DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions & Status of Claims
Claims 1-2 and 4-12 were amended in Applicant’s reply and are examined in the instant action.
Claims 13-14 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/14/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered. See paragraphs [0027]-[0028] of the instant specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the Ni equivalent satisfies” followed by “the Cr equivalent satisfies”. However, both of the equations have both Nieq and Creq in them.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-12, claim was amended with the limitation “wherein the ferrous austenitic steel comprises ultrafine grained austenite of 20 µm or less”. However, the instant specification teaches as follows regarding the grain size.
[0049] In an embodiment of the present invention, ultra-fine grained (≤20 µm or ≤10 µm grain size) high Mn steels can be fabricated by a thermo-mechanical process consisting of heavy plastic deformation at ambient, cryogenic (e.g., liquid nitrogen temperature), or intermediate temperature (e.g., 150° C.-600° C.) to induce martensite (e.g., α′-martensite and/or ε-martensite) formation and subsequent annealing at elevated temperatures to reverse deformation-induced martensite into ultra-fine grained austenite.
Therefore, the specification teaches making of the ultra-fine grained crystal with the size of the grain being either less than or equal to 20 microns or less than or equal to 10 microns and does not teach it to have any other grain sizes as allowed by the instant claim and its recitation of “comprises” as the transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See MPEP § 2111.03. Therefore, instant claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2 and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 4-10, instant claims recite “The ferrous austenitic steel of claim 1, wherein the ferrous austenitic steel further comprises” and is followed by ranges for a) one or more elements or b) Cr equivalent. The term “further comprising” employed in the instant claims has the plain meaning of “in addition to” thereby making it unclear if these ranges are indeed in addition to what is recited in claim 1 or whether it is requiring the steel to have the specific ranges of the instant claims as a whole. Please note that claim 1 requires specific ranges for Creq and Nieq and the elements or the terms recited in the instant claims that follows the “further comprising” are part of the Nieq or Creq formulae.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, claim 1, the claim that the instant claims depend upon, recites “the ferrous austenitic steel comprises a predominantly austenite phase and one or more minor phases of ferrite, martensite, carbide, nitride, and carbonitride” requiring the presence of the minor phase. However, claim 11 recites “The ferrous austenitic steel of claim 1, wherein the austenite phase is at least 95 vol%” and claim 12 recites “The ferrous austenitic steel of claim, wherein the minor phases are less than 5 vol%”. Therefore, it is unclear whether the instant claims require the presence of the minor phase as the terms “at least 95 vol%” employed in the instant claim 11 includes a value of 100% for austenite and “less than 5 vol%” employed in the instant claim 12 includes a value of zero for the minor phases both of which inferring that no minor phase is required to be present or in other words the steel being 100% austenite.
Claims 2, 6, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 requires “The ferrous austenitic steel of claim 1, further comprising 18 wt % to 30 wt % manganese (Mn)”. However, 30 wt% of Mn alone provides a Creq of 15wt% which is beyond the required range for Creq recited in claim 1.
Claim 6 requires “The ferrous austenitic steel of claim 1, further comprising 0.05 wt % to 15 wt % Al.” However, 15 wt% of Al alone provide a Creq value of 232.5 which is beyond the required range for Creq recited in claim 1. Similar issue is found with Al range in claim 9.
Claim 7 requires “The ferrous austenitic steel of claim 1, further comprising 0.05 wt % to 10 wt % Si.” However, 10 wt% of Si alone provide a Creq value of 20 which is beyond the required range for Creq recited in claim 1.
Claim 9 recites “0.01 wt% to 5 wt% of one or more of niobium (Nb), titanium (Ti), vanadium (V), tungsten (W), tantalum (Ta), and molybdenum (Mo)”. The upper limit of 5wt% would provide Creq values beyond the required range for Creq recited in claim 1 specifically for elements Mo, V, Nb and Ti.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
List 1
Element
Instant Claims
(weight%)
Prior Art
Steel T
(mass%)
Prior Art
(mass%)
Creq
< 15
See below
See below
Nieq
> 7
See below
See below
Mn
18 – 30 claim 2
24.5
Mn: 8.0 % or more and 45.0 % or less
Cu
0.01 – 2 claim 4
-
Cu: 0.1 % or more and 10.0 % or less
C
C: 0.1 – 1.5 claim 5, 9
1.07
C: 0.10 % or more and 2.50 % or less
N
N: 0.001 – 1.0 claim 5, 9
0.0028
N: 0.5000 % or less
Al
0.05 – 15 claim 6
0.05 – 10 claim 9
0.019
Al: 0.001 % or more and 5.000 % or less
Si
0.05 – 10 claim 7
0.1 – 3 claim 9
-
Si: 0.01 % or more and 5.00 % or less
Nb, Ti, V, W, Ta, Mo
claim 8: total of one or more of Nb, Ti, V, W, Ta and Mo: 0.01 – 5
claim 9: 0.01 – 5 of one or more of Nb, Ti, V, W, Ta and Mo:
Ti: 0.75
V: 0.06
Ti: 0.10 % or more and 5.00 % or less
V: 0.01 % or more and 2.00 % or less
W: 0.01 % or more and 2.00 % or less
Mo: 0.1 % or more and 10.0 % or less
Fe + impurities
ferrous
Balance
Balance
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8 and 10-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO 2020/054553 A1 via its English equivalent EP 3835446 A1 of Terazawa (EP’446).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5, 8 and 10-12, WO 2020/054553 A1 via its English equivalent EP 3835446 A1 of Terazawa (EP’446) teaches “a steel material and a method of producing the same, and particularly to an improvement in wear resistance of an austenitic steel material” “an austenitic steel material” “a microstructure containing 90 % or more of an austenite phase and 0.2 % or more of Ti carbides in area ratio” having specific compositions wherein a specific example, Steel sample ID T in Table 1 that lies within the claimed compositional range of the instant claims as shown in the List 1 above thereby anticipating the alloy of the instant claims. {abstract, [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0048], Table 1-4, claims 1-6}. A specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range. “[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art.” Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citing In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 682, 133 USPQ 275, 280 (CCPA 1962)) See MPEP § 2131.03 I.
The prior art teaches that its steel has [0045] “the austenite phase in the microstructure is 90 % or more and may be 100 % in area ratio. As used herein, the ratio of "austenite phase in the microstructure" means a ratio (area ratio) of the austenite phase to a total of the microstructure excluding inclusions and precipitates. The microstructure other than the austenite phase may be one or more of a ferrite phase, a bainite microstructure, a martensite microstructure and a pearlite microstructure having a total area ratio of less than 10 %” and points out in Table 2 that the aforementioned Steel sample ID T has a microstructure with area ratio of austenite phase being 98% and area ratio of Ti carbide being thereby anticipating the microstructure of claim 1 and the recited ranges of claims 11-12.
Regarding the formulaic expressions of Nieq and Creq and their ranges, the composition of the steel provides, in wt%, 44.42 for Nieq and 1.7195 for Creq thereby meeting the recited ranges. In addition, it is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Saklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75.
Regarding the amended limitations of grain size and strength of instant claim 1, it is noted that the prior art is silent regarding the ranges of the grain size and strength as recited in the instant claim. However, MPEP § 2112 III provides that A REJECTION UNDER 35 U.S.C. 102/103 CAN BE MADE WHEN THE PRIOR ART PRODUCT SEEMS TO BE IDENTICAL EXCEPT THAT THE PRIOR ART IS SILENT AS TO AN INHERENT CHARACTERISTIC. Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, expressed as a 102 /103 rejection. "There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977). This same rationale should also apply to product, apparatus, and process claims claimed in terms of function, property or characteristic. Therefore, a 35 U.S.C. 102 /103 rejection is appropriate for these types of claims as well as for composition claims. See MPEP § 2112 III. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. As the prior art teaches a substantially identical product with identical composition and identical microstructure as shown above, one skilled in the art would expect the steel of the prior art to have a strength as claimed in the instant claim. Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/054553 A1 via its English equivalent EP 3835446 A1 of Terazawa (EP’446).
Regarding claims 4, 6, 7 and 9, claims 4, 6, 7 and 9 depend on claim 1 and the relevance of WO 2020/054553 A1 via its English equivalent EP 3835446 A1 of Terazawa (EP’446) regarding claim 1 is set forth supra.
EP’446 further teaches “a steel material and a method of producing the same, and particularly to an improvement in wear resistance of an austenitic steel material” “an austenitic steel material” “a microstructure containing 90 % or more of an austenite phase and 0.2 % or more of Ti carbides in area ratio” with a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the constituent elements of the instant alloy of the instant claims overlap or lie inside the ranges of various elements of the alloy of the prior art as shown in the List 1 above. {abstract, [0001]-[0003], [0009]-[0048], Table 1-4, claims 1-6}. As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches the similar property/utility throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 4-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/030,198 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application teaches an austenitic steel with identical or substantially identical ranges for composition, Nieq, Creq, strength and microstructure phases.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the process differences, it is noted that Applicant provides no data in support of the arguments. It is noted that the instant specification teaches “[0049] In an embodiment of the present invention, ultra-fine grained (≤20 µm or ≤10 µm grain size) high Mn steels can be fabricated by a thermo-mechanical process consisting of heavy plastic deformation at ambient, cryogenic (e.g., liquid nitrogen temperature), or intermediate temperature (e.g., 150° C.-600° C.) to induce martensite (e.g., α′-martensite and/or ε-martensite) formation and subsequent annealing at elevated temperatures to reverse deformation-induced martensite into ultra-fine grained austenite.” Moreover, the prior art teaches [0044] “The microstructure of the steel material of the present disclosure is mainly an austenite phase from the viewpoint of improving the impact wear resistance. To obtain the effect, the austenite phase is set to 90 % or more in area ratio. If the austenite phase is less than 90 % in area ratio, the impact wear resistance is deteriorated, and further, the ductility, toughness, workability, and the toughness of a welded portion (heat-affected zone) are also deteriorated. Therefore, the austenite phase in the microstructure is 90 % or more and may be 100 % in area ratio.” which is a substantially identical structure. Moreover, the prior art and instant steel has substantially identical composition. Therefore, one skilled in the art would expect the steel of the prior art to have a strength as claimed in the instant claim. Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). As Applicant has not provided any objective evidence to conclude that the prior art would not have the recited properties, the rejection is maintained.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, it is noted that the Applicant has not pointed any errors with the rejection. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733