Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokoe (U.S. 5,718,957).
Yokoe teaches laminated fluororesins used to make tubular articles. (Abstract and Column 3 lines 5-20). The laminated plies anticipate the fluororesin film because they are formed as sheets and then plasma treated and then deposited on a thermoplastic or rubber. (Column 7 lines 25-40). Additionally, in the as filed specification Applicant states the film can be any shape. (¶[0033] as-filed specification) Tubular film is a shape.
ETFE (ethylene-tetrafluoroethylene) copolymer is exemplified by Yokue which anticipates Claim 1.
Yokoe teaches multiple plasma treated fluororesins in the example including Example 7 which has a F/C ratio of 1.02 and an O/C ratio of 0.13. There are no other atoms reasonably suggested to be present in these fluororesin layers and, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the total of atoms on the surface is 100 atom % of F, O and C.
Therefore, the sum of the surface atoms is F + C + O = 100 and dividing through by C gives: F/C + 1 + O/C = 100/C. In Example 7 the F/C ratio is 1.02 and the O/C ratio is 0.13. Solving for C yields ~ 46.5 atom % of C and back solving for F (1.02 * 46.5 = F) F = ~47.43 atom % and O, similarly, is ~ 6.045 atom %. The above demonstrates how the ratios recited can be derived from Yokoe.
Similarly, Example 14 has an F/C ratio of 1.4 and a O/C ratio of 0.13. Using the above analysis, C = 39.53 atomic %, F = 55.33 atomic % and O = 5.13 atomic % which anticipates Claim 1.
The above 0.13 O/C (Example 14) ratio anticipates Claim 2 and Claim 3.
The Example 14 F/C ratio of 1.4 anticipates Claim 1 and Claim 4.
Yokue is silent on the CIE color space values of Claims 7-9, however, every one of Applicant’s example which have the F/C ratios of as indicated above, or in the range of Claims 4-Claim 6, and O/C ratios in the range above have the recited CIE values. Therefore, when tested accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the plies of Yokue, in particular that of Example 7 and/or Example 14, of Yokue, must have the recited CIE values. This anticipates Claim 7, Claim 8 and Claim 9.
With respect to Claim 10, Yokue teaches adhesion at least 1.2 N/mm (Abstract) and the claimed range is 4.0 N /19 mm or more (which is 0.21 N/mm or more). The testing condition as not detailed as recited, however, as the adhesion value is well beyond the claimed limitation, the fluororesin layers (plies) have the recited F, O and C atom % and are plasma treated similar to Applicant’s plasma treating, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested when tested appropriately, in particular Example 7 and Example 14, the adhesion under the recited test conditions must be within the recited range. This anticipates Claim 10.
Ply thickness exemplified is 0.25 mm = 250 microns which anticipates Claim 12.
In Column 9 lines 45-55, Yokue teaches the above fluororesin plies can be applied to rubber sheaths molded from a variety of rubbers or thermoplastic. The molded outer plies of rubber or thermoplastic rubber material are sufficiently specific to anticipate the fluororesin being a film or coating on the surface of a molded rubber of Claim 13 and Claim 14’s molded body (Yokue’s fuel hose assembly molded body). See also extrusion molding taught by Yokue for the thermoplastic or rubber ply taught in Column 3 lines 60-65.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoe (U.S. 5,718,957).
Yokoe is applied as above under §102.
In Example 14, Yokoe reads over the fluororesin recited by Claim 15 but for the O/C limitation of 0.08 or less.
Yokoe teaches the O/C is not less than 0.08. (See Abstract and Column 3 lines 24-55)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Yokoe, in particular that of Example 14, such that the O/C ratio after surface treatment is not less than 0.08. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose O/C of 0.08 for the above modification in order to drive the O/C ratio as low as possible in practicing Yokoe. O/C of 0.08 reads over the range of 0.08 or less recited by Claim 15.
There is no evidence to suggest 0.08 O/C is has significantly different properties than the O/C in the vicinity which Yokoe already teaches.
A prima facie case of obviousness is established when a claimed narrow range is within a broad prior art range or partially overlaps or touches the broad range. In Re Harris, 409 F.3d at 1341; In Re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1329-30
As above in the §102, ETFE (ethylene-tetrafluoroethylene) copolymer is exemplified by Yokue which reads over Claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks filed February 20, 2026 have been fully considered but are not sufficient to move the application to allowance. Applicant has placed narrow range of F/C ratio into Claim 1 and Claim 4 than previously recited and made Claim 11 dependent on new Claim 15. The grounds of rejection have been modified to address these changes. This was necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant’s remarks filed February 20, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Yokoe is improperly applied because the claimed ratios are not permitted by the plys Applicant argues are required by Yokoe. This argument is not persuasive. The rejection is specifically directed to Example 14’s plys which are not comparative. Example 14 is considered inventive and, therefore, cannot be considered to compromise the principle of Yokoe. Therefore, Applicant’s remarks to mischaracterize the broader disclosure of Yokoe are not persuasive. Yokoe teaches in Column 3 lines 24-55 layers in which the F/C ratio ois between 0.8 and 1.8 and also O/C is not less than 0.08. This undermines Applicant’s characterization of the reference and their remarks to the rejection compromising the principle of Yokoe. Furthermore, Applicant has not even addressed Example 14 in their remarks.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher M Rodd/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766