Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 01/22/2026, claims 1-19 are pending. Claims 1-15 are amended. Claims 16-19 are new. No claims are presently cancelled.
The amended independent claims 1 and 8 changed scopes by incorporating new subject matter. Thus, the amended claims required new grounds of rejection.
Response to Arguments
The prior objections to the Drawings and Claims are withdrawn due to the amendments.
The specification amendments, filed 04/22/2026, are attached with annotations to indicate the amendments are okay to enter”.
The prior rejections under U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn due to the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 02/02/2026 and 04/10/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “IS2” has been used to designate both “second current” (claims 8 and 13) and “third current” (claim 11). Thus, the drawings are unclear as to which depiction of “IS2” is intended to represent the “second current” versus the “third current”.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 4, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, lines 7-8 recite “after turning-off of the first switch and the second switch”, which should be revised to “after turning-off [[of]] the first switch and the second switch”.
Claim 4, lines 7-8 recite “after turning-off of the third switch and the fourth switch”, which should be revised to “after turning-off [[of]] the third switch and the fourth switch”.
Claim 14, lines 5-6 recite “the plurality of first switches”, which should be revised to “the first plurality of [[first]] switches”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2011/0241622 A1) in view of Panov et al. (US 2015/0365005 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Li discloses a cell balancing circuit (combo of “transformer 703”, “first switch array 706”, and “second switch array 707”; see annotated Fig. 7, included infra) connected to a plurality of cells (“N serial coupled battery cells 702_1-702_N”; Fig. 7; ¶ [76]) connected in series, the cell balancing circuit (703, 706, & 707) comprising the following.
Li further discloses a first switch (“switch SA_2”; Fig. 7), a first winding wire (“first winding 704”; Fig. 7), and a second switch (“switch SB_2”; Fig. 7) coupled in series between both terminals of a central battery cell (“battery cell 702_2”; Fig. 7) among the plurality of cells (702_1-702_N).
Li further discloses a third switch (“switch SC_1”; Fig. 7), a second winding wire (“second winding 705”; Fig. 7), and a fourth switch (“switch SD_1”; Fig. 7) coupled in series (see “Fig. 7 – annotated for series path”, included infra) between a positive electrode of a first battery cell (“battery cell 702_N”; Fig. 7) and a negative electrode of a second battery cell (“battery cell 702_1”; Fig. 7).
Li further discloses the first winding wire (704) and the second winding wire (705) form a transformer (“transformer 703”; Fig. 7).
Li further discloses during charging or discharging (Li’s disclosed operations, including that of Fig. 8, occur “during a charging process” or “during a discharging process” per ¶ [3]) of the plurality of cells (702_1-702_N), when a first condition (“NO” response to step 810: “V1 – V2 < VTHR2?”; Fig. 8; ¶ [90]: “if the difference is not lower than the second threshold … the battery cells 702_1-702_N are unbalanced”; per ¶ [77-80], when the difference is greater than the “second threshold, e.g., 50 mV”, then “the battery cells 702_1-702_N are unbalanced”) that a cell voltage difference (Fig. 8, step 810: “V1 – V2”; ¶ [77]: “a difference between a maximal voltage and a minimal voltage among the voltages of the battery cells 702_1-702_N”; see note included infra) between the central battery cell (702_2 represented by voltage “V1” or “V2” when having the “minimal voltage” or “maximal voltage” per ¶ [76-80, 88]) and an outer battery cell (702_1; represented by voltage “V1” or “V2” when having the “minimal voltage” or “maximal voltage” per ¶ [76-80, 88]) is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value occurs (Fig. 8, step 810: “VTHR2”; ¶ [79, 89]: “second threshold, e.g., 50 mV”), the following occurs.
NOTE 1-1: The example balancing operation that is most explicitly described in Li’s ¶ [87-92] is for moving charge from “702_1” with maximum voltage “V1” to “702_N” with minimum voltage “V2”. However, these are simply two cells picked out for example (¶ [88]: “e.g.”). Per ¶ [86], this circuit is configured to “balance any two cells in the battery cells 702_1-702_N”. Thus, one can interpret “V1” as representing the voltage of central battery cell “702_2” (instead of “702_1”) when it has the maximum voltage among “702_1-702_N”. Further, one can interpret “V2” as representing the voltage of outer battery cell “702_1” when it has the minimum voltage among “702_1-702_N”.
Li further discloses when a second condition that the first switch (SA_2) and the second switch (SB_2) are in a closed state occurs (“first period TON”; Fig. 3; described in ¶ [42-44] with respect to Fig. 2 embodiment, but also applicable to Fig. 7 embodiment per ¶ [108]; each of “SA_2” and “SB_2” is turned on as part of the “first switch set” per ¶ [91]), a first side current (“current I1 can be conducted to flow from the first battery cell 702_1 to the first winding”; ¶ [91]; also functions for central battery cell “702_2” instead of “702_1”, per examiner interpretation in note 1-1, included supra) as a part of a charging current (“I1” can be interpreted to be charging the first winding wire “704”; see note 1-2 included infra) or a discharging current (“I1” is discharging from central battery cell “702_2”; when the battery pack is discharging per ¶ [3, 54, 108], current “I1” is part of a larger discharging current out of the full battery pack; see note 1-2 included infra) flows through the first switch (SA_2), the first winding wire (704), and the second switch (SB_2).
NOTE 1-2: The “charging current” and “discharging current” are subject to a broad interpretation such that they may be currents to charge/discharge any component, not necessarily the battery pack as a whole. Claim 8’s language is more limiting for this subject matter and resulted in the incorporation of an additional reference (Bodkin et al., US 2013/0002201 A1) in the claim 8 rejection included infra.
Li does not disclose “a first resistor connected to the first switch and the second switch; and a second resistor connected to the third switch and the fourth switch”.
Li further does not disclose “an open state or the closed state of the first switch and the second switch is configured to be controlled based on a first sensing voltage measured across the first resistor, and an open or closed state of the third switch and the fourth switch is configured to be controlled based on a second sensing voltage measured across the second resistor”.
Panov teaches (annotated Fig. 2 included infra) a first resistor (“current-sensing device 213” with resistance “RS”; Fig. 2) connected to the first switch (“primary-side switch Sap”, connected from positive terminal of “source V1” to node “A”; Fig. 2 and the second switch (“primary-side switch Sbn”, connected from node “B” to negative terminal of “V1”; Fig. 2).
Panov further teaches a second resistor (“current-sensing device 214” with resistance “RS”; Fig. 2) connected to the third switch (“secondary-side switch Scp”, connected from positive terminal of “source V2” to node “C”; Fig. 2) and the fourth switch (“secondary side switch “Sdn”, connected from node “D” to negative terminal of “V2”; Fig. 2).
Panov further teaches an open state or the closed state (open/closed states of “Sap” and “Sbn” are controlled by drive signals “sap” and “sbn” from “driver”; Fig. 2; these drive signals are controlled based on a feedback loop from the first sensing voltage “RS*iP”) of the first switch (Sap) and the second switch (Sbn) is configured to be controlled based on a first sensing voltage (“RS*iP”, the product of sense resistance “RS” and primary-side current “iP”; Fig. 2; ¶ [25]) measured across the first resistor (213).
Panov further teaches an open or closed state (open/closed states of “Scp” and “Sdn” are controlled by drive signals “scp” and “sdn” from “driver”; Fig. 2; these drive signals are controlled based on a feedback loop from the second sensing voltage “RS*iS”) of the third switch (Scp) and the fourth switch (Sdn) is configured to be controlled based on a second sensing voltage (“RS*iS”, the product of sense resistance “RS” and secondary-side current “iS”; Fig. 2; ¶ [25]) measured across the second resistor (214).
Panov further teaches the use of current sensing resistors in a bi-directional isolated DC/DC converter to mitigate effects of the DC component in the magnetizing current (¶ [12]), thus reducing the risk of transformer saturation (¶ [6]) and enabling a design better optimized for size and cost (¶ [7]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell balancing circuit disclosed by Li to incorporate resistors for current sensing on each side of the transformer, as taught by Panov, to reduce the size and cost of the cell balancing circuit by reducing the risk of transformer saturation by sensing and controlling the winding currents.
Regarding Claim 2, the combo of Li & Panov teaches the cell balancing circuit of claim 1.
Li further discloses that, in the first condition (“NO” response to step 810; Fig. 8) that the cell voltage difference (V1 – V2) between the central battery cell (“702_2” with voltage “V1” or “V2”) and the outer battery cell (“702_1” with voltage “V1” or “V2”) during the charging (outer battery cell “702_1” is being charged, at least with the balancing charge from central battery cell “702_2”; further, the full battery pack may be getting charged per ¶ [3]; further, the first winding wire “704” is getting charged by current from central battery cell “702_2”) is greater than or equal to the predetermined threshold value (VTHR2) occurs, the following occurs.
See the “Fig. 3 - annotated for claims 2-3 & 10-11”, included infra, which depicts the switching sequence for transferring charge from the central cell to the outer cell and uses the first winding wire (704) as the primary winding per ¶ [81-82]. Though this figure is described in ¶ [42-44] with respect to the Fig. 2 embodiment, the switching pattern is also applicable to the Fig. 7 embodiment per ¶ [108].
Li further discloses the first switch (SA_2) and the second switch (SB_2) are turned-on (each is part of the “first switch set” which is turned on to connect “V1” of central battery cell “702_2” across the first winding “704” in step 814; Fig. 8).
Li further discloses an on duty (“duty cycle D1”; ¶ [42-43]) of the first switch (SA_2) and the second switch (SB_2) is controlled based on the first side current (per ¶ [43], equation (3), “D1” is determined based on first side current “I1”) flowing to the first winding wire (704).
Li further discloses the third switch (SC_1) and the fourth switch (SD_1) are turned-on (each is part of the “second switch set” which is turned on to connect “V2” of outer battery cell “702_1” across the second winding “705” in step 818; Fig. 8) after turning-off (see annotated Fig. 3) of the first switch (SA_2) and the second switch (SB_2).
Regarding Claim 4, the combo of Li & Panov teaches the cell balancing circuit of claim 1.
Li further discloses that, in the first condition (“NO” response to step 810; Fig. 8) that the cell voltage difference (V1 – V2) between the central battery cell (“702_2” with voltage “V1” or “V2”) and the outer battery cell (“702_1” with voltage “V1” or “V2”) during the discharging (central battery cell “702_2” is discharging to balance the outer battery cell “701_1”; further, the full battery pack may be discharging per ¶ [3, 54, 108]) is equal to or greater than the predetermined threshold value (VTHR2) occurs, the following occurs.
See the “Fig. 3 - annotated for claims 4-5 & 12-13”, included infra, which depicts the switching sequence for transferring charge from the outer cell to the central cell and uses the second winding wire (705) as the primary winding per ¶ [83-84]. Though this figure is described in ¶ [42-44] with respect to the Fig. 2 embodiment, the switching pattern is also applicable to the Fig. 7 embodiment per ¶ [108].
Li further discloses the third switch (SC_1) and the fourth switch (SD_1) are turned-on (when transferring from outer cell “702_1” to central cell “702_2” using the second winding wire “705” as the primary, then “SC_1” and “SD_1” are the “first switch set SCD_1” per ¶ [83-84]; thus, both are on during the “TON” period of Fig. 3).
Li further discloses an on duty (“duty cycle D1”; ¶ [42-43]) of the third switch (SC_1) and the fourth switch (SD_1) is controlled based on the first side current (per ¶ [43], equation (3), “D1” is determined based on first side current “I1”; as modified by ¶ [83-84], “I1” is the current through the second winding wire “705”; however, the switch timing of is based the “current IN induced in the first winding 704”) flowing to the first winding wire (704).
Li further discloses the first switch (SA_2) and the second switch (SB_2) are turned-on (after the interval TON, the second switch set “SAB_N” is turned back on; ¶ [83-84]) after turning-off (after the interval TON, the first switch set “SCD_1” is turned off; ¶ [83-84) of the third switch (SC_1) and the fourth switch (SD_1).
Regarding Claim 16, the combo of Li & Panov teaches the cell balancing circuit of claim 1.
NOTE 16-1: Claim 16’s language is written such that the first and second switches are simply required to be open at some point after the first sensing voltage reaches the predetermined first reference voltage. Thus, switches that continue to PWM at a duty cycle (such as in Panov) read on the claim language.
The combo of Li & Panov teaches the first switch (Li: “SA_2”; Panov equivalent: “Sap”) and the second switch (Li: “SB_2”; Panov equivalent: “Sbn”) are in the open state (Panov’s drive signals are PWM’d at a duty ratio dependent on the first sensing voltage relative to “VREF(IP)”; thus, these switches are alternately switched open and closed when both above and below “VREF(IP)”) when the first sensing voltage (incorporated from Panov: “RS*iP”) reaches a predetermined first reference voltage (Panov: “VREF(IP)”).
Regarding Claim 17, the combo of Li & Panov teaches the cell balancing circuit of claim 16.
NOTE 17-1: Claim 17’s language is written such that the third and fourth switches are simply required to be open at some point after the second sensing voltage reaches the predetermined second reference voltage. Thus, switches that continue to PWM at a duty cycle (such as in Panov) read on the claim language.
The combo of Li & Panov teaches the third switch (Li: “SC_1”; Panov equivalent: “Scp”) and the fourth switch (Li: “SD_1”; Panov equivalent: “Sdn”) are in the open state (Panov’s drive signals are PWM’d at a duty ratio dependent on the second sensing voltage relative to the predetermined second reference voltage; thus, these switches are alternately switched open and closed when both above and below the predetermined second reference voltage) when the second sensing voltage (incorporated from Panov: “RS*iS”) reaches a predetermined second reference voltage (because Panov’s iM = iP – iS, and threshold “VREF(IM)” exists, there also exists a threshold for “RS*iS”, wherein this predetermined second reference threshold varies based on the present value of “iP”; because “iS” is subtracted from “iP” to obtain “iM”, it follows that each of “iS” and “iM” is lower than “iP”) different than the predetermined first reference voltage (Panov: “VREF(IP)”).
Regarding Claim 18, the combo of Li & Panov teaches the cell balancing circuit of claim 17.
As discussed supra, Panov teaches the predetermined first reference voltage (Panov: “VREF(IP)”) and the predetermined second reference voltage (because Panov’s iM = iP – iS, and threshold “VREF(IM)” exists, there also exists a threshold for “RS*iS”, wherein this predetermined second reference threshold varies based on the present value of “iP”)
NOTE 18-1: Panov teaches the predetermined first reference voltage “VREF(IP)” associated with the first sensing voltage of the primary winding from which power is being transferred. Thus, when power is being transferred from the secondary winding to the primary winding (like as in Li’s cell balancing circuit), the value “VREF(IP)” becomes the predetermined second reference voltage. Thus, depending on which side of Panov’s transformer is transferring power, either predetermined reference voltage may be higher than the other.
The combo of Li & Panov teaches the predetermined first reference voltage (either “VREF(IP)” or the different threshold associated with “RS*iS”) is set higher than the predetermined second reference voltage (either “VREF(IP)” or the different threshold associated with “RS*iS”).
Regarding Claim 19, the combo of Li & Panov teaches the cell balancing circuit of claim 18.
The combo of Li & Panov teaches the predetermined second reference voltage (either “VREF(IP)” or the different threshold associated with “RS*iS”) is set to 0 volts (V). (Fig. 2: “VREF(IP) = 0”).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2011/0241622 A1) in view of Panov et al. (US 2015/0365005 A1) and Densham et al. (US 2014/0084871 A1; hereinafter “Den”).
Regarding Claim 3, the combo of Li & Panov teaches the cell balancing circuit of claim 2.
Li further discloses in the first condition (“NO” response to step 810; Fig. 8) that the cell voltage difference (V1 – V2) between the central battery cell (“702_2” with voltage “V1” or “V2”) and the outer battery cell (“702_1” with voltage “V1” or “V2”) during the charging (outer battery cell “702_1” is being charged, at least with the balancing charge from central battery cell “702_2”; further, the full battery pack may be getting charged per ¶ [3]; further, the first winding wire “704” is getting charged by current from central battery cell “702_2”) is greater than or equal to the predetermined threshold value (VTHR2) occurs, the following occurs.
See the Li “Fig. 3 - annotated for claims 2-3 & 10-11”, included supra, which depicts the switching sequence for transferring charge from the central cell to the outer cell and uses the first winding wire (704) as the primary winding per ¶ [81-82].
Li further discloses a turning on state (each is part of the “first switch set” which is turned on to connect “V1” of central battery cell “702_2” across the first winding “704” in step 814; Fig. 8) of the first switch (SA_2) and the second switch (SB_2).
Li further discloses the first switch (SA_2) and the second switch (SB_2) are turned-off based on the first side current (per ¶ [43], equation (3), “D1” is determined based on first side current “I1”).
Li does not disclose “the first side current reaches a predetermined reference value, and the first switch and the second switch are turned-off”.
Den teaches the first side current (“input current IP”; Fig. 1B) reaches a predetermined reference value (“peak current level IPP”, reached during “first duration T1”; Fig. 1B), and the input-side switch(es) (“108” in Fig. 1A; “208” in Fig. 5) is/are turned-off (when the first duration T1 expires … switch 108 is turned off; see note 3-1, included infra).
NOTE 3-1: Den is not relied upon to teach turning off both the first switch and the second switch. Den teaches turning off the input-side switch when the input-side current reaches the predetermined reference value. As discussed supra, Li teaches controlling the first side current, i.e. the input side current, by turning off the first switch and second switch, i.e. the input side switch(es). Because Den also teaches turning off an input-side switch to block the input-side current, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the teachings of Den can be applied to the first switch and second switch of Li.
Den further teaches to turn off the input-side switch(es) when the input-side current reaches a predetermined reference value to accurately control the voltage conversion by quickly responding to changes in the input-side current in response to changes in the varying voltage across a battery cell (¶ [2, 14, 16, 22]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell balancing circuit disclosed by the combo of Li & Panov to turn off the first and second switches when the first side current reaches a predetermined reference value, based on the teachings of Den, to more accurately control the voltage conversion of the transformer by quickly responding to changes in the input-side current that occur with the varying battery cell voltages.
Regarding Claim 5, the combo of Li & Panov teaches the cell balancing circuit of claim 4.
Li further discloses in the first condition (“NO” response to step 810; Fig. 8) that the cell voltage difference (V1 – V2) between the central battery cell (“702_2” with voltage “V1” or “V2”) and the outer battery cell (“702_1” with voltage “V1” or “V2”) during the discharge (central battery cell “702_2” is discharging to balance the outer battery cell “701_1”; further, the full battery pack may be discharging per ¶ [3, 54, 108]) is equal to or greater than the predetermined threshold value (VTHR2) occurs, the following occurs.
See the “Fig. 3 - annotated for claims 4-5 & 12-13”, included supra, which depicts the switching sequence for transferring charge from the outer cell to the central cell and uses the second winding wire (705) as the primary winding per ¶ [83-84].
Li further discloses the turning on state (when transferring charge from outer cell “702_1” to central cell “702_2” using second winding wire “705” as the primary per ¶ [83-84], each of “SC_1” and “SD_1” are the “first switch set SCD_1”, which are turned on during “TON” of Fig. 3) of the third switch (SC_1) and the fourth switch (SD_1).
Li further discloses the third switch (SC_1) and the fourth switch (SD_1) are turned-off (after “TON”; Fig. 3).
Li does not disclose “when the second side current reaches a predetermined reference value, the third switch and the fourth switch are turned-off”.
Den teaches when the input-side current (“input current IP”; Fig. 1B) reaches a predetermined reference value (“peak current level IPP”, reached during “first duration T1”; Fig. 1B), and the input-side switch(es) (“108” in Fig. 1A; “208” in Fig. 5) is/are turned-off (when the first duration T1 expires … switch 108 is turned off; see note 5-1, included infra).
NOTE 5-1: Den is not relied upon to teach turning off both the third switch and the fourth switch. Den teaches turning off the input-side switch when the input-side current reaches the predetermined reference value. As discussed supra, Li teaches controlling the second side current, i.e. the input side current, by turning off the third switch and fourth switch, i.e. the input side switch(es). Because Den also teaches turning off an input-side switch to block the input-side current, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the teachings of Den can be applied to the third switch and fourth switch of Li.
Den further teaches to turn off the input-side switch(es) when the input-side current reaches a predetermined reference value to accurately control the voltage conversion by quickly responding to changes in the input-side current in response to changes in the varying voltage across a battery cell (¶ [2, 14, 16, 22]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell balancing circuit disclosed by the combo of Li & Panov to turn off the third and fourth switches when the second side current reaches a predetermined reference value, based on the teachings of Den, to more accurately control the voltage conversion of the transformer by quickly responding to changes in the input-side current that occur with the varying battery cell voltages.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2011/0241622 A1) in view of Badalec (DE 4010100 A1; hereinafter “Bada”).
Regarding Claim 6, the combo of Li & Panov teaches the cell balancing circuit of claim 1.
The “Fig. 7 – annotated for claims 6-7, 14-15”, included infra, includes detailed mapping for the two terminals of each switch and winding from Li.
Li further discloses a first terminal of the first switch (SA_2) and a first terminal of the first winding wire (704).
Li further discloses a first terminal of the second switch (SB_2) and a second terminal of the first winding wire (704).
Li further discloses a second terminal of the first switch (SA_2) is connected to the second terminal of the first winding wire (704).
Li further discloses a second terminal of the second switch (SB_2) is connected to the first terminal of the first winding wire (704).
Though Li discloses the terminals of each of the first and second switch, along with their connections to the first winding wire, Li does not disclose “a first diode connected between a first terminal of the first switch and a first terminal of the first winding wire; and a second diode connected between a first terminal of the second switch and a second terminal of the first winding wire”.
Bada teaches (see annotated Fig. 4, included infra) a first diode (“primary freewheeling diode D2”) connected between a first terminal of the first switch (S2) and a first terminal of the first winding wire (annotated as “primary winding wire”).
Bada further teaches a second diode (“primary freewheeling diode D3”) connected between a first terminal of the second switch (S1) and a second terminal of the first winding wire (“primary winding wire”).
Bada further teaches a second terminal of the first switch (S2) is connected to the second terminal of the first winding wire (“primary winding wire”).
Bada further teaches a second terminal of the second switch (S1) is connected to the first terminal of the first winding wire (“primary winding wire”).
Bada further teaches the two diodes arranged on the input/primary side of the transformer-based converter to enable the free wheeling of current through the diodes back to the supply cell(s) in the event of damage on the secondary side of the transformer, thus protecting primary-side components by avoiding undesirable increases in voltage. (pp. 4, last para. – pp. 5, 1st para.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell balancing circuit disclosed by the combo of Li & Panov to incorporate the first and second diodes, as taught by Bada, to protect the cell balancing circuit by preventing voltage spikes.
Regarding Claim 7, the combo of Li & Panov teaches the cell balancing circuit of claim 1.
The “Fig. 7 – annotated for claims 6-7, 14-15”, included supra in the claim 6 section, includes detailed mapping for the two terminals of each switch and winding from Li.
Li further discloses a first terminal of the third switch (SC_1) and a first terminal of the second winding wire (705).
Li further discloses a first terminal of the fourth switch (SD_1) and a second terminal of the second winding wire (705).
Li further discloses a second terminal of the third switch (SC_1) is connected to the second terminal of the second winding wire (705).
Li further discloses a second terminal of the fourth switch (SD_1) is connected to the first terminal of the second winding wire (705).
Though Li discloses the terminals of each of the third and fourth switch, along with their connections to the second winding wire, Li does not disclose “a third diode connected between a first terminal of the third switch and a first terminal of the second winding wire; and a fourth diode connected between a first terminal of the fourth switch and a second terminal of the second winding wire”.
As discussed supra in the claim 6 rejection, Bada teaches “a first diode connected between a first terminal of the first switch and a first terminal of the first winding wire; and a second diode connected between a first terminal of the second switch and a second terminal of the first winding wire, wherein a second terminal of the first switch is connected to the second terminal of the first winding wire, and a second terminal of the second switch is connected to the first terminal of the first winding wire” (see detailed mapping included supra).
Bada’s teachings are not explicitly with respect to a third diode, a third switch, a fourth diode, a fourth switch, and a second winding wire. However, because the base reference Li teaches the second winding wire (705) may be used as the input/primary winding to transfer energy to the output/secondary winding (first winding wire 704), one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Bada’s teachings for these features are also applicable to the secondary side of Li’s converter circuit. Bada’s primary-side circuit arrangement of switches, a battery cell, and a winding are analogous to each of the primary and secondary sides of the bidirectional circuit arrangement disclosed by Li. Thus, Bada’s teachings for the arrangements of the first/second diodes can be applied to incorporate third/fourth diodes in the arrangement with the third/fourth switches and second winding wire disclosed by Li.
Bada further teaches the two diodes arranged on the input/primary side of the transformer-based converter to enable the free wheeling of current through the diodes back to the supply cell(s) in the event of damage on the secondary side of the transformer, thus protecting primary-side components by avoiding undesirable increases in voltage. (pp. 4, last para. – pp. 5, 1st para.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell balancing circuit disclosed by the combo of Li & Panov to incorporate the third and fourth diodes, as taught by Bada, to protect the cell balancing circuit by preventing voltage spikes.
Thus, the combo of Li, Panov, & Bada teaches a third diode (incorporated “D2” from Bada) connected between a first terminal of the third switch (Li: “SC_1”; Bada equivalent: “S2”) and a first terminal of the second winding wire (Li: “705”; Bada equivalent: “primary winding wire”).
The combo of Li, Panov, & Bada further teaches a fourth diode (incorporated “D3” from Bada) connected between a first terminal of the fourth switch (Li: “SD_1”; Bada equivalent: “S1”) and a second terminal of the second winding wire (Li: “705”).
The combo of Li, Panov, & Bada further teaches a second terminal of the third switch (Li: “SC_1”; Bada equivalent: “S2”) is connected to the second terminal of the second winding wire (Li: “705”).
The combo of Li, Panov, & Bada further teaches a second terminal of the fourth switch (Li: “SD_1”; Bada equivalent: “S1”) is connected to the first terminal of the second winding wire (Li: “705”).
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2011/0241622 A1) in view of Denso (DENSO Developed New Generation Battery-Monitoring Integrated Circuit for Lithium-ion Batteries, a Key component of Battery ECUs; published 08/13/2020, www.denso.com), Bodkin et al. (US 2013/0002201 A1), and Panov et al. (US 2015/0365005 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Li discloses a battery pack (“battery management system 700” of Fig. 7; includes some of the details shown in Figs. 12-13; see annotated Fig. 7, included supra) comprising the following.
Li further discloses a plurality of cells (“N serial coupled battery cells 702_1-702_N”; Fig. 7; ¶ [76]) connected in series.
Li further discloses a cell monitoring circuit (“monitoring circuit 1302” located within “detection and control unit 708/1208”; Figs. 7, 13) configured to measure a cell voltage (¶ [128]: “1302 is configured to receive … multiple voltage detection signals indicating cell voltages of the battery cells”) of each of the plurality of cells (702_1-702_N).
Li further discloses a main control circuit (combo of “processing unit 1304” and “balancing controller 1306” located within “detection and control unit 708/1208”; Figs. 7, 13) configured to determine whether a deviation (Fig. 8, step 810: “V1 – V2”; ¶ [77]: “a difference between a maximal voltage and a minimal voltage among the voltages of the battery cells 702_1-702_N”; see note 8-1 included infra)between a cell voltage (either “maximal voltage V1” or “minimal voltage V2”; Fig. 8) of a central battery cell (“battery cell 702_2”; Fig. 7; represented by voltage “V1” or “V2” when having the “minimal voltage” or “maximal voltage” per ¶ [76-80, 88]) among the plurality of cells (702_1-702_N) and a cell voltage (V1 or V2) of an outer battery cell (“battery cell 702_1”; Fig. 7; represented by voltage “V1” or “V2” when having the “minimal voltage” or “maximal voltage” per ¶ [76-80, 88]) among the plurality of cells (702_1-702_N) is a predetermined threshold value (Fig. 8, step 810: “VTHR2”; ¶ [79, 89]: “second threshold, e.g., 50 mV”) or more (“NO” response to step 810: “V1 – V2 < VTHR2?”; Fig. 8) based on a plurality of measured cell voltages (Fig. 8, step 802; ¶ [88]: “detects voltages of multiple battery cells 702_1-702_N”).
NOTE 8-1: The example balancing operation that is most explicitly described in Li’s ¶ [87-92] is for moving charge from “702_1” with maximum voltage “V1” to “702_N” with minimum voltage “V2”. However, these are simply two cells picked out for example (¶ [88]: “e.g.”). Per ¶ [86], this circuit is configured to “balance any two cells in the battery cells 702_1-702_N”. Thus, one can interpret “V1” as representing the voltage of central battery cell “702_2” (instead of “702_1”) when it has the maximum voltage among “702_1-702_N”. Further, one can interpret “V2” as representing the voltage of outer battery cell “702_1” when it has the minimum voltage among “702_1-702_N”.
Li further discloses the main control circuit (“1304” and “1306” within “708/1208”) is further configured to control a cell balancing operation (Fig. 8) based on a determined result (result of step 810) and charging and discharging (cell balancing is controlled based on the charging and discharging per ¶ [3]) of the battery pack (700).
Li further discloses a cell balancing circuit (combo of “transformer 703”, “first switch array 706”, and “second switch array 707”; Fig. 7).
Li further discloses the cell balancing circuit (703, 706, & 707) including: a first plurality of switches (“first switch array 706”; Fig. 7) and a second plurality of switches (“second switch array 707”; Fig. 7).
Though Li discloses a cell monitoring circuit configured to measure the cell voltages, Li does not disclose “a cell monitoring integrated circuit (IC) configured to measure a cell voltage of each of the plurality of cells”.
Li further does not disclose the cell balancing circuit “prevents a first current among a charging current from flowing to the central battery cell when the deviation is greater than the predetermined threshold value in the charging condition of the battery pack, and prevents a second current among a discharging current from flowing to the central battery cell when the predetermined deviation is greater than the predetermined threshold value in the discharge condition of the battery pack”.
Li further does not disclose the cell balancing circuit including “a first resistor connected to the first plurality of switches; and a second resistor connected to the second plurality of switches, wherein an open or closed state of the first plurality of switches is configured to be controlled based on a first sensing voltage measured across the first resistor, and an open or closed state of the second plurality of switches is configured to be controlled based on a second sensing voltage measured across the second resistor”.
Denso teaches a cell monitoring integrated circuit (IC) (“new generation battery-monitoring integrated circuit”) configured to measure a cell voltage (page 2, 4th paragraph: “detect battery voltage”) of each of the plurality of cells (page 2, 4th paragraph: “monitor 1.2 times more battery cells (25 ch/IC)”).
Denso further teaches a cell monitoring IC can minimize the size and cost of the hardware implementation by reducing the number of parts required to monitor the battery cells (page 3, 1st paragraph: “reduced the number of ICs and peripheral parts … to minimize the size and cost of battery ECUs”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell monitoring circuit disclosed by Li to be an integrated circuit, as taught by Denso, to minimize the size and cost of the battery pack.
Bodkin teaches a cell balancing circuit (combo of “cell switch elements 407”, “transformer 401”, “additional balancing-charge switching element 408”, and “energy storage element 411”; Figs. 4-6) that is configured to prevent a first current (arrow “602” depicts a first current split off from charging current “603” to discharge from “high-energy cell 413B” to “adjacent secondary coil 406B” by closing “bi-directional switch 407B”; Figs. 5-6; ¶ [28]: “simultaneously taking energy from one or more high-energy cells and transfer it to one or more low energy cells”) among a charging current (current from “charger 402” to all cells is identified by arrow “603”; Fig. 6; ¶ [28]) from flowing to the central battery cell (during charging, the current to the “high-energy cell 413B” is reduced, but may occur for any of “cells 413”; Figs. 5-6) when the deviation is excessively high (¶ [9]: “higher imbalance levels”; ¶ [28]: “high-energy cell” and “low-energy cell”; see note, included infra) in the charging condition (occurs in either “balanced charging mode” or “fast charging mode”; ¶ [28, 35-36]) of the battery pack (“system 400” including “plurality of serially connected cells 413”; Fig. 4; ¶ [37-40]; Abstract: “cells making up a battery pack”).
Bodkin further teaches the cell balancing circuit (407, 401, 408) is further configured to prevent a second current (¶ [32]: “the balancing-charge switch element (408) would deliver energy from the energy storage element (411) through the transformer core to the secondary windings ( 406) and through the cell switch elements ( 407) to the cells that require extra energy”; thus, the “low-energy cell 413A” delivers a smaller portion of the discharging current to “load 403”) among a discharging current (output current to “load 403”; Figs. 4-6) from flowing to the central battery cell (during discharging, the current to the “low-energy cell 413A” is reduced, but may occur for any of “cells 413”; Figs. 5-6) when a predetermined deviation is excessively high (¶ [9]: “higher imbalance levels”; ¶ [28]: “high-energy cell” and “low-energy cell”; see note 8-2, included infra) in the discharge condition (¶ [32]: “discharge balancing mode”) of the battery pack (400).
NOTE 8-2: Bodkin is not relied upon to teach the comparison of the cell-to-cell deviation with the predetermined threshold value. This comparison versus a predetermined threshold value is explicitly by Li, as discussed supra. Bodkin teaches a more generic comparison of cell voltages (¶ [9]: “higher imbalance levels”; ¶ [28]: “high-energy cell” and “low-energy cell”). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that Bodkin’s teachings for cell-to-cell rebalancing by redirecting a portion of charging/discharging currents away from a cell during charging/discharging processes is still applicable as a teaching to modify the cell balancing circuit disclosed by Li.
Bodkin further teaches to prevent the first current to the central battery cell during charging and prevent the second current during discharging to enable faster charging by balancing simultaneously with external charging (¶ [36]).
Bodkin further teaches to prevent the second current to the central battery cell during discharging to increase the battery pack’s capacity beyond the weakest cell’s capacity (¶ [9]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell balancing circuit and its currents to the central battery cell when at a high cell-to-cell deviation, as disclosed by the combo of Li & Denso, to prevent the first current during charging and prevent the second current during discharging, as taught by Bodkin, for to enable faster charging of the battery pack and higher capacity of the battery pack during discharging.
Panov teaches (annotated Fig. 2 included supra) a first plurality of switches (“BR1”, including “primary-side switches Sap, San, Sbp, Sbn”; Fig. 2) and a second plurality of switches (“BR2”, including “secondary-side switches Scp, Scn, Sdp, Sdn”; Fig. 2).
Panov further teaches a first resistor (“current-sensing device 213” with resistance “RS”; Fig. 2) connected to the first plurality of switches (Sap, San, Sbp, Sbn).
Panov further teaches a second resistor (“current-sensing device 214” with resistance “RS”; Fig. 2) connected to the second plurality of switches (Scp, Scn, Sdp, Sdn).
Panov further teaches an open or closed state (open/closed states are controlled by drive signals from “driver”; Fig. 2; these drive signals are controlled based on a feedback loop from the first sensing voltage “RS*iP”) of the first plurality of switches (Sap, San, Sbp, Sbn) is configured to be controlled based on a first sensing voltage (“RS*iP”, the product of sense resistance “RS” and primary-side current “iP”; Fig. 2; ¶ [25]) measured across the first resistor (213).
Panov further teaches an open or closed state (open/closed states are controlled by drive signals from “driver”; Fig. 2; these drive signals are controlled based on a feedback loop from the second sensing voltage “RS*iS”) of the second plurality of switches (Scp, Scn, Sdp, Sdn) is configured to be controlled based on a second sensing voltage (“RS*iS”, the product of sense resistance “RS” and secondary-side current “iS”; Fig. 2; ¶ [25]) measured across the second resistor (214).
Regarding Claim 9, the combo of Li, Denso, Bodkin, & Panov teaches the battery pack of claim 8.
Li discloses the cell balancing circuit (703, 706, 707) includes the following features.
Li further discloses a first switch (“switch SA_2”; Fig. 7) of the first plurality of switches (706), a first winding wire (“first winding 704”; Fig. 7), and a second switch (“switch SB_2”; Fig. 7) of the first plurality of switches (706) coupled in series between both terminals of the central battery cell (“battery cell 702_2”; Fig. 7).
Li further discloses a third switch (“switch SC_1”; Fig. 7) of the second plurality of switches (707), a second winding wire (“second winding 705”; Fig. 7), and a fourth switch (“switch SD_1”; Fig. 7) of the second plurality of switches (707) coupled in series (see “Fig. 7 – annotated for series path”, included supra) between a positive electrode of a first battery cell (“battery cell 702_N”; Fig. 7) and a negative electrode of a second battery cell (“battery cell 702_1”; Fig. 7) among the plurality of cells (702_1-702_N).
Li further discloses the first winding wire (704) and the second winding wire (705) form a transformer (“transformer 703”; Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 10, the combo of Li, Denso, Bodkin, & Panov teaches the battery pack of claim 9.
See the “Fig. 3 - annotated for claims 2-3 & 10-11”, included supra, which depicts the switching sequence for transferring charge from the central cell to the outer cell and uses the first winding wire (704) as the primary winding per ¶ [81-82].
Li further discloses the cell balancing circuit (703, 706, 707) switches the first, second, third and fourth switches (SA_2, SB_2, SC_1, SD_1; Fig. 3 shows all four switches change state during “period T”) when the deviation is larger than the predetermined threshold value (“NO” response to step 810 means “V1 – V2” is ≥ “VTHR2”; Fig. 8) during the charging (cell balancing is controlled during each of charging and discharging per ¶ [3]) to store the energy in the first winding wire (704; operating as the primary/input winding per ¶ [81-82]) by the first current (I1) and to transmit the stored energy (¶ [82]: “energy … can be transferred to and accumulated in a magnetic core of the transformer 703”; ¶ [82]: “energy stored in the magnetic core … can be released”, causing “current IN induced in the second winding 705”) in the first winding wire (704) to the second winding wire (705; operating as the secondary winding per ¶ [81-82]).
Regarding Claim 11, the combo of Li, Denso, Bodkin, & Panov teaches the battery pack of claim 10.
See the “Fig. 3 - annotated for claims 2-3 & 10-11”, included supra, which depicts the switching sequence for transferring charge from the central cell to the outer cell and uses the first winding wire (704) as the primary winding per ¶ [81-82].
Li further discloses the first current (I1) flows in the first winding wire (704; operating as the primary/input winding per ¶ [81-82]) when the first and second switches (SA_2, SB_2) are in the closed state (TON).
Li further discloses a third current (IN; ¶ [82]: “current IN induced in the second winding 705”) is induced to the second winding wire (705) when the first and second switches (SA_2, SB_2) are in the open state (Fig. 3 shows each is off during TON') and the third and fourth switches (SC_1, SD_1) are in the closed state (Fig. 3 shows each is on during TON').
Regarding Claim 12, the combo of Li, Denso, Bodkin, & Panov teaches the battery pack of claim 8.
See the “Fig. 3 - annotated for claims 4-5 & 12-13”, included supra, which depicts the switching sequence for transferring charge from the outer cell to the central cell and uses the second winding wire (705) as the primary winding per ¶ [83-84].
Li further discloses the cell balancing circuit (703, 706, 707) switches first, second, third and fourth switches (SA_2, SB_2, SC_1, SD_1; Fig. 3 shows all four switches change state during “period T”) when the deviation is larger than the predetermined threshold value (“NO” response to step 810 means “V1 – V2” is ≥ “VTHR2”; Fig. 8) among the discharging (cell balancing is controlled during each of charging and discharging per ¶ [3]) to store energy in a second winding wire (705; operating as the primary/input winding per ¶ [83-84]) and to transmit the stored energy (¶ [84]: “energy … can be transferred to and accumulated in the magnetic core of the transformer 703”; ¶ [84]: “energy stored in the magnetic core … can be released”, causing “a current IN induced in the first winding 704”) in the second winding wire (705) to a first winding wire (704; operating as the secondary winding per ¶ [83-84]).
Regarding Claim 13, the combo of Li, Denso, Bodkin, & Panov teaches the battery pack of claim 12.
See the “Fig. 3 - annotated for claims 4-5 & 12-13”, included supra, which depicts the switching sequence for transferring charge from the outer cell to the central cell and uses the second winding wire (705) as the primary winding per ¶ [83-84].
Li further discloses a third current (I1; ¶ [84]: “a current I1 can flow … to the second winding 705”) flows in the second winding wire (705; operating as the primary/input winding per ¶ [83-84]) when the third and fourth switches (SC_1, SD_1) are in the closed state (TON).
Li further discloses the second current (IN; ¶ [84]: “current IN induced in the first winding 704”) is induced to the first winding wire (704) when the third and fourth switches (SC_1, SD_1) are in the open state (Fig. 3 shows each is off during TON') and the first and second switches (SA_2, SB_2) are in the closed state (Fig. 3 shows each is on during TON').
Regarding Claim 14, the combo of Li, Denso, Bodkin, & Panov teaches the battery pack of claim 8.
The “Fig. 7 – annotated for claims 6-7, 14-15”, included supra, includes detailed mapping for the two terminals of each switch and winding from Li.
Li further discloses a first terminal of a first switch (SA_2) of the first plurality of switches (706) and a first terminal of a first winding wire (704).
Li further discloses a first terminal of a second switch (SB_2) of the plurality of first switches (706) and a second terminal of the first winding wire (704).
Li further discloses a second terminal of the first switch (SA_2) is connected to the second terminal of the first winding wire (704).
Li further discloses a second terminal of the second switch (SB_2) is connected to the first terminal of the first winding wire (704).
Though Li discloses the terminals of each of the first and second switch, along with their connections to the first winding wire, Li does not disclose “a first diode connected between a first terminal of a first switch of the first plurality of switches and a first terminal of a first winding wire; and a second diode connected between a first terminal of a second switch of the plurality of first switches and a second terminal of the first winding wire”.
Bada teaches (see annotated Fig. 4, included supra) a first diode (“primary freewheeling diode D2”) connected between a first terminal of a first switch (S2) of the first plurality of switches (S1, S2) and a first terminal of a first winding wire (annotated as “primary winding wire”).
Bada further teaches a second diode (“primary freewheeling diode D3”) connected between a first terminal of a second switch (S1) of the plurality of first switches (S1, S2) and a second terminal of the first winding wire (“primary winding wire”).
Bada further teaches a second terminal of the first switch (S2) is connected to the second terminal of the first winding wire (“primary winding wire”).
Bada further teaches a second terminal of the second switch (S1) is connected to the first terminal of the first winding wire (“primary winding wire”).
Bada further teaches the two diodes arranged on the input/primary side of the transformer-based converter to enable the free wheeling of current through the diodes back to the supply cell(s) in the event of damage on the secondary side of the transformer, thus protecting primary-side components by avoiding undesirable increases in voltage. (pp. 4, last para. – pp. 5, 1st para.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell balancing circuit disclosed by the combo of Li, Denso, Bodkin, & Panov to incorporate the first and second diodes, as taught by Bada, to protect the cell balancing circuit by preventing voltage spikes.
Regarding Claim 15, the combo of Li, Denso, Bodkin, & Panov teaches the battery pack of claim 8.
The “Fig. 7 – annotated for claims 6-7, 14-15”, included supra in the claim 6 section, includes detailed mapping for the two terminals of each switch and winding from Li.
Li further discloses a first terminal of a third switch (SC_1) of the second plurality of switches (707) and a first terminal of a second winding wire (705).
Li further discloses a first terminal of a fourth switch (SD_1) of the second plurality of switches (707) and a second terminal of the second winding wire (705).
Li further discloses a second terminal of the third switch (SC_1) is connected to the second terminal of the second winding wire (705).
Li further discloses a second terminal of the fourth switch (SD_1) is connected to the first terminal of the second winding wire (705).
Though Li discloses the terminals of each of the third and fourth switch, along with their connections to the second winding wire, Li does not disclose “a third diode connected between a first terminal of a third switch of the second plurality of switches and a first terminal of a second winding wire; and a fourth diode connected between a first terminal of a fourth switch of the second plurality of switches and a second terminal of the second winding wire”.
As discussed supra in the claim 14 rejection, Bada teaches “a first diode connected between a first terminal of a first switch of the first plurality of switches and a first terminal of a first winding wire; and a second diode connected between a first terminal of a second switch of the plurality of first switches and a second terminal of the first winding wire, wherein a second terminal of the first switch is connected to the second terminal of the first winding wire, and a second terminal of the second switch is connected to the first terminal of the first winding wire” (see detailed mapping included supra).
Bada’s teachings are not explicitly with respect to a third diode, a third switch, a fourth diode, a fourth switch, and a second winding wire. However, because the base reference Li teaches the second winding wire (705) may be used as the input/primary winding to transfer energy to the output/secondary winding (first winding wire 704), one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Bada’s teachings for these features are also applicable to the secondary side of Li’s converter circuit. Bada’s primary-side circuit arrangement of switches, a battery cell, and a winding are analogous to each of the primary and secondary sides of the bidirectional circuit arrangement disclosed by Li. Thus, Bada’s teachings for the arrangements of the first/second diodes can be applied to incorporate third/fourth diodes in the arrangement with the third/fourth switches and second winding wire disclosed by Li.
Bada further teaches the two diodes arranged on the input/primary side of the transformer-based converter to enable the free wheeling of current through the diodes back to the supply cell(s) in the event of damage on the secondary side of the transformer, thus protecting primary-side components by avoiding undesirable increases in voltage. (pp. 4, last para. – pp. 5, 1st para.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cell balancing circuit disclosed by the combo of Li, Denso, Bodkin, & Panov to incorporate the third and fourth diodes, as taught by Bada, to protect the cell balancing circuit by preventing voltage spikes.
Thus, the combo of Li, Denso, Bodkin, Panov, & Bada teaches a third diode (incorporated “D2” from Bada) connected between a first terminal of a third switch (Li: “SC_1”; Bada equivalent: “S2”) of the second plurality of switches and a first terminal of a second winding wire (Li: “705”; Bada equivalent: “primary winding wire”).
The combo of Li, Denso, Bodkin, Panov, & Bada further teaches a fourth diode (incorporated “D3” from Bada) connected between a first terminal of a fourth switch (Li: “SD_1”; Bada equivalent: “S1”) of the second plurality of switches and a second terminal of the second winding wire (Li: “705”).
The combo of Li, Denso, Bodkin, Panov, & Bada further teaches a second terminal of the third switch (Li: “SC_1”; Bada equivalent: “S2”) is connected to the second terminal of the second winding wire (Li: “705”).
The combo of Li, Denso, Bodkin, Panov, & Bada further teaches a second terminal of the fourth switch (Li: “SD_1”; Bada equivalent: “S1”) is connected to the first terminal of the second winding wire (Li: “705”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859