DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owens et al. (US 2017/0184288) in view of Jost et al. (US 2020/0149989).
Regarding to claims 1, 14-15:
Owens discloses a luminaire system (FIG. 1, element 10) comprising:
a lighting unit being adapted to provide light in the visible spectrum (FIG. 1, elements 11-15),
a housing (FIG. 1, element 25) containing at least a part of the lighting unit, the lighting unit and the housing being parts of a luminaire,
a sensing means positioned at or within the housing adapted to sense a functional parameter indicative of a functional characteristic of the luminaire that is influenced by water ingress into at least a part of an inner structure of the luminaire, the functional characteristic referring to a characteristic of the luminaire that is functionally related to a function of the luminaire, the sensing means being adapted to sense the functional parameter of the luminaire at different operational states of the lighting unit (paragraph [0042]: One or more sensors may monitor the conditions and transmits the monitored data at fixed time intervals and/or occurrence of a triggering event, such as turning on and/or off of the lamination device), the functional parameter is indicative of a pressure within at least a part of the housing of the luminaire and of a temperature of the luminaire (FIG. 5: One or more sensors 39. Paragraph [0036]: One or more sensors may include a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor); and
a water ingress determination unit being adapted to determine water ingress into at least a part of the inner structure of the luminaire, the water ingress determination unit being further adapted to utilize a functional relation between an amount of at least one of water or water vapor present in the inner structure of the luminaire and the functional parameter (paragraph [0039]: With the humidity sensor, the moisture (water vapor) in the housing is measured for further indicating a potential of short-circuiting, presence of particulates like dust).
Owens however does not teach wherein the water ingress determination unit being adapted to determine water ingress into at least a part of the inner structure of the luminaire based on the sensed functional parameter.
Jost et al. discloses a method for detecting a water ingress into an interior of a housing (Abstract), wherein the housing comprises a humidity sensor and a temperature sensor (FIG. 1: Humidity sensor and temperature sensor), and wherein the water ingress is determined based on the data from the humidity sensor and the temperature sensor (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Owens’s method to determine the water ingress based on the detected humidity and temperature to obtain a rapid detection with an ingress of very small water quantities into the housing as taught by Jost et al. (paragraph [0013]).
Owens also discloses the following claims:
Regarding to claim 2: wherein the water ingress determination unit is adapted to determine the water ingress into at least a part of an inner structure of the luminaire by comparing a sensed functional parameter with a predetermined baseline of this parameter (paragraph [0039]: The humidity or moisture is compared to a threshold level).
Regarding to claim 3: wherein the baseline of the functional parameter is predetermined based on a parameter model that is adapted to model the functional parameter of the lighting unit with respect to at least one of an ambient environmental condition, an operational, and a water ingress state of the lighting unit (It is conventional that the ambient environment condition (such as rain, snow, ice) should have an effect on the humidity level inside the light housing. Please see Ball et al. (WO 2009/131624) “changes in the environment and vehicle operation can cause moisture to condense on the interior of the lamp enclosure” (first paragraph, first page)).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owens et al. (US 2017/0184288) in view of Jost et al. (US 2020/0149989) and further in view of Jiang (US 2020/0193796).
Owens et al., as modified, discloses the claimed invention as discussed above except wherein the water ingress determination unit is adapted to determine water ingress into at least a part of an inner structure of the luminaire based on a comparison of the functional parameters determined at different operational states of the lighting unit.
Jiang discloses a humidity alarm monitoring system for a stage light comprising a humidity sensor located inside the chamber of the stage light (Abstract), wherein the sensed humidity is compared to different thresholds at different operational states of the stage light (FIG. 2 shows the comparison of the detected humidity level to the second threshold and the first threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to modify the determination in Owens’ light fixture, as modified, to compare the detected humidity level to multiple different thresholds to provide alarm and protection of the light fixture due to excessive humidity as taught by Jiang (paragraph [0023]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAM S NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853