DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 8 June 2023.
Claims 15-17 are added.
Claims 1-17 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the electric motor" and “the pump” in lines 3-4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purposes of examination, examiner interprets claim 10 to be dependent from claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20190184096 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a dispensing device (Lee: Fig. 2, injection port 30) for dispensing a product (medicinal solution; para. 0038), comprising: a reservoir (Fig. 3, comprising medicine bottle 70 and outer cap 60) configured to contain the product (para. 0038) is provided with a collar (Fig. 3, inner cap 50) delimiting an opening (Fig. 3, vertical through hole 82), a membrane (Fig. 3, sealing membrane 52) closing the opening (Fig. 3, membrane 52 is shown closing opening 82) and having an inner side (Fig. 3, side of membrane 52 facing bottle 70) oriented towards the reservoir (Fig. 3, 52 faces 70) and an outer side (Fig. 3, side of 52 facing needle part 40 and opposite of 70) opposite to the inner side (52 faces 70), a securing ring (Fig. 3, packing holder 90) for securing the membrane (52) to the collar (Fig. 3, membrane 52 is coupled to holder 90 and cap 50, shown as being between the two; para. 0023), the membrane (52) being configured to switch from a first stable position (Fig. 3, membrane 52 is in the first position), in which the membrane (52) bulges out in a first direction (Fig. 3, membrane 52 bulges towards 70 into hole 82; para. 0038) such that it protrudes into the reservoir (70 and 60) and closes the reservoir (Fig. 3, membrane 52 is shown closing off and sealing hole 82; para. 0038), into a second stable position (Fig. 4, membrane 52 is in the second position), in which the membrane (52) bulges out in a second direction opposite to the first direction (Fig. 4, membrane 52 bulges towards needle part 40) so as to be pierced by a needle (Fig. 4, needle 44 punctures through membrane 52; para. 0038) disposed on the outer side (52 faces 40) of the membrane (52).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the device above, wherein the needle (44) is configured to connect the reservoir (Fig. 4, needle 44 fluidly connects to bottle 70 when membrane is in second position; para. 0038) to a product distribution tubing (Fig. 1, inlet 14 is hermetically welded to holder tube 45, thus connecting to needle 44; para. 0034) and configured to be distant from the membrane (52) when the membrane (52) is in the first stable position (Fig. 3, needle 44 is away from membrane 52 in this position; para. 0038) and to pass through the membrane (52) when the membrane (52) is in the second stable position (Fig. 4, needle 44 punctures through membrane 52; para. 0038).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the device above, wherein the needle (44) is fixedly mounted with respect to the reservoir (Fig. 3, needle 44 is mounted on inclined surface 49a, which is fixed with respect to the bottle 70; para. 0033).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches a system (Fig. 2, comprising injection port 30 and pouch container 10) for dispensing a product (para. 0038) comprising the device above and a product dispensing unit (10).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches an assembly kit (Fig. 1) for a system (30 and 10) for dispensing a product (para. 0038), comprising the device above and a product dispensing unit (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Klemm et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20200276389 A1), hereinafter Klemm.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the device above.
Lee does not expressly disclose the membrane is made of an elastomer material.
Klemm teaches a membrane (Fig. 10, membrane 30) that is made of an elastomer material (membrane 30 can be made from a bromobutyl rubber; para. 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the membrane of Lee such that it is made of an elastomer material as taught by Klemm in order to allow the membrane to be biocompatible and inert to the medicament (Klemm: para. 0028).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the device above, wherein the membrane (52) comprises a central part (Fig. 3, protruding part 53) that is deformable between the first stable position (Fig. 3) and the second stable position (Fig. 4).
Lee does not expressly disclose the central part of the membrane has a thickness between 0.3 mm and 2.5 mm.
Klemm teaches a central part of a membrane (Klemm: Fig. 11, region of membrane 30 that flexes) that has a thickness between 0.3 mm and 2.5 mm (membrane comprises a thickness ranging from 10 um to 2mm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made such that the central part of the membrane has a thickness of 0.3 mm to 2.5 mm as taught by Klemm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. As such, the thickness of the membrane of Klemm is dependent on the physical characteristics of the medicament (Klemm: para. 0032).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches the device above.
Lee does not expressly disclose the membrane is made of bromobutyl-based material and/or chlorobutyl-based material.
Klemm teaches a membrane (Klemm: 30) is made of bromobutyl-based material and/or chlorobutyl-based material (membrane 30 can be made from a bromobutyl rubber; para. 00247.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the membrane of Lee such that the membrane is made of bromobutyl-based material and/or chlorobutyl-based material as taught by Klemm in order to allow the membrane to be biocompatible and inert to the medicament (Klemm: para. 0028).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Gillespie et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20060178631 A1), hereinafter Gillespie.
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the device above, wherein the membrane (52) has a peripheral part (Fig. 3, upper part of the membrane 52 between holder 90 and cap 50; para. 0023) compressed between the securing ring (90) and the collar (50) of the reservoir (70 and 60).
Lee does not expressly disclose that the peripheral part is compressed axially.
Gillespie teaches a peripheral part (Gillespie: Fig. 5, outer portion of upper seal 74) of a membrane (Fig. 5, upper seal 74) that is compressed axially (Fig. 5, seal 74 forms a hermetic seal against sealing surface 80 and is maintained in sealing contact via needle hub 83; para 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the membrane of Lee such that the peripheral part is compressed axially as taught by Gillespie in order to ensure a hermetic seal (Gillespie; para. 0054-0055).
Claim 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Bunch et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20090234323 A1), hereinafter Bunch.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the device above, wherein the membrane (52) is configured to switch from the first stable position (Fig. 3) into the second stable position (Fig. 4).
Lee does not expressly disclose switching from the first stable position into the second stable position when a differential pressure between the inner side and the outer side of the membrane is greater than a predetermined threshold.
Bunch teaches a membrane (Bunch: Fig. 3C and D, membrane 58), wherein switching from a first stable position (Fig. 3C, membrane 58 is in the first stable position; para. 0049) into a second stable position (Fig. 3D, membrane 58 moves into a second stable position; para. 0049) occurs when a differential pressure between the inner side and the outer side (net forward pressure differential across membrane 58; para. 0049) of the membrane (58) is greater than a predetermined threshold (threshold is 150-350 kPa; para. 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the membrane of Lee such that switching from the first stable position into the second stable position when a differential pressure between the inner side and the outer side of the membrane is greater than a predetermined threshold as taught by Bunch in order to allow for the penetration of the membrane using pressure changes (Bunch: para. 0049).
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Bunch discloses the device above.
Lee does not expressly disclose that the predetermined threshold is between 0.4 bar and 3 bar.
Bunch teaches a predetermined threshold is between 0.4 bar and 3 bar (threshold is 150-350 kPa, which is 1.5-3.5 bar; para. 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the membrane of Lee such that the predetermined threshold is between 0.4 bar and 3 bar in order to allow for the penetration of the membrane using pressure changes (Bunch: para. 0049).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Bunch, in further view of Murakami et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20140330199 A1), hereinafter Murakami.
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Bunch discloses the device above, wherein the membrane (Lee: 52) switches from the first stable position (Fig. 3) into the second stable position (Fig. 4) to dispense the product (medicinal solution; para. 0038) out of the reservoir (70) in the via the needle (44) when the membrane (52) is in the second stable position (Fig. 4, membrane 52 is pierced by needle 44 when in the second position, resulting in medicinal solution to flow through needle 44; para. 0038).
Lee does not expressly disclose a pump, the pump being configured to switch the membrane from the first stable position into the second stable position.
Bunch teaches a pump (Bunch: Fig. 1, comprising plunger assembly 14 and plunger 30), the pump (14 and 30) being configured to switch the membrane (58) from the first stable position (Fig. 3C) into the second stable position (Fig. 3D, the plunger 30 creates net back pressure differential across membrane 58; para. 0050). Bunch also discloses motor driven syringes to drive a plunger of a syringe are known in the art (para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Lee such that it included a pump, the pump being configured to switch the membrane from the first stable position into the second stable position as taught by Bunch in order to generate a pressure differential across the membrane to cause the membrane to enter a second stable position (Bunch: para. 0049).
Lee in view of Bunch does not expressly disclose an electric motor to drive the pump.
Murakami teaches an electric motor (Murakami: Fig. 4, motor 14) to drive a pump (Fig. 4, plunger 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Lee in view of Bunch such that an electric motor drives the pump as taught by Hodosh in order to drive the piston and perform drug injection with an adequate pressure that corresponds to the controlled operation of the motor (Murakami: para. 0037 and 0078).
Claims 10-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Bunch and Murakami, in further view of Alizoti et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20210146079 A1), hereinafter Alizoti.
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Bunch and Murakami discloses the device above.
Lee in view of Bunch and Hodosh does not expressly disclose a system for determining a position of the membrane.
Alizoti teaches a system (Alizoti: Fig. 7A-B, flex sensor 100) for determining a position of a membrane (pressure increase moves the membrane 102, causing the sensor 100 to detect a position; para. 0142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Lee in view of Bunch and Murakami such that it included a system for determining a position of the membrane as taught by Alizoti in order to indirectly measure a pressure across the membrane to prevent contamination (Alizoti: para. 0142).
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Bunch, Murakami, and Alizoti disclose the device above.
Lee in view of Bunch and Alizoti does not expressly disclose a member for measuring a current or torque of the electric motor driving the pump.
Murakami teaches a member (Murakami: Fig. 5, current detection sensor 16) for measuring a current or torque of the electric motor (sensor 16 senses current flowing in motor 14; para. 0037) driving the pump (motor 14 drives plunger 13; para. 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Lee in view of Bunch and Alizoti such that it included a member for measuring a current or torque of the electric motor driving the pump as taught by Murakami in order to allow for precise detection of motor rotation and sending of signals to stop driving the motor under certain conditions (Murakami: para. 0037 and 0054).
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Bunch, Murakami, and Alizoti disclose the device above.
Lee in view of Bunch and Murakami does not expressly disclose the system for determining the position of the membrane comprises a pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure on the inner side and/or the outer side of the membrane.
Alizoti teaches a system (Alizoti: 100) for determining a position of a membrane (Alizoti: 102) comprises a pressure sensor (Fig. 7A-B, flex sensor 100) configured to measure a pressure on an inner side and/or an outer side of the membrane (Fig. 7A-B, sensor 100 indirectly measures the pressure differential from the exterior of the membrane 102; para. 0142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Lee in view of Bunch and Murakami such that it included the system for determining the position of the membrane comprises a pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure on the inner side and/or the outer side of the membrane as taught by Alizoti in order to indirectly measure a pressure across the membrane to prevent contamination (Alizoti: para. 0142).
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view of Bunch, Murakami, and Alizoti disclose the device above.
Lee in view of Bunch and Murakami does not expressly disclose that the pressure sensor is configured to measure a differential pressure between the inner side and the outer side of the membrane.
Alizoti teaches a pressure sensor (Alizoti: 100) that is configured to measure a differential pressure between an inner side and an outer side of a membrane (Fig. 7A-B, sensor 100 indirectly measures the pressure differential from the exterior of the membrane 102; para. 0142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Lee in view of Bunch and Murakami such that the pressure sensor is configured to measure a differential pressure between the inner side and the outer side of the membrane as taught by Alizoti in order to indirectly measure a pressure across the membrane to prevent contamination (Alizoti: para. 0142).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Bunch, in further view of Haase et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20110166522 A1), hereinafter Haase.
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view of Bunch discloses the device above.
Lee in view of Bunch does not expressly disclose that the predetermined threshold is between 0.6 bar and 0.7 bar.
Haase teaches a membrane (Haase: septum; para. 0025) predetermined threshold is between 0.6 bar and 0.7 bar (volumetric displacement for pressures between 3.5-138 kPa, which is 0.035-1.38 bar).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the membrane of Lee in view of Bunch with the membrane of Haase to have a threshold range of 0.035-1.38 bar, since the applicant has not disclosed that the narrower claimed range of 0.6 to 0.7 bar solves a stated problem or is critical to the invention; therefore, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to choose a value within the prior art range of 0.035 to 1.38 bar, which encompasses the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/LEI GONZALEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783