DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: H, H-A, and M-A (Figure 6).
The drawings are objected to because the handwritten labels are very difficult to decipher in all of the figures.
Claim Objections
Claims 32 and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities: in Claim 32 line 2, “provide straight wire rods” should read “provide the straight wire rods”, as this limitation has already been recited in the claim; and in Claim 35, in line 2 “such that individual movement profile” should read “such that an individual movement profile”, and in line 5 “a transport unit” should read “the transport unit”, as this limitation has already been recited in line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a clamping device configured to clamp a portion of the wire rod against a peripheral portion of a bending form” in Claims 21 and 25.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: clamping device 347 comprises clamping element 348, shown in Figures 4A and 4B, for performing the claimed function of clamping a portion of the wire rod against a peripheral portion of a bending form arranged on the bending head.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-24, 26, 28-35, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 22, the limitation “the bending head” does not have antecedent basis in the claim. Examiner notes that Claim 21 positively recites a bending head, but Claim 22 does not depend from Claim 21.
Regarding Claim 23, the limitations “the bending head” and “the passage direction” do not have antecedent basis in the claim. Examiner notes that Claim 21 positively recites a bending head, and Claim 22 positively recites a passage direction, but Claim 23 does not depend from either Claim 21 or Claim 22.
Regarding Claim 24, the limitation “the passage direction” does not have antecedent basis in the claim. Examiner notes that Claim 22 positively recites a passage direction, but Claim 24 does not depend from Claim 22.
Regarding Claim 26, the limitation “the bending head axes” does not have antecedent basis in the claim.
Regarding Claim 28, the scope of the limitation “wherein the transport system comprises a plurality of transport units each having a workpiece-receiving device that receives a single wire rod” is unclear. Claim 20 recites that the transport system has a plurality of workpiece-receiving devices for receiving a single wire rod; are the workpiece-receiving devices on the transport units recited in Claim 28 meant to be the same workpiece-receiving devices as those recited in Claim 20 (i.e. further limiting them by reciting their location on the transport units), or are the workpiece-receiving devices of Claim 28 separate and additional to those of Claim 20?
Regarding Claim 29, the scope of the limitation “wherein the transport system comprises a transport path” is unclear. Claim 20 positively recites a transport path as part of the transport system; is the transport path of Claim 29 meant to further limit the transport path of Claim 20 (i.e. by reciting the linear motor unit and guide rail structures), or is this a separate, additional transport path? Further, the scope of the limitation “a transport unit” in line 4 is unclear. Is this meant to refer to one of the plurality of transport units as recited in Claim 28, or is this a separate transport unit?
Regarding Claim 30, the limitation “the workpiece” does not have antecedent basis in the claim. For examination purposes it will be assumed that “the workpiece” is meant to refer to the wire rod being worked upon by the claimed bending machine.
Regarding Claim 31, the scope of the limitation “the workpiece-receiving device of a transport unit” is unclear. Claim 20 recites a transport system having workpiece-receiving devices; is the transport unit recited in Claim 31 part of the transport system of Claim 20, or is this a separate feature? Further, the limitation “the movable holding element” in line 5 does not have antecedent basis in the claim. For examination purposes, it will be assumed that this limitation is meant to reference the at least one movably mounted clamping element recited in lines 2-3.
Regarding Claim 32, the limitation “the movable clamping element” does not have antecedent basis in the claim. Examiner notes that Claim 31 positively recites at least one movably mounted clamping element, but Claim 32 does not depend from Claim 31.
Regarding Claim 33, the scope of the limitation “a bending station” is unclear. Is this meant to be one of the at least one bending station recited in Claim 20, or is this an additional bending station? Further, the scope of the limitation “the workpiece-receiving device of a transport unit, moved into the machining position, acts as a functional component of a workpiece-receiving device” is unclear. Firstly, Claim 20 recites a transport system having workpiece-receiving devices; is the transport unit recited in Claim 33 part of the transport system of Claim 20, or is this a separate feature? Secondly, what is meant by “the workpiece-receiving device…acts as a functional component of a workpiece-receiving device”? Is this meant to recite that there are two different workpiece-receiving devices, one of which being part of the transport unit, which cooperate to receive a wire rod for a bending operation? Lastly, “the machining position” does not have antecedent basis in the claim.
Regarding Claim 34, the scope of the limitation “a bending station” is unclear. Is this meant to be one of the at least one bending station recited in Claim 20, or is this an additional bending station? Further, the scope of the limitation “the workpiece-receiving device of a transport unit” is unclear. Claim 20 recites a transport system having workpiece-receiving devices; is the transport unit recited in Claim 34 part of the transport system of Claim 20, or is this a separate feature? Lastly, the limitations “the machining position” and “the clamping device of the workpiece-receiving device” do not have antecedent basis in the claim.
Regarding Claim 35, the scope of the limitation “the travel speed of [the] transport unit is reduced on transition from a rectilinear portion to a curved portion of the transport path” is unclear. Firstly, this limitation appears to be describing a method step that is being performed, and not further limiting the structure of the transport unit or control unit (i.e. “reducing the travel speed”). Secondly, it is not clear whether the claim is positively reciting rectilinear and curvilinear portions of the transport path, or if the transport unit must only be capable of having its travel speed reduced upon the transition between these two type of segments. Lastly, the limitation “the travel speed” does not have antecedent basis in the claim.
Regarding Claim 38, the limitation “the supplied wire” does not have antecedent basis in the claim.
Examiner note: no art has been applied to Claim 35; however, the claim as currently set forth is not deemed allowable and Applicant is required to clarify in compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112 so as to facilitate a clear understanding of the claimed invention and the protection sought.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-30 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton et al., hereinafter Burton (US 2005/0145003, provided by Applicant), in view of Wolf (US 2010/0180653, provided by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 20, Burton discloses (Figures 1-6) a bending machine (bending system 10) that produces complex bent parts from straight wire rods (tubes 2; [0001] lns 2-3) comprising: a computer-numerical control unit (computer 14); a transport system that transports successive wire rods along a transport path ([0031] lns 1-9, [0032] lns 5-12: the path that grippers 50 holding tubes 2 follow while being carried in the x and y directions by side rails 42a and crossbeams 46 is interpreted as the transport path), wherein the transport system has a plurality of workpiece-receiving devices (disks 62 containing gripper jaws 54) each for receiving a single wire rod ([0032] lns 13-15); and a plurality of workstations arranged along the transport path, wherein at least two of the workstations are configured as bending stations (bending stations 20/22/24/26).
Burton does not disclose that at least one bending station comprises a rotary draw bending unit, but does state that various modifications may be made to the disclosed bending machine without departing from the scope of the invention ([0049] lns 3-7). Wolf teaches (Figures 1-2) a bending machine that produces bent parts from straight wire rods (workpiece 3; [0036] lns 6-7) comprising a bending station comprising a bending unit configured as a rotary draw bending unit (rotary-draw bending die 1). The rotary draw bending unit of Wolf is advantageous because it has a very compact design, a high degree of bending freedom, and is suitable for both left and right bending, so it can be adaptable for many different bending geometries ([0010] lns 1-6, [0014] lns 1-6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bending machine disclosed by Burton such that at least one bending station comprises a bending unit configured as a rotary draw bending unit, as taught by Wolf, in order to make the bending machine more adaptable for different bending geometries.
Regarding Claim 21, with reference to the combination of Burton and Wolf, Wolf teaches (Figures 3 and 5A-F) the rotary draw bending unit (rotary-draw bending die 1) has a bending head (bending mandrel 7) rotatable about a bending head axis (central axis A) by a bending drive ([0043] lns 1-3) and movable parallel to the bending head axis by a feed drive ([0061] lns 1-3), wherein the rotary draw bending unit also has a machine axis (pin 24) for actuation of a clamping device (clamping unit 5 with clamp die 12) configured to clamp a portion of the wire rod (workpiece 3) against a peripheral portion of a bending form (bending groove 8) arranged on the bending head in the configured state ([0053] lns 1-4, [0068] lns 5-12: clamp die 12 on lever 15 is pivoted about the axis through pin 24 in order to move into the clamping position shown in Figures 5C-D).
Regarding Claim 22, with reference to the combination of Burton and Wolf, Wolf teaches (Figure 1) the rotary draw bending unit (rotary-draw bending die 1) additionally has a linear axis for displacement of the bending head (bending mandrel 7) parallel to a passage direction (y direction) of the wire rod (workpiece 3; [0062] lns 3-5: the bending die is displaceable in the y direction, i.e. parallel to the passage direction of the workpiece 3).
Regarding Claim 23, with reference to the combination of Burton and Wolf, Wolf teaches (Figure 1) the rotary draw bending unit (rotary-draw bending die 1) additionally has a linear axis for displacement of the bending head (bending mandrel 7) perpendicularly to a passage direction (y direction) of the wire rod (workpiece 3; [0061] lns 1-5).
Regarding Claim 24, with reference to the combination of Burton and Wolf, Wolf teaches (Figure 1) the rotary draw bending unit (rotary-draw bending die 1) additionally has a rotational axis for rotation of a clamping device (clamping unit 5) of the bending unit about the passage direction (y direction; [0062] lns 1-4: the bending die 1, which includes the clamping unit 5, is rotatable about the longitudinal axis of workpiece 3, i.e. the passage direction).
Regarding Claim 25, Burton discloses (Figure 6) at least one bending station (bending stations 20/22/24/26) has a base bending unit with a bending head (bending head 30) rotatable about a bending head axis by a bending drive ([0040] lns 3-5: bending stations 20/22/24/26, including their respective bending heads 30, are rotatable about an axis) and movable parallel to the bending head axis by a feed drive ([0040] lns 17-22), wherein no machine axis is provided for actuation of a clamping device configured to clamp a portion of the wire rod against a peripheral portion of a bending form arranged on the bending head (no clamping device is provided for clamping a portion of tube 2 against a peripheral portion of bending dye 34).
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Burton and Wolf teaches that the bending head axes of a rotary draw bending unit (Wolf, rotary-draw bending die 1) and a base bending unit (Burton, bending stations 20/22/24/26 with bending heads 30) are oriented transversely or orthogonally to one another (Wolf, [0062] lns 3-4: rotary-draw bending die 1 may be rotated about the longitudinal axis of workpiece 3, which would result in the bending head axis A of bending mandrel 7, i.e. the bending head, being oriented transversely or orthogonally to the bending head axes of bending stations 20/22/24/26 of Burton).
Regarding Claim 27, Burton discloses (Figure 5B) bending stations directly following one another along the transport path are at least partly arranged at different intervals from one another (based on Figure 5B, the distance between bending stations 20 and 22 is larger than the distances between bending stations 22 and 24 and bending stations 24 and 26).
Regarding Claim 28, Burton discloses (Figures 4 and 6) the transport system comprises a plurality of transport units (grippers 50) each having a workpiece-receiving device (disks 62 containing gripper jaws 54) that receives a single wire rod (tube 2), wherein each transport unit is movable along the transport path by the control unit (computer 14) according to an individual movement profile ([0042] lns 1-6: movements of grippers 50 and their constituent components are controlled by computer 14, [0044]-[0047]: each gripper 50 has an individual movement profile based on the bending needs of the desired end product and its location in the bending machine, e.g. between the loader 90 and bending station 20, between successive bending stations, and between bending station 26 and unloading shelf 8).
Regarding Claim 29, Burton discloses (Figures 1-3 and 6) the transport system comprises a transport path with at least one linear motor unit ([0031] lns 5-9) and guide rails (side rails 42a) that guide movement of the transport units (grippers 50), and that the transport path is a closed transport path ([0032] lns 5-12: the movements of grippers 50 are constrained by the crossbeams 46 and the side rails 42a of gantry 40, therefore the transport path is considered to be a closed transport path).
Examiner note: regarding the limitations “the transport units are movable magnetically along the guide rails via the linear motor unit under control by the control unit” and “a transport unit has no carrying drive for progress along the transport path”, the use of the phrase “and/or” with these limitations indicates that these features are not necessary in order to meet all the requirements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 30, Burton discloses (Figure 4) components of the workpiece-receiving device (gripper jaws 54 contained in disk 62) in contact with the workpiece (tube 2) are mounted rotatably about a receiving axis of the workpiece-receiving device ([0030] lns 7-16, [0046] lns 6-12: gripper jaws 54, which contact tube 2, are mounted within disk 62, which is driven to rotate about an axis).
Regarding Claim 32, Burton discloses (Figures 4, 5B, and 6) one of the workstations is a loading station (loader 90) that takes straight wire rods (tubes 2) from an upstream unit ([0044] lns 1-2: tubes 2 are loaded onto loader 90, i.e. loader 90 takes tubes 2 from an upstream source) to provide the straight wire rods to the bending machine ([0044] lns 3-9), the loading station comprises an actuating device (actuator 99), controllable via the control unit (computer 14; [0042] lns 8-9) to actuate the movable clamping element (pickup jaws 98a) of a transport unit (pickup bar 98; [0044] lns 3-5: pickup bar 98 transports tube 2 to the first gripper 50 and is thus considered to be a transport unit), and/or that one of the workstations is an unloading station (fourth bending station 26) for transferring bent parts (completely bent tube 2d) from the bending machine to a downstream unit (unloading shelf 8), and wherein the unloading station comprises an actuating device (pneumatic or hydraulic cylinders 66) controllable via the control unit to actuate the movable clamping element (gripper jaws 54) of a transport unit (fifth gripper 50; [0042] lns 1-6).
Regarding Claim 33, Burton discloses (Figure 6) that a bending station (bending stations 24/26) has no workpiece-receiving device to receive a wire rod for a bending operation ([0039] lns 1-8: bending stations 20/22 include slip jaws 36, i.e. a workpiece-receiving device, but bending stations 24/26 do not).
Examiner note: regarding the limitation “a bending station is configured such that the workpiece-receiving device of a transport unit, moved into the machining position, acts as a functional component of a workpiece-receiving device to receive a wire rod for a bending operation”, the use of the phrase “and/or” indicates that this limitation is not necessary in order to meet all the requirements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 34, Burton discloses (Figures and 6) a bending station (bending stations 20/22) comprises a clamping device (slip jaws 36) configured to act on the workpiece-receiving device (disk 62 containing gripper jaws 54) of a transport unit (gripper 50), moved into the machining position such that machining forces occurring during a bending operation are received by the clamping device of the bending station ([0039] lns 7-10: slip jaws 36 resist wobbling of the tube 2 during a bending operation, which is caused by machining forces), and the clamping device of the bending station reinforces a clamping force exerted on the wire rod (tube 2) by the clamping device of the workpiece-receiving device ([0039] lns 9-12: slip jaws 36 provide a second support point, in addition to the gripping point at gripping jaws 54, during a bending operation, thereby reinforcing the clamping force on the tube 2).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton in view of Wolf as applied to Claim 20, and further in view of Tomo et al., hereinafter Tomo (US 5,291,771).
Regarding Claim 31, Burton discloses (Figure 4) the workpiece-receiving device (disk 62) of a transport unit (gripper 50) comprises a clamping device with at least one movably mounted clamping element (gripper jaws 54) and an actuating element (pneumatic or hydraulic cylinders 66) coupled therewith, wherein by actuation of the actuating element, the clamping device can be switched between a locked configuration and an unlocked configuration ([0030] lns 13-14, [0042] lns 5-6: the open and closed positions of gripper jaws 54 are interpreted as the unlocked and locked configurations, respectively).
Burton does not disclose that the movable holding element is elastically preloaded into the locked configuration by a spring arrangement. In the same field of endeavor, Tomo teaches (Figures 6-8) a bending machine that produces complex bent parts from straight wire rods (col. 1 lns 6-7; Figure 2 shows complex bent part), wherein the workpiece-receiving device (rotary body 116) of a transport unit (robot hand 111) comprises a clamping device (wire gripping devices 114/115 with movable clamp 122 and fixed clamp 123) with at least one movably mounted clamping element (movable clamp 122) and an actuating element (air cylinders 125/126) coupled therewith, wherein by actuation of the actuating element, the clamping device can be switched between a locked configuration and an unlocked configuration (col. 2 lns 49-53: the gripping and releasing positions are interpreted as the locked and unlocked configurations, respectively), and the movable holding element is elastically preloaded into the locked configuration by a spring arrangement (col. 2 lns 46-49, 54-56). This workpiece-receiving device performs the same functions as that disclosed by Burton, i.e. gripping/releasing and rotating a wire rod (col. 7 lns 37-40) and moving the wire rod into engagement with a bending station for a bending operation (col. 3 lns 15-22). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the workpiece-receiving device of a transport unit in the bending machine disclosed by Burton and modified by Wolf such that the movable holding element is elastically preloaded into the locked configuration by a spring element, as taught by Tomo, as this is a known configuration of a workpiece-receiving device which performs the same functions of manipulating the wire rod and moving it into engagement with bending stations for bending operations.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton in view of Wolf as applied to Claim 20, and further in view of Weigmann et al, hereinafter Weigmann (WO 2018/202612). For text citations of Weigmann, refer to the machine translation provided as Non-Patent Literature.
Regarding Claim 36, Burton discloses (Figures 5B and 6) measuring geometry of the bent part (completely bent tube 2d) after machining by the bending station (bending station 26; [0048] lns 2-15: the finished products are inspected after the final bending operation to make sure that they conform to the desired geometry, which inherent involves measuring the geometry of the bent part), and the control unit (computer 14) is configured to process measurement signals from the measuring system and control subsequent bending operations at the bending station and/or bending operations at a downstream bending station depending on the measurement signals ([0048] lns 2-8, 18-20: computer 14 can be configured to monitor and control the bending operations to correct any deviations from the desired product geometry).
Burton is silent to a measuring station having a measuring system for measuring the geometry of the bent part after machining by the bending station. Weigmann teaches (Figures 1-2) a bending machine (bending machine 100) that produces bent parts from straight wire rods (workpiece 110; [0045] lns 4-6) comprising a computer-numerical control unit ([0047] lns 1-6), a bending station comprising a bending unit (bending head 180), and at least one measuring station (optical measurement system 200) with a measuring system (digital camera 250) that measures geometry of the bent part after machining by the bending station ([0054] lns 1-3), and the control unit is configured to process measurement signals from the measuring system and control subsequent bending operations at the bending station and/or bending operations at a downstream bending station depending on the measurement signals ([0022] lns 1-10). As there must be some sort of measuring system present in order to measure the geometry of the bent parts produced by the bending machine of Burton in order to ensure their compliance with the desired product geometry, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bending machine disclosed by Burton and modified by Wolf such that the workstations include at least one measuring station with a measuring system, as taught by Weigmann, in order to perform the function of measuring the geometry of the bent part after machining by the bending station.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton in view of Wolf as applied to Claim 20, and further in view of Speck (US 7,721,582)
Regarding Claim 37, Burton as modified by Wolf discloses a wire-processing system that produces complex bent parts from wire comprising a bending machine that produces bent parts with complex bends from the straight wire rods, wherein the bending machine is as claimed in Claim 20 (see discussion regarding Claim 20). The modified Burton is silent to a rod make-up machine upstream of the bending machine. In the same field of endeavor, Speck teaches (Figure 1) a wire-processing system (bending machine 10) that produces complex bent parts from wire (wire 12) comprising: a rod make-up machine (infeed and straightening unit 14) that produces straight wire rods (workpiece 42) of pre-definable length from wire material (col. 5 lns 44-46); and a bending machine (bending stations 20/22) downstream of the rod make-up machine that produces bent parts with complex bends from the straight wire rods (col. 8 lns 56-60). Including a rod make-up machine allows for wire to be fed continuously from a coil (col. 8 lns 23-25), automating the wire rod production process (col. 8 lns 26-38, col. 9 lns 43-44), and eliminate a step of manually loading the wire rods into the bending machine (col. 5 lns 46-55, col. 9 lns 43-44), all of which improve the efficiency of the wire-processing system. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire-processing system disclosed by Burton and modified by Wolf such that it also comprises a rod make-up machine that produces straight wire rods of pre-definable length from wire material upstream of the bending machine, as taught by Speck, in order to improve the efficiency of the system.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton in view of Wolf and Speck as applied to Claim 37, and further in view of Haussmann (EP 3663015, provided by Applicant). For text citations of Haussmann, refer to the machine translation provided as Non-Patent Literature.
Regarding Claim 38, with reference to the combination of Burton, Wolf, and Speck, Speck teaches (Figure 1) the rod make-up machine (infeed and straightening unit 14) has an infeed device (infeed module 30) that infeeds the wire (wire 12) from a material store (col. 5 ln 24), a straightening device (straightening module 28) that straightens the wire before entry into the infeed device (col. 5 lns 25-30), and a cutting device (cutting module 40) that separates the wire rod (workpiece 42) from the supplied wire (col. 5 lns 42-46).
The combination of Burton, Wolf, and Speck does not teach the rod make-up machine has an integrated stripping device. In the same field of endeavor, Haussmann teaches (Figure 1) a wire-processing system (machine 10) comprising a rod make-up machine that produces straight wire rods (wire blanks R) of pre-definable length from wire material ([0021] lns 1-4), and a bending machine (bending device 20) downstream of the rod make-up machine, wherein the rod make-up machine has an infeed device (feed device 12) that infeeds the wire from a material store (endless wire D) and a cutting device (cutting device 14) that separates the wire rod from the supplied wire, and the rod make-up machine processes insulated wire and has an integrated stripping device (stripping device 16) that strips portions of the insulated wire before separation of the wire rod from the supplied wire ([0015] lns 1-3). The inclusion of an integrated stripping device allows the wire-processing system to be able to process insulated wire into end products having ends which can be electrically connected or joined ([0015] lns 4-6), thereby providing more flexibility in types of products that can be made. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rod make-up machine of the wire-processing system disclosed by Burton and modified by Wolf and Speck such that it processes insulated wire and has an integrated stripping device that strips portions of the insulated wire before separation of the wire rod from the supplied wire, as taught by Haussmann, in order to improve the flexibility of the system in types of products that can be produced.
Conclusion
/TERESA A GUTHRIE/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725