DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on 11/25/2025 has been entered and made of record.
Claims 16, 18, 20-21, 24, 28 and 29-30 have been amended.
Claims 1-15 were previously canceled.
Claims 16-30 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 16, the applicant argued that applicant respectfully submits the asserted combination of Mahalingam and Noerpel (assuming these references may be combined, which Applicant does not admit), fails to teach, suggest and/or disclose at least the limitations,"... receiving through at least a first satellite beam data of assistance information regarding at least current and future satellite beams of the network", as recited in independent claim 16.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.5B&6, Mahalingam clearly discloses that a WTRU 560/user equipment is receiving data of assistance information through at least a first satellite 550 beam regarding at least current footprint A and future footprints B and/or C satellite beams of the network since the WTRU 560/user equipment is receiving data assistance information that indicates the constellation assistance information (includes satellite ephemeris data and/or group common timing offsets) from each of the plurality of candidate satellites based on/regarding the RSRP/RSRQ of each candidate beam and the highest ranked candidate beams of the satellite network i.e., current and future satellite beams of the network, and the WTRU/user equipment is also applying weights Weighted of (Wn, WL2, WL3, WL4) during link selection or reselection for measured loading of (Loadi to Load2, Load2 to Load3, Load3 to Load4, >Load4) per load-intensity level per spotbeam, whereby the satellite assistance information/constellation assistance information is received by the WTRU 560/user equipment based on the load intensity level for the current and new connections satellite spotbeam of the network (see Mahalingam, Fig.5B&6 [0095][0097], Fig.6 [0099] and Fig.6-7 [0101][0104]).
Mahalingam also discloses the WTRU 560/user equipment is interpreting the assistance information for estimating or expecting/anticipating, a weighted sum of metrics a WtMt e.g., weights WeightElevation of (WE1, WE2, WE3. WE4) i.e., connection conditions through the first satellite 550 beam during link selection or reselection for measured elevation angles, and links of dwelling time for a better RSRP/RSRQ of beam C i.e., connection condition through the second satellite 552 beam, the second satellite 552 beam is different from the first satellite 550 beam since the WTRU measures for reference signal strength comparison of candidate cells carriers i.e., anticipate connection conditions on the serving cell and neighboring cells beams, whereby the maximum weighted sum of metrics a WtMi through the first satellite candidate beam for a selection of the best link, and the link through the second satellite candidate beam for the RSRP/RSRQ measurement based on a service requirement regarding the RSRP/RSRQ of each candidate beam and the highest ranked candidate beam of the satellite network (see Mahalingam, Fig.2 [0076][0082], Fig.5B [0095]-[0097] and Fig.6-7 [0102][0104]).
Mahalingam also discloses the WTRU/user equipment is determining/deciding the connection/access to send/receive signals with the satellite network through spotbeam load intensity among the satellite beams A, B, C and selected on the basis of the links for prioritizing dwell duration when selecting a cell and a better RSRP/RSRQ i.e., connection conditions through the satellite beams B & C, since the WTRU/user equipment identifies/decides the access to the satellite network through the selected satellite constellation beams, on the basis of the connection conditions e.g., a measured RSRP/RSRQ or a link budget and the candidate beams ranking, whereby measurement for reference signal strength comparison of candidate cells carriers i.e., connection conditions on the serving cell and neighboring cells beams (see Mahalingam, Fig.2 [0076][0082], Fig.5B [0095] [0097] and Fig.7 [0104]).
Mahalingam further discloses that the assistance information is used for the WTRU/ user equipment selecting a cell in NR technology based on the measurement for reference signal strength comparison of candidate beams; in NR, after a cell is selected, the WTRU/user equipment have inevitably to perform a random access channel (RACH) procedure in order to start communication; Noted, the RACH procedure has to inevitably take place through the selected beam, inherently implied; since the satellite assistance information includes one or more of satellite ephemeris data, group common timing offset, load information for the elevation angle information, geo-fencing information, satellite configuration information, satellite type/class, satellite capabilities etc., are used for the WTRU/user equipment selecting/reselection a cell e.g., establishing communications through identified/selected satellite spotbeam (see Mahalingam, Fig.1-2 [0076][0077][0079] and Fig.5B&6 [0087][0099]).
Additionally, Noerpel discloses that the access terminal 20/user equipment is implementing e.g., transmitting a channel request message on the RACH 19 or RACH 19’ procedure through the selected a spot beam 10 i.e., selected satellite beam and a BCCH carrier since the access terminal 2 is transmitting an attach request message i.e., implementing the RACH 19’ or RACH process/procedure through the initiated/selected satellite beam (see Noerpel, Fig.1 [0017] and Fig.11 [0108]-[0109]).
Claims 29 and 30, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 16. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahalingam et al. [hereinafter as Mahalingam], WO 2020/092566 A1 in view of Noerpel et al. [hereinafter as Noerpel], US 2003/0045241 A1.
Regarding claim 16, Mahalingam discloses wherein a method implemented by a user equipment to access a satellite network (Fig.5B [0095], a method implemented by a WTRU 560/user equipment to access a satellite and Fig.5B [0013]), at least one satellite of said satellite network being in movement relatively to Earth (Fig.5B [0095], one satellite SAT 1 of the satellite network being in Orbit B direction of movement i.e., .movement relatively to Earth), said satellite network deploying radiofrequency satellite beams (Fig.5B [0095], footprint A, footprint B and footprint C of satellite network deploying radiofrequency satellite beams e.g., a beam of the first cell and a beam of the second cell and Fig.1A-D [0021], implementing/deploying the radio frequency), wherein the user equipment (Fig.5B [0095], the WTRU 560/user equipment):
(a) receives through at least a first satellite beam data of assistance information regarding at least current and future satellite beams of the network (Fig.5B&6 [0095][0097], receives data of assistance information through at least a first satellite 550 beam regarding at least current footprint A and future footprints B and/or C satellite beams of the network and Fig.6 [0099], the WTRU 560/user equipment receives satellite assistance information/constellation assistance information based on the load intensity level for the current and new connections satellite spotbeam of the network and Fig.6-7 [0101][0104], receiving data assistance information that indicates the constellation assistance information (includes satellite ephemeris data and/or group common timing offsets) from each of the plurality of candidate satellites based on/ regarding the RSRP/RSRQ of each candidate beam and the highest ranked candidate beams of the satellite network i.e., current and future satellite beams of the network, the WTRU/user equipment apply weights Weighted of (Wn, WL2, WL3, WL4) during link selection or reselection for measured loading of (Loadi to Load2, Load2 to Load3, Load3 to Load4, >Load4) per load-intensity level per spotbeam),
(b) interprets said data of assistance information to anticipate: - connection conditions through said first satellite beam, and – the connection conditions through at least one second satellite beam, different from said first satellite beam (Fig.5B [0095]-[0097], interprets the assistance information for estimating or expecting/anticipating, a weighted sum of metrics a WtMt e.g., weights WeightElevation of (WE1, WE2, WE3. WE4) i.e., connection conditions through the first satellite 550 beam during link selection or reselection for measured elevation angles, and links of dwelling time for a better RSRP/RSRQ of beam C i.e., connection condition through the second satellite 552 beam, the second satellite 552 beam is different from the first satellite 550 beam and Fig.6-7 [0102][0104], the maximum weighted sum of metrics a WtMi through the first satellite candidate beam for a selection of the best link, and the link through the second satellite candidate beam for the RSRP/RSRQ measurement based on a service requirement regarding the RSRP/RSRQ of each candidate beam and the highest ranked candidate beam of the satellite network and Fig.2 [0076][0082], measure for reference signal strength comparison of candidate cells carriers i.e., anticipate connection conditions on the serving cell and neighboring cells beams),
(c) decides the access to the satellite network through a satellite beam among the first satellite beam and the second satellite beam, selected on the basis of at least said connection conditions through said first and second satellite beams (Fig.5B [0095] [0097], the WTRU/user equipment determines/decides the connection/access to send/receive signals with the satellite network through spotbeam load intensity among the satellite beams A, B, C and selected on the basis of the links for prioritizing dwell duration when selecting a cell and a better RSRP/RSRQ i.e., connection conditions through the satellite beams B & C, and Fig.7 [0104], the WTRU/user equipment identifies/decides the access to the satellite network through the selected satellite constellation beams, on the basis of the connection conditions e.g., a measured RSRP/RSRQ or a link budget and the candidate beams ranking and Fig.2 [0076][0082], measurement for reference signal strength comparison of candidate cells carriers i.e., connection conditions on the serving cell and neighboring cells beams), and
(d) implements a random access channel (RACH) procedure through the selected satellite beam (Fig.1-2 [0076][0077][0079], the assistance information is used for the WTRU/ user equipment selecting a cell in NR technology based on the measurement for reference signal strength comparison of candidate beams; in NR, after a cell is selected, the WTRU/user equipment have inevitably to perform a random access channel (RACH) procedure in order to start communication; Noted, the RACH procedure has to inevitably take place through the selected beam, inherently implied; and Fig.5B&6 [0087][0099], the satellite assistance information includes one or more of satellite ephemeris data, group common timing offset, load information for the elevation angle information, geo-fencing information, satellite configuration information, satellite type/class, satellite capabilities etc., are used for the WTRU/user equipment selecting/reselection a cell e.g., establishing communications through identified/selected satellite spotbeam).
Even though Mahalingam discloses (d) implements a random access channel (RACH) procedure through the selected satellite beam, in the same field of endeavor, Noerpel teaches wherein (d) implements a random access channel (RACH) procedure through the selected satellite beam (Fig.1 [0017], the access terminal 20/user equipment is implementing e.g., transmitting a channel request message on the RACH 19 or RACH 19’ procedure through the selected a spot beam 10 i.e., selected satellite beam and a BCCH carrier and Fig.11 [0108]-[0109], transmitting an attach request message i.e., implementing the RACH 19’ or RACH process/procedure through the initiated/selected satellite beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Mahalingam to incorporate the teaching of Noerpel in order to provide for improving the quality of communication e.g., the clarity and reliability of communication.
It would have been beneficial to implement e.g., transmit a channel request message on the RACH 19 or RACH 19’ procedure through the selected a spot beam 10 i.e., selected satellite beam and a BCCH carrier as taught by Noerpel to have incorporated in the system of Mahalingam to provide for improving the reliability and speed of the communication between a user terminal and the satellite network. (Noerpel, Fig.1 [0017], Fig.1-2 [0019] and Fig.11 [0108]-[0109])
Regarding claim 17, Mahalingam and Noerpel disclose all the elements of claim 16 as stated above wherein Mahalingam further discloses - determining on the basis of said data of assistance information whether the connection conditions with said second satellite beam will be better, at a time before a duration threshold, than the connection conditions with said first satellite beam and selecting then the second satellite beam to access the satellite network (Fig.5B [0095]-[0097], the WTRU 560/user equipment determines whether the connection conditions with the second satellite 552 beam will be better on the basis of the data of assistance information, at a time before a dwelling duration threshold, than the connection conditions with the first satellite 550 beam and selecting then the second satellite 552 beam to access the satellite network and Fig.6-7 [0102]-[0104]).
Regarding claim 18, Mahalingam and Noerpel disclose all the elements of claim 16 as stated above wherein Mahalingam further discloses - determining whether the connection conditions to the selected satellite beam is to be established after a temporization determined from said data of assistance information and applying said temporization before accessing the satellite network through the selected satellite beam (Fig.5B&6 [0099]-[0101], the WTRU 560/user equipment determines whether the connection conditions to the selected satellite 552 beam is to be established after a temporization determined from the data of assistance information and applying the temporization before accessing the satellite network through the selected satellite beam and Fig.6-7 [0102]-[0104] and Fig.1A-D [0069], applying the temporization as part of a wired and/or wireless communication network).
Additionally, Noerpel disclose wherein - determining whether the connection conditions to the selected satellite beam is to be established after a temporization determined from said data of assistance information and applying said temporization before accessing the satellite network through the selected satellite beam (Fig.1 [0015]-[0017], determining whether the connection conditions to the selected satellite spot beam is to be established after a temporization determined from the information message in the BCCH 5 data of assistance information and Fig.1&7 [0017][0083], applying the temporization e.g., able to handle both temporary signal blockage and beam darkening when camped on T-BCCH 11 before accessing the satellite network through the selected satellite beam and Fig.4-5 [0051]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 19, Mahalingam and Noerpel disclose all the elements of claim 16 as stated above wherein Mahalingam further discloses - determining, from said data of assistance information, current and future successive positions of surface zones of said first and second satellite beams, and applying a temporization before accessing the satellite network through the selected satellite beam as long as a current location of the user equipment is outside the surface zone of the selected satellite beam (Fig.8 [0112]-[0113], the WTRU 560/user equipment determines current and future successive geo-fences/positions of surface zones of the first satellite 550 and second satellite 552 beams and applying a temporization before accessing the satellite network through the selected satellite beam as long as a current location of the user equipment is outside the surface zone of the selected satellite beam and Fig.6-7 [0102]-[0104] and Fig.1A-D [0069], applying the temporization as part of a wired and/or wireless communication network).
Additionally, Noerpel disclose wherein applying a temporization before accessing the satellite network through the selected satellite beam (Fig.1&7 [0017][0083], applying the temporization e.g., able to handle both temporary signal blockage and beam darkening when camped on T-BCCH 11 before accessing the satellite network through the selected satellite beam and Fig.4-5 [0051]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 20, Mahalingam and Noerpel disclose all the elements of claim 19 as stated above wherein Mahalingam further discloses the user equipment occupying a current location and being able to obtain data of said current location, wherein said data of assistance information includes at least data of current and future positions of reference points associated to respective satellite beams and distance thresholds data defined for each of the satellite beams, said distance threshold being a maximum allowed distance between a location of a user equipment and a current position of a reference point associated to a satellite beam (Fig.5B [0095]-[0097], the WTRU/user equipment occupying a current location and being able to obtain data of the current location, wherein the data of assistance information includes at least data of current and future positions of reference points associated to respective satellite beams and distance thresholds data defined for each of the satellite beams and Fig.6-7 [0102]-[0104]; Fig.8 [0112]-[0113] and Fig.2 [0076]),
the method further comprising:
- determining distances respectively between the location of the user equipment and the current position of the reference point associated to the satellite beam (Fig.8 [0112]-[0113], the WTRU 560/user equipment determines distances respectively between the location of the WTRU/user equipment and the current position of the reference points associated to the satellite beams 550 & 552),
- comparing said determined distances respectively to said distance thresholds for each satellite beam (Fig.5B [0095]-[0097], prioritizing/comparing the determined distances respectively to the distance thresholds for each satellite beam and Fig.2 [0076]),
- and applying the temporization before accessing the satellite network through the selected satellite beam as long as the distance between the location of the user equipment and the current position of the reference point associated to the selected satellite beam exceeds the distance threshold of the selected satellite beam (Fig.1A-D [0069], applying the temporization as part of a wired and/or wireless communication network and Fig.5B [0095]-[0097], applying a temporization before accessing the satellite network through the selected satellite beam as long as the distance between the current location of the user equipment and the position of the reference point associated to the selected satellite beam exceeds the distance threshold of the selected satellite beam).
Additionally, Noerpel disclose wherein applying the temporization before accessing the satellite network through the selected satellite beam (Fig.1&7 [0017][0083], applying the temporization e.g., able to handle both temporary signal blockage and beam darkening when camped on T-BCCH 11 before accessing the satellite network through the selected satellite beam and Fig.4-5 [0051]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 21, Mahalingam and Noerpel disclose all the elements of claim 19 as stated above wherein Mahalingam further discloses - determining, upon a temporal information included in said data of assistance information, a duration until when the surface zone of the selected satellite beam will include the current location of the user equipment (Fig.8 [0112]-[0113], the WTRU 560/user equipment determines a duration until when the surface zone of the selected satellite beam will include the current location of the user equipment a temporal information included in the data of assistance information and Fig.1A-D [0069], applying the temporization as part of a wired and/or wireless communication network), and
- applying the temporization corresponding to said determined duration (Fig.1A-D [0069], applying the temporization as part of a wired and/or wireless communication network corresponding to the determined dwelling duration).
Additionally, Noerpel disclose wherein applying the temporization (Fig.1&7 [0017][0083], applying the temporization e.g., able to handle both temporary signal blockage and beam darkening when camped on T-BCCH 11 and Fig.4-5 [0051]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 22, Mahalingam and Noerpel disclose all the elements of claim 16 as stated above wherein Mahalingam further discloses - obtaining data related to the current location of the user equipment (Fig.7 [0115], obtaining data related to the current location of the WTRU/user equipment), and
- when the current location of the user equipment is determined to be covered by both the respective surface zones of the first and second satellite beams, selecting, on the basis of respective future connection conditions with said first and second satellite beams, the beam among the first and second satellite beams to access the satellite network (Fig.5B [0095]-[0097], selecting the beam among the first satellite 550 and second satellite 552 beams to access the satellite network on the basis of respective future connection conditions with the first and second satellite beams and Fig.8 [0112]-[0113], the current location of the WTRU user equipment is determined to be covered by both the respective surface zones of the first satellite 550 and second satellite 552 beams and Fig.6-7 [0102]-[0104]).
Regarding claim 23, Mahalingam and Noerpel disclose all the elements of claim 18 as stated above wherein Mahalingam further discloses - storing a data related to a degree of priority to access the satellite network (Fig.5B [0097], storing a data related to a degree of priority e.g., prioritizing one or more dwelling duration to access the satellite network), and wherein the application of said temporization depends on said data of degree of priority (Fig.7 [0104], the application of the temporization depends on the ranking of RSRP/RSRQ for data of degree of priority and Fig.1A-D [0069], Fig.1A-D [0049]).
Regarding claim 24, Mahalingam and Noerpel disclose all the elements of claim 23 as stated above wherein Mahalingam further discloses the user equipment being able to be used for a plurality of types of service (Fig.1A-D [0064], the WTRU/user equipment is able to be used for a plurality of types of services), and wherein the method further comprises:
- storing data related to degrees of priority to access the satellite network for each of said types of service (Fig.5B [0097], storing a data related to a degree of priority e.g., prioritizing one or more dwelling duration to access the satellite network for each of the plurality types of service), and wherein the application of said temporization depends on the data related to the degree of priority of a type of service for which the user equipment is currently intended to be used (Fig.7 [0104], the application of the temporization depends on the ranking of RSRP/RSRQ for the data related to the degree of priority of a type of service for which the WTRU/user equipment is currently intended to be used and Fig.1A-D [0069], Fig.1A-D [0049]).
Additionally, Noerpel disclose wherein the application of said temporization depends on the data related to the degree of priority of a type of service for which the user equipment is currently intended to be used (Fig.6-7 [0074][0083], the application of the temporization e.g., able to handle both temporary signal blockage and beam darkening when camped on T-BCCH 11 and Fig.4 [0040]; Fig.4-5 [0051]-[0054]; Fig.12 [0102], [0115]).
Regarding claim 25, Mahalingam and Noerpel disclose all the elements of claim 16 as stated above wherein Mahalingam further discloses said data of assistance information including information about access capacity levels due to satellite beam loads of the satellite beams (Fig.6 [0099], data of satellite assistance information including information about available system capacity/access capacity levels due to satellite beam loads of the satellite beams), and
wherein the method further comprises:
- comparing access capacity levels of the respective satellite beams, and when the access capacity level of the first satellite beam is below the access capacity level of the second satellite beam, selecting the second satellite beam to access the satellite network (Fig.5B&6 [0097]-[0099], comparing the available system capacity access capacity levels of the respective satellite beams, and when the access capacity level of the first satellite 550 beam is below the access capacity level of the second satellite 552 beam, selecting the second satellite 552 beam to access the satellite network and Fig.2 [0076]).
Regarding claim 26, Mahalingam and Noerpel disclose all the elements of claim 16 as stated above wherein Mahalingam further discloses said data of assistance information received by the user equipment including at least channel quality thresholds for each of the satellite beams (Fig.1-2&6 [0080][0099], the data of assistance information received by the WTRU/user equipment including at least channel quality thresholds for each of the satellite beams),
wherein the method further comprises:
- making measurements of channel quality indicators with respective satellite beams before accessing the satellite network (Fig.1-2 [0083], performing the measurements of channel quality indicators with respective satellite beams before accessing the satellite network),
- comparing said measurements to each of said channel quality thresholds so as to identify at least one satellite beam for which the channel quality indicator is above the channel quality threshold, the identified satellite beam being thus a candidate for the selection of satellite beam through which the user equipment accesses the satellite network (Fig.1-2&7 [0083][0104], ranking/comparing the measurements to each of said channel quality thresholds so as to identify at least one candidate satellite beam for which the channel quality indicator is above the channel quality threshold, the identified satellite beam being thus a candidate for the selection of satellite beam through which the WTRU/user equipment accesses the satellite network).
Regarding claim 27, Mahalingam and Noerpel disclose all the elements of claim 16 as stated above wherein Mahalingam further discloses the data of assistance information comprising at least one element among a set of elements (Fig.1C&6 [0099], the data of assistance information including at least one element among a set of elements) comprising:
a level of interference between at least two satellite beams among the satellite beams (Fig.1C [0040], a level of interference between at least two satellite beams among the satellite beams, and Fig.2 [0074]),
a noise factor of each of the satellite beams (Fig.2 [0076], interfering cells on the carrier as well as noise factor of each of the satellite beams),
a transmit power of each of the satellite beams (Fig.7 [0103], a transmit power of each of the satellite beams),
wherein the method further comprises determining the connection conditions with the satellite beams based on at least one of said elements or on a combination of said elements (Fig.1D&5B [0063][0095], the WTRU/user equipment decides/ determines the connection conditions with the satellite beams based on at least one of said elements).
Regarding claim 28, Mahalingam and Noerpel disclose all the elements of claim 16 as stated above wherein Mahalingam further discloses said data of assistance information is received through at least said first satellite beam during or after an initial downlink synchronization between said first satellite beam and said user equipment, before the RACH procedure (Fig.1A-D&5B [0072][0095], the data of assistance information is received through at least the first satellite 550 beam during or after an initial downlink synchronization between the first satellite 550 beam and the WTRU/ user equipment before the random access procedure).
Additionally, Noerpel discloses wherein said data of assistance information is received through at least said first satellite beam during or after an initial downlink synchronization between said first satellite beam and said user equipment, before the RACH procedure (Fig.1 [0005][0017], receiving the data of assistance information through at least the first satellite beam during or after an initial downlink geo-synchronization between said first satellite 550 beam and the terminal/ user equipment before the random access procedure).
Regarding claim 29, Mahalingam discloses wherein a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instruction code stored for the execution of a method by the user equipment (Fig.7 [0114], a non-volatile/non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instruction code stored for the execution of the method by the WTRU/user equipment),
the method for accessing a satellite network (Fig.5B [0095], a method for accessing a satellite and Fig.5B [0013]), at least one satellite of said satellite network being in movement relatively to Earth (Fig.5B [0095], one satellite SAT 1 of the satellite network being in Orbit B direction of movement i.e., movement relatively to Earth), said satellite network deploying radiofrequency satellite beams (Fig.5B [0095], footprint A, footprint B and footprint C of satellite network deploying radiofrequency satellite beams e.g., a beam of the first cell and a beam of the second cell and Fig.1A-D [0021], implementing/ deploying the radio frequency), the method comprising:
(a) receiving through at least a first satellite beam data of assistance information regarding at least current and future satellite beams of the network (Fig.5B&6 [0095][0097], receives data of assistance information through at least a first satellite 550 beam regarding at least current footprint A and future footprints B and/or C satellite beams of the network and Fig.6 [0099], the WTRU 560/user equipment receives satellite assistance information/constellation assistance information based on the load intensity level for the current and new connections satellite spotbeam of the network and Fig.6-7 [0101][0104], receiving data assistance information that indicates the constellation assistance information (includes satellite ephemeris data and/or group common timing offsets) from each of the plurality of candidate satellites based on/ regarding the RSRP/RSRQ of each candidate beam and the highest ranked candidate beams of the satellite network i.e., current and future satellite beams of the network, the WTRU/user equipment apply weights Weighted of (Wn, WL2, WL3, WL4) during link selection or reselection for measured loading of (Loadi to Load2, Load2 to Load3, Load3 to Load4, >Load4) per load-intensity level per spotbeam),
(b) interpreting said data of assistance information to anticipate: - connection conditions through said first satellite beam, and - the connection conditions through at least one second satellite beam, different from said first satellite beam (Fig.5B [0095]-[0097], interprets the assistance information for estimating or expecting/anticipating, a weighted sum of metrics a WtMt e.g., weights WeightElevation of (WE1, WE2, WE3. WE4) i.e., connection conditions through the first satellite 550 beam during link selection or reselection for measured elevation angles, and links of dwelling time for a better RSRP/RSRQ of beam C i.e., connection condition through the second satellite 552 beam, the second satellite 552 beam is different from the first satellite 550 beam and Fig.6-7 [0102][0104], the maximum weighted sum of metrics a WtMi through the first satellite candidate beam for a selection of the best link, and the link through the second satellite candidate beam for the RSRP/RSRQ measurement based on a service requirement regarding the RSRP/RSRQ of each candidate beam and the highest ranked candidate beam of the satellite network and Fig.2 [0076][0082], measure for reference signal strength comparison of candidate cells carriers i.e., anticipate connection conditions on the serving cell and neighboring cells beams),
(c) deciding the access to the satellite network through a satellite beam among the first satellite beam and the second satellite beam, selected on the basis of at least said connection conditions through said first and second satellite beams (Fig.5B [0095] [0097], the WTRU/user equipment determines/decides the connection/access to send/receive signals with the satellite network through spotbeam load intensity among the satellite beams A, B, C and selected on the basis of the links for prioritizing dwell duration when selecting a cell and a better RSRP/RSRQ i.e., connection conditions through the satellite beams B & C, and Fig.7 [0104], the WTRU/user equipment identifies/decides the access to the satellite network through the selected satellite constellation beams, on the basis of the connection conditions e.g., a measured RSRP/RSRQ or a link budget and the candidate beams ranking and Fig.2 [0076][0082], measurement for reference signal strength comparison of candidate cells carriers i.e., connection conditions on the serving cell and neighboring cells beams), and
(d) implementing a random access channel (RACH) procedure through the selected satellite beam (Fig.1-2 [0076][0077][0079], the assistance information is used for the WTRU/ user equipment selecting a cell in NR technology based on the measurement for reference signal strength comparison of candidate beams; in NR, after a cell is selected, the WTRU/user equipment have inevitably to perform a RACH procedure in order to start communication; Noted, the RACH procedure has to inevitably take place through the selected beam, inherently implied; and Fig.5B&6 [0087][0099], the satellite assistance information includes one or more of satellite ephemeris data, group common timing offset, load information for the elevation angle information, geo-fencing information, satellite configuration information, satellite type/class, satellite capabilities etc., are used for the WTRU/user equipment selecting/reselection a cell e.g., establishing communications through identified/selected satellite spotbeam).
Even though Mahalingam discloses (d) implementing a random access channel (RACH) procedure through the selected satellite beam, in the same field of endeavor, Noerpel teaches wherein (d) implementing a random access channel (RACH) procedure through the selected satellite beam (Fig.1 [0017], the access terminal 20/user equipment is implementing e.g., transmitting a channel request message on the RACH 19 or RACH 19’ procedure through the selected a spot beam 10 i.e., selected satellite beam and a BCCH carrier and Fig.11 [0108]-[0109], transmitting an attach request message i.e., implementing the RACH 19’ or RACH process/procedure through the initiated/selected satellite beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Mahalingam to incorporate the teaching of Noerpel in order to provide for improving the quality of communication e.g., the clarity and reliability of communication.
It would have been beneficial to implement e.g., transmit a channel request message on the RACH 19 or RACH 19’ procedure through the selected a spot beam 10 i.e., selected satellite beam and a BCCH carrier as taught by Noerpel to have incorporated in the system of Mahalingam to provide for improving the reliability and speed of the communication between a user terminal and the satellite network. (Noerpel, Fig.1 [0017], Fig.1-2 [0019] and Fig.11 [0108]-[0109])
Regarding claim 30, Mahalingam discloses wherein a user equipment comprising a processing circuit to perform a method (Fig.1B [0031], WTRU/user equipment including a processor 118 to access a satellite network),
for accessing a satellite network (Fig.5B [0095], for accessing a satellite and Fig.5B [0013]), at least one satellite of said satellite network being in movement relatively to Earth (Fig.5B [0095], one satellite SAT 1 of the satellite network being in Orbit B direction of movement i.e., movement relatively to Earth), said satellite network deploying radiofrequency satellite beams (Fig.5B [0095], footprint A, footprint B and footprint C of satellite network deploying radiofrequency satellite beams e.g., a beam of the first cell and a beam of the second cell and Fig.1A-D [0021], implementing/deploying the radio frequency), the method comprising:
(a) receiving through at least a first satellite beam data of assistance information regarding at least current and future satellite beams of the network (Fig.5B&6 [0095][0097], receives data of assistance information through at least a first satellite 550 beam regarding at least current footprint A and future footprints B and/or C satellite beams of the network and Fig.6 [0099], the WTRU 560/user equipment receives satellite assistance information/constellation assistance information based on the load intensity level for the current and new connections satellite spotbeam of the network and Fig.6-7 [0101][0104], receiving data assistance information that indicates the constellation assistance information (includes satellite ephemeris data and/or group common timing offsets) from each of the plurality of candidate satellites based on/ regarding the RSRP/RSRQ of each candidate beam and the highest ranked candidate beams of the satellite network i.e., current and future satellite beams of the network, the WTRU/user equipment apply weights Weighted of (Wn, WL2, WL3, WL4) during link selection or reselection for measured loading of (Loadi to Load2, Load2 to Load3, Load3 to Load4, >Load4) per load-intensity level per spotbeam),
(b) interpreting said data of assistance information to anticipate: - connection conditions through said first satellite beam, and - the connection conditions through at least one second satellite beam, different from said first satellite beam (Fig.5B [0095]-[0097], interprets the assistance information for estimating or expecting/anticipating, a weighted sum of metrics a WtMt e.g., weights WeightElevation of (WE1, WE2, WE3. WE4) i.e., connection conditions through the first satellite 550 beam during link selection or reselection for measured elevation angles, and links of dwelling time for a better RSRP/RSRQ of beam C i.e., connection condition through the second satellite 552 beam, the second satellite 552 beam is different from the first satellite 550 beam and Fig.6-7 [0102][0104], the maximum weighted sum of metrics a WtMi through the first satellite candidate beam for a selection of the best link, and the link through the second satellite candidate beam for the RSRP/RSRQ measurement based on a service requirement regarding the RSRP/RSRQ of each candidate beam and the highest ranked candidate beam of the satellite network and Fig.2 [0076][0082], measure for reference signal strength comparison of candidate cells carriers i.e., anticipate connection conditions on the serving cell and neighboring cells beams),
(c) deciding the access to the satellite network through a satellite beam among the first satellite beam and the second satellite beam, selected on the basis of at least said connection conditions through said first and second satellite beams (Fig.5B [0095] [0097], the WTRU/user equipment determines/decides the connection/access to send/receive signals with the satellite network through spotbeam load intensity among the satellite beams A, B, C and selected on the basis of the links for prioritizing dwell duration when selecting a cell and a better RSRP/RSRQ i.e., connection conditions through the satellite beams B & C, and Fig.7 [0104], the WTRU/user equipment identifies/decides the access to the satellite network through the selected satellite constellation beams, on the basis of the connection conditions e.g., a measured RSRP/RSRQ or a link budget and the candidate beams ranking and Fig.2 [0076][0082], measurement for reference signal strength comparison of candidate cells carriers i.e., connection conditions on the serving cell and neighboring cells beams), and
(d) implementing a random access channel (RACH) procedure through the selected satellite beam (Fig.1-2 [0076][0077][0079], the assistance information is used for the WTRU/ user equipment selecting a cell in NR technology based on the measurement for reference signal strength comparison of candidate beams; in NR, after a cell is selected, the WTRU/user equipment have inevitably to perform a RACH procedure in order to start communication; Noted, the RACH procedure has to inevitably take place through the selected beam, inherently implied; and Fig.5B&6 [0087][0099], the satellite assistance information includes one or more of satellite ephemeris data, group common timing offset, load information for the elevation angle information, geo-fencing information, satellite configuration information, satellite type/class, satellite capabilities etc., are used for the WTRU/user equipment selecting/reselection a cell e.g., establishing communications through identified/selected satellite spotbeam).
Even though Mahalingam discloses (d) implementing a random access channel (RACH) procedure through the selected satellite beam, in the same field of endeavor, Noerpel teaches wherein (d) implementing a random access channel (RACH) procedure through the selected satellite beam (Fig.1 [0017], the access terminal 20/user equipment is implementing e.g., transmitting a channel request message on the RACH 19 or RACH 19’ procedure through the selected a spot beam 10 i.e., selected satellite beam and a BCCH carrier and Fig.11 [0108]-[0109], transmitting an attach request message i.e., implementing the RACH 19’ or RACH process/procedure through the initiated/selected satellite beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Mahalingam to incorporate the teaching of Noerpel in order to provide for improving the quality of communication e.g., the clarity and reliability of communication.
It would have been beneficial to implement e.g., transmit a channel request message on the RACH 19 or RACH 19’ procedure through the selected a spot beam 10 i.e., selected satellite beam and a BCCH carrier as taught by Noerpel to have incorporated in the system of Mahalingam to provide for improving the reliability and speed of the communication between a user terminal and the satellite network. (Noerpel, Fig.1 [0017], Fig.1-2 [0019] and Fig.11 [0108]-[0109])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414