DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 03/09/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/03/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-13, 15-18, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bangolae et al. (US 20180098370 A1) (hereinafter “Bangolae”) in view of Xu et al (US 20190387446 A1) (hereinafter “Xu”).
Regarding claim 1, An operation method of a transmitting terminal in a communication system, the operation method comprising (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality can be implemented as a method):
performing sidelink (SL) communication with a receiving terminal (see [0057];[0060];[0064];[0070]-[0080] discloses sidelink communication, communication relay to remote UE);
in response to determining that SL relay communication is required, performing a connection configuration operation with a relay terminal (see para. [0060] discloses the relay UE (relay terminal) can determine if is interested to act as relay, based on configuration parameters and UE internal information. The relay UE (relay terminal) can communicate a sidelink UE information message to the eNodeB, wherein the sidelink UE information message indicates whether or not the relay UE is interested or not in acting as a relay).
performing the SL relay communication with the receiving terminal through the relay terminal (see para. [0036]-[0037];[0153];[0166] discloses the relay UE in coverage with the network forward the data to the remote UE. The relay UE can relay unicast traffic both Uplink and Downlink. The relay can provide relay IP traffic (such as voice or video); Relay UE relays data from eNodeB to remote UE).
In Fig. 9, para. [0066] Bangolae teaches a measurement message between remote UE and eNodeB and the relay information from eNodeB to remote UE without relay UE acting as relay.
Xu is added to clarify the first and second messages.
Xu teaches transmitting, to the receiving terminal, a first message including connection configuration information for the SL relay communication (see Fig 4 (S405), para. [0133] discloses UE sending first message to base station to perform path switch to an indirect path using relay UE), the connection configuration information including an identifier of the relay terminal (see para. [0135] discloses first RRC message includes identifier of the relay UE), the connection configuration information allowing the receiving terminal to establish connection with the relay terminal (see para. [0134]-[0137] discloses path switch type, identifier of relay UE, cell identity of serving cell of relay UE selected by remote UE, short range communication technology), and the first message being transmitted directly to the receiving terminal without relaying of the relay terminal (see Fig 4 (S405), para. [0133] discloses UE sending first message to base station to perform path switch to an indirect path using relay UE),
receiving, from the receiving terminal, a second message indicating that connection configuration between the receiving terminal and the relay terminal has been completed (see Fig. 4 (S408) para. [0145] discloses S408 second message (after S406 and S407 configuration complete for relay UE), to the remote UE, instruction remote UE to perform path switching), the second message being received directly from the receiving terminal without relaying of the relay terminal (see Fig. 4 (S408) para. [0145] discloses S408 second message from base station to remote UE).
Bangolae and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications and sidelink operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bangolae to include first and second messages as described by Xu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from facilitating the adjustment of operational parameters in the systems.
Regarding claim 3, Bangolae discloses an operation method (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality can be implemented as a method), wherein the connection configuration operation between the transmitting terminal and the relay terminal is performed when a base station indicates to enable the SL relay communication (see para. [0087] discloses after the eNodeB communicates the relay initiation and configuration message with the parameters to the relay UE (e.g., as part of an existing RRC message), the relay UE can be configured to act as a relay for the remote UE. In other words, the relay UE can utilize the parameters to act as a relay for the remote UE. The relay initiation and configuration message can be a dedicated message that is communicated explicitly to the relay UE (i.e., not broadcast)).
Regarding claim 4, Bangolae discloses an operation method (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality can be implemented as a method), wherein the performing of the connection configuration operation with the relay terminal (see para. [0089] discloses a remote UE (receive terminal) can switch from having a connection with an eNodeB to a connection to a relay UE) comprises:
performing a measurement operation on signals received from one or more neighboring terminals (see para. [0089] discloses the remote UE can monitor a connection link quality. If the connection link quality (or serving channel quality) becomes less than a defined threshold, but the remote UE does not detect any neighbor cells for handover, the remote UE can perform a discovery procedure for relay UE selection);
determining one neighboring terminal among the one or more neighboring terminals as the relay terminal based on a result of the measurement operation (see para. [0089] discloses the remote UE can monitor a connection link quality. If the connection link quality (or serving channel quality) becomes less than a defined threshold, but the remote UE does not detect any neighbor cells for handover, the remote UE can perform a discovery procedure for relay UE selection); and
configuring a connection with the relay terminal (see para. [0090] In some cases, when the remote UE is in-coverage and directly connected with the eNodeB, the remote UE may wish to be released from the direct connection with the eNodeB (i.e., the Uu connection) upon establishing the communication with the relay UE).
Regarding claim 5, Bangolae discloses an operation method (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality can be implemented as a method), wherein the connection configuration
information includes at least one of information indicating that connection configuration between the
transmitting terminal and the relay terminal has been completed (see para. [0094] discloses
establishing a connection with the remote UE, the relay UE can communicate a newly
defined dedicated sidelink message or an existing sidelink UE information message to the
eNodeB, wherein this message may include information about the relay UE's connections
to remote UEs. In particular, this message can include specific identifiers (IDs) of remote
UEs that are connected to the relay UE), or
a number for identifying data last transmitted by the transmitting terminal (This part is optional, because of the “or” statement).
Regarding claim 6, Bangolae discloses an operation method (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117]
discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality
can be implemented as a method), wherein the second message includes at least one of an identifier of the relay terminal (see para. [0094] discloses
establishing a connection with the remote UE, the relay UE can communicate a newly
defined dedicated sidelink message or an existing sidelink UE information message to the
eNodeB, wherein this message may include information about the relay UE's connections
to remote UEs. In particular, this message can include specific identifiers (IDs) of remote
UEs that are connected to the relay UE), or
information indicating that connection configuration between the receiving terminal and the relay terminal has been completed (This part is optional, because of the “or” statement).
Regarding claim 7, Bangolae discloses an operation method (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology;
functionality can be implemented as a method).
Bangolae fails to disclose but Xu teaches wherein the first message is a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration sidelink message (see Fig. 4 (S405), para. [0133] discloses S405, first message is RCC message) or sidelink control information (SCI) (This part is optional), and the second message is an RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message (see Fig. 4 (S408), para. [0145] discloses S408, second message is an RRC connection reconfiguration message) or SCI (This part is optional).
Bangolae and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both
are in the same field of wireless communications and sidelink operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bangolae to include RRC as described by Xu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from facilitating the adjustment of operational parameters in the systems.
Regarding claim 8, Bangolae discloses an operation method (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality can be implemented as a method), further comprising releasing connection
configuration between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal when the SL relay
communication is performed (see para. [0092] discloses an example when the
remote UE can transmit a message to the eNodeB informing the remote UE has
established a relay connection with the relay UE. The sidelink information message can
indicate the remote UE’s desire to be released from direct communication with the
eNodeB).
Regarding claim 9, Bangolae discloses an operation method of a receiving terminal in a communication system, the operation method comprising (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality can be implemented as a method):
performing sidelink (SL) communication with a transmitting terminal (see [0057];[0060];[0064];[0070]-[0080] discloses sidelink communication, communication relay to remote UE).
In Fig. 9, para. [0066] Bangolae teaches a measurement message between remote UE and eNodeB and the relay information from eNodeB to remote UE without relay UE acting as relay.
Xu is added to clarify the first and second messages.
Xu teaches receiving, from the transmitting terminal, a first message including connection configuration information for SL relay communication (see Fig 4 (S405), para. [0133] discloses UE sending first message to base station to perform path switch to an indirect path using relay UE), the connection configuration information including an identifier of a relay terminal (see para. [0135] discloses first RRC message includes identifier of the relay UE), the connection configuration information allowing the receiving terminal to establish connection with the relay terminal (see. see para. [0134]-[0137] discloses path switch type, identifier of relay UE, cell identity of serving cell of relay UE selected by remote UE, short range communication technology), and the first message being transmitted directly to the receiving terminal without relaying of the relay terminal (see Fig 4 (S405), para. [0133] discloses UE sending first message to base station to perform path switch to an indirect path using relay UE);
performing a connection configuration operation with the relay terminal indicated by the connection configuration information (see Fig. 4 (S406, S407) para. [0138]-[0144] discloses configuration with relay UE); and
transmitting, to the transmitting terminal, a second message including a result of the connection configuration operation (see Fig. 4 (S408) para. [0145] discloses S408 second message (after S406 and S407 configuration complete for relay UE), to the remote UE, instruction remote UE to perform path switching), the second message being received directly from the receiving terminal without relaying of the relay terminal (see Fig. 4 (S408) para. [0145] discloses S408 second message from base station to remote UE).
Bangolae and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications and sidelink operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bangolae to include first and second messages as described by Xu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from facilitating the adjustment of operational parameters in the systems.
Regarding claim 10, Bangolae discloses an operation method (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality can be implemented as a method).
Bangolae fails to disclose but Xu teaches further comprising performing the SL relay communication with the transmitting terminal when the second message indicates that the connection configuration operation has been completed (see Fig. 4 (S409), para. [0147] discloses S409 remote UE starts data transmission using relay UE, after second message S408).
Bangolae and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications and sidelink operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bangolae to include SL relay communication as described by Xu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from facilitating the adjustment of operational parameters in the systems.
Regarding claim 11, Bangolae discloses an operation method (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality can be implemented as a method).
Bangolae fails to disclose but Xu teaches further comprising performing the SL communication with the transmitting terminal without the relay terminal when the second message indicates that the connection configuration operation has failed (see para [208];[210];[0212] discloses process of stablishing connection with relay UE fails; after receiving the second message, the remote UE releases the radio bearer configuration; the remote UE choose to trigger a RRC connection re-establishment process).
Bangolae and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications and sidelink operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bangolae to include SL communication without relay terminal as described by Xu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from facilitating the adjustment of operational parameters in the systems.
Regarding claim 12, Bangolae discloses an operation method (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality can be implemented as a method), wherein the connection configuration operation between the receiving terminal and the relay terminal is performed when the base station indicates to enable the SL relay communication (see para. [0060] discloses the relay UE can communicate a sidelink UE information message to the eNodeB, wherein the sidelink UE information message indicates whether or not to act as relay UE. If the eNB determines that the relay UE is to act as relay, the eNodeB can communicate a relay initiation and configuration message to the relay UE).
Regarding claim 13, Bangolae discloses an operation method (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality can be implemented as a method), wherein the connection configuration information includes at least one of information indicating that connection configuration between the transmitting terminal and the relay terminal has been completed (see [0095] disclose some cases where after stablishing the direct connection with the eNodeB, the remote UE may terminate the connection with the relay UE), or
a number for identifying data last transmitted by the transmitting terminal (This part is optional because of the “or” statement).
Regarding claim 15, Bangolae discloses an operation method (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality can be implemented as a method).
Bangolae fails to disclose but Xu teaches wherein the first message is a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration sidelink message (see Fig. 4 (S405), para. [0133] discloses S405, first message is RCC message) or sidelink control information (SCI) (This part is optional), and the second message is an RRC reconfiguration complete sidelink message (see Fig. 4 (S408), para. [0145] discloses S408, second message is an RRC connection reconfiguration message) or SCI (This part is optional).
Bangolae and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both
are in the same field of wireless communications and sidelink operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bangolae to include RRC as described by Xu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from facilitating the adjustment of operational parameters in the systems.
Regarding claim 16, Bangolae discloses a transmitting terminal in a communication system, comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 21, para. [0119] discloses using at least one processor in the eNodeB (transmitting terminal) executing instructions);
a memory electronically communicating with the processor (see para. [0039] discloses eNodeB (transmitting terminal) include processor and memory); and
instructions stored in the memory (see para. [0119] execute instructions on a machine, where the instructions are included on at least one computer readable medium or one non-transitory machine readable storage medium), wherein when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the transmitting terminal to perform:
performing sidelink (SL) communication with a receiving terminal (see para. [0119] discloses the instructions when executed, using at least one processor of the eNodeB (transmitting terminal), a sidelink information message from the relay UE indicating that is functional to act as relay for the remote UE (receiving terminal);
in response to determining that SL relay communication is required, performing a connection configuration operation with a relay terminal (see para [0049] example of relay initiation to enable UE to act as relay between eNodeB and remote UE).
Bangolae fails to disclose but Xu teaches transmitting, to the receiving terminal, a first message including connection configuration information for the SL relay communication (see Fig 4 (S405), para. [0133] discloses UE sending first message to base station to perform path switch to an indirect path using relay UE), the connection configuration information including an identifier of the relay terminal (see para. [0135] discloses first RRC message includes identifier of the relay UE), the connection configuration information allowing the receiving terminal to establish connection with the relay terminal (see para. [0134]-[0137] discloses path switch type, identifier of relay UE, cell identity of serving cell of relay UE selected by remote UE, short range communication technology), and the first message being transmitted directly to the receiving terminal without relaying of the relay terminal (see Fig 4 (S405), para. [0133] discloses UE sending first message to base station to perform path switch to an indirect path using relay UE);
receiving, from the receiving terminal, a second message indicating that connection configuration between the receiving terminal and the relay terminal has been completed (see Fig. 4 (S408) para. [0145] discloses S408 second message (after S406 and S407 configuration complete for relay UE), to the remote UE, instruction remote UE to perform path switching), the second message being received directly from the receiving terminal without relaying of the relay terminal (see Fig. 4 (S408) para. [0145] discloses S408 second message from base station to remote UE); and
performing the SL relay communication with the receiving terminal through the relay terminal (see Fig. 4 (S409), para. [0147] discloses S409 remote UE starts data transmission using relay UE, after second message S408).
Bangolae and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications and sidelink operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bangolae to include first and second messages and SL communication as described by Xu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from facilitating the adjustment of operational parameters in the systems.
Regarding claim 17, Bangolae discloses a transmitting terminal, wherein the instructions further cause the transmitting terminal to perform:
Bangolae fails to disclose but Xu teaches releasing connection configuration between the transmitting terminal and the relay terminal when the connection configuration between the receiving terminal and the relay terminal has failed (see para. [0210] discloses when establishment of communication connection to relay UE fails, the UE releases the radio bearer configuration).
Bangolae and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications and sidelink operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bangolae to include the connection fail as described by Xu.
The motivation to combine both references would come from facilitating the adjustment of operational parameters in the systems.
Regarding claim 18, Bangolae discloses a transmitting terminal, wherein the connection configuration operation between the transmitting terminal and the relay terminal is performed when a base station indicates to enable the SL relay communication (see para. [0087] discloses after the eNodeB communicates the relay initiation and configuration message with the parameters to the relay UE (e.g., as part of an existing RRC message), the relay UE can be configured to act as a relay for the remote UE. In other words, the relay UE can utilize the parameters to act as a relay for the remote UE. The relay initiation and configuration message can be a dedicated message that is communicated explicitly to the relay UE (i.e., not broadcast)).
Regarding claim 20, Bangolae discloses a transmitting terminal, wherein the connection configuration information includes at least one of information indicating that connection configuration between the transmitting terminal and the relay terminal has been completed (see. para. [0060] discloses the relay initiation and configuration message can be dedicated signaling that is specific to the relay UE. In some cases, the eNB can merely send an acknowledgement (ACK) to the relay UE indicating that the relay UE is permitted to act as a relay), or
a number for identifying data last transmitted by the transmitting terminal (This part is optional because of the “or” statement).
Claim 2, 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bangolae et al. (US 20180098370 A1) (hereinafter “Bangolae”) in view of Xu et al (US 20190387446 A1) (hereinafter “Xu”) and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 20230269809 A1) (hereinafter “Cheng”).
Regarding claim 2, Bangolae discloses an operation method (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality can be implemented as a method), wherein when one or more preconfigured conditions are satisfied (see para. [0113] discloses the relay UE can recommend a remote UE to switch its connection from relaying to direct communication based on link quality measurements and thresholds), the SL relay communication is determined to be required (see [0113] discloses Relay UE can determine if eNodeB authorization is required), and
a case when a channel quality between the transmitting terminal and the receiving terminal is equal to or less than a reference value (see para. [0038] discloses the relay UE can initiate discovery and selection procedure when network connection channel quality is above predefined threshold and remote UE (receive terminal) can only perform relay selection procedure when its network connection channel quality is below a predefined threshold),
a case when an indicator requesting the SL relay communication is received from the receiving terminal (see para. [0085] discloses sidelink remote authorization (SLremoteUEAuthorization), if the parameter is set to then “ON” the relay UE does not have to forward a remote UE identifier to the eNodeB. As such the eNodeB does not need to explicitly authorize the remote UE (receive terminal)), or
a case when the SL relay communication is triggered by the base station (see para. [0037] discloses the network side/eNodeB can control the initiation of the prose UE to Network Relay feature).
Bangolae fails go to disclose but Cheng teaches the one or more preconfigured conditions include at least one of a case when a number of negative acknowledgments (NACKs) received from the receiving terminal is a threshold value or more, the threshold value being a natural number configured by a base station (see Claim 3, disclose the method on a link between the remote UE and the relay UE with maximum number of automatic retransmission request (HARQ)).
Bangolae and Cheng are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications and D2D operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bangolae to include the acknowledgments as described by Cheng.
The motivation to combine both references would come from facilitating the adjustment of operational parameters in the systems.
Regarding claim 19, Bangolae discloses a transmitting terminal.
Bangolae fails to disclose but Cheng teaches wherein in the performing of the connection configuration operation with the relay terminal, the instructions further cause the transmitting terminal (see para. [0116]-[0118] discloses communication device with multiple components configure to transmit and receive, with instructions executed by processor) to perform:
performing a measurement operation on signals received from one or more neighboring terminals (see [0083] discloses the remote UE may treat all Uu cells as neighbor cells and may perform cell reselection procedure based on RSRP/RSRQ and Q sub offset broadcast);
determining one neighboring terminal among the one or more neighboring terminals as the relay terminal based on a result of the measurement operation (see [0083] discloses the remote UE may treat all Uu cells as neighbor cells and may perform cell reselection procedure based on RSRP/RSRQ and Q sub offset broadcast); and
configuring a connection with the relay terminal (see [0083] discloses the remote UE may treat all Uu cells as neighbor cells and may perform cell reselection procedure based on RSRP/RSRQ and Q sub offset broadcast. Remote UE may rank a cell according to the best relay which can be used to connect).
Bangolae and Cheng are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications and D2D operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bangolae to include the selection as described by Cheng.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving selection of relay UE.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bangolae et al. (US 20180098370 A1) (hereinafter “Bangolae”) in view of Xu et al (US 20190387446 A1) (hereinafter “Xu”) and in further view of Agiwal et al (US 20170359766 A1) (hereinafter “Agiwal”).
Regarding claim 14, Bangolae discloses an operation method (see para. [0031]-[0034];[0117] discloses device to device D2D, E-UTRAN and LTE communication technology; functionality can be implemented as a method),
Bangolae fails to disclose but Agiwal teaches wherein the performing of the connection configuration operation with the relay terminal comprises:
identifying a second identifier of a neighboring terminal by receiving a signal from the neighboring terminal (see para. [0081],[0109],[0125],[0128] disclose the Relay Service code may be provisioned by network;
comparing the second identifier with a first identifier of the relay terminal indicated by the connection configuration information (see para. [0081],[0109],[0125],[0128] disclose a way for the source UE to select the relay. If the Relay Service Code (or User Info ID) received in the relay discovery message is the same as the Relay Service Code (or User Info ID) for the connectivity service in which source UE is interested is the same as the user info ID of the relay); and
configuring a connection with the relay terminal when the second identifier is identical to the first identifier (see para. [0081],[0109],[0125],[0128] disclose a way for the source UE to select the relay. If the Relay Service Code (or User Info ID) received in the relay discovery message is the same as the Relay Service Code (or User Info ID) for the connectivity service in which source UE is interested is the same as the user info ID of the relay).
Bangolae and Agiwal are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications and D2D operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bangolae to include the configuration operation as described by Agiwal.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving selection of UE relay.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-12, filed 03/29/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3-10,12,13,15,16,18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Xu et al (US 20190387446 A1).
Conclusion
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419