DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 10, 11, 13, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Inagawa (US 2004/0065656) in view of Ramanan (US 2002/0186967).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Inagawa teaches an apparatus for controlled local heating a target surface of a substrate (title, abstract, substrates 102, 0026), the apparatus comprising: a carrier having a carrier surface (Figs 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, support assemblies 120, 0025-0027) for carrying the substrate at a carried surface opposite the target surface, the carrier having a plurality of laterally distributed heating zones (Fig 5, thermally regulated zones 502i, 0035) that are thermally insulated (thermal isolators 504i, 0035, air gaps, thermally insulative material) from each other, and the respective heating zones comprise respective resistive heating elements (resistive heaters 506i, 0036) that are thermally coupled to a heat sink (Fig 8, shows heating elements 808 thermally coupled to stainless steel bottom plate 814, 0040, which is equivalent to a heat sink), and a controller configured to control a selective supply of electric energy (Fig 5, controller 510, multiple-output power source 508, 0036, controller 510 that facilitates thermal regulation of each zone 502i by controlling the power applied to each resistive heater 506i) to at least one of the respective resistive heating elements comprised in at least one of the plurality of laterally distributed heating zones, the plurality of laterally distributed heating zones are thermally insulated from each other in that the carrier defines slits that at least extend along portions of boundaries between mutually neighboring heating zones (Figs 4, 8, shows slots 2121-3 extending along boundaries of heat zones 2021-3), and the slits are in communication with an evacuation channel (Fig 4, top and bottom opening of slots 2121-3 are in communication with atmosphere in heating chamber 100, 0024, which is in a vacuum environment, 0030, vacuum environment each slot 2121-3; see fig 1 bottom pump).
Inagawa discloses the claimed invention except for the slits and evacuation channel are arranged for providing a vacuum at the carrier surface, such that an atmospheric pressure at the target surface of the substrate presses the substrate to the carrier.
However, Ramanan discloses the slits (Figs 1a-1c, flow channels 38, 0098) and evacuation channel (gap 62, 0098) are arranged for providing a vacuum at the carrier surface, such that an atmospheric pressure at the target surface of the substrate presses the substrate (0098, gap 62 may be used to pull a slight vacuum, e.g., a vacuum on the order of 3000 Pa to 14,000 Pa, against wafer 12 in order to help hold wafer 12 in position) to the carrier (bake plate 20, protuberances 56, 0095) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Inagawa having a carrier with slits and an evacuation channel silent to pressing the substrate to the carrier with the slits and evacuation channel are arranged for providing a vacuum at the carrier surface, such that an atmospheric pressure at the target surface of the substrate presses the substrate to the carrier of Ramanan for the purpose of providing a known vacuum configuration that holds the wafer against the support plate in a desired position (0098).
With respect to the limitations of claim 5, Inagawa teaches respective resistive heating elements are coupled to an electric power supply switched by respective switching elements that are controlled by the controller (Fig 5, controller 510, multiple-output power source 508, 0036, controller 510 that facilitates thermal regulation of each zone 502i by controlling the power applied to each resistive heater 506i, thermal regulation of each zone requires switching elements).
With respect to the limitations of claims 10 and 11, Inagawa discloses the claimed invention except for the controller is configured to provide control signals for providing electric energy in a pulse width modulated (PWM) manner; the controller is configured to provide control signals for providing electric energy in an interleaved pulse width modulated (IPWM) manner. However, Ramanan discloses the controller is configured to provide control signals for providing electric energy in a pulse width modulated (PWM) manner (0136-0138); the controller is configured to provide control signals for providing electric energy in an interleaved pulse width modulated (IPWM) manner is known in the art (0136-0138) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Inagawa having a controller providing control signals to the heating elements silent to pulse width modulation with the controller is configured to provide control signals for providing electric energy in a pulse width modulated (PWM) manner; the controller is configured to provide control signals for providing electric energy in an interleaved pulse width modulated (IPWM) manner of Ramanan for the purpose of a known heating control method that allows the temperatures of a heating element to be controlled with agility and precision over a wide dynamic range (0136).
With respect to claim 13, Inagawa teaches a manufacturing method for controlled local heating a target surface of a substrate (title, abstract, substrates 102, 0026), the method comprising: providing a carrier (Figs 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, support assemblies 120, 0025-0027) with a plurality of laterally distributed heating zones (Fig 5, thermally regulated zones 502i, 0035) that are thermally insulated (thermal isolators 504i, 0035, air gaps, thermally insulative material) from each other, the respective heating zones comprise respective resistive heating elements (resistive heaters 506i, 0036) that are thermally coupled to a heat sink (Fig 8, shows heating elements 808 thermally coupled to stainless steel bottom plate 814, 0040, which is equivalent to a heat sink), and the carrier includes a carrier surface (support assemblies 120) for carrying the substrate at a carried surface (substrates 102) opposite the target surface, and selectively providing electric energy to at least one of the respective resistive heating elements comprised in at least one of the plurality of laterally distributed heating zones (Fig 5, controller 510, multiple-output power source 508, 0036, controller 510 that facilitates thermal regulation of each zone 502i by controlling the power applied to each resistive heater 506i), the plurality of laterally distributed heating zones are thermally insulated from each other in that the carrier defines slits that at least extend along portions of boundaries between mutually neighboring heating zones (Figs 4, 8, shows slots 2121-3 extending along boundaries of heat zones 2021-3), and the slits are in communication with an evacuation channel (Fig 4, top and bottom opening of slots 2121-3 are in communication with atmosphere in heating chamber 100, 0024, which is in a vacuum environment, 0030, vacuum environment each slot 2121-3; see fig 1 bottom pump).
Inagawa discloses the claimed invention except for the slits and evacuation channel are arranged for providing a vacuum at the carrier surface, such that an atmospheric pressure at the target surface of the substrate presses the substrate to the carrier.
However, Ramanan discloses the slits (Figs 1a-1c, flow channels 38, 0098) and evacuation channel (gap 62, 0098) are arranged for providing a vacuum at the carrier surface, such that an atmospheric pressure at the target surface of the substrate presses the substrate (0098, gap 62 may be used to pull a slight vacuum, e.g., a vacuum on the order of 3000 Pa to 14,000 Pa, against wafer 12 in order to help hold wafer 12 in position) to the carrier (bake plate 20, protuberances 56, 0095) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating method of Inagawa having a carrier with slits and an evacuation channel silent to pressing the substrate to the carrier with the slits and evacuation channel are arranged for providing a vacuum at the carrier surface, such that an atmospheric pressure at the target surface of the substrate presses the substrate to the carrier of Ramanan for the purpose of providing a known vacuum configuration that holds the wafer against the support plate in a desired position (0098).
With respect to the limitations of claim 14, Inagawa teaches comprising: providing the substrate with a heat sensitive material, and applying the method to change a state of the heat sensitive material (a plurality of large area substrates 102 may be heated or thermally regulated while being stored thereon).
With respect to the limitations of claim 15, Inagawa in view of Ramanan discloses the providing electric energy is carried out in a pulse width modulated (PWM) manner (Ramanan, 0136-0138).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Inagawa (US 2004/0065656) in view of Ramanan (US 2002/0186967) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Ogawa (US 2016/0111331).
With respect to the limitations of claim 2, Inagawa in view of Ramanan discloses the claimed invention except for the carrier surface of the carrier is provided with an adhesive layer. However, Ogawa discloses the carrier surface of the carrier (Figs 3-5, chuck table 51, 0041) is provided with an adhesive layer support (protective tape 3, 0041) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Inagawa in view of Ramanan having a carrier with a carrier surface silent to an adhesive support layer with the carrier surface of the carrier is provided with an adhesive layer of Ogawa for the purpose of providing a known adhesive support layer that allows for wafer dicing to be suitably performed (0041).
With respect to the limitations of claim 4, Inagawa in view of Ramanan and Ogawa discloses the claimed invention except for the heating zones of the carrier are supported by respective protrusions of the heat sink. However, Ogawa disclose using protrusions to support the substrate (Figs 1-4, spacers 206, 0028) and has the advantage of providing a known spaced-apart configuration the helps to limit or eliminate scratching to the substrate (0029). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Inagawa in view Ramanan and Ogawa having heating zones of the carrier supported by the heat sink silent to protrusions with the protrusion configuration of Ogawa for the purpose of providing a known spaced-apart configuration the helps to limit or eliminate scratching or damage to the heating zones of the carrier.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Inagawa (US 2004/0065656) in view of Ramanan (US 2002/0186967) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Moslehi (US 2011/0021006).
With respect to the limitations of claim 3, Inagawa in view of Ramanan discloses the claimed invention except for the carrier surface of the carrier is provided with an anti-stick layer. However, Moslehi discloses the carrier surface of the carrier is provided with an anti-stick layer (0148, there may be an optional surface coating, such as a thin Teflon layer, on the vacuum chuck surface to prevent the surface damage to the wafer surface) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Inagawa in view of Ramanan having a carrier with a carrier surface silent to an anti-stick layer with the carrier surface of the carrier is provided with an anti-stick layer of Moslehi for the purpose of providing a known thin layer material that prevents surface damage to the wafer surface (0148).
Claims 5, 7, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Inagawa (US 2004/0065656) in view of Ramanan (US 2002/0186967) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Volfovski (US 2014/0197151).
With respect to the limitations of claim 5, Inagawa in view of Ramanan discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly showing respective resistive heating elements are coupled to an electric power supply switched by respective switching elements that are controlled by the controller. However, Volfovski discloses respective resistive heating elements (Figs 1, 4, resistive heating elements 110, heater segment 410, 0032, 0033) are coupled to an electric power supply (power source 404, 0032) switched by respective switching elements (transistor switches 408, 0032) that are controlled by the controller (controller 402, 0032) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Inagawa in view of Ramanan having respective heating elements connected to a power supply and controller silent to switches with the respective resistive heating elements are coupled to an electric power supply switched by respective switching elements that are controlled by the controller of Volfovski for the purpose of providing a known switching configuration that the allows for turning power from the power source on and off to the resistive heating elements (0032), thereby enabling independent control of the individual resistive heating elements.
With respect to the limitations of claim 7, Inagawa in view of Ramanan discloses the claimed invention except for further comprising a sensing unit configured to provide a sense signal indicative for an observed process temperature; a feedback unit cooperating with the controller, causing the controller to provide control signals so as to minimize a deviation between the observed process temperature as indicated by the sense signal and a desired value of the process temperature as indicated by a target signal.
However, Volfovski discloses further comprising a sensing unit (Figs 1A, 4, temperature monitoring devices 112, 0032) configured to provide a sense signal indicative for an observed process temperature; a feedback unit (inputs 420, 0034) cooperating with the controller (controller 402, 0034), causing the controller to provide control signals so as to minimize a deviation between the observed process temperature as indicated by the sense signal and a desired value of the process temperature as indicated by a target signal (0034, based at least in part on those inputs, the controller 402 controls the power source 404 and the multiplexor 406; 0037, maintaining the temperature of a substrate, or uniformly distributing heat to a substrate) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Inagawa in view of Ramanan having a controller silent to a sensing unit with the further comprising a sensing unit configured to provide a sense signal indicative for an observed process temperature; a feedback unit cooperating with the controller, causing the controller to provide control signals so as to minimize a deviation between the observed process temperature as indicated by the sense signal and a desired value of the process temperature as indicated by a target signal of Volfovski for the purpose of providing a known temperature sensing unit that works in conjunction with the controller that allows for maintaining the temperature of a substrate, or uniformly distributing heat to a substrate.
With respect to the limitations of claims 9 and 12, Inagawa in view of Ramanan and Volfovski discloses the sensing unit comprises a respective temperature sensor (Volfovski, Figs 1A, 4, temperature monitoring devices 112, 0032) for each resistive heating element (Volfovski, heating elements 110, 0022) configured to provide a sense signal indicative for the temperature of the resistive heating elements;
further comprising a substrate transport device (Volfovski, Figs 1A, 1C, lift pins 138, 0031) to transport the substrate over the carrier surface.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Inagawa (US 2004/0065656) in view of Ramanan (US 2002/0186967) and Volfovski (US 2014/0197151) as applied to claims 1 and 5, further in view of Parkhe (US 2016/0329231).
With respect to the limitations of claim 6, Inagawa in view of Ramanan and Volfovski discloses the claimed invention except for the respective switching elements are accommodated in the heat sink. However, Parkhe discloses locating the switching elements in the electrical controller, on the control board or any other suitable location (0084) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Inagawa in view of Volfovski having a heat sink and respective switching elements silent to locating the switching elements in the heat sink with the locating the switching elements in heat sink of Parkhe for the purpose of locating the switching elements in another suitable location.
Claims 8, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Inagawa (US 2004/0065656) in view of Ramanan (US 2002/0186967) and Volfovski (US 2014/0197151) as applied to claims 1 and 7, further in view of Erickson (US 2018/0148835).
With respect to the limitations of claim 8, Inagawa in view of Ramanan and Volfovski discloses the claimed invention except for the sensing unit comprises a thermal camera arranged to determine a temperature distribution at the target surface of the substrate. However, Erickson discloses the sensing unit comprises a thermal camera arranged to determine a temperature distribution (0048, an in-chamber infrared camera may be used to detect temperatures and provide the temperature distribution data under an applied heat load) at the target surface of the substrate (0048, estimate a temperature distribution pattern of a substrate) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Inagawa in view of Ramanan and Volfovski having a sensing unit silent to a thermal camera with the sensing unit comprises a thermal camera arranged to determine a temperature distribution at the target surface of the substrate of Erickson for the purpose of providing a known alternative sensing unit configuration that is suitable for estimating a temperature distribution pattern of a substrate.
Claim 18 is similarly rejected as set forth in the rejection of claim 9 above.
Claims 19 and 20 are similarly rejected as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Inagawa (US 2004/0065656) further in view of Ogawa (US 2016/0111331) as applied to claims 1 and 4, further in view of Volfovski (US 2014/0197151).
Claim 17 is similarly rejected as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1 and 13 have been amended.
Claim 16 is cancelled.
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 5/26/2026