DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 13, 14, 23, 27, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scott (US Patent Application Publication Number 2005/0006159).
Regarding claim 11, Scott discloses a seat device for a tilting vehicle (a motorcycle is viewed as such) having a vehicle frame (including 44, 50), comprising: a seat bench (58) having at least one holder (78), by which the seat bench is arranged on a vehicle component of the tilting vehicle (this is the general arrangement), the at least one holder being arranged on a side of the tilting vehicle facing a direction of travel and by which movement of the seat bench parallel to a vertical axis and to a transverse axis is limited (i.e. the connection is at a front end of the seat and restrains the seat vertically and laterally); at least one coupling unit (including at least 90, 98, 114, 126) which is fixable or is fixed on a side of the seat bench facing away from the direction of travel (i.e. rear of the holder, etc.), by which coupling unit the seat bench is fixable or is fixed indirectly or directly to the vehicle frame so as to be movable to a limited extent (it allows some horizontal movement; see figures), wherein the coupling unit comprises at least one first coupler (at 118) fixed indirectly or directly to the seat bench, at least one second coupler (98 for instance) fixed to the vehicle frame, and at least one first movement clearance device (90 for instance) which is arranged between the first coupler and second coupler and by which the seat bench is movable to a limited extent relative to the vehicle frame, at least in or obliquely to the transverse axis of the tilting vehicle, by movement of the first coupler relative to the second coupler (the shape of 94 in 90 for instance would provide at least minimal movement in the transverse direction at least in the forward position), wherein the coupling unit further comprises: at least one rod- or strip-shaped, flexurally rigid, spacer (of 114) which is used to fix the seat bench indirectly or directly to the vehicle frame, and which is arranged between the seat bench and the vehicle frame and, at one end of which, the first coupler or the second coupler is arranged (see figures).
Regarding claim 13, Scott further discloses the spacer extends in or counter to the direction of travel from an end of the seat bench facing away from the direction of travel (i.e. it extends in rearwardly; see figures).
Regarding claim 14, Scott further discloses the coupling unit further comprises: at least one fastener (fixing 114 to 62; see at least paragraph 19), by which the spacer is fixable or is fixed to the seat bench or to the vehicle frame on a side of the spacer opposite the first movement clearance device (at an upper side for instance).
Regarding claim 23, Scott further discloses the holder is configured as a hook or eyelet, and wherein the seat bench is arranged so as to engage with an eyelet or a hook formed in a corresponding manner on the vehicle component of the tilting vehicle or on the vehicle frame (hook 78 engages with an eyelet formed at 82).
Regarding claim 27, Scott further discloses the coupling unit is positioned inward toward a center of the tilting vehicle (see figures) such that vibrations transmitted from the vehicle frame to the seat bench are reduced (the arrangement would at least be capable of such function).
Regarding claim 30, Scott further discloses the seat bench is movable to a limited extent relative to the vehicle frame obliquely to the transverse axis of the tilting vehicle by movement of the first coupler relative to the second coupler (the device would at least be capable of this function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-20 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Kishi et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2013/0257115).
Regarding claims 15, 16, and 26, Scott discloses a seat device as explained above including at least two spaced-apart fasteners aligned along a longitudinal axis of the spacer (see figures, paragraph 19, etc.) by which the spacer is fixable or is fixed to the seat bench or to the vehicle frame but does not disclose a second movement clearance device. Kishi discloses a related device including multiple movement clearance devices (32, 35, 45, etc.) assigned to fasteners and arrangeable or arranged between a fastener and a mounting of a seat bench or a mounting of the vehicle frame, and by which the seat bench is movable to a limited extent relative to the vehicle frame, at least in or obliquely to a transverse axis of a vehicle, by movement of the fastener relative to the mounting (this would be the general arrangement). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide clearance devices as taught by Kishi in Scott’s device because this could improve user comfort and safety. Note that while the combination is viewed as providing the arrangement of components as in claim 26 based on the arrangement of the components of the reference devices, even if this were not clear, rearrangement of components requires only routine skill in the art, and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the arrangement as claimed based on normal variation to improve user comfort and safety.
Regarding claims 17-20, Scott discloses and/or renders obvious a seat device as explained above but may not disclose details of the clearance devices. Kishi discloses a related device with movement clearance devices (32, 35, 45, etc. as above) comprising dampers (they would function as such), wherein the dampers are elastic grommets, an elastically deformable or dimensionally stable bushing, and/or a step pin (at the very least as in 45). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide clearance devices as taught by Kishi in Scott’s device because this could improve user comfort and safety. Note further that even if the combination did not clearly provide the devices numbered and arranged as claimed, as duplication and rearrangement of components requires only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the arrangement as claimed based on normal variation to improve user comfort and safety.
Claim(s) 21, 22, 28, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Schram. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0273122). Scott discloses a seat device as explained above but does not disclose a damping element. Schram discloses a related device including a damping unit comprising at least one damping element (56) which is arranged on a seat bench and/or on a vehicle frame or a vehicle component, is positionable with its free end touching the vehicle frame or the vehicle component and/or the seat bench, and by which a force acting along a vertical axis is damped (this is the general arrangement with dampers 56 arranged between the seat and frame), wherein the damping element is configured to permit sliding movement of the vehicle frame relative to the seat bench when the damping element is fixed to the seat bench (the device would at least be capable of such operation). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide damping elements as taught by Schram in Scott’s device because this could improve user comfort and safety. Note that while Schram further appears to provide the elements shaped as recited in claims 22 and 29 (see at least Figure 3 for instance), even if this were not the case, changes in shape require only routine skill in the art and the claimed shapes are well-known (see US 8523154 to Fujiwara and US 2006/0244188 to Johnson for instance). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide elements shaped as claimed based on normal variation to improve performance, safety, and comfort for users.
Claim(s) 24, 25, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott.
Regarding claim 24, Scott discloses a tilting vehicle comprising an engine and the seat device according to claim 11 but does not specify a type of engine. Boxer engines are old and well-known in tilting vehicles and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide such an arrangement based on normal vehicle design choices to accommodate user performance and comfort expectations.
Regarding claims 25 and 31, Scott discloses a seat device as explained above including the spacer carrying at least the first coupler at an end of the spacer arranged on the side of the seat bench facing away from the direction of travel (see figures), and wherein the spacer is fixed at an opposite end to the seat bench or to the vehicle frame via at least one fastener (see again at least paragraph 19 describing fixing 114 to 62), but may not clearly disclose the spacer also carrying the first movement clearance device. Duplication and rearrangement of components requires only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the components arranged as claimed based on normal variation to improve performance and comfort for various users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Scott does not disclose a rod- or strip-shaped spacer as claimed. However, it is maintained that Scott discloses such a component at member 114. See the annotated figure below showing “at least one rod- or strip-shaped, flexurally rigid, spacer which is used to fix the seat bench indirectly or directly to the vehicle frame, and which is arranged between the seat bench and the vehicle frame and, at one end of which, the first coupler or the second coupler is arranged.” Compare to Applicant’s member 26 in Figures 2-3 of the instant application. That Scott may refer to member 114 as a “mounting tab” rather than a “spacer” does not impact the rejection as the component functions as a spacer and is virtually identical in shape and arrangement to that of the invention. Similarly, Applicant’s arguments related to Scott’s presumed sequence of assembly do not
change the analysis of the rejection. Regardless of the order of operation, Scott’s member functions to space the seat bench from the vehicle frame much as the equivalent component of the instant invention. The rejections have accordingly been maintained.
Figure 1: Annotated copy of Scott Figure 8.
Conclusion
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636