Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim references ‘the electrically insolating layers’. This feature lacks antecedent basis in the claims. The claims previously reference electrical insulation layers but not electrically insolating [sic] (or insulating) layers. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification in the instant application is drawn to a system and method for enhancing visualization of an eye image through mapping of an image in various color spaces. The specification, drawings, and abstract filed do not support any of the claims as set forth. As this is the case, the instant claims do not comply with the written description requirement as none of the subject matter therein is described in the specification that was filed with the application and thus the disclosure as filed does not reasonably convey to those of skill in the relevant art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high frequency” in claim 1-20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high frequency” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The relevant frequencies that applicant considers to be ‘high frequency’ are not defined in the original disclosure and as this is the case the scope of said frequencies is unclear as the term ‘high’ is purely relative.
The term “substantially aligned” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear to what term or degree the flakes must be aligned with the first and second surfaces to be considered ‘substantially aligned’. As this is the case, the metes and bounds of the claim are currently unclear.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “less than 400 micrometers”, and the claim also recites “less than 300 micrometers” and “less than 200 micrometers” which are the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 20 recites the broad recitation “no greater than 0.12”, and the claim also recites “no greater than 0.07” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kou in WO2019082013.
Regarding Claim 1: Kou teaches the creation of a high frequency power inductor material having first and second opposed major surfaces (See Paragraph 9). The material of Kou comprises a high temperature binder, which may be a polymer binder such as an epoxy resin (See Paragraph 9 and 30). The material further comprises a plurality of multilayered flakes dispersed in the polymeric binder. The flakes comprise at least two layer pairs, wherein each layer pair comprises a layer of ferromagnetic material and a dielectric electrical isolation layer so that the ferromagnetic layers are electrically isolated from each other by dielectric layers, and wherein the multilayered flakes are substantially aligned parallel to the first and second major surfaces (See Paragraph 9).
Kou teaches in the examples that the flakes used to create such a composite have a lateral size of less than 500 micrometers (See Example 1) and greater than 120 micrometers (See Example 2). Kou thus teaches a useful lateral size range from 120 to 500 microns. Those of ordinary skill in the art would be aware that all of the particles within such a range have a size from 120-500 micrometers and thus the average size (the size at 50% of a total cumulative distribution by volume) must also be between 120 and 500 micrometers. Kou thus teaches an overlapping range of average lateral flake sizes used in such a composition with the claimed range. Overlapping ranges have been held to present a prima facie case of obviousness over the prior art. Those of ordinary skill in the art would only need to select from the overlapping portion of the average lateral flake size to arrive at the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 2: Kou teaches that the flake thickness may be about 6 microns (See Paragraph 40) or up to 10 micrometers (See Paragraph 28).
Regarding Claim 3: Kou teaches that the flakes may have an aspect ratio of up to 100:1 (See Paragraph 35).
Regarding Claim 4: Kou teaches that the ferromagnetic material comprises crystalline ferromagnetic material (See paragraph 20).
Regarding Claim 5-6: Kou teaches that the ferromagnetic material is a NiFe soft magnetic alloy (See Paragraph 20).
Regarding Claim 7: Kou teaches that each of the ferromagnetic material layers have a thickness of up to 1000 nm (See Paragraph 22).
Regarding Claim 8: Kou teaches that the electrically insulating layers have a thickness of at least 5 nm (See Paragraph 27).
Regarding Claim 9: Kou teaches that the flakes are present in the material in an amount of at least 10 percent by volume (See Paragraph 29).
Regarding Claim 10: Kou teaches that the polymer resin may be a polyhydric phenol, acrylate, benzoxazine, cyanate ester, polyimide, polyamide, polyester, polyurethane, or epoxy resins (See Paragraph 30).
Regarding Claim 11: Kou teaches that the composite has a relative permeability of at least 20 (See Paragraph 31).
Regarding Claim 12: Kou teaches that the saturation magnetic induction is at least 0.2 Tesla (See Paragraph 32).
Regarding Claim 13: Kou teaches that the magnetic resonance frequency is in the range from 800-1400 megahertz (See paragraph 33).
Regarding Claim 14: Kou teaches that the magnetic coercivity is not greater than 10 oersted (See Paragraph 34).
Regarding Claim 15: Kou teaches that the material as set forth has a skin depth, wherein the ferromagnetic layer thickness is less than the skin depth. Kou is silent in terms of the skin depth at a particular electrical excitation of 20 MHz; however, as the materials of Kou are the same as those claims in terms of composition and structure, the layer thickness of Kou would necessarily be less than the skin depth at the claimed electrical excitation at 20 MHz. Materials of the same composition and structure must necessarily have the same properties as those properties stem directly from the composition and structure.
Regarding Claims 16-17: Kou teaches that the material has a core loss density of less than 10,000 KW/m3 at 20 MHz and maximum induction of 10 mT and less than 210000 kW/m3 at 20 MHz with a maximum induction of 15 mT. Kou is silent in terms of the magnetic DC bias field being from 0 to about 2500 A/m under the testing conditions; however, as the materials of Kou are the same as those claims in terms of composition and structure, the core loss density would be the same as that which is claimed under such a DC bias field. Materials of the same composition and structure must necessarily have the same properties as those properties stem directly from the composition and structure.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kou in WO2019082013 in view of Rutz in US5063011.
Regarding Claim 18: Kou teaches a means for making a high frequency power inductor material, wherein the method comprises-
providing a plurality of multilayered flakes, comprising at least two layer pairs, wherein each layer pair comprises a layer of ferromagnetic material and a dielectric electrical isolation layer so that the ferromagnetic layers are electrically isolated from each other by dielectric layers,
and mixing (dispersing) the multilayered flakes with a polymeric binder such as epoxy (See paragraph 17 and Example 1-2). The flakes are described as being dispersed within the binder by Kou. As this is the case, the process of mixing meets the claimed ‘dispersing’ step.
Kou is silent in terms of surface-treating the multilayered flakes with a phosphoric acid solution prior to dispersing.
However, the treatment of Fe-based magnetic materials with phosphoric acid is well known in the art and is taught by Rutz. Rutz teaches that iron based magnetic materials must maintain insulation between the iron domains in order to retain their properties and reduce core losses (See Field of Invention). Rutz teaches that insulation may be provided by creating an Iron phosphate layer. Rutz teaches that iron-based magnetic materials may be treated with phosphoric acid by mixing the iron based magnets with phosphoric acid and heating at a temperature from 300 to 700F. By doing this, an insulating layer of iron phosphate is formed on the surface of the powder (See Column 2, Line 63- Column 3, Line 31). This insulation provides isolation for the iron domains particularly when further combined with thermoplastic materials (See Column 3, Line 45-52). Those of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to apply the phosphoric-acid treatment step of Rutz to the multilayered flakes of Kou.
While those of ordinary skill in the art would consider the lateral surface of the flakes of Kou to be electrically insulated by the dielectric layers, they would not consider the surfaces orthogonal to the lateral surface to be electrically insulated as the iron-based magnetic layers extend to the orthogonal surface of the composite-flakes. Thus those of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to passivate these surfaces of the plurality of multilayered flakes with conventional means, such as with the phosphoric acid treatment of Rutz prior to mixing with a binder. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references based on the desire to ensure that the magnetic domains within the material were isolated, which improves and maintains properties and reduces core losses according to Rutz.
Regarding Claim 19: Rutz teaches that the magnetic material is surface-treated by mixing the material with a phosphoric acid solution (See Paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3). The mixture may then be heated to an elevated temperature from 300-700F (See Column 3, Lines 16-31).
Regarding Claim 20: Kou in view of Rutz are silent in terms of the distribution range of loss tangent Tan(theta) being less than 0.12; however, as the material of Kou in view of Rutz is of the same composition and structure as that which is claimed, it would necessarily have the same level of distribution range of loss tangent Tan(theta) of less than 0.12. Materials of the same composition and structure must necessarily have the same properties as those properties stem directly from the composition and structure.
Conclusion
Examiner note: The issue with the as-filed specification is noted. The examiner reviewed the petition on 5/21/24 which corrected the priority information on the ADS; however, the issue remains that the specification filed is that of an international application to a different invention and different inventors. The examiner has reached out to OPAP to determine means to address/remedy the situation. The examiner will contact applicant’s attorney if such a remedy is identified. The examiner has treated the application based upon the current state of the IFW. This action treats the claims on the merits under USC 101, 112, 102, and 103. The issue with the specification, as described above, is addressed on the merits with a 112(a) rejection.
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734