DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of amendment/request with remarks/arguments, dated November 4, 2025. Claim 20 has been canceled.
Upon entering the amendment, claims 1-19 remain pending. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-6, 8, 9 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lei et al. (US 2023/0117080).
Regarding claim 1, Lei et al. teach the method of operating an access node (AN) (paragraph [0043] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: base station 310 depicted in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an access node (AN)” in the instant application), comprising
- broadcasting, by the AN, a message indicative of resources for transmitting a control channel (paragraph [0043] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the information/message indicating resources for transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a message indicative of resources for transmitting a control channel;”
in fact, base station 310 broadcasting the information/message indicating resources for transmitting a radio resource control (RRC), as illustrated in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “broadcasting, by the AN, a message indicative of resources for transmitting a control channel” in the instant application),
wherein the message is indicative of first resources and second resources for transmitting the control channel (paragraph [0062] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: the resources regards to higher capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “first resources;”
the resources regards to reduced capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “second resources;”
in fact, the information/message indicating the resources for transmitting RRC connection control to higher capability devices and to reduced capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the message is indicative of first resources and second resources for transmitting the control channel” in the instant application),
wherein the first resources are associated with a first wireless device type (paragraph [0062] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: higher capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first wireless device type;”
in fact, the resources, e.g., for transmitting RRC connection control, to a higher capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the first resources are associated with a first wireless device type” in the instant application), and
wherein the second resources are associated with a second wireless device type, which has reduced capabilities in relation to the first wireless device type (paragraph [0062] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: reduced capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second wireless device type;”
in fact, the resources, e.g., for transmitting RRC connection control, to a reduced capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the second resources are associated with a second wireless device type, which has reduced capabilities in relation to the first wireless device type” in the instant application), and
- transmitting, by the AN, the control channel using the first resources and the second resources (paragraph [0043] lines 17-30; Examiner’s Notes: base station 310 transmitting the control channel using the resources, e.g., for higher capability devices and for reduced capability devices, as illustrated in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting, by the AN, the control channel using the first resources and the second resources” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 2, Lei et al. further teach the method, wherein the message comprises a field for the first resources and an additional field for the second resources (paragraph [0062] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: the indication/information indicating master information block (MIB) in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a field for the first resources;”
additional information, e.g., the PHYlayer information in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an additional field for the second resources;”
in fact, the message indicating master information block (MIB) for the resources and additional information, e.g., the PHYlayer information for the resources in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the message comprises a field for the first resources and an additional field for the second resources” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 3, Lei et al. further teach the method, wherein the message comprises one field for both the first resources and the second resources (paragraph [0059] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the indication/information indicating search space (SS) in the prior art teaches the limitation of “one field;”
in fact, the message indicating search space (SS) regards to resources for both higher capability devices and reduced capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the message comprises one field for both the first resources and the second resources” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 4, Lei et al. further teach the method, wherein the first resources comprise a first number of consecutive symbols, in particular a first number of consecutive OFDM symbols (paragraph [0040] lines 1-25; Examiner’s Notes: the resources, e.g., including two consecutive symbols, as illustrated in FIG. 2B in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the first resources comprise a first number of consecutive symbols;”
in fact, the resources, e.g., including two consecutive symbols, in particular two consecutive OFDM symbols as illustrated in FIG. 2B in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the first resources comprise a first number of consecutive symbols, in particular a first number of consecutive OFDM symbols” in the instant application),
wherein the second resources comprise a second number of consecutive symbols, in particular a second number of consecutive OFDM symbols (paragraph [0040] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the resources, e.g., including three consecutive symbols, as illustrated in FIG. 2B in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the second resources comprise a second number of consecutive symbols;”
in fact, the resources, e.g., including three consecutive symbols, in particular three consecutive OFDM symbols as illustrated in FIG. 2B in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the second resources comprise a second number of consecutive symbols, in particular a second number of consecutive OFDM symbols” in the instant application),
wherein the second number of consecutive symbols is larger than the first number of consecutive symbols (paragraph [0040] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the number of consecutive symbols, e.g., 2, in the prior art teaches “the first number of consecutive symbols;”
the number of consecutive symbols, e.g., 3, in the prior art teaches “the second number of consecutive symbols;”
in fact, the prior art cited teaches the limitation of “wherein the second number of consecutive symbols is larger than the first number of consecutive symbols” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 5, Lei et al. further teach the method, wherein transmitting, by the AN, the control channel using the second resources comprises redundantly transmitting the control channel using the second resources (paragraph [0069] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: the configurations, e.g., a repetition flag regards to use the resource to transmit the control channel in the prior art teaches “redundantly transmitting the control channel using the second resources;”
in fact, the configurations, e.g., a repetition flag regards to use the resource to transmit the control channel in the prior art cited teaches the limitation of “wherein transmitting, by the AN, the control channel using the second resources comprises redundantly transmitting the control channel using the second resources” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 6, Lei et al. further teach the method, wherein the second number of consecutive symbols comprises a repetition of a group of consecutive symbols (paragraph [0069] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: the configurations, e.g., a repetition flag regards to the consecutive symbols in the prior art teaches “a repetition of a group of consecutive symbols;”
in fact, the configurations, e.g., a repetition flag regards to the consecutive symbols in the prior art cited teaches the limitation of “wherein the second number of consecutive symbols comprises a repetition of a group of consecutive symbols” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 8, Lei et al. further teach the method, wherein the first resources and the second resources at least partly overlap (paragraph [0072] lines 1-15; Examiner’s Notes: the overlapping resources, e.g., with group common PDCCH (GC-PDCCH) Beam #1 and GC-PDCCH Beam #2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the first resources and the second resources at least partly overlap” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 9, Lei et al. further teach the method, wherein the first resources and the second resources are disjoint (paragraph [0072] lines 1-15; Examiner’s Notes: applying frequency hopping to resources, e.g., to the resources for group common PDCCH (GC-PDCCH) Beam #1 and to the resources for GC-PDCCH Beam #2 as illustrated in FIG. 5 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the first resources and the second resources are disjoint” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 13, Lei et al. further teach the method, wherein the message is indicative of at least one of - a location of the first resources in frequency and/or time; - a location of the second resources in frequency and/or time; - a location of the first resources in frequency and/or time in relation to a location of the second resources in frequency and/or time; - a multiplexing scheme of the first resources; and/or - a redundancy of the first resources (paragraph [0091] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the symbol location in time regards to the resources, e.g., the resources as shown in FIG. 8 in the prior art teaches “a location of the first resources in frequency and/or time;”
in fact, the symbol location in time regards to the resources, e.g., the resources as shown in FIG. 8 in the prior art cited teaches the limitation of “wherein the message is indicative of at least one of - a location of the first resources in frequency and/or time; - a location of the second resources in frequency and/or time; - a location of the first resources in frequency and/or time in relation to a location of the second resources in frequency and/or time; - a multiplexing scheme of the first resources; and/or - a redundancy of the first resources” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 14, Lei et al. teach the method of operating a wireless device (UE) (paragraph [0043] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: UE 350 depicted in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wireless device (UE)” in the instant application), comprising
- receiving, from an access node (AN), a message indicative of resources for receiving a control channel (paragraph [0043] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: base station 310 depicted in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an access node (AN);”
the information/message indicating resources for receiving a radio resource control (RRC) in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a message indicative of resources for receiving a control channel;”
in fact, base station 310 broadcasting the information/message indicating resources for transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) to UE350, as illustrated in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, from an access node (AN), a message indicative of resources for receiving a control channel” in the instant application),
wherein the message is indicative of first resources and second for receiving the control channel (paragraph [0062] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: the resources regards to higher capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “first resources;”
the resources regards to reduced capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “second resources;”
in fact, the information/message indicating the resources for receiving RRC connection control by higher capability devices and by reduced capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the message is indicative of first resources and second resources for receiving the control channel” in the instant application),
wherein the first resources are associated with a first wireless device type (paragraph [0062] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: higher capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first wireless device type;”
in fact, the resources, e.g., for transmitting RRC connection control, to a higher capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the first resources are associated with a first wireless device type” in the instant application), and
wherein the second resources are associated with a second wireless device type, which has reduced capabilities in relation to the first wireless device type (paragraph [0062] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: reduced capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second wireless device type;”
in fact, the resources, e.g., for transmitting RRC connection control, to a reduced capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the second resources are associated with a second wireless device type, which has reduced capabilities in relation to the first wireless device type” in the instant application);
- monitoring the first resources if the wireless device implements a first wireless device type (paragraph [0043] lines 17-30; Examiner’s Notes: monitoring the resources for higher capability devices if the UE is a higher capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “monitoring the first resources if the wireless device implements a first wireless device type” in the instant application),
- monitoring the second resources if the wireless device implements a second wireless device type (paragraph [0043] lines 17-30; Examiner’s Notes: monitoring the resources for reduced capability devices if the UE is a reduced capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “monitoring the second resources if the wireless device implements a second wireless device type” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 15, Lei et al. further teach the method, further comprising: - determining the first resources based on a field of the message and a lookup table (paragraph [0059] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: a field, e.g. search space in the message, and table 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a field of the message and a lookup table;”
in fact, determining the resources based on a field, e.g. search space in the message, and table 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining the first resources based on a field of the message and a lookup table” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 16, Lei et al. teach the method, wherein further comprising: - determining the second resources based on the field of the message and a lookup table (paragraph [0059] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: a field, e.g. search space in the message, and table 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the field of the message and a lookup table;”
in fact, determining the resources based on a field, e.g. search space in the message, and table 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining the second resources based on the field of the message and a lookup table” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 17, Lei et al. further teach the method, comprising: - determining the second resources based on an additional field of the message (paragraph [0062] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: additional information, e.g., the PHYlayer information in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an additional field of the message;”
in fact, determining the resources based on additional information, e.g., the PHYlayer information of the message in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining the second resources based on an additional field of the message” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 18, Lei et al. further teach the method comprising: - selecting, by the UE, to implement a first wireless device type or a second wireless device type based on a predetermined criteria (paragraph [0062] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: the rules/criteria regards to higher capability devices and reduced capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a predetermined criteria;”
in fact, UE selecting to implement as a higher capability device or a reduced capability device based on the rules/criteria regards to higher capability devices and reduced capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “selecting, by the UE, to implement a first wireless device type or a second wireless device type based on a predetermined criteria” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 19, Lei et al. teach the access node (AN) (paragraph [0043] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: base station 310 depicted in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “access node (AN)” in the instant application), comprising
circuitry (paragraph [0043] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: TX processor 316 in base station 310 depicted in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “circuitry” in the instant application) configured for causing the AN
- to broadcast, by the AN, a message indicative of resources for transmitting a control channel (paragraph [0043] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the information/message indicating resources for transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a message indicative of resources for transmitting a control channel;”
in fact, base station 310 broadcasting the information/message indicating resources for transmitting a radio resource control (RRC), as illustrated in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “broadcasting, by the AN, a message indicative of resources for transmitting a control channel” in the instant application),
wherein the message is indicative of first resources and second resources for transmitting the control channel (paragraph [0062] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: the resources regards to higher capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “first resources;”
the resources regards to reduced capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “second resources;”
in fact, the information/message indicating the resources for transmitting RRC connection control to higher capability devices and to reduced capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the message is indicative of first resources and second resources for transmitting the control channel” in the instant application),
wherein the first resources are associated with a first wireless device type (paragraph [0062] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: higher capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first wireless device type;”
in fact, the resources, e.g., for transmitting RRC connection control, to a higher capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the first resources are associated with a first wireless device type” in the instant application), and
wherein the second resources are associated with a second wireless device type, which has reduced capabilities in relation to the first wireless device type (paragraph [0062] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: reduced capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second wireless device type;”
in fact, the resources, e.g., for transmitting RRC connection control, to a reduced capability device in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the second resources are associated with a second wireless device type, which has reduced capabilities in relation to the first wireless device type” in the instant application), and
- to transmitting, by the AN, the control channel using the first resources and the second resources (paragraph [0043] lines 17-30; Examiner’s Notes: base station 310 transmitting the control channel using the resources, e.g., for higher capability devices and for reduced capability devices, as illustrated in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting, by the AN, the control channel using the first resources and the second resources” in the instant application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 2023/0117080).
Regarding claim 7, Lei et al. teach the method, wherein the first resources comprise a first number of consecutive frequency resource blocks (paragraph [0038] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: consecutive physical resource blocks (PRBs)) in the prior art teaches “a first number of consecutive frequency resource blocks” in the instant application), f subcarriers
wherein the second resources comprise a second number of consecutive frequency resource blocks (paragraph [0038] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: the consecutive physical resource blocks (PRBs)), e.g., for another set of subcarriers in the prior art teaches “wherein the second resources comprise a second number of consecutive frequency resource blocks” in the instant application),
Lei et al. teach the method regards to the first number of consecutive frequency resource blocks and the second number of consecutive frequency resource blocks, without specifically mentioning the size of consecutive frequency resource blocks, e.g., “wherein the second number of consecutive frequency resource blocks is smaller than the first number of consecutive frequency resource blocks.”
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to implement the size of consecutive frequency resource blocks, wherein the second number of consecutive frequency resource blocks is smaller than the first number of consecutive frequency resource blocks.
A design choice is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
7. Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 2023/0117080) in view of Yiu et al. (US 2020/0033849).
Regarding claim 10, Lei et al. teach the method without explicitly teaching the control channel comprising a configuration of a first data channel.
Yiu et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein the control channel comprises a configuration of a first data channel (paragraph [0136] lines 1-22; Examiner’s Notes: the configuration regards to data communication, e.g., through a channel between the base station and an aerial vehicle (AV-UE) in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a configuration of a first data channel;”
In fact, the control information/channel indicating the configuration regards to data communication, e.g., through a channel between the base station and an aerial vehicle (AV-UE) in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the control channel comprises a configuration of a first data channel” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Yiu et al. in the system of Lei et al.
The motivation for implementing the control channel comprising a configuration of a first data channel, is to further enhance the mechanism of a logic to transmit capabilities information from a user device to indicate that the user device is part of an aerial vehicle (AV-UE) and receive a measurement configuration to establish a trigger event based on a height or other measurement to instruct the AV-UE to transmit, in response to detection of the trigger event, a measurement report to the base station.
Regarding claim 11, Yiu et al. further teach the method, wherein the control channel comprises a configuration of a second data channel (paragraph [0136] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the configuration regards to data communication, e.g., through a channel between the base station and another AV-UE in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a configuration of a second data channel;”
In fact, the control information/channel indicating the configuration regards to data communication, e.g., through a channel between the base station and another AV-UE in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the control channel comprises a configuration of a second data channel” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 12, Lei et al. further teach the method, wherein the configuration of the first and/or second data channel is indicative of at least one of: - a physical resource used for transmitting data on the first or second data channel, - a modulation scheme used for transmitting data on the first or second data channel (paragraph [0038] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: the resource block (RB), e.g., a physical RB, for transmitting frame/data in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a physical resource used for transmitting data on the first or second data channel;”
In fact, the configuration indicating a resource block (RB), e.g., a physical RB, for transmitting frame/data in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the configuration of the first and/or second data channel is indicative of at least one of: - a physical resource used for transmitting data on the first or second data channel, - a modulation scheme used for transmitting data on the first or second data channel” in the instant application).
Response to Remarks/Arguments
8. Claims Art Rejections: Applicants’ amendments/request with arguments filed November 4, 2025 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-7 of the Response with respects to claim 1, Applicants assert the prior art doesn't teach “broadcasting, by the AN, a message indicative of resources for transmitting a control channel,
wherein the message is indicative of first resources and second resources for transmitting the control channel.”
The prior art teaches that FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a base station 310 in communication with a UE 350 in an access network. In the DL, IP packets from the EPC 160 may be provided to a controller/processor 375. The controller/processor 375 implements layer 3 and layer 2 functionality. Layer 3 includes a radio resource control (RRC) layer, and layer 2 includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, a radio link control (RLC) layer, and a medium access control (MAC) layer. The controller/processor 375 provides RRC layer functionality associated with broadcasting of system information (e.g., MIB, SIBs), RRC connection control (e.g., RRC connection paging, RRC connection establishment, RRC connection modification, and RRC connection release), inter radio access technology (RAT) mobility, and measurement configuration for UE measurement reporting (paragraph [0043] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: base station 310 depicted in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the AN;”
the information/message indicating resources for transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a message indicative of resources for transmitting a control channel;”
in fact, base station 310 broadcasting the information/message indicating resources for transmitting a radio resource control (RRC), as illustrated in FIG. 3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “broadcasting, by the AN, a message indicative of resources for transmitting a control channel” in the instant application).
The prior art further teaches that the new configurations for SS set configurations for Type-0 PDCCH monitoring for reduced capability devices (e.g., NR light devices) may be combined together with the other configurations for higher capability devices in a combined table. For example, the new configurations may be added to Table 1. For example, 2.sup.Q-16 new configurations may be added to Table 1. Q may represent an integer number for which 4<Q≤6. Thus, Q may be 5 or 6. Q bits may be mapped to a PBCH. The PBCH may carry minimum system information (MSI), which may include bits of a MIB comprising information form a MAC layer and a bits of a PHY payload. The Q bits may be included in the MIB, e.g., may be broadcast by the base station in a MIB. The Q bits may be included in the MIB and additional information added to the PBCH by the physical (PHY) layer bits. For example, the Q bits may be mapped to the MAC layer information or the PHY layer information of a PBCH (paragraph [0062] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: the resources regards to higher capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “first resources;”
the resources regards to reduced capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “second resources;”
in fact, the information/message indicating the resources for transmitting RRC connection control to higher capability devices and to reduced capability devices in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the message is indicative of first resources and second resources for transmitting the control channel” as Applicant argued).
Based on the fact, Examiner respectfully disagrees that the prior art cited does not teach the independent claim 1 as mentioned by Applicants. The elements of independent claims 14 and 19 that Applicants argued are similar to claim 1’s, so the cited passages also teach claims 14 and 19. Furthermore, the cited passages teach dependent claims 2-13 and 15-18 as well.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEI ZHAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473