DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the response to the RCE filed on 04/24/2026.
Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 12-14 remain pending in the application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ref JPS6454257 or ‘257 (with provided machine English translation) in view of Schweinbenz et al. (DE102012217630 with provided machine English translation). Further evidence is provided by Daley (US 2,980,747).
Addressing claims 1-2 and 13, Ref ‘257 discloses a batter module (figs. 1-5) comprising:
a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells 1 are stacked in a thickness direction of the battery cells (a y-axis direction) (see annotated fig. 1-2 and 5 below),
a module frame that houses the battery cell stack and has an inner surface and an outer surface (see annotated fig. 5 below), and
an end plate (see annotated fig. 3 below) that is coupled to the module frame and covers a front surface or a rear surface of the battery cell stack,
wherein the module frame is formed with at least two vents (fig. 5 shows at least two vents) in the form of holes that define an inlet port (the opening at the inner surface) on the inner surface of the module frame and an outlet port (opening at the outer surface) on the outer surface of the module frame,
wherein each vent is covered by a cover 3 having at least one opening formed therein (breathability waterproof membrane, which implies the existence of at least one opening),
wherein a width direction (a z-axis direction) and a longitudinal direction (an x-axis direction) of the battery cell are perpendicular to the y-axis direction (see annotated fig. 1-2 and 5 below),
wherein the at least two vents are formed on a surface of the module frame extending along the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction (fig. 4),
wherein the inlet port and the outlet port on the z-axis direction are formed at different positions in the x-axis direction or in the y-axis direction (formed in the different positions in the y-axis direction as shown in annotated fig. 5),
wherein the at least two vents comprise a first vent and a second vent (fig. 5 shows multiple vents that include the claimed first vent and second vent), the first vent and the second vent being arranged in a row in the y-axis (fig. 4), and
Ref ‘257 shows the first direction extending from the inlet port of the first vent to the outlet port of the first vent is the same as the second direction extending from the inlet port of the second vent to the outlet port of the second vent.
Ref ‘257 is silent regarding the first direction is different from the second direction.
Schweinbenz discloses vent holes for battery; wherein, the vent holes have the same direction (fig. 3) or different direction directions (figs. 1-2). Schweinbenz further discloses in fig. 4 two vent holes arranged in a row in the y-axis direction (in reference to the y-direction shown in fig. 1); wherein, the vent directions of the two vent holes are different.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the battery module of Ref ‘ 257 with the known vent holes arrangement having different extension directions between the respective inlet and outlet as disclosed by Schweinbenz in order to direct the exhaust gas in different directions (Schweinbenz [0038]) and obtain the predictable result of venting gas from the battery cells (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143).
Addressing claim 4, fig. 4 of Ref ‘257 shows the far left row of vent holes being closer to the front surface and the far right row of vent holes being closer to the rear surface than to a central part of the battery cell stack.
Addressing claim 5, Ref ‘257 discloses the battery cells are sealed Ni-Cd battery cells, which includes the claimed electrode lead protruding from a first end of the battery cell and the electrode lead is located on the front surface or the rear surface of the battery cell stack as evidenced by fig. 1 of Daley.
Addressing claim 6, annotated fig. 5 below shows the inlet port and the outlet port include curves as claimed.
Addressing claim 7, Ref ‘257 is silent regarding the positions of the inlet port and the outlet portion in the x-axis direction of the module are different; however, since Ref ‘257 already discloses that the positions of the inlet port and outlet port along a direction are different, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vent holes of Ref ‘257 to have the positions of the inlet port and the outlet port along the x-axis to be different in order to accomplish the same result of venting gas from the battery cells.
Addressing claim 8, Ref ‘257 discloses in fig. 5 the positions of the inlet port and the outlet port in the y-axis direction in the module frame are different.
Addressing claim 9, figs. 4-5 of Ref ‘257 disclose at least two vents are arranged in a plurality of rows, and the plurality of rows are arranged along the x-axis direction.
Addressing claim 12, JP’257 describes the breathability waterproof membrane is “micro textile” (page 1 of the translation document), which corresponds to the claimed mesh shape.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ref JPS6454257 or ‘257 (with provided machine English translation) in view of Schweinbenz et al. (DE102012217630 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-9 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Christensen et al. (US 5,709,964).
Addressing claim 14, figs. 1-5 of Ref ‘257 discloses the battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells. Ref ‘257 is silent regarding the at least one battery module comprises a first battery module and a second battery module and the first and the second direction are different form direction in which the second batter module is located from the first battery module.
Christensen discloses multiple battery modules (battery packs 28) arranged front to back (fig. 1).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the battery pack of Ref ‘257 with multiple battery modules arranged in front to back arrangement as disclosed by Christensen in order to increase the power output of the battery pack. In the modified battery pack of Ref ‘257 in view of Schweinbenz and Christensen, the first direction and the second direction are different from direction in which the second battery module is located from the first battery module because the first and second direction of the vent holes as disclosed by Schweinbenz are perpendicular to or are different from the x-axis (fig. 1), which is the arrangement direction of the first and second battery modules in the modified battery pack of Ref ‘257.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-2, 4-9 and 12-13 as being unpatentable over the disclosure of Ref ‘257 in view of Schweinbenz, the Applicants argued that Ref ‘257 and Schweinbenz do not disclose the limitation of claim 1 because JP ‘257 only teaches vents formed to face a single direction and each of the vents of Schweinbenz corresponds to a single battery. The argument is not persuasive because figs. 1-2 of Schweinbenz shows that the vents are arranged in a row along the stacking direction of the battery cells 104 and the vents have different directions similarly to those of current application. Fig. 5 of Schweinbenz further discloses that two vent holes arranged in a row along the y-direction (fig. 1 of Schweinbenz) also have different vent directions. It is also noted that figs. 10a-10b and 11a-11b of current application show the vent holes having the same direction, similarly to those of Ref ‘257 and fig. 3 of Schweinbenz, without providing any evidence of criticality associated with the arrangement where the vent holes have different directions. Therefore, absent evidence of criticality from the Applicants, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the vent holes of Ref ‘257 from the known configuration of having the same vent direction to the known configuration of having different vent directions as disclosed by Schweinbenz in order to obtain the predictable result of venting gas from the battery cells. Therefore, Examiner maintains the position that claims 1-2, 4-9 and 12-13 are unpatentable over the disclosure of Ref ‘257 in view of Schweinbenz.
The argument regarding the rejection of claim 14 is not persuasive because the argument regarding the rejection of claim 13 is not persuasive.
Conclusion
/BACH T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726 05/15/2026