DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 12/18/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-10 and 12-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/18/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are currently pending in the application, of claims 6-10 and 12-21 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-4 are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pekala et al. (WO 2005/0699272 A2).
The Examiner has provided original document of WO 2005/0699272 A2 (PCT/US2005/001654). The citation of the prior art in this rejection refer to this document.
Regarding claim 1, Pekala teaches a freestanding film (i.e., freestanding polymer film) (40) (paragraph [0013]) comprising a pattern (i.e., ribs) (46) having directionality on at least one surface (i.e., upper major surface) (42) (paragraph [0031]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 2, Pekala teaches the patter is a concave-convex pattern (as shown in figure 3B below) (paragraph [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pekala et al. (WO20050699272A2).
Regarding claim 3, Pekala teaches the patter has an interval of 25-500µm (paragraph [0031]-[0032]) which overlaps the claimed range. It is noted that Pekala differ in the exact same interval range as recited in the instant claim however, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the interval range of Pekala overlap the instant claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It has been held in the courts that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 4, Pekala teaches the pattern has a depth of 5% to 100% of the thickness of the freestanding film (i.e., polymer film 40 preferably has a film thickness 50 that is between about 50 microns and about 500 microns, and ribs 46 preferably have a rib height 52 that is between about 5% and about 100% of film thickness 50) (paragraph [0031]-[0033]) which overlaps the claimed range. For instance, a 5% of 50µm is 2.5µm and 100% of 50µm is 50µm. It is noted that Pekala differ in the exact same depth range as recited in the instant claim however, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the depth range of Pekala overlap the instant claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It has been held in the courts that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ferreira et al. (U.S. Patent 7,682,738). Ferreira teaches a freestanding film (i.e., spacer) (20) comprising a pattern (i.e., ridges) having directionality at least in one surface (see figure 3) (C20:L855).
Correspondence
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723