is composed of Intel RealSense Tracking Camera T265, three Velodynes VLP16, custom electronics for multi-lidar synchronization and VR Zotac GO backpack computer equipped with GeForce GTX1070.”).
Regarding Claim 23, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Pelka further discloses wherein the platform has at least two receptacles for optional positioning of a scanning device or for positioning of at least two scanning devices (Column 1, Para 2: “Two lidars are mounted orthogonal for the purpose of the inspection of multilevel buildings. Third lidar mounted in 45 degree can be used both: in trajectory correction and scene reconstruction.”; Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 24, which depends from rejected Claim 23, Pelka further discloses wherein the receptacles are set at an angle to each other (Column 1, Para 2: “Third lidar mounted in 45 degree can be used both: in trajectory correction and scene reconstruction.”).
Regarding Claim 25, which depends from rejected Claim 23, Pelka further discloses wherein several accumulators are held on the platform, which are connected in such a way that individual accumulators can be replaced without interrupting the scanning process (Column 1, Para 2: “The PC based on VR Zotac GO backpack is chosen due to mobility, thus hot swap batteries allow long-term data collection.).
Regarding Claim 26, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Pelka further discloses wherein the scanning device is a 3D scanner, a 2D laser scanner or a camera (Abstract: “The system is composed of Intel RealSense Tracking Camera T265, three Velodynes VLP16, custom electronics for multi-lidar synchronization and VR Zotac GO backpack computer equipped with GeForce GTX1070.” The Velodynes are LiDAR devices.).
Regarding Claim 28, Pelka discloses a method for driving a mobile scanning assembly with at least one scanning device that is positioned on a platform (Abstract: “backpack based 3D mapping system for digitizing USAR scenes.”) and with a computing unit that is synchronized with the scanning device (Abstract: “To reach satisfactory accuracy we use RealSense as initial guess of trajectory from Visual Odometry (VO). Lidar odometry corrects trajectory and reduces scale error from VO. The academic 6DSLAM is used for loop closure and finally classical ICP algorithm refines the final 3D point cloud.”), comprising:
- generating at least one mobile data set associated with a region to be measured in an MMS SLAM-rotation mode of the scanning device (Abstract: “The academic 6DSLAM is used for loop closure and finally classical ICP algorithm refines the final 3D point cloud.”; Column 1, para 2: “Third lidar mounted in 45 degree can be used both: in trajectory correction and scene reconstruction.”);
- evaluating the mobile data set and determining a trajectory via the computing unit (Figure 2; Abstract “To reach satisfactory accuracy we use RealSense as initial guess of trajectory from Visual Odometry (VO). Lidar odometry corrects trajectory and reduces scale error from VO. The academic 6DSLAM is used for loop closure and finally classical ICP algorithm refines the final 3D point cloud.”);
- analyzing the trajectory and the mobile data set (Abstract: “To reach satisfactory accuracy we use RealSense as initial guess of trajectory from Visual Odometry (VO). Lidar odometry corrects trajectory and reduces scale error from VO. The academic 6DSLAM is used for loop closure and finally classical ICP algorithm refines the final 3D point cloud.”);
- outputting a signal for performing at least one static scan at a location determined by the computing unit ([0189]: “there is a detection by way of a continuous analysis of the continuously updated outline as to whether the clear view of the last measurement region and/or task region is obstructed.”; [0190]: “In this case, the user 202 can be prompted, for example, to perform a new stationary scan from a position ascertained as suitable.”; [0195] teaches that “a previously ascertained suitable position and/or alignment of the device 201 can be adopted by the device 201 itself in automated fashion.” This indicates that the computing unit can be configured to determine the stationary scan position.)
- evaluating the at least one static scan to determine a corrected mobile data set and a corrected trajectory ([0189]: “during movement along the path 204, there is a detection by way of a continuous analysis of the continuously updated outline as to whether the clear view of the last measurement region and/or task region is obstructed”; This condition prompts the acquisition of a new stationary scan, which is then used to fill in potentially missing data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Metzler to perform additional static scans if needed to achieve optimal data quality into the device of Pelka. Metzler notes in [0138] that “a certain amount of overlap between the measurement regions or point clouds is advantageous or necessary”, so ensuring that such overlap is possible is highly beneficial to the operation of the device and the end user by ensuring that there are no data gaps along the trajectory.
Regarding Claim 29, which depends from rejected Claim 28, Pelka further discloses wherein the corrected mobile data set is synchronized with the scanning device via the computing unit (Abstract: “The academic 6DSLAM is used for loop closure and finally classical ICP algorithm refines the final 3D point cloud.” Loop closure requires that the corrected mobile data set is synchronized with the scanning device in order to ensure that the loop is actually closed.).
Regarding Claim 32, which depends on rejected Claim 28, Pelka further discloses wherein the scanning assembly is a 3D laser scanner, via which a first mobile data set is generated in an MMS rotation mode and, if applicable, the at least one static scan, and wherein at least a second mobile data set is generated via the 3D laser scanner operated in a profile mode along a same path of movement or via a further 2D laser scanner held on the platform (Column 1, Para 2: “Two lidars are mounted orthogonal for the purpose of the inspection of multilevel buildings. Third lidar mounted in 45 degree can be used both: in trajectory correction and scene reconstruction.”).
Regarding Claim 33, which depends from rejected Claim 32, Pelka further discloses wherein the first mobile data set is generated in an MMS SLAM rotation mode (Column 1, Para 2: “Two lidars are mounted orthogonal for the purpose of the inspection of multilevel buildings. Third lidar mounted in 45 degree can be used both: in trajectory correction and scene reconstruction.”; ).
Regarding Claim 35, which depends from rejected Claim 28, Pelka in view of Metzler teach that the scanning assembly is designed according to Claim 1 (See the rejection of Claim 1 above.).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelka in view of Metzler as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Bedkowski (Będkowski, Janusz, Karol Majek, Pawel Musialik, Artur Adamek, Dariusz Andrzejewski, and Damian Czekaj. "Towards terrestrial 3D data registration improved by parallel programming and evaluated with geodetic precision." Automation in Construction 47 (2014): 78-91.).
Regarding Claim 19, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Pelka in view of Metzler does not teach and Bedkowski does teach wherein a pre-registration is carried out via an external computing unit which is in data connection with the scanning device, or via the computing unit (Page 89, Column 2: “The operator controls the robot and the laser from laptop connected via WiFi router. Software in the GRID system for data registration and visualization is designed in the SaaS (software as a service)model and it is available from any device (laptop, smartphone, tablet).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Bedkowski to perform pre-registration activities on an external computer into the device of Pelka in view of Metzler. Performing analysis and calibrations on an external computer is well-known in the art, and a skilled worker would be able to implement the teaching of Bedkowski into the device of Pelka in view of Bartmann with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 20, which depends from rejected Claim 19, Pelka in view of Metzler does not teach and Bedkowski does teach wherein the external computing unit is a tablet (Page 89, Column 2: “The operator controls the robot and the laser from laptop connected via WiFi router. Software in the GRID system for data registration and visualization is designed in the SaaS (software as a service)model and it is available from any device (laptop, smartphone, tablet).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Bedkowski a tablet as an external computer into the device of Pelka in view of Metzler. Tablets provide an easily portable and user-friendly method of interacting with hardware such as LiDAR devices.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelka in view of Metzler as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Zotac VR GO (http://hkftp.zotac.com/External/ZBOX/VR/ZBOX-VR7N70/Brochure/ZBOX-VR7N70_VRGO_brochure.pdf).
Regarding Claim 21, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Pelka in view of Metzler does not teach and Zotac does teach wherein the computing unit has an interface for an external memory on which project data can be stored (SIDE PORTS: 4 x USB 3.0).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zotac into the sensor system of Pelka in view of Metzler to have an interface for external memory. Indeed, the interface is natively incorporated into the Zotac VR GO computer system discloses in Pelka. A worker skilled in the art would have found it obvious to attach an external memory to the computing unit in order to load software onto the computer or upload project data off of the computer, as this was a well-known procedure at the time of filing.
Regarding Claim 22, which depends from rejected Claim 21, Pelka in view of Metzler does not teach and Zotac does teach wherein the external memory is an SSD or a USB stick (SIDE PORTS: 4 x USB 3.0).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zotac into the sensor system of Pelka in view of Metzler to have a USB interface for external memory. Indeed, the interface is natively incorporated into the Zotac VR GO computer system discloses in Pelka. A worker skilled in the art would have found it obvious to attach a USB stick to the computing unit in order to load software onto the computer or upload project data off of the computer, as this was a well-known procedure at the time of filing.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelka in view of Metzler as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Velas (Velas, Martin, Michal Spanel, Tomas Sleziak, Jiri Habrovec, and Adam Herout. 2019. "Indoor and Outdoor Backpack Mapping with Calibrated Pair of Velodyne LiDARs" Sensors 19, no. 18: 3944. https://doi.org/10.3390/s19183944).
Regarding Claim 27, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Pelka in view of Metzler does not teach and Velas does teach wherein the location detection device is an IMU/INS-based or GNSS-based system or a system using localization techniques such as radar, Bluetooth, ultrasound, RFID (Abstract: “By fusion with GNSS/INS sub-system, the mapping of featureless environments and the georeferencing of resulting point cloud is possible.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Velas to use an IMU/INS-based or GNSS-based location detection device into the device of Pelka in view of Metzler. Velas notes on Page 8, Para 4 that “We know that these systems use GNSS/INS aiding in order to improve the precision.” Increased precision is highly beneficial to mobile LiDAR devices and can result in better representations of the target scene.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelka in view of Metzler as applied to Claim 28, and further in view of Bartmann (DE 102014110995 A1).
Regarding Claim 30, which depends from rejected Claim 28, Pelka does not teach and Metzler suggests but does not explicitly teach ([0189]-[0191]) and Bartmann does teach wherein, on a basis of the corrected data set, a pre-registration or a correction of a registration is carried out in a field via the computing unit or via an external computer in data connection with the scanning device ([0052]: “Should the existing cluster Gl be terminated and a new cluster Gk need to be started (i.e., if the test registration was unsuccessful), the user will be requested to perform at least one additional (extraordinary) scan {X(j)}).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Bartmann to acquire more data in the case of insufficient data quality into the device of Pelka in view of Metzler. Improved data quality is essential for reliable retrievals, and a skilled worker would be motivated to replace unsuccessfully executed measurements or calibrations in order to ensure that production data is accurate, precise, and reliable.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelka in view of Metzler as applied to Claim 28, and further in view of Zotac VR GO.
Regarding Claim 31, which depends from rejected Claim 28, Pelka in view of Metzler does not teach and Zotac does teach wherein the data sets processed by the computing unit or the scanning device are stored on an external memory (SIDE PORTS: 4 x USB 3.0).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zotac into the method of Pelka in view of Metzler to have an interface for external memory. Indeed, the interface is natively incorporated into the Zotac VR GO computer system discloses in Pelka. A worker skilled in the art would have found it obvious to attach an external memory to the computing unit in order to load software onto the computer or upload project data off of the computer, as this was a well-known procedure at the time of filing.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelka in view of Metzler as applied to Claim 28, and further in view of Tatipamula (US 2019/0072650 A1).
Regarding Claim 34, which depends from rejected Claim 28, Pelka in view of Metzler does not teach and Tatipamula does teach wherein the scanning device for the static scan is removed from the platform ([0046]: “The process 500 may begin after the lidar sensor 100 is removed from applied usage (host vehicle, drone, etc.) and mounted to the calibrator base 125… The process 500 may continue to execute until the lidar sensor 100 is calibrated.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Tatipamula to remove the device for the static scan into the method of Pelka in view of Metzler. It is well-known in the art to mount a lidar unit from a mobile device on a separate, stationary jig or platform for calibration or testing, and a skilled worker would be able to implement this improvement in the method of Pelka with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lagüela (Lagüela, Susana, Iago Dorado, Manuel Gesto, Pedro Arias, Diego González-Aguilera, and Henrique Lorenzo. "Behavior analysis of novel wearable indoor mapping system based on 3d-slam." Sensors 18, no. 3 (2018): 766.) discloses a wearable indoor mapping system based on 3D-SLAM which can be controlled with a tablet.
Cosic (US 2017/0030703 A1) discloses a mobile data capture system including a lidar, GNSS antenna, and GNSS/IMU unit.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.W.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645