DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-23 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/19/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “the_seating” this should be –the seating--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because under 37 C.F.R 1.84(b)(1) a single figure containing multiple distinct views must each be separately labeled, Fig. 3 distinct views but are not separately labeled. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Choke mechanism in claim 5. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The choke mechanism may include metallic choke fingers, a choke gasket and choke locking members that engage with the container to allow the lid to fit tightly over the container.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 7-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4-5 and 7 are indefinite because they reference themselves for dependency. The scope of each of these claims cannot be determined.
For claim 4 since it references the plungers and locking sensors, the Office will assume that it is dependent on claim 3.
For claim 5 since it references the predefined gap, the Office will assume that it is dependent on claim 2.
For claim 7 since it references the weight sensors and locking sensors, the Office will assume that it is dependent on claim 3.
Claim 8 recites “wherein coupling of the lid with the containers enables heating of the contents of the container through the microwaves generated by the at least one microwave producing device.” It is unclear if “the containers” is referring to both the first and second container and if “the container” is referring to a singular container, either the first or second container. For examination, “the containers” and “the container” will be interpreted as –any one of the first or second containers--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (JP 4987518 B2).
Claim 1. Sato discloses a heating apparatus (rice cooker 1, Fig. 1) comprising:
a lid configured for movement between a raised position and a lowered position (lid body 5), wherein in the lowered position the lid is configured to cover a container (pot 2) containing items to be heated or cooked (rice 23 is in the pot, Fig. 1); and
at least one microwave generating device coupled with the lid as a source of microwaves (microwave oscillator 6), such that in the lowered position of the lid, the heating apparatus enables microwave heating using the at least one microwave generating device () in combination with any of: application of heat to the container from bottom using another heat source (pot heating device 3) and a preparatory operation on contents of the container (rice is soaked in water in the container, Fig. 1; where the broadest reasonable interpretation of “preparatory operation on contents” include soaking rice in water).
wherein the lid comprises a sensing mechanism to sense proper closing of the container by the lid to ensure that microwaves generated by the at least one microwave generating device do not leak out (lid open/close detection unit 58).
Claim 6. Sato discloses the heating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the lid is pivotally configured with a base for pivotal movement between the raised position and the lowered position (lid pivots on a hinge 53 connected to the rear end of the cooker body, par. 24, Fig. 1); and
wherein the base includes a conventional source of heat (induction coils 31, Fig. 1, par. 22) and the container is positioned to receive heat from the conventional source of heat in addition to heating by microwaves generated by the at least one microwave generating device (rice cooker receives heat through induction heating and microwaves, par. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudhir (WO 2018025095 A1) in view of Sato (JP 4987518 B2).
Claim 1. Sudhir discloses a heating apparatus comprising:
a lid configured for movement between a raised position and a lowered position (par. 59, Fig. 1B), wherein in the lowered position the lid is configured to cover a container (cooking container 300, Fig. 1A) containing items to be heated or cooked (food is cooked in the container, par. 53); and
at least one microwave generating device coupled with the lid as a source of microwaves (magnetron 502 is coupled to the lid, Fig. 1A), such that in the lowered position of the lid, the heating apparatus enables microwave heating (after the lid is closed, the microwave function can be turned on, par. 60) using the at least one microwave generating device in combination with any of: application of heat to the container from bottom using another heat source (induction heating, par. 60) and a preparatory operation on contents of the container (the bottom portion of the cooking container can be used for mixing, adding, and browning).
Sudhir does not disclose wherein the lid comprises a sensing mechanism to sense proper closing of the container by the lid to ensure that microwaves generated by the at least one microwave generating device do not leak out
Sato discloses a cooking device with a conventional heater and a microwave wherein a lid open/close detection unit 58 detects whether the lid has been closed or not.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sudhir to incorporate the teachings of Sato and have the lid detection unit. Doing so would have the benefit of preventing microwaves from leaking out and affecting the user (par. 62, Sato).
Claim 8. Sudhir discloses the heating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the lid is configured with a chimney by a lifting and lowering mechanism for vertical movement between the raised position and the lowered position (Fig. 1H has a flexible shaft that lowers and raises the lid, par. 50); and
wherein the container is any one of a first container placed over a conventional source of heat (container 300 is placed over the induction coil, Fig. 1H), and a second container for preparatory operations comprising any or a combination of blending, stirring, grinding and mixing (mixing, par. 50); and
wherein coupling of the lid with the containers enables heating of the contents of the container through the microwaves generated by the at least one microwave producing device (lid couples with the container to heat it using microwaves, Fig. 1H, par. 50).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
the prior art does not disclose a plurality of retractable plungers provided on periphery of the lid, the plungers being biased outward and configured to linearly move inward on coming in contact with a seating surface of the container as the lid is closed over the container; wherein the plungers are configured such that contact with the seating surface of the container takes place if a gap between the lid and the seating surface of the container is less than a predefined gap value; and wherein the plungers are electrically connected such that the connection is completed when the plungers make contact with the container, and wherein the completion of the connection is used as a confirmation that the lid is properly closed over the container.
Lin (CN 107734736) discloses a microwave cooking device with a trigger 141 which triggers the micro switch 14 (Fig. 3, par. 73). The microswitch 14 will inform the controller if the cover is safely secured or not (par. 73). Lin does not disclose that the signal that the cover is safely secured is due to the trigger on the device’s base is electrically connecting with the lid.
Tibbs (GB 1238402) discloses a microwave wherein a plunger 15 (Fig. 2) operates a microswitch 16 which controls the microwave energy of the oven (page 2, col 1, lines 15-40). However, Tibbs does not disclose that the plunger is electrically connecting with the microwave’s frame, wherein this electrical connection what determines if the lid is closed or not. It is well known that within a microswitch, a plunger pushes a lever or switch that is electrically connecting with another connector in order to switch power. However, this is not the same as applicant’s structure in claim 2. The plunger itself is not connecting with a lever or switch but rather the container body which forms an electrical connection that is detected by a controller.
Conclusion
/SIMPSON A CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761