Applicant’s election of group I in the reply filed on 01/15/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 17-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/15/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 9, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 111270841A.
As to claim 1, CN’841 teaches (see Fig 1, English Translation pages 1-8) an automated coating material laying system comprising: a floor laying robot [FLR] (floor construction robot) configured to lay a coating material on a floor; and a docking station [DS] (robot drive chassis 1 with a feeding device 2) configured to fill the FLR with the coating material for use by the FLR for coating the floor (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, CN’841 discloses (see Example 3 on page 7) the configuration for laying a coating material includes detecting by the FLR of uneven parts of the floor (laser transmitter assembly 4) and determining appropriate application of the coating material to ensure a levelled out coated floor (means for detecting feedback flatness of bottom surface 4).
As to claims 6-7, CN’841 teaches a coating application assembly (CAA) for distributing and spreading the coating material (see Fig 7 and English translation page 6 and claim 1 for roller assembly 52), wherein the CAA includes a spreader roller (roller 52) positioned such that an edge side of the spreader roller is near flush with the edge of the FLR capable of spreading and rolling of the coating material against the edges of the floor (see Fig 7).
As to claim 9, in CN’841 the coating materials capable of including one or more of: epoxies (see English Translation pages 1-2 for epoxies and paint materials), urethanes, polyaspartics, methyl methacrylates (MMA), micro-topping, micro-cement, primers, sealers, decorative overlays, cement screeds, paint, vinyl esters, and polymer floor coatings (Telleria et al also teaches sealant, primer, paint, cement and polymer, see para {0069], [0074], [0132] and [0146], in any event no structure is added by claiming the material worked upon).
Regarding claim 10, CN’841 teaches (see Fig 7) an attachment mount (bracket 51) for attached tools (roller 52).
As to claim 14, in CN’841 DS (robot drive chassis 1 with a feeding device 2) is configured to determine a coating route to be followed by the FLR to lay a coating material on the floor in an area (see Abstract and English translation pages 4-5, for epoxy floor driving, path planning, navigation, coordination control, power supply and distribution function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111270841A in view of Telleria et al (US 2020/0269439A1).
CN’841 teaches means for detecting but lacks teaching the FLR includes one or more cameras and a mapping sensor as claimed. However, Telleria et al teaches (see para [0015] and [0084-0085]) one or more cameras for providing visual data for detection of uneven parts of the floor and a mapping sensor including one or more claimed elements for performing simultaneous localization and mapping in a floor area to be coated (see also Fig 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include one or more cameras and a mapping sensor as claimed in CN’841 to evaluate the surface before, during and after the task as taught by Telleria et al (see para [0015]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111270841A in view of Telleria et al (US 2020/0269439A1) as applied to claim 4 and further in view of Zhao et al (US 2011/0222754A1) and Nielsen et al (US 2011/0117272A1).
CN lacks teaching the claimed types of mapping sensors. However, Telleria teaches of mapping sensor including one or more of a LIDAR sensor, laser scanner, laser range finder, RADAR, 3D camera, time of flight sensor, scattered light sensor, 2D camera, optical beacons, laser positioning systems, theodolites, GPS, Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) sensor, and optical flow sensor (see para [0015], [0055], [0084-0085], [0127]). Zhao et al teaches inspection system including ultrasound scanning machine (see para [0018]). Nielsen et al also teaches (see para [0024] and [0145]) sensors and transmitter with an ultra-wide band (UWB) and radio signals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include one of the claimed types of mapping sensors in CN’841 because the use of these sensors is commonly known in the art in scanning a surface as taught by Telleria et al, Zhao et al or Nielsen et al.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111270841A in view of GB 2514405A.
As to claim 8, CN’841 teaches wheels (rollers 52), but lacks teaching spikes. GB’405 teaches (see Fig 1) a robot spraying device including wheels and the wheels include spikes (16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include spikes on the rollers of CN’841 to improve traction and allow the wheels/rollers to overcome obstacles that might be encountered (see page 8).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111270841A in view of Telleria et al (US 2020/0269439A1) and GB 2514405A and Dahlstrom (US 2020/0002000A1).
As to claim 11, CN’841 teaches the use of trowel and UV (see English Translation pages 1-2), and attached tools including a roller (52, see Fig 7), but lacks teaching a spike roller, squeegee, a polisher, a concrete helicopter and vacuum cleaner. Telleria et al teaches tools include one or more of: a roller, squeegee, plastering-trowel, magic trowel and a vacuum cleaner (see para [0063] and [00148]. Dahlstrom teaches a roller, a squeegee concrete helicopter (aerial operation system, see para [0016] and [0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include tools including squeegee, a polisher, a concrete helicopter and vacuum cleaner in CN’841to affect the surface in different ways as taught by Telleria et al (see para [0063]). With respect to the spike roller, GB’405 teaches (see Fig 1) a robot spraying device including wheels and the wheels include spikes (16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include spikes on the rollers of CN’841 to improve traction and allow the wheels/rollers to overcome obstacles that might be encountered (see page 8).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111270841A in view of Dahlstrom (US 2020/0002000A1) and Eidmohammadi et al (US 2015/0297052).
CN’841 teaches a coating material filling tank (2, 21, Figs 1 and 4), but lacks teaching a refill the FLR with coating materials and a charging robot configured to charge or recharge the FLR or to continuously charge or recharge the FLR while performing floor coating. Dahlstrom teaches (see Fig 1) a technique filling or emptying the on-board reservoir by portions of a base station (124). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to refill the coating tank in CN’841 to supply the coating material as needed. With respect to charging/recharging the FLR, Eidmohammadi et al teaches charging and recharging of the FLR (cleaning robot) with rechargeable batteries (see para [0008] and [0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to continuously charge/recharge while the FLR is performing floor coating in CN’841 to continuously supply power or supply the power as needed.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111270841A in view of Telleria et al (US 2020/0269439A1) and Dahlstrom (US 2020/0002000A1).
CN’841 lacks teaching DS configured to determine amounts of coating material required to be filled, the area to start the coating process, a coating route for coating around an obstacle and leveling out gradients or correcting irregular surfaces, and/or the speed of the FLR in each part of the coating route. Telleria et al teaches DS (automated surface finishing system 100 with a robot) configured to determine one or more of: the coating materials and amounts of coating materials required to be filled into the FLRs, where in the area to start the coating process, when to refill the coating material in the FLR, a coating route for coating around an obstacle, the end point of the coating process, the number of FLRs required, where additional coating materials are needed for leveling out gradients or correcting irregular surfaces, and/or the speed of the FLR in each part of the coating route (see para [0070] and [0076] for the surface evaluation measurements made by a surface evaluation system 1000 before and after a finishing step to evaluate and tune the finishing parameters and setting path parameters such as feed speed, thickness of coating applied). Dahlstrom also teaches (see para [0042]) command and control system controlling the action of configured to determine one or more of: the coating materials and amounts of coating materials required to be filled into the FLRs, where in the area to start the coating process, when to refill the coating material in the FLR, a coating route for coating around an obstacle, the end point of the coating process, the number of FLRs required, where additional coating materials are needed for leveling out gradients or correcting irregular surfaces, and/or the speed of the FLR in each part of the coating route (command and control system may cause aerial vehicle 100 to repaint such deficient areas). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine amounts of coating material required to be filled, the area to start the coating process, a coating route for coating around an obstacle and level out gradients or correcting irregular surfaces, and/or the speed of the FLR in each part of the coating route in CN’481 to ensure that the finished surface has a uniform appearance as taught by Dahlstrom (see para [0007]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111270841A in view of Dahlstrom (US 2020/0002000A1).
CN’841 teaches (see English Translation on page 2) painting process generally using the paint coating or trowel or roller for rolling on the ground, in the coating slurry is the slurry scraper for reverse scraping on the ground surface painting process typically used to finish reverse roller for rolling on the ground, but lacks teaching teaches the coating route includes traversing an area by the FLR while laying the coating material, interspersed with a reverse traversal during which no coating material is laid. However, Dahlstrom teaches (see para [0042]) passing over the area with another spray for optimal paint application and coverage and adjust the paint flow or paint pressure or require the aerial vehicle 100 to complete an additional “pass” over the area with another spray for optimal paint application and coverage. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to intersperse with a reverse traversal during which no coating material is laid, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the FLR along the coating route including traversing an area by the FLR while laying the coating material, interspersing with a reverse traversal during which no coating material is laid as desired in order to paint the specified surface of the substrate for optimal paint application and coverage as taught by Dahlstrom (see para [0042]).
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/