DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-15 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, from line 1 to line 10, delete “wherein said cable comprises……vinyl acetate; and”
Each of Claims 2-15 and 17, line 1, “A process” should be changed to --The process--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smedberg et al. (WO-2010/112333) in view of Sinclair et al. (9951753).
Smedberg et al. discloses a process for transmitting power comprising: using a cable; and allowing power to flow through the cable, wherein the cable comprises a conductor which is surrounded by at least an inner semiconductive layer, an insulation layer, and an outer semiconductive layer (not shown, see page 2) in thar order, wherein the insulation layer (composition B = b1+b2) comprises at least 60 wt% of a low density polyethylene (LDPE) homopolymer (b1, see claims 11 and 12 of Smedberg) and 10 to 35wt% of a LDPE copolymer (b2, polar copolymer) with an alkyl acrylate or vinyl acetate (see page 6, lines 4-13 and claim 8 of Smedberg), and wherein the cable does not comprise a moisture impervious layer (i.e., Smedberg does not disclose the cable comprising such layer) (re-claims 1 and 20).
Smedberg et al. does not disclose the process comprising connecting the cable between an offshore energy generator and a substation located onshore, wherein the cable is buried under the sea (re-claims 1, 17, and 20).
Sinclair et al. discloses a process for transmitting power comprising connecting an offshore energy generator (200) to a substation (214) located onshore using a cable (power line 210/212), wherein the cable is buried under the sea (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the cable of Smedberg et al., in the process of transmitting power, between an offshore energy generator and a substation located onshore, wherein the cable is buried under the sea, as taught by Sinclair et al., to provide power transmission therebetween since the cable of Smedberg et al. has improved physical properties, aging characteristics (page 1).
Re-claims 2 and 20, Smedberg et al. discloses the inner and outer semiconductive layer independently comprise a LDPE copolymer with alkyl acrylate or vinyl acetate and carbon black (composition A, page 1, last two lines, page 4, last paragraph, and page 8, lines 8-9).
Smedberg et al. also discloses that the inner semiconductive layer and the outer semiconductive layer have the same chemical composition (re-claim 3); the inner and outer semiconductive layers comprise an ethylene alkyl acrylate (EAA) or ethylene vinyl acetate (EVA) copolymer (see claim 8 of Smedberg) (re-claim 4); the component (ii, b2 in Smedberg) of the insulation layer is an EAA copolymer (see claim 8 of Smedberg) (re-claim 5); the EAA copolymer is an ethylene methyl acrylate or ethylene butyl acrylate (see claim 8 of Smedberg) (re-claim 6); the polyunsaturated comonomer of the LDPE copolymer component (i) is a straight carbon chain with at least 8 carbon atoms and at least 4 carbons between the non-conjugated double bonds, of which at least one is terminal (pages 4-6) (re-claim 7); the polyunsaturated comonomer of the LDPE copolymer component (i) is C8- to C14-non-conjugated diene (pages 4-6) (re-claim 8); the insulation layer, inner and outer semiconductive layer comprise peroxide (page 22, lines 3-5) (re-claim 9); the cable of Smedberg et al. is a wet design cable since it comprises structure and material as claimed (re-claim 11); the inner and outer semiconductive layer independently comprise (composition A) at least 50 wt% of the LDPE copolymer with alkyl acrylate or vinyl acetate, 25-48 wt% of carbon black (see claim 9 of Smedberg) and 0.1-2.5 wt% of a peroxide (page 21, lines 12-16) and the insulation layer further comprises 0.1-2.5 wt% of a peroxide (page 21, lines 1-16) (re-claim 12); the cable is a crosslinked cable (re-claim 13); the crosslinked cable of Smedberg et al. would have the Weibull Eb value of at least 55 kV/mm after 1 year when measured on a 20 kV cable as described under “Determination methods” since it comprises structure and material as claimed (re-claim 14); and the crosslinked cable of Smedberg et al. is an AC power cable since it comprises structure and material as claimed (re-claim 15).
Re-claim 10, although not disclosed in Smedberg et al., it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use aluminum for the conductor of Smedberg et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable since aluminum is well-known in the art for being used as electrical conductors.
Claims 1-15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinclair et al. in view of Smedberg et al.
Sinclair et al. discloses a process for transmitting power comprising connecting an offshore energy generator (200) to a substation (214) located onshore using a cable (power line 210/212); and allowing power to flow through the cable, wherein the cable is buried under the sea (Figs 1-2). Sinclair et al. does not disclose the cable as claimed. Smedberg et al. discloses a process for transmitting power comprising using a cable (power cable, page 1, line 6); and allowing power to flow through the cable, wherein the cable comprises structure and material as claimed, see the above rejection. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the cable (210/212) of Sinclair et al. with the cable taught by Smedberg et al. since the cable of Smedberg et al. has improved physical properties (page 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicant again points to the Sutton reference and states that the cables disclosed in Sutton are similar to the cables disclosed in Smedberg, cables made from crosslinked polyethylene (XLPE) with no radial water barrier. A skilled person would have no reason to use the cable disclosed in Smedberg for the cable of Sinclair.
Examiner would disagree. Sutton discloses that XLPE insulation is known for being used in power cables, but not suitable for used as offshore cables. Sutton does not disclose the insulation composition disclosed in Smedberg. Sutton does not teach os suggest that the composition as disclosed in Smedberg is not suitable for being used in offshore cables. Examiner would like to bring applicant’s attention to page 1 of Smedberg, the invention of Smedberg is directed to a power cable and concerns with the problem of reduced life-time when installed in an environment where the cable is exposed to water, the same problem mentioned in Sutton. Smedberg’s invention, with particular compositions for the insulation and the semiconductive layers, is to improve the ageing characteristics of the cable. Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have motivated to use the cable of Smedberg for transmitting power in the process of Sinclair.
Applicant states that if one skilled in the art started with Sinclair, one would not have a particular reason to turn to Smedberg. Examiner would disagree. As stated in the above, since the cable of Smedberg has such improved characteristics, one skilled in the art would have motivated to use the cable of Smedberg in the process of Sinclair.
Applicant argues that the terms “underground” and “high humidity” point to locations which inherently is fresh water. There is no suggestion that the cable in Smedberg might be suitable offshore. As the cables of Smedberg were only tested in deionized water with limited or zero mineral content, it cannot be assumed that the cables are also suitable to be used in salt water.
Examiner would disagree. Smedberg discloses the cable comprising structure and material as claimed. If the cable of Smedberg is unsuitable for subsea use; then the claimed cable is also unsuitable for subsea use, connecting an offshore generator and a substation located onshore.
It is noted that applicant has not presented any arguments with respect to the structural difference between the cable disclosed in Smedberg and the claimed cable. Instead, applicant concentrates on the intended use of the cable. It has been held that “An intended use or purpose usually will not limit the scope of the claim because such statements usually do no more than define a context in which the invention operates.” Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Also, it has been held that the examiner's burden of establishing prima facie obviousness is satisfied by a showing of structural similarity between the claims and prior art; it does not require a showing of some suggestion or expectation in the prior art that the structurally similar subject matter will have the same or a similar utility as that discovered by the applicant. In re Dillon, 16 USPQ 2d 1897.
Applicant argues that “the Sutton teaching is that the skilled person should try to avoid water ingress with a conventional coating. There is no consideration that cables defined in claim 1 can be used as wet design cables without the make-up of the insulation layer being significantly important. There is no suggestion to use a cable which does not comprise a moisture impervious layer.”
Examiner would disagree. The insulation layer as “being significantly important”, as argued by the applicant, is disclosed in Smedberg. Applicant has not presented argument regarding the structural difference between cable diclosed in Smedberg and cable as claimed. The fact that Smedberg discloses, along with other features, the insulation having the composition as claimed, and that the cable has no moisture impervious layer; the cable of Smedberg can be used as offshore cable.
Regarding the Honeywell Int'l Inc. V. Mexichem Amanco Holding S.A. case, in this case, the primary reference does not teach the use of HFO-1234yf with any particular lubricant, much less a PAG lubricant. Secondary reference suggests the use of PAG lubricant with HFC, not HFO-1234yf.
However, in this instant application, there is no structural or material difference between the claimed cable and cable of Smedberg. The cable of Smedberg is NOT modified to alter structure or material thereof.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841