DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
This application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. These species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
The species are as follows:
Group I: Figures 2A-3B disclose a frying apparatus with a moveable microwave generating unit attached to a lid, wherein the microwave generating unit moves with the lid to close a pan.
Group II: Figures 4A-5B disclose a frying apparatus with a fixed microwave generating unit inside the apparatus, wherein a lid of a pan closes the system.
Group III: Figure 6 discloses a frying apparatus with a microwave generating unit fixed to a pan, wherein the frying unit is self-contained.
Applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single species to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. The reply must also identify the claims readable on the elected species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered non-responsive unless accompanied by an election.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which are written in dependent form or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowed generic claim. Currently, the following claim(s) are generic: 1 and 18.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I-III lack unity of invention because the groups do not share the same or corresponding technical feature.
During a telephone conversation with Jeffrey Chamberlain on 12/19/2025 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group III, claims 1-18. However, claims 4-6 and 16-17, refer to the storage station, pivotally moveable lid, strainer, and controller operations that are specific to Group I, as stated in paragraphs 64-70 of the specification which refer to Figures 2-3 for support of the claimed subject matter. Furthermore, claims 5-8, refer to the pivotally moveable lid, strainer, housing with microwave fixed to an upper part of housing, and the pan configured to close the housing that are specific to Group II, as stated in paragraphs 72-73 of the specification which refer to figures 4-5 for support of the claimed subject matter. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 4-8 and 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN202021046537, filed on October 26, 2020.
Drawings
According to 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1) photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications. The Office will accept photographs in utility and design patent applications, however, if photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention.
Figure 6 is objected because it is a black and white photograph. Figures 7A-7B are drawings of the apparatus shown in figure 6 which supports that the photograph is not the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the conventional heat source of claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 3, paragraph 17 "toenable" should be "to enable" and "friedin" should be "fried in".
On page 10, paragraph 70 "includeat" should be "include at".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 and 10-11 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2-3, "whereinthe" should be "wherein the".
Regarding claims 10-11, "theat" should be "the at".
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“Wherein the conventional heat source is any or a combination of a gas burner, a hot plate, resistance heater and an induction heating device” in claim 2. There is no structure provided for the induction heating device.
“Wherein the oil transfer mechanism is configured to transfer oil between the oil pan and the oil storage tank based on quantity of the food items to be fried” in claim 13. The claim fails to meet prong C of 112(f) since there is no structure for performing the entire claimed function of transferring oil based on quantity of food items to be fried.
“Wherein the oil transfer mechanism is configured to, when there is no requirement of frying, transfer the oil from the oil pan to the oil storage tank to minimize the oil quantity in the oil pan that is kept in hot condition to meet frying requirement within a stipulated time frame on receipt of order” in claim 14. The claim fails to meet prong C of 112(f) since there is no structure for meeting a frying requirement within a time frame on receipt of order
“Wherein the apparatus comprises a controller configured to receive instructions based on which operation of the frying apparatus is controlled” in claim 15.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 13-14, there is no structure in the written description that would allow the oil transfer mechanism to transfer the oil between the oil pan and oil storage tank based on the quantity of food items to be fried or to meet the frying requirement within a stipulated time frame. Therefore, the claims fail to comply with the written description since the oil transfer mechanism can’t operate based on those conditions without a controller/sensor to determine the conditions set forth.
Claims 1, 3 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the term “conventional” is a subjective term that is dependent on someone’s way of life, what they are used to, etc. Therefore, the claim is indefinite as the term does not make clear how the heat source would be a conventional option for the frying apparatus. For purposes of examination, the examiner will read on the conventional heat source limitation of claim 1 as “a heat source”.
Claims 3 and 9-15 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding claims 13-14, the oil transfer mechanism can’t function based on the conditions of quantity of food items to be fried or to meet the frying requirement within a stipulated time frame without a structure such as a controller or sensor to determine these conditions. The written description does not describe any structure that would perform such a function, while there the controller is claimed later on in claim 15, there is no support that it would also control the oil transfer mechanism. Therefore, it is unclear what structure is required to allow the oil transfer mechanism to transfer the oil between the oil pan and oil storage tank based on the quantity of food items to be fried or to meet the frying requirement within a stipulated time frame. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is going to read claim 13 as “the apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the oil transfer mechanism is configured to transfer oil between the oil pan and the oil storage tank” and claim 14 as “the apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the oil transfer mechanism is configured to, when there is no requirement of frying, transfer the oil from the oil pan to the oil storage tank to minimize the oil quantity in the oil pan that is kept in hot condition”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
All citations for WO 2019142879 are referencing the English translation provided.
Claims 1-2 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oomori et al (WO Patent Document No. 2019142879).
Regarding claim 1, Oomori teaches a frying apparatus for frying food items (oil-fried food providing system, title), the apparatus comprising: an oil pan (oil tank 50) to hold oil for frying the food items; a heat source (heater 55) to heat the oil (Par. 86) in the oil pan (50); and at least one microwave generating device (microwave oscillator 60) as a source of microwaves that in combination with application of heat using the conventional heat source enables direct cooking of interior of the food item as outer layer of the food item is being fried in the hot oil (par. 29).
Regarding claim 2, Oomori teaches a heat source (heater 55) is any or a combination of a gas burner, a hot plate, resistance heater and an induction heating device (Par. 87).
Regarding claim 12, Oomori teaches an oil transfer mechanism (Par. 33) comprising an oil storage tank (oil tank 102) and an oil transfer pump (pump 101).
Regarding claim 13, Oomori teaches an oil transfer mechanism (100a, 101, 102) configured to transfer oil between (Par. 32) the oil pan (50) and the oil storage tank (102).
Regarding claim 14, Oomori teaches an oil transfer mechanism (100a, 101, 102) configured to, when there is no frying requirement, transfer the oil from the oil pan (50) to the oil storage tank (102) to minimize the oil quantity in the pan that is kept in hot condition.
Regarding claim 15, Oomori teaches a controller (control unit 3) configured to receive instructions (receives data from communication unit 2) based on which operation of the frying apparatus is controlled (Par. 14)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oomori as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harris et al (US Patent Document No. 3818820) and Rozak et al (US Patent Document No. 5249510).
Regarding claim 3, Oomori fails to teach a frying apparatus, wherein the apparatus comprises at least one pan, each pan comprising a loading and serving portion, and a cooking portion, the pan being pivotally held for movement between a first position and a second position, wherein, in the first position of the pan, the food items are loaded onto the loading and serving portion, and as the pan is moved to the second position, the food items slide to the cooking portion of the pan where the food items get dipped in hot oil for frying, and wherein when the pan is moved back to the first position from the second position, the food items slide back to the loading and serving portion for serving.
Harris teaches a fried product dispensing apparatus (Title) having a chute (Fig. 1, 4, considered to be loading and serving portion) and basket (53, considered to be cooking portion), wherein the required quantity of food product is dispensed onto the chute (4), and so into the frying basket (54), which is immersed in the frying bath (considered to be second position). At this stage, the food product starts to fry and, after a predetermined time interval, motor 22 is energized, first to lift the basket (54) and food out of the oil, and thereafter to raise the basket (54) to the position shown in dotted lines (Fig. 1) whereupon the food slides down (considered to be first position) the chute (4; Col 3, lines 31-38). However, the combination of Oomori and Harris still fail to teach a frying apparatus in which the food items slide to the cooking portion of a pan where the food items get dipped in hot oil for drying.
Rozak teaches a self-venting automatic food frying and dispensing apparatus (Title) with a basket (Fig. 10, 102), wherein the basket can be placed in a load position (Fig. 10; considered to be the first position); the food items (214) rest in the basket after being poured in from a food loading door (Col. 9, lines 46-48). The basket (102) is then placed in a cook position, causing the food items (214) to be dipped in oil to be fried (Fig. 11; Col. 9, lines 58-60). Finally, once the food items (214) finish frying, the basket (102) is placed into an unload position (Fig. 12) to dispense the food items (214; Col. 9, lines 65-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Oomori to incorporate the teachings of Harris and Rozak and have a frying apparatus wherein the apparatus comprises at least one pan, each pan comprising a loading and serving portion, and a cooking portion, the pan being pivotally held for movement between a first position and a second position, wherein, in the first position of the pan, the food items are loaded onto the loading and serving portion, and as the pan is moved to the second position, the food items slide to the cooking portion of the pan where the food items get dipped in hot oil for frying, and wherein when the pan is moved back to the first position from the second position, the food items slide back to the loading and serving portion for serving to yield the predictable result of having minimal user interaction with the food items while they are dipped the oil for cooking.
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Oomori as applied to claim 3 teaches a frying apparatus, wherein the pans as taught by both Harris and Rozak are dipped into oil in a cooking position (Col. 3, lines 29-32, Harris; Col. 9, lines 58-61, Rozak). While the pans are in this cooking position (considered to be second position) it is inherent that the oil will be retained within the pan in order for the food items to be fried since they are not just dropped into the oil tank. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Oomori to incorporate the teachings of Rozak and Harris to have a frying apparatus with a pan, wherein the cooking portion of the pan is configured to function as an oil pan to hold the oil and shaped such that the oil is retained within the cooking portion when the pan is at the second position to yield the predictable result of frying food items while they are also retained in the cooking portion of a pan.
Regarding claim 18, Oomori teaches a method for cooking a food item comprising the steps of: cooking an outer layer of the food item by frying in hot oil by dipping the food item in an oil pan having the hot oil (Par. 140, Oomori); and cooking an inner portion of the food item by microwave cooking using at least one microwave generating device (Par. 144, Oomori) and the microwave cooking takes place in the second position of the pan (Par. 144, Oomori)
Oomori fails to teach a method for cooking a food item, wherein the food item is placed on a pan that is configured to move between a first position and a second position, and the frying takes place in the second position of the pan.
Harris and Rozak teach a method for cooking a food item, wherein the food item is placed on a pan that is configured to move between a first position (Col 3, lines 31-38, Harris; Col. 9, lines 46-48, Rozak) and a second position, and the frying takes place in the second position of the pan (Col. 9, lines 58-60 & 65-57, Rozak).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the modified device of Oomori to incorporate the teachings of Harris and Rozak to have a method of cooking a food item, comprising the steps of: cooking an outer layer of the food item by frying in hot oil by dipping the food item in an oil pan having the hot oil; and cooking an inner portion of the food item by microwave cooking using at least one microwave generating device; wherein the food item is placed on a pan that is configured to move between a first position and a second position, and the frying takes place in the second position of the pan and the microwave cooking takes place in the second position of the pan to yield the predictable result of thoroughly frying a food item.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Oomori as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Suhir (WO Patent Document No. 2018025095).
The modified device of Oomori teaches a pan that is covered in a second position but it fails to teach a frying apparatus, wherein at least one microwave generating device is operatively coupled to a pan to cover a cooking portion.
Suhir teaches a cooking apparatus (Title) wherein the top lid 400 is coupled with at least one magnetron 502 that forms part of an enclosure 500 and acts as a source of microwaves (Pg. 7, par. 40) for the purpose of allowing multiple forms of cooking (Pg. 5, par. 30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the modified device of Oomori to incorporate the teachings of Suhir to have a frying apparatus, wherein at least one microwave generating device is operatively coupled to a pan to cover a cooking portion.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Oomori as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Chang et al (US Patent Document No. 20200397195).
The modified device of Oomori teaches at least one microwave generating device that is fixed and a pan that moves into second position, as described above. However, it fails to teach wherein a pan, when moved to a second position, gets coupled with the at least one microwave generating device.
Chang teaches an automatic cooking apparatus (Title), comprising an auxiliary cooking unit (Fig. 8B) with a strainer (1281a, considered to be the pan) and an oil pan (128d, considered to be the microwave generating apparatus, Pg. 1, par. 3), wherein the oil pan moves upwards and cooks the food in the strainer (Pg. 6, par. 83). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the modified device of Oomori to incorporate the teachings of Chang to have a frying apparatus, wherein a microwave generating device is fixed, and a pan, when moved to a second position, gets coupled with the at least one microwave generating device to yield the predictable result of covering the pan to ensure the food items are both fried and heated with microwaves.
Conclusion
/C.V.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761