DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment file 8/7/2026. Claims 1, 4, 6 are amended; claims 2 and 8 are cancelled; claim 11 is withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected invention; and claims 12-14 are added. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-7 and 9-14 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano et al (JP 2014-080507 A).
It is noted that JP 2014-080507 A is in Japanese. A copy of the machine translation into English is provided with Office action mailed 5/8/2026. All line/paragraph citations in the body of rejection below are to the English translation unless explicitly stated.
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 14, Nakano et al disclose surface modified fluororesin film (overview) which reads on fluorine resin film has a surface subjected to a modification treatment in present claim 1. The composition of surface modified fluoropolymer film in example 3 (based of PTFE) was analyzed by ESC and found to be 56% F, 41% C, 2.4% O and 0.1% N (paragraph 0058). Hence, F/C ratio is calculated to be about 1.36 and proportion of oxygen at the surface based on sum of carbon, oxygen and fluorine at the surface is calculated to be about 2.4 (i.e., reads on proportion of oxygen at the surface based on sum of carbon, oxygen and fluorine at surface in present claim 3). Fluororesin means a polymer containing a fluorine atom and examples include ethylene-tetrafluoro ethylene copolymer (paragraph 0028) which reads on ETFE in present claim 1.
Nakano et al differ with respect to the F/C ratio; and silent with respect to intensity of the peak at 2.84 eV of 0.8 or less when an intensity of maximum peak is set to 1.
However, regarding F/C ratio, it is the examiner’s position that instantly claimed F/C ratio of 1.33 and that taught by Nakano et al i.e. 1.36 are so close to each other that the fact pattern is similar to the one in In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) or Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) where, despite a slight difference in the ranges, court held that such a difference did not “render the claims patentable,” or, alternatively, that “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed range and prior art range do not overlap, but are close enough so that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.
Regarding intensity of the peak at 2.84 eV of 0.8 or less when an intensity of maximum peak is set to 1, given that composition of surface modified fluoropolymer film is based on ETFE (see example 6) as in present invention and fluororesin in example 3 has an F/C ratio close the presently claimed ratio and proportion of oxygen at the surface falling within the presently claimed ranges in dependent claim 3, one skilled in art prior to the filing of present application would have a reasonable basis to expect an intensity of a peak at 284 eV chemical shift to be 0.80 or less when an intensity of a maximum peak is set to 1 as in present claim 1 and 0.15 or less as in present claim 14, absent evidence to the contrary. Since PTO cannot conduct experiments, the burden of proof is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 4-6 and 12-13, Nakano et al teach that mean energy of the irradiated ions is preferably 0.5 keV or more and 1.8 keV or less. When the mean energy is lower than 0.5 keV, effect of the ion beam radiation is small and a desired composite cannot be obtained. On the other hand, when the average energy is higher than 1.8 keV, the film is deformed or colored (paragraph 0035). Therefore, it is the Office’s position that mean energy of the irradiated ions may be optimized to obtain the desired absolute value of b* of CIE1976 (L*, a*, b*) color space specified in JIS Z 8781-4 2013 at the surface of less than 3.1 as in present claim 4, an absolute value of a difference Δb* between a value of b*1 at the surface and a value of b*0 in a white reflectance standard specified in JIS Z 8781-4: 2013 of 0.45 or less as in present claim 5, and an absolute value of a* of CIE1976 (L*, a*, b*) color space specified in JIS Z 8781-4 2013 at the surface of 0.05 or less as in present claim 6, |Δb*| at the surface subjected to the modification treatment is 0.20 or less as in present claim 12; and |b*| at the surface subjected to the modification treatment is 2.8 or less as in present claim 13, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 7, Nakano et al teach that as the number of ions per unit area to be irradiated to the fluorine resin film, an amount necessary for the desired adhesive strength may be selected. When the amount is less than 1013 ions/cm2, the required surface modification cannot be obtained and the adhesive strength is lower (paragraph 0036). Therefore, it is the Office’s position that it is within the scope of one skilled in art prior to the filing of present application to optimize the number of ions per unit area to be irradiated to obtain the desired surface adhesiveness of 4.0 N/19 mm or more expressed as a peel strength evaluated by a 1800 peel test as in present claim 7, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 9, Nakano et al teach that thickness of the film is preferably 10 microns to 150 microns (paragraph 0028) which overlaps with the thickness in present claim 9. Case law holds that when the range of instant claims and that disclosed in prior art overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 10, Nakano et al teach that surface modified fluororesin film is bonded to a rubber (overview). When the surface-modified fluororesin film RF is press-bonded to rubber, the surface-modified fluororesin film is superposed on an unvulcanized rubber sheet or the like mixed with a crosslinking agent so that the surface-modified surface is always exposed and is vulcanized and molded by a molded die (paragraph 0038) which reads on coating film for coating a surface of rubber-containing substrate included in a molded rubber body in present claim 10. Additionally, it is the Office’s position that it is an intended use of the surface-modified fluororesin film of Nakano et al.
Response to Arguments
The objections, and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in paragraph 10, of Office action mailed 5/8/2026, are withdrawn in view of the amendments and/or applicant arguments and/or new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office action, necessitated by amendment.
Applicant's arguments, filed 8/7/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, general thrust of the applicant argument is that present claim encompasses an ETFE film having a modified surface in which adhesion is improved while coloration is suppressed (see example 3 and 4 of present application). PTFE data in Nakano cannot be directly applied to ETFE because both have different original surface compositions before modification. The F/C ratio in example 3 of Nakano is similar to that of examples 3 and 4 of present invention only because the original PTFE film has a lower carbon proportion and higher fluorine proportion than ETFE. Nakano’s data indicate that ion beam treatment significantly decreases the F/C ratio of the fluororesin surface.
In response, no data is presented to show that F/C ratio in Nakano with surface modified ETFE would not be similar to surface modified PTFE, except to state that the original surface morphology is different with respect to higher content of carbon and lower fluorine content than in PTFE. Given that the EFTE and PTFE are mentioned as possible fluororesins and in an exemplary embodiment surface modified fluororesin exhibits F/C ratio close to the presently claimed range, it is the Office’s position that surface modified ETFE would exhibit similar F/C ratio, absent evidence to the contrary. Additionally, since there is more carbon content and less fluorine content in ETFE compared to PTFE, and carbon increases at a lower rate compared to decrease in fluorine by ion beam sputtering, one skilled in art would have a reasonable basis for ETFE surface modified film to have a F/C ratio falling within the presently claimed range in comparison to PTFE under similar conditions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KARUNA P REDDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764