DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 22-40 in the reply filed on 20 NOVEMBER 2025 is acknowledged. Claim 41 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 20 NOVEMBER 2025. Status of Claims Applicant has elected Group I : Claims 22-40 for prosecution. In the claim set, Claims 22-40 have been elected and have been considered on the merits below. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04 APRIL 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification/Abstract The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is not within a range of 50 to 150 words in length . A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length . The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: A “storage module configured to store and maintain a stored data set…” in claim 22; the “storage module is configured to store and maintain one or more threshold values…” and “storage module are configured to allow adjustment…” in claim 24. A “module” does not connote any particular structure. A storage module is not defined in the specification or disclosure. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim limitation “storage module configured to store and maintain a stored data set…” in claim 22; the “storage module is configured to store and maintain one or more threshold values…” and “storage module are configured to allow adjustment…” in claim 24” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of store and maintain and allow adjustment. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the functions of the storage module. The use of the term “storing” is not adequate structure for performing the maintaining function because it does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which store and maintain and allow adjustment structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Applicant may: (a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; (b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)). If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either: (a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of storing, maintaining and allowing. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Dependent claims 23-40 are also rejected under 112(b) and 112(a) as being dependent directly or indirectly from Claim 22. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 22 -34 and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BOOM, DE 10 2009 021 614 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 04 APRIL 2023 . An English Machine Translation of the DE document above has been obtained by the Examiner, attached in the previous Office Action has been used as the basis of the rejection below. Regarding Claim 22 , the BOOM reference discloses a apparatus for manipulating one or more microdroplets into an array of microdroplets using EWOD or oEWOD , page 3, “While droplet motions may be achieved…”, page 6 “For droplet movements , a digital microfluidic droplet movement (DMF)…” , the apparatus comprising: a) a chip for manipulating microdroplets , Figure 4, Claims, DMF chip, comprising: i ) a plurality of electrowetting pathways leading to the array of microdroplets , Figure 4, paths 22, 22A-C ; and ii) one or more waste electrowetting pathways leading to a waste outlet , Figure 4, page 5, “Further you can, especially in the presorting… individual droplets are now in more or less analyzed, divided and presorted droplet without cells of interest can be sorted out early and the waste…” ; b) a detector for detecting one or more microdroplets with a distinct characteristic, said detector configured to obtain a measured dataset relating to the distinct characteristic of the detected microdroplet , page 4, “In Analysis analyzes can be performed in any way be such. B. by means of photodetectors…or fluorescence (fluorescence correlation spectroscopy, Recognize FCS)… . and “While the sorting process…the system also self-learning can be optimized”; c) a storage module configured to store and maintain a stored dataset associated with the characteristic measured by the detector , page 5, “While the sorting process…the system also self-learning can be optimized”, it is interpreted by the Examiner that a system that is self learning is run by a computer/processor which inherently has a storage module for storing data…for self-learning ; and d) a controller configured to receive the stored dataset from the storage module and the obtained measured dataset to determine whether the measured dataset is associated with a desired or undesired characteristic; wherein the controller is configured to select one or more microdroplets having a measured dataset that is associated with an undesired characteristic and cause the one or more selected microdroplets to move into a waste electrowetting pathway; and wherein the controller is configured to control the motion of the microdroplets along and/or between the electrowetting pathways such that the movement of the microdroplets is synchronized, page 5, “The detection principle is in 3 exemplified…”. 12. Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 23 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the chip further comprises a first region for receiving and manipulating microdroplets and a second region comprising the array, wherein the plurality of electrowetting pathways can facilitate the movement of microdroplets between the first and second regions , Figure 4 . ; Claim 24 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the stored dataset of the storage module is configured to store and maintain one or more threshold values associated with the characteristic measured by the detector and the controller is configured to select one or more microdroplets having a measured dataset that is equal to, above or below the one or more threshold values; and wherein the detector and storage module are configured to allow adjustment of a threshold value during operation , page 5 “Farther it may be beneficial…”, page 7, “In another embodiment of the invention according to 4…The second analysis step finds in the illustrated and therefore…” and “The Architecture of DMF chips…”, it is interpreted by the Examiner that liquid droplets with non-interest populations…they are separated.; C laim 25 : wherein the 25. (New) The apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the controller is configured to select one or more undesired microdroplets and cause the one or more selected microdroplets to move from the electrowetting pathways into a waste electrowetting pathway, page 5, “Further you can, especially in the presorting… individual droplets are now in more or less analyzed, divided and presorted droplet without cells of interest can be sorted out early and the waste…” and “While the sorting process…the system also self-learning can be optimized”. ; Claim 26 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the controller is configured to select one or more undesired microdroplets and cause the one or more selected microdroplets to move from the first region or the electrowetting pathways into a waste electrowetting pathway before it reaches the second region, page 5, “Further you can, especially in the presorting… individual droplets are now in more or less analyzed, divided and presorted droplet without cells of interest can be sorted out early and the waste…” and “While the sorting process…the system also self-learning can be optimized”. ; Claim 27 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the controller is configured to select one or more undesired microdroplets and cause the one or more selected microdroplets to move from the first or second region into a waste electrowetting pathway, page 5, “Further you can, especially in the presorting… individual droplets are now in more or less analyzed, divided and presorted droplet without cells of interest can be sorted out early and the waste…” and “While the sorting process…the system also self-learning can be optimized”. ; Claim 28 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the controller is configured to select one or more undesired microdroplets and is further configured to: a) move one or more undesired selected microdroplets to a space between electrowetting pathways; b) move one or more undesired selected microdroplets across one or more electrowetting pathways; and c) move one or more undesired selected microdroplets to a waste outlet via a waste electrowetting pathway, page 4, “Because of parallelization of sorting operations…” and page 6, “In order to avoid or at least largely…” and “The operation of this exemplary arrangement…”. ; Claim 29 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the detector is a bright-field imaging detector configured to detect microdroplets and to obtain the measured dataset, page 4, “In Analysis analyzes can be performed in any way be such. B. by means of photodetectors…or fluorescence (fluorescence correlation spectroscopy, Recognize FCS)…. ; Claim 30 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the distinct characteristic measured by the detector is one or more of the following: the number of objects contained therein; microdroplet diameter; fluorescence or transmittance of light through the microdroplet, page 4, “In Analysis analyzes can be performed in any way be such. B. by means of photodetectors …or fluorescence (fluorescence correlation spectroscopy, Recognize FCS)…; Claim 31 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the detector is configured to detect the fluorescence of one or more desired microdroplets, page 5, “For Special applications can be added to the system…”, page 7, “The detection principle is in 3 exemplified…”. ; Claim 32 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the electrowetting pathways and/or waste electrowetting pathways are created by a series of moving sprite patterns, Figure 4, see exploded views on side. ; Claim 33 : wherein apparatus according to claim 32, wherein each individual sprite controls a single droplet, Figure 4 , right zoomed in figures . ; Claim 34 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein centre to centre spacing between the electrowetting pathways is at least the average droplet diameter, Figure 4, see spacing of pathway, motion paths example 22A, and see droplet within the path with particles, figures on side of Figure 4. ; Claim 36 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the number of electrowetting pathways is 2 to 250, Figure 2 and 4, see number of pathways in Figures. ; Claim 37 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein two or more electrowetting pathways propagate from the first region at differing angles, page 3, ‘While droplet motions may be achieved to some extent…In electrowetting forces are generated by non-symmetric contact angles…”. ; Claim 38 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein two or more electrowetting pathways propagate from the first region at substantially the same angle, Figure 2 and 4. ; Claim 39 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein one or more electrowetting pathways is configured to split to form two or more electrowetting pathways, Figure 2. ; and Claim 40 : wherein the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein one or more of the microdroplets comprises a biological or chemical material which is one or more of the following: a biological cell, cell media, a chemical compound or composition, a drug, an enzyme, a bead or a microsphere optionally bound to a surface and/or to a second material, page 4, ‘Under “biological Objects…”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOOM, DE 10 2009 021 614 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 04 APRIL 2023. Regarding Claim 35 , the BOOM reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to the average spherical microdroplet diameter is 20 to 200 m m . The BOOM discloses the size of the particles can be determined, page 4, “In Analysis analyzes can be performed …Particle size determination, according to Coulter principle…”. While BOOM disclose the particle size can be determined, the size of the microdroplets do not have patentable weight as it is the material worked upon the device and does not define the device structurally. Thus, “[ i ] nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). The size of the droplet diameter does not have any patentable weight of the device itself. The device of BOOM is directed to a microfluidic device for treating droplets and particles suspended in the droplet, abstract, page 3, “The The Invention relates to…”. BOOM also teaches it is beneficial to measure the droplet size, the number of biological objects per droplet and analysis settings to define in a presorting stage to have optimal droplet size values and the cell number / droplets given in for the system. For example, a parameter can be of high cell count / droplets at low percentages of cells of interest and a simultaneously large total population and low Cell count / droplets at high concentration of interest cells, page 5 “Farther it may be beneficial…”. Since the device of BOOM teaches a device to treat droplets and particles on a micro fluidic device, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention such that the material worked upon, the microdroplets, have an average spherical microdroplet diameter is 20 to 200 m m as the device is a digital micro fluidic circuit, so it is possible based on the percentage distribution of those present in the total population cells of interest have optimal droplet size values and the cell number / droplets given in for the system, page 5 “Father it may be beneficial to measure the droplet size…”. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT CHRISTINE T MUI whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3243 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-Th 5:30 -15:30 EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT LYLE ALEXANDER can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-1254 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. CTM /CHRISTINE T MUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797