Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 31-42 , 47, 48 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 31-42, t he term “ low ” in claim 31 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ low ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims are confusing as to intent because it cannot be definitively ascertained what, if any, density values are intended to be excluded by the recitation “low” . Appropriate correction is required. Regarding claims 47, 48 and 50, claims are confusing as to intent because it cannot be determined how the crystallinity values defined by the claims and applicants’ own disclosure as being unitless and non-conditional can be based on volume as now set forth by these claims (i.e. “% by volume”). Appropriate correction required. Claim 50 is additionally confusing as to intent because it cannot be definitively be determined what is intended by the recitation of a period in the middle of the claim followed by a repetition of some material already recited and introduction of additional new features. It cannot be determined if features after the 1 st period are intended to be limits of the claim. Appropriate correction is required, and claim has been treated as if limitations end at the 1 st period. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: (a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 31- 42 are is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Al-Farhood et al.( 2020/0172661) in view of Singh et al.(2009/0305876) . Al-Farhood et al. discloses thermoplastic foam s that include poly(ethylene furanoate ) copolymer in their composition and comprising blowing agents that cause an expansion thus forming a gaseous cell in the thermoplastic copolymer, wherein the foam has a cell structure which is expressed in terms of the quantity of open cells and closed cells, and has an open cell fraction of <20.0% (>80.0% closed) which corresponds with a closed cell content of at least about 50% as claimed (see paragraphs [0042] -[0046] and [0059]). Regarding claims 32, 36 and 37, Al-Farhood et al. discloses densities that correspond with those of the claims { para [0046]). Regarding claims 33-35, compressive and tensile strength characteristics are not particularly expressed by Al-Farhood et al. However, owing to the closeness of compositional make-ups and the fact that good, flexible thermoplastic products are disclosed, it is held that such characteristics would necessarily follow on formation of the products of Al-Farhood et al. Regarding claims 38-40, Al-Farhood et al. provisions for contents and make-ups of polyethylene furanoate as claimed {paras [0050]-[0059] and the Examples}, and given that the copolymer constitutes the polymeric structure, it would necessarily follow this material would constitute the cell wall structures to the degrees claimed. Al-Farhood et al. differs from applicants’ claims in that it does not require the HFO-1234ze(E) inclusion as claimed. However, Singh et al. discloses inclusion HFO-1234ze(E) in thermoplastic foam formation for the purpose of imparting its foam forming effect to be known {paras [0294] -[ 0296]}. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the HFO-1234ze(E) of Singh et al. in the preparations of Al-Farhood et al. for the purpose of imparting its foam expansion effects in order to arrive at the products of applicants’ claims with the expectation of success in the absence of a showing of new or unexpected results. Claim s 43-50 are is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Al-Farhood et al.( 2020/0172661) in view of Singh et al.(2009/0305876) and EP-3450500 . Al-Farhood et al. discloses thermoplastic foams that include poly(ethylene furanoate ) copolymer in their composition and comprising blowing agents that cause an expansion thus forming a gaseous cell in the thermoplastic copolymer, wherein the foam has a cell structure which is expressed in terms of the quantity of open cells and closed cells, and has an open cell fraction of <20.0% (>80.0% closed) which corresponds with a closed cell content of at least about 50% as claimed (see paragraphs [0042] -[0046] and [0059]). Al-Farhood et al. has no requirement for or recognition of the inclusion of tannin moieties. Accordingly, it is held that it would necessarily follow that it contains tannins in amounts of less than 20% as required by the claims. Regarding claim 46, given that foam boards are formed {see para [0088]} is sufficient at least to meet the vehicle wall component alternative of this claim. Regarding claim 49, Al-Farhood et al. has no requirement for 1336mzz blowing agent. Accordingly, it is held that it would necessarily follow that it meets the omission requirements of this claim. Regarding claims 45, 4 8 and 50 , Al-Farhood et al. provisions for contents and make-ups of polyethylene furanoate as claimed {paras [0050] -[ 0059] and the Examples}, and given that the copolymer constitutes the polymeric structure, it would necessarily follow this material would constitute the cell wall structures to any degrees as claimed. Al-Farhood et al. differs from applicants’ claims in that it does not require the HFO ’s and/or HCFO’s as claimed. However, Singh et al. discloses inclusion HFO-1234ze(E) in thermoplastic foam formation for the purpose of imparting its foam forming effect to be known {paras [0294] -[ 0296]}. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the HFO-1234ze(E) of Singh et al. in the preparations of Al-Farhood et al. for the purpose of imparting its foam expansion effects in order to arrive at the products of applicants’ claims with the expectation of success in the absence of a showing of new or unexpected results. Al-Farhood et al. differs from applicants’ claims in that it does not require the crystallinities as claimed. However, EP-3450500 discloses variation in crystallinity in ranges in overlap with those of the claims in forming thermoplastic materials to be known for purposes of forming a diverse array of good and acceptable materials for damping applications {see Abstract and paras [0005], [0130]}. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to have utilized any crystallinity provided for by EP-3450500 in forming the preparations of Al-Farhood et al. for the purpose of achieving acceptable polymer arrangement and accompanying strength, stiffness and damping effects in products formed in order to arrive at the products of applicants’ claims with the expectation of success in the absence of a showing of new or unexpected results. Double Patenting The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer . Claims 31-50 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/113,605 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they differ in make-up and overlap of material effects , including blowing agent selection, closed cell make-up and crystallinity, in a manner which would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art with the expectation of success in the absence of a showing of new or unexpected results . This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. Claims 31-42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-30 of copending Application No. 18/199,885 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they differ in make-up and overlap of material effects , including blowing agent selection and closed cell make-up, in a manner which would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art with the expectation of success in the absence of a showing of new or unexpected results . This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to John Cooney whose telephone number is 571-272-1070. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 9 to 6. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Heidi Riviere Kelley, can be reached on 571-270-1831. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOHN M COONEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765