DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
Pending claims for reconsideration are claims 1-8, 15, 17, 19-24, 30-31 and 35-36. Applicant has
Amended claims 1, 8, 19, 24, and 35.
Previously canceled claims 9-14, 16, 18, 25-29, and 32-34.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on August 11, 2026, have been fully considered and they are persuasive; however, the arguments are moot in view of new ground of rejections (see, 103 rejections below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 17, 19-24, 30-31, and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: US 2023/0247094 A1 / or “Wang” hereinafter) in view of Jiaheng Wang et al. (NPL: Blockchain-enabled wireless communications: a new paradigm towards 6G / or “Jiaheng” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses “A blockchain on-chain method, applied to a first network element being a master base station or a base station centralized unit (CU) entity, comprising” (Methods, systems, and apparatus of implementing a node of a distributed ledger based on parameters associated with the node and the distributed ledger; and Para 0186):
“receiving at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Para 0200: parameters associated with the node and the distributed ledger are provided),
“wherein each of the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information comprises an indication about whether a blockchain is adapted to a radio access type”;
“and controlling on-chained data collection and data on-chain of at least one of the first network element” (Para 0331-0337: stores the data) or
“a second network element according to the received at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information, wherein the second network element is a slave base station or a base station distributed unit (DU) entity.
But Wang fails to specially disclose blockchain configuration information comprises support for the Radio Access Type (RAT).
However, Jiaheng discloses “wherein each of the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information comprises an indication about whether a blockchain is adapted to a radio access type” (Jiaheng, Page 11: Col 2, Section titled “Blockchain Radio Access Network for 6G”: disclose how blockchain can support Radio Access Type).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of blockchain configuration information comprises support for the Radio Access Type (RAT)of Jiaheng to the system of Wang to have a system where “…B-RAN as a unified framework of blockchain-enabled wireless communications for 6G networking …” can be utilized (Jiaheng, Page 11: Col 2: lines 1-3) and the ordinary person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine where “..B-RAN enables direct communications between network users and MEC servers from different operators flexibly without relying on intermediary agents…” (Jiaheng, Page 12: Col 21: lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 2, in view of claim 1, Wang discloses “wherein the receiving the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information comprises at least one of:
“receiving the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information from at least one of an operation administration and maintenance (OAM) entity or a core network” (Para 0186: parameters i.e., “configuration information” are obtained from one or more sources; and Fig. 14: BTM 140; and Para 0237: blockchain transaction manager manages transactions);
or
“receiving blockchain on-chain configuration information sent by the second network element,
“wherein the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information is received from at least one of the following messages of the at least one of the OAM entity or the core network:
a UE text establishment message,
“a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment message” (Para 0514: PDU session is created; and Para 0610), or
a PDU session modification message”.
Regarding claim 3, in view of claim 1, Wang discloses “further comprising: sending part or all of the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information to the second network element, wherein the part or all of the at least one piece of blockchain on- chain configuration information is used for the second network element to perform the on- chained data collection and the data on-chain, wherein the blockchain on-chain configuration information is sent to the second network element through at least one of the following messages” (Para 0304: the parameters i.e., “configuration information” provided to different nodes; and Para 0246: the blockchain transaction manager (BTM) manages different transactions):
a slave base station addition request message,
a slave base station update request message,
a UE text establishment request message,
a UE text update request message, or
“a blockchain on-chain activation request message” (Para 0288: the BTM generates transaction).
Regarding claim 4, in view of claim 1, Wang discloses “further comprising: sending, according to a radio access technology (RAT) type to which the second network element belongs, blockchain on-chain configuration information corresponding to the RAT type to the second network element” (Para 0056: “…may utilize any suitable RAT for facilitating wireless connectivity in a localized area, such as a place of business, a home, a vehicle, a campus, an industrial facility, an air corridor ( e.g., for use by drones), a roadway, and the like…”),
“wherein the blockchain on-chain configuration information corresponding to the RAT type is used for the second network element to perform the on- chained data collection and the data on-chain” (Para 0139: “…access and mobility related policy control may provide any of management of service area restrictions, management of RAT /frequency selection priority (RFSP) functionalities, and management of SMF selection”).
Regarding claim 5, in view of claim 1, Wang discloses “further comprising: sending blockchain on-chain control information to the second network element, wherein blockchain on-chain control information is used for the second network element to perform the on-chained data collection and the data on-chain” (Para 0212),
“wherein the blockchain on-chain control information comprises at least one of the following parameters :
“a blockchain on-chain session identifier, a UE identifier” (Para 0366-0367: identifiers are disclosed),
a blockchain on-chain resumption indication,
a blockchain on-chain suspension indication,
a blockchain deactivation indication, or
a blockchain on-chain activation indication”;
“and wherein the blockchain on-chain control information is sent to the second network element through at least one of the following messages:
a slave base station addition request message,
a slave base station update request message,
a UE text establishment request message,
a UE text update request message”, or
a blockchain on-chain control request message” (Para 0331-0337: stores the data).
Regarding claim 6, in view of claim 1, Wang discloses “further comprising: configuring, according to at least one of the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Para 0365: the BTM many configure; and para 0366)
or
“blockchain on-chain configuration information sent by the second network element, user equipment (UE) measurement control, and sending a radio resource control (RRC) message to the UE [i.e., CU sends message to the UE, wherein the RRC message comprises the UE measurement control”.
Regarding claim 8, in view of claim 1, Wang discloses “wherein each of the at least one piece of blockchain on- chain configuration information comprises at least one of the following parameters:
a blockchain on-chain session identifier” (Para 0366-0367: identifiers are disclosed), a type of on-chained data on a base station side, a type of on-chained data on a UE side, or “a blockchain on-chain server address”.
Regarding claim 17, in view of claim 8, Wang discloses “wherein controlling the on-chained data collection and the data on-chain according to the received at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information comprises: collecting on-chained data of the first network element according to the type of on-chained data on the base station side in the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Para 0331-0337: stores the data);
“collecting on-chained data of a UE according to the type of on-chained data on the UE side in the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Par 0288: type of data BTM may retrieve and provide to a BCN);
“and sending the on-chained data of the first network element and the on-chained data of the UE to the second network element as combined on-chained data of the first network element [i.e., data of a master base station/CU/first network element collected by the master base station/CU/first network element and data collected from the UE and combined and sent to a slave base station/DU/second network element (see, applicant specification, Page 16: lines 14-15; and Page 21: lines 11-30)]” (Para 0293).
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses “A blockchain on-chain method, applied to a second network element, comprising” (Methods, systems, and apparatus of implementing a node of a distributed ledger based on parameters associated with the node and the distributed ledger; and Para 0186):
“receiving at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Para 0200: parameters associated with the node and the distributed ledger are provided),
“wherein each of the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information comprises an indication about whether a blockchain is adapted to a radio access type”;
“and controlling on-chained data collection and data on-chain according to the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Para 0331-0337: stores the data).
But Wang fails to specially disclose blockchain configuration information comprises support for the Radio Access Type (RAT).
However, Jiaheng discloses “wherein each of the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information comprises an indication about whether a blockchain is adapted to a radio access type” (Jiaheng, Page 11: Col 2, Section titled “Blockchain Radio Access Network for 6G”: disclose how blockchain can support Radio Access Type).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of blockchain configuration information comprises support for the Radio Access Type (RAT)of Jiaheng to the system of Wang to have a system where “…B-RAN as a unified framework of blockchain-enabled wireless communications for 6G networking …” can be utilized (Jiaheng, Page 11: Col 2: lines 1-3) and the ordinary person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine where “..B-RAN enables direct communications between network users and MEC servers from different operators flexibly without relying on intermediary agents…” (Jiaheng, Page 12: Col 21: lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 20, in view of claim 19, Wang discloses “wherein the receiving the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information comprises at least one of:
“receiving the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information from a first network element”; or
“receiving the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information from at least one of an operation administration and maintenance (OAM) entity or a core network” (Para 0186: parameters i.e., “configuration information” are obtained from one or more sources; and Fig. 14: BTM 140; and Para 0237: blockchain transaction manager manages transactions),
“wherein the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information is received in at least one of the following messages of the first network element:
a slave base station addition request message,
a slave base station update request message,
a UE text establishment request message,
a UE text update request message, or
“a blockchain on-chain activation request message” (Para 0514: PDU session is created; and Para 0610).
Regarding claim 21, in view of claim 20, Wang discloses “wherein after receiving the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information from the at least one of the OAM entity or the core network, the method further comprises: receiving blockchain on-chain control information from the first network element, and triggering, according to the blockchain on-chain control information, the second network element to perform configuration according to the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Para 0212),
“wherein the blockchain on-chain control information comprises at least one of the following parameters:
a blockchain on-chain session identifier” (Para 0366-0367: identifiers are disclosed),
a UE identifier,
a blockchain on-chain resumption indication,
a blockchain on-chain suspension indication,
a blockchain deactivation indication, or
“a blockchain on-chain activation indication” (Para 0331-0337: stores the data).
Regarding claim 22, in view of claim 19, Wang discloses “further comprising: receiving blockchain on-chain control information from a first network element being a master base station or a base station CU entity, generating the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information according to a blockchain on-chain activation indication of the blockchain on-chain control information, and sending the blockchain on-chain configuration information to the first network element” (Para 0365: the BTM many configure; and para 0366).
Regarding claim 23, in view of claim 19, Wang discloses “further comprising: receiving blockchain on-chain control information of a first network element being a master base station or a base station CU entity, and deactivating or resuming or suspending the on-chained data collection and the data on-chain according to an indication of the blockchain on-chain control information” (Para 0212),
“wherein the blockchain on-chain control information comprises at least one of the following parameters:
a blockchain on-chain session identifier,
a UE identifier” (Para 0366-0367: identifiers are disclosed),
a blockchain on-chain resumption indication,
a blockchain on-chain suspension indication,
a blockchain deactivation indication, or
a blockchain on-chain activation indication” (Para 0331-0337: stores the data).
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is directed to a method corresponding to the method recited in claim 8. Claim 24 is similar in scope to claim 8, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 30, in view of claim 24, Wang discloses “wherein the controlling the on-chained data collection and the data on-chain of at least one of the second network element or the UE according to the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information comprises:
“collecting on-chained data of the second network element according to the type of on-chained data on the base station side in the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Para 0331-0337: stores the data);
“controlling and collecting on-chained data of the UE according to the type of on-chained data on the UE side in the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Par 0288: type of data BTM may retrieve and provide to a BCN);
“and sending the on-chained data of the second network element and the on-chained data of the UE to a blockchain server” (Para 0293).
Regarding claim 31, in view of claim 24, Wang discloses “wherein the controlling the on-chained data collection and the data on-chain according to the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information comprises: collecting on-chained data of a second network element according to the type of on-chained data on the base station side in the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Para 0331-0337: stores the data);
“collecting on-chained data of a UE according to the type of on-chained data on the UE side in the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Par 0288: type of data BTM may retrieve and provide to a BCN);
“and sending the on-chained data of the second network element and the on-chained data of the UE to the first network element as combined on-chained data of the second network element” (Para 0293),
or,
“wherein the controlling the on-chained data collection and the data on-chain according to the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information comprises:
collecting on-chained data of a second network element according to the type of on-chained data on the base station side in the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information;
collecting on-chained data of a UE according to a type of on-chained data on a UE side in the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information;
receiving combined on-chained data of the first network element sent by the first network element, wherein the combined on-chained data of the first network element comprises on- chained data of the first network element and on-chained data of the UE collected by the first network element; and
sending the on-chained data of the second network element, the on-chained data of the UE, and the combined on-chained data of the first network element to a blockchain server”.
Regarding claim 35, Parker discloses “An electronic device, comprising” (Methods, systems, and apparatus of implementing a node of a distributed ledger based on parameters associated with the node and the distributed ledger; and Para 0186):
“at least one processor; and a memory configured to store at least one program, wherein the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to perform a blockchain on-chain method, wherein the blockchain on-chain method is applied to a first network element being a master base station or a base station centralized unit (CU) entity and comprises” (Fig. 14 ;and Fig. 1B: Memory 132; Processor 118):
“receiving at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Para 0200: parameters associated with the node and the distributed ledger are provided),
“wherein each of the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information comprises an indication about whether a blockchain is adapted to a radio access type”;
“and controlling on-chained data collection and data on-chain of at least one of the first network element” (Para 0331-0337: stores the data)
or
a second network element according to the received at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information, wherein the second network element is a slave base station or a base station distributed unit (DU) entity;
or,
wherein the blockchain on-chain method is applied to a second network element being a slave base station or a base station DU entity and comprises:
receiving at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information, wherein each of the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information comprises an indication about whether a blockchain is adapted to a radio access type”;
“and controlling on-chained data collection and data on-chain of at least one of the second network element or a user equipment (UE) according to the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information”.
But Wang fails to specially disclose blockchain configuration information comprises support for the Radio Access Type (RAT).
However, Jiaheng discloses “wherein each of the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information comprises an indication about whether a blockchain is adapted to a radio access type” (Jiaheng, Page 11: Col 2, Section titled “Blockchain Radio Access Network for 6G”: disclose how blockchain can support Radio Access Type).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of blockchain configuration information comprises support for the Radio Access Type (RAT)of Jiaheng to the system of Wang to have a system where “…B-RAN as a unified framework of blockchain-enabled wireless communications for 6G networking …” can be utilized (Jiaheng, Page 11: Col 2: lines 1-3) and the ordinary person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine where “..B-RAN enables direct communications between network users and MEC servers from different operators flexibly without relying on intermediary agents…” (Jiaheng, Page 12: Col 21: lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 1. Claim 36 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Jiaheng and in further view of Jonathan D. Harms (U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: US 2021/0083876 A1 / or “Harms” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, in view of claim 1, Wang discloses “further comprising: receiving blockchain on-chain control information from at least one of an OAM entity or a core network” (Para 0212: “blockchain transaction manager (BTM) and may include any of: receiving, from a first entity, a blockchain transaction initiation (BCTI) request; obtaining data associated with the blockchain transaction from one or more sources, including any of the BCTI request and a second entity”);
Jiaheng discloses blockchain support for RAT (Jiaheng, Abstract).
But Wang and Jiaheng fail to specially disclose instructing a first network element to deactivate or resume or suspend data collection and data.
However, Harms discloses “and instructing, according to the blockchain on-chain control information, deactivation, resumption or suspension to be performed on the on-chained data collection and the data on-chain, wherein the instructing, according to the blockchain on-chain control information, deactivation, resumption or suspension to be performed on the on-chained data collection and the data on- chain comprises at least one of:
instructing, according to the blockchain on-chain control information, the first network element to deactivate or resume or suspend the on-chained data collection and the data on-chain” (Para 0015: a processing apparatus selectively activates and deactivates blockchain processing module using instructions i.e., “control information”);
“sending the blockchain on-chain control information to the second network element to instruct the second network element to deactivate or resume or suspend the on-chained data collection and the data on-chain”; or
“sending the blockchain on-chain control information to a UE to instruct the UE to deactivate or resume or suspend on-chained data measurement”.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of instructing a first network element to deactivate or resume or suspend data collection and data of Harms to the system of Wang and Jiaheng to create a system where based on the calculation status of the blockchain algorithm a blockchain processing module is activated or deactivated (Harms, Para 0015) and the ordinary person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine to control of the blockchain processing module.
Regarding claim 15, in view of claim 8, Wang discloses “wherein controlling the on-chained data collection and the data on-chain according to the received at least one piece of blockchain on- chain configuration information comprises: collecting on-chained data of the first network element according to the type of on-chained data on the base station side in the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Para 0186: parameters i.e., “configuration information” are obtained from one or more sources; and Fig. 14: BTM 140; and Para 0237: blockchain transaction manager manages transactions);
“controlling and collecting on-chained data of a UE according to the type of on-chained data on the UE side in the at least one piece of blockchain on-chain configuration information” (Para 0331-0337: stores the data);
“and sending the on-chained data of the first network element and the on-chained data of the UE to a blockchain server” (Para 0200: parameters associated with the node and the distributed ledger are provided),
Jiaheng discloses blockchain support for RAT (Jiaheng, Abstract).
But Wang and Jiaheng fail to specially disclose instructing a first network element to deactivate or resume or suspend data collection and data.
However, Harms discloses “wherein the instructing, according to the blockchain on-chain control information, deactivation, resumption or suspension to be performed on the on-chained data collection and the data on- chain comprises at least one of:
instructing, according to the blockchain on-chain control information, the first network element to deactivate or resume or suspend the on-chained data collection and the data on-chain” (Para 0015: a processing apparatus selectively activates and deactivates blockchain processing module using instructions i.e., “control information”);
sending the blockchain on-chain control information to the second network element to instruct the second network element to deactivate or resume or suspend the on-chained data collection and the data on-chain; or
sending the blockchain on-chain control information to a UE to instruct the UE to deactivate or resume or suspend on-chained data measurement”.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of instructing a first network element to deactivate or resume or suspend data collection and data of Harms to the system of Wang and Jiaheng to create a system where based on the calculation status of the blockchain algorithm a blockchain processing module is activated or deactivated (Harms, Para 0015) and the ordinary person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine to control of the blockchain processing module.
Relevant Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Arturo Maria (US 10448251 B1) discloses:
[Abstract] … a system includes a database configured to store blockchains for authenticating mobile devices to access a public wireless network. Each blockchain can be associated with a mobile device. A processor can receive a blockchain record from a mobile device and grant access of the mobile device to the public wireless network when the blockchain record corresponds to the blockchain stored in the database. A new block can be appended to a blockchain to produce a new blockchain for authenticating access of the mobile device to the public wireless network at a future time…
Contact Information
/ABDULLAH ALMAMUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2431
/SHIN-HON (ERIC) CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431