DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Choke mechanism in claim 5. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The choke mechanism may include metallic choke fingers, a choke gasket and choke locking members that engage with the container to allow the lid to fit tightly over the container.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudhir (WO 2018025095 A1) in view of Sato (JP 4987518 B2), Aboujassuoum (US 2016/0324359 A1), and Han (US 2004/0050843 A1).
Claim 24. Sudhir discloses a heating apparatus comprising:
a lid configured for movement between a raised position and a lowered position (par. 59, Fig. 1B), wherein in the lowered position the lid is configured to cover a container (cooking container 300, Fig. 1A) containing items to be heated or cooked (food is cooked in the container, par. 53); and
at least one microwave generating device coupled with the lid as a source of microwaves (magnetron 502 is coupled to the lid, Fig. 1A), such that in the lowered position of the lid, the heating apparatus enables microwave heating (after the lid is closed, the microwave function can be turned on, par. 60) using the at least one microwave generating device in combination with any of: application of heat to the container from bottom using another heat source (induction heating, par. 60) and a preparatory operation on contents of the container (the bottom portion of the cooking container can be used for mixing, adding, and browning).
Sudhir does not disclose wherein the lid comprises a sensing mechanism to sense proper closing of the container by the lid to ensure that microwaves generated by the at least one microwave generating device do not leak out
Sato discloses a cooking device with a conventional heater and a microwave wherein a lid open/close detection unit 58 detects whether the lid has been closed or not.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sudhir to incorporate the teachings of Sato and have the lid detection unit. Doing so would have the benefit of preventing microwaves from leaking out and affecting the user (par. 62, Sato).
Sudhir in view of Sato does not disclose a weight sensor configured to detect presence of the container, as well as to detect how much ingredients by weight is added to the container; and
a locking mechanism to lock the lid after it is closed over the container; the locking mechanism comprising two or more locking sensor switches that are located in a concealed location.
Aboujassuoum discloses an automatic cooking device wherein the weight of the ingredient container 112 and the weight of the ingredients can be detected (par. 66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sudhir in view of Sato to incorporate the teachings of Aboujassuoum and detect the weight of the ingredient container and ingredients. Doing so would have the benefit of ensuring that the recipe is being followed correctly.
The combined prior art does not disclose a locking mechanism to lock the lid after it is closed over the container, the locking mechanism comprising two or more locking sensor switches that are located in a concealed location.
Han discloses a microwave oven wherein there are multiple switches 45-47 installed in the hook locking unit 40 (par. 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sudhir in view of Sato and Aboujassuoum to incorporate the teachings of Han and provide a hook locking unit with multiple switches for the lid. Doing so would have the benefit of locking the microwave lid shut and detecting if the door did not fully close in order to prevent leaking electromagnetic waves (par. 33, Han).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudhir in view of Sato, Aboujassuoum, and Han as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Hazan (US 5243172 A).
Claim 25. Sudhir in view of Sato, Aboujassuoum, and Han discloses the heating apparatus of claim 24, wherein the heating apparatus comprises a control circuit, the control circuit being configured to switch
Sudhir in view of Sato, Aboujassuoum, and Han does not disclose switch the microwave generating device ON only after receipt of a signal from the weight sensors indicative of presence of the container.
Hazan discloses a cooktop wherein the presence detector 20 detects the presence of the pan and if it detects the pan through weight then it supplies electric power to begin heating (col 4, lines 15-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sudhir in view of Sato, Aboujassuoum, and Han to incorporate the teachings of Hazan and only turn on the microwave if the container is detected. Doing so would have the benefit preventing dangerous heating and prevent unnecessary use of power (col 1 lines 25-30, Hazan).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 3-8 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowability:
the prior art does not disclose a plurality of retractable plungers provided on periphery of the lid, the plungers being biased outward and configured to linearly move inward on coming in contact with a seating surface of the container as the lid is closed over the container; wherein the plungers are configured such that contact with the seating surface of the container takes place if a gap between the lid and the seating surface of the container is less than a predefined gap value; and wherein the plungers are electrically connected such that the connection is completed when the plungers make contact with the container, and wherein the completion of the connection is used as a confirmation that the lid is properly closed over the container.
Lin (CN 107734736) discloses a microwave cooking device with a trigger 141 which triggers the micro switch 14 (Fig. 3, par. 73). The microswitch 14 will inform the controller if the cover is safely secured or not (par. 73). Lin does not disclose that the signal that the cover is safely secured is due to the trigger on the device’s base is electrically connecting with the lid.
Tibbs (GB 1238402) discloses a microwave wherein a plunger 15 (Fig. 2) operates a microswitch 16 which controls the microwave energy of the oven (page 2, col 1, lines 15-40). However, Tibbs does not disclose that the plunger is electrically connecting with the microwave’s frame, wherein this electrical connection what determines if the lid is closed or not. It is well known that within a microswitch, a plunger pushes a lever or switch that is electrically connecting with another connector in order to switch power. However, this is not the same as applicant’s structure in claim 2. The plunger itself is not connecting with a lever or switch but rather the container body which forms an electrical connection that is detected by a controller.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIMPSON A CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761