DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb et al. US (2022/0369412) in view of Teyeb et al. US (2022/0295366).
Regarding Claim 1, Teyeb discloses a method implemented in a radio access network (RAN) (see Fig. 4 i.e., master node (MN) & Para’s [0011] i.e., master node referred to as a Master eNB (MeNB) is a RAN node & [0016-0017]) for providing, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration which the UE is to apply (see Fig. 7 i.e., steps 700, 702, and 710 & Para’s [0016], [0043-0044] i.e., new SCG configuration, [0112-0113] i.e., new configuration of the SCG (i.e., “conditional configuration”) is provided in the received connection resume message, & [0119-0120]), the method comprising: determining, that a suspended radio connection between the UE and the RAN is to be resumed, (see Para’s [0022] i.e., When the UE needs to resume the connection, it transmits an RRC Connection Resume Request and RRC Resume Request in LTE and NR, respectively (i.e., RAN node will determine that a suspended radio connection is to be resumed based on received RRC connection resume request), [0083], [0111-0113] i.e., In this embodiment, the wireless communication device 612 is resuming a connection after being suspended to a dormant state (e.g., RRC_IDLE with suspend or RRC_INACTIVE) while it was operating in DC with a MCG with a first node (the MN) and a SCG with a second node (the SN), [0139] i.e., Table 5.3.3.4a i.e., RRCConnectionResume is received in response to an RRCConnectionResumeRequest & [0144])
after the determining, obtaining the configuration related to a candidate secondary cell to provide the UE with connectivity over multiple cells, (see Fig. 7 & Para’s [0016-0019], [0022], [0043-0044], [0112] i.e., The wireless device 612 receives, from the first node (the MN), a connection resume message with an indication to resume both the MCG and the SCG, [0113] i.e., new configuration or a new delta configuration of the SCG is provided in the received connection resume message (i.e., MN node obtains the new SCG configuration to provide in the RRC resume message), [0119-120], [0124], & [0150])
and providing, the obtained configuration to the UE prior to the UE resuming the radio connection over at least two cells, (see Fig. 7 & Para’s [0016-0017], [0022], [0043-0044], [0112] i.e., The wireless device 612 receives, from the first node (the MN), a connection resume message with an indication to resume both the MCG and the SCG, [0113] i.e., new configuration or a new delta configuration of the SCG is provided in the received connection resume message, [0118-0120], [0124-0125], & [0150])
While Teyeb discloses the UE applies the configuration provided and obtained by the RAN (see Para’s [0111-0113] & [0118-0119]), Teyeb does not disclose the configuration being a conditional configuration which the UE applies when a network-specified condition is satisfied, and the claim features of obtaining the conditional configuration and one or more conditions related to the candidate secondary cell to provide the UE with connectivity over multiple cells and providing the obtained conditional configuration and the one or more conditions to the UE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Teyeb et al. US (2022/0295366).
Teyeb discloses the configuration being a conditional configuration which the UE applies when a network-specified condition is satisfied (see Para’s [0059] i.e., conditional configuration, [0196] i.e., a configuration is associated with a trigger condition (i.e., trigger condition is “a network-specified condition”)…conditional handover concept is used to conditionally add/change secondary nodes…Or, other embodiments may be applied where a UE in DC receives an RRCReconfiguration with reconfiguration with sync and a trigger condition to apply the configuration and change the SCG to the one specified in the configuration (i.e., “conditional configuration” based on associated trigger condition) upon fulfillment of the trigger condition (i.e., “network-specified condition is satisfied”), & [0201] i.e., conditional HO trigger conditions (i.e., trigger condition is a network-specified condition) are associated with A3 event-based measurements (i.e., neighbor cell becomes better than the serving cell by a certain threshold))
obtaining the conditional configuration and one or more conditions related to the candidate secondary cell to provide the UE with connectivity over multiple cells (see Para’s [0059] i.e., the network 10 may transmit a configuration to the wireless device 16 but indicate that the wireless device 16 is to only conditionally apply that configuration when one or more trigger conditions are fulfilled (i.e., the network obtains the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition), [0196] i.e., For example, some embodiments may be applied where a UE in single connectivity receives an RRCReconfiguration with an SCG configuration and a trigger condition (i.e., the network obtains the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition) to apply that configuration and go to DC mode upon fulfillment of the trigger conditions. Or, other embodiments may be applied where a UE in DC receives an RRCReconfiguration with reconfiguration with sync and a trigger condition to apply the configuration (i.e., the network obtains the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition) and change the SCG (i.e., “candidate secondary cell”) to the one specified in the configuration upon fulfillment of the trigger condition)
and providing the obtained conditional configuration and the one or more conditions to the UE (see Para’s [0059] & [0196] i.e., For example, some embodiments may be applied where a UE in single connectivity receives an RRCReconfiguration with an SCG configuration and a trigger condition (i.e., the network provides the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition to the UE) to apply that configuration and go to DC mode upon fulfillment of the trigger conditions. Or, other embodiments may be applied where a UE in DC receives an RRCReconfiguration with reconfiguration with sync and a trigger condition to apply the configuration (i.e., the network provides the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition to the UE) and change the SCG to the one specified in the configuration upon fulfillment of the trigger condition)
(Teyeb suggests the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold (see Para’s [0059], [0196], & [0201]) and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network (see Para [0202])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for configuration related to the candidate secondary cell obtained and provided to the UE by the RAN as disclosed in Teyeb (‘412) to be implemented as the conditional configuration related to the candidate secondary cell including an associated trigger condition which is obtained and provided to the UE by the radio access network as disclosed in the teachings of Teyeb (‘366), which results in the RAN, after the determining, obtaining and providing the conditional configuration and the one or more conditions to the UE, because the motivation lies in Teyeb (‘366) that the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network.
Regarding Claim 2, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 1, wherein providing the conditional configuration includes providing a candidate secondary node (C-SN) configuration for a base station at which the suspended radio connection does not terminate, (Teyeb, see Para’s [0011] i.e., secondary node, [0016] i.e., SCG is associated with a respective secondary node (SN), [0043-0044] i.e., the connection resume message may comprise a new SCG configuration (i.e., “candidate secondary node configuration”)…and applying the new SCG configuration and initiating random access with a PSCell of the new SCG configuration (i.e., “candidate secondary node configuration”), [0111] i.e., the wireless communication device 612 is resuming a connection after being suspended to a dormant state while it was operating in DC with a MCG with a first node (the MN) and a SCG with a second node (the SN), [0112-0113], [0118-0120] i.e., UE applies the new or delta SCG configuration, & [0125] i.e., initiates random access with the PSCell of the SN (i.e., SN associated with the new SCG configuration is the “base station” at which the suspended radio connection does not terminate)
Regarding Claim 3, Teyeb discloses The method of claim 2, wherein: the suspended radio connection is (i) a single connectivity (SC) connection between the UE and a cell of a master mode (MN) operating in the RAN
or (ii) a dual connectivity (DC) connection between the UE, a cell of the MN, and a cell of a source SN, (Teyeb, see Para’s [0011] i.e., secondary node in DC which serves the UE may be a source SN, [0073] i.e., wireless device served by a wireless network (i.e., “source”) & [0111] i.e., the wireless communication device 612 is resuming a connection after being suspended to a dormant state while it was operating in DC with a MCG with a first node (the MN) and a SCG with a second node (the SN)
and the C-SN configuration pertains to configuring the UE to operate in DC with the cell of the MN and a cell of the base station operating as a candidate SN, (Teyeb, see Para’s [0016-0017], [0043-0044] i.e., the connection resume message may comprise a new SCG configuration (i.e., “C-SN configuration”)…and applying the new SCG configuration and initiating random access with a PSCell of the new SCG configuration, [0111-0113] i.e., step 701: The wireless communication device 612 receives, from the first node (the MN), a connection resume message with an indication to resume both the MCG and the SCG…step 702: the wireless communication device 612 determines whether a new configuration or a new delta configuration of the SCG is provided in the received connection resume message & [0118-0120] i.e., the UE applies the new SCG configuration & [0125] i.e., initiates random access with the PSCell of the SN (i.e., “candidate SN”)), but does not explicitly disclose the base station operating as a candidate SN. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Teyeb et al. US (2022/0295366).
Teyeb discloses a C-SN configuration pertains to configuring the UE to operate in DC with a cell of a MN and a cell of a base station operating as a candidate SN (see Para’s [0070] i.e., secondary radio network node, [0120] i.e., dual connectivity (DC) includes secondary node, [0196] i.e., DC, [0206] i.e., candidate target secondary node, & [0252] i.e., examples of network nodes include, but are not limited to, base stations etc.)
(Teyeb suggests the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold (see Para’s [0059], [0196], & [0201]) and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network, (see Para [0202])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the base station or the secondary node configured with the UE to operate in DC as disclosed in Teyeb (‘412) to be implemented as a candidate secondary node (SN) or base station disclosed in Teyeb (‘366) who discloses a C-SN configuration pertains to configuring the UE to operate in DC with a cell of a MN and a cell of a base station operating as a candidate SN, because the motivation lies in Teyeb (‘366) that the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Teyeb (‘412) in view of Teyeb (‘366) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein providing the conditional configuration includes providing a C-SN configuration for a base station at which the suspended radio connection terminates. (Teyeb (‘412), see Para’s [0016], [0025] i.e., The RRC connection resume message contains an indication to restore/resume the MCG SCells (i.e., “C-SN configuration” for first node MN), [0111] i.e., the wireless communication device 612 is resuming a connection after being suspended to a dormant state while it was operating in DC with a MCG with a first node (the MN) (i.e., MN node at which the suspended radio connection terminates) and a SCG with a second node (the SN) & [0112-0113] i.e., The wireless communication device 612 receives, from the first node (MN), a connection resume message with an indication to resume both the MCG and the SCG).
Regarding Claim 6, Teyeb discloses the method of claim 5, wherein: the suspended radio connection is a DC connection between the UE, a cell of an MN, and a first cell of the base station operating as a source SN, (Teyeb (‘412), see Para’s [0011] i.e., secondary node in DC which serves the UE may be a source SN, [0073] i.e., wireless device served by a wireless network (i.e., “source”), & [0111] i.e., the wireless communication device 612 is resuming a connection after being suspended to a dormant state while it was operating in DC with a MCG with a first node (the MN) and a SCG with a second node (the SN))
and the C-SN configuration pertains to configuring the UE to operate in DC with the cell of the MN and a second cell of the base station operating as a candidate SN. (Teyeb, see Para’s [0016-0017] i.e., secondary cells of the secondary node, [0043-0044] i.e., the connection resume message may comprise a new SCG configuration (i.e., “C-SN configuration”)…and applying the new SCG configuration and initiating random access with a PSCell of the new SCG configuration, [0111-0113] i.e., step 701: The wireless communication device 612 receives, from the first node (the MN), a connection resume message with an indication to resume both the MCG and the SCG…step 702: the wireless communication device 612 determines whether a new configuration or a new delta configuration of the SCG is provided in the received connection resume message & [0118-0120] i.e., the UE applies the new SCG configuration & [0125] i.e., initiates random access with the PSCell of the SN (i.e., “candidate SN”)), but does not explicitly disclose the base station operating as a candidate SN. but does not explicitly disclose the base station operating as a candidate SN. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Teyeb et al. US (2022/0295366).
Teyeb discloses a C-SN configuration pertains to configuring the UE to operate in DC with a cell of a MN and a cell of a base station operating as a candidate SN (see Para’s [0070] i.e., secondary radio network node, [0120] i.e., dual connectivity (DC) includes secondary node, [0196] i.e., DC, [0206] i.e., candidate target secondary node, & [0252] i.e., examples of network nodes include, but are not limited to, base stations etc.)
(Teyeb suggests the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold (see Para’s [0059], [0196], & [0201]) and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network, (see Para [0202])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the base station or the secondary node configured with the UE to operate in DC as disclosed in Teyeb (‘412) to be implemented as a candidate secondary node (SN) or base station disclosed in Teyeb (‘366) who discloses a C-SN configuration pertains to configuring the UE to operate in DC with a cell of a MN and a cell of a base station operating as a candidate SN, because the motivation lies in Teyeb (‘366) that the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Teyeb (‘412) in view of Teyeb (‘366) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein providing the conditional configuration includes providing a conditional secondary cell (C-SCell) configuration for a candidate secondary cell which the suspended radio connection does not include, (Teyeb (‘412), see Fig. 7 & Para’s [0016] i.e., SCG includes one or more cells associated with a respective secondary node (SN) which includes secondary cells (SCells), [0043-0044] i.e., the connection resume message comprises a new SCG configuration (i.e., “conditional secondary cell configuration”)…and applying the new SCG configuration, [0111-0113] i.e., suspended radio connection does not include secondary cell of the new SCG configuration, & [0118-0120] i.e., applies the new SCG configuration…initiates random access with the PScell of the SN)
Regarding Claim 9, Teyeb discloses a base station implemented in a radio access network (RAN) (see Fig. 11 & Para’s [0011] & [0151]), the base station (see Fig. 11) comprising processing hardware (see Fig. 11 i.e., processor 1104 & Para [0151]) and configured to: determine that a suspended radio connection between a UE and the RAN is to be resumed, (see Para’s [0022] i.e., When the UE needs to resume the connection, it transmits an RRC Connection Resume Request and RRC Resume Request in LTE and NR, respectively (i.e., RAN node will determine that a suspended radio connection is to be resumed based on received RRC connection resume request), [0083], [0111-0113] i.e., In this embodiment, the wireless communication device 612 is resuming a connection after being suspended to a dormant state (e.g., RRC_IDLE with suspend or RRC_INACTIVE) while it was operating in DC with a MCG with a first node (the MN) and a SCG with a second node (the SN), [0139] i.e., Table 5.3.3.4a i.e., RRCConnectionResume is received in response to an RRCConnectionResumeRequest & [0144])
after the determining, obtaining a configuration which the UE is to apply (see Fig. 7 i.e., steps 700, 702, and 710 & Para’s [0016], [0043-0044] i.e., new SCG configuration, [0112-0113] i.e., new configuration of the SCG (i.e., “conditional configuration”) is provided in the received connection resume message, & [0119-0120]) to provide the UE with connectivity over multiple cells, (see Fig. 7 & Para’s [0016-0019], [0022], [0043-0044], [0112] i.e., The wireless device 612 receives, from the first node (the MN), a connection resume message with an indication to resume both the MCG and the SCG, [0113] i.e., new configuration or a new delta configuration of the SCG is provided in the received connection resume message (i.e., MN node obtains the new SCG configuration to provide in the RRC resume message), [0119-0120], [0124-0125], & [0150])
the configuration related to a candidate secondary cell (Teyeb, see Fig. 7 i.e., & Para’s [0016] i.e., secondary cell group (SCG) of secondary node includes secondary cells (Scells), [0043-0044] i.e., the connection resume message comprises a new SCG configuration (i.e., related to a candidate secondary cell)…and initiating random access with a PSCell of the new SCG configuration, [0112-0113] i.e., new configuration of the SCG (i.e., “conditional configuration”) is provided in the received connection resume message, [0119-0120], [0125] i.e., initiates random access with the PScell of the SN (step 716))
and providing the obtained configuration to the UE prior to the UE resuming the radio connection over at least two cells, (see Fig. 7 & Para’s [0016-0017], [0022], [0043-0044], [0112] i.e., The wireless device 612 receives, from the first node (the MN), a connection resume message with an indication to resume both the MCG and the SCG, [0113] i.e., new configuration or a new delta configuration of the SCG is provided in the received connection resume message, [0118-120], [0124-0125], & [0150])
While Teyeb discloses the UE applies the configuration provided and obtained by the RAN (see Para’s [0111-0113] & [0118-0119]), Teyeb does not disclose the configuration being a conditional configuration which the UE is to apply when one or more conditions are satisfied, the conditional configuration related to a candidate secondary cell, and the claim features of obtaining the conditional configuration and providing the obtained conditional configuration and the one or more conditions to the UE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Teyeb et al. US (2022/0295366).
Teyeb discloses the configuration being a conditional configuration which the UE is to apply when one or more conditions are satisfied (see Para’s [0059] i.e., conditional configuration, [0196] i.e., a configuration is associated with a trigger condition (i.e., “condition”)…conditional handover concept is used to conditionally add/change secondary nodes…Or, other embodiments may be applied where a UE in DC receives an RRCReconfiguration with reconfiguration with sync and a trigger condition to apply the configuration and change the SCG to the one specified in the configuration (i.e., “conditional configuration” based on associated trigger condition) upon fulfillment of the trigger condition (i.e., “condition is satisfied”), & [0201] i.e., conditional HO trigger conditions (i.e., trigger condition is a condition) are associated with A3 event-based measurements (i.e., neighbor cell becomes better than the serving cell by a certain threshold))
obtaining the conditional configuration which the UE is to apply when one or more conditions are satisfied to provide the UE with connectivity over multiple cells, (see Para’s [0059] i.e., the network 10 may transmit a configuration to the wireless device 16 but indicate that the wireless device 16 is to only conditionally apply that configuration when one or more trigger conditions are fulfilled (i.e., the network obtains the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition), [0196] i.e., For example, some embodiments may be applied where a UE in single connectivity receives an RRCReconfiguration with an SCG configuration and a trigger condition (i.e., the network obtains the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition) to apply that configuration and go to DC mode upon fulfillment of the trigger conditions. Or, other embodiments may be applied where a UE in DC receives an RRCReconfiguration with reconfiguration with sync and a trigger condition to apply the configuration (i.e., the network obtains the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition) and change the SCG (i.e., “candidate secondary cell”) to the one specified in the configuration upon fulfillment of the trigger condition)
the conditional configuration related to a candidate secondary cell (see Para’s [0058-0059] & [0196] i.e., SCG)
and providing the obtained conditional configuration and the one or more conditions to the UE (see Para’s [0059] & [0196] i.e., For example, some embodiments may be applied where a UE in single connectivity receives an RRCReconfiguration with an SCG configuration and a trigger condition (i.e., the network provides the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition to the UE) to apply that configuration and go to DC mode upon fulfillment of the trigger conditions. Or, other embodiments may be applied where a UE in DC receives an RRCReconfiguration with reconfiguration with sync and a trigger condition to apply the configuration (i.e., the network provides the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition to the UE) and change the SCG to the one specified in the configuration upon fulfillment of the trigger condition)
(Teyeb suggests the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold (see Para’s [0059], [0196], & [0201]) and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network (see Para [0202])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for configuration related to the candidate secondary cell obtained and provided to the UE by the RAN as disclosed in Teyeb (‘412) to be implemented as the conditional configuration related to the candidate secondary cell including an associated trigger condition which is obtained and provided to the UE by the radio access network as disclosed in the teachings of Teyeb (‘366), which results in the RAN, after the determining, obtaining and providing the conditional configuration and the one or more conditions to the UE, because the motivation lies in Teyeb (‘366) that the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network.
Regarding Claim 10, Teyeb discloses a method implemented in a UE for obtaining a configuration which the UE is to apply (see Fig. 7 i.e., steps 700, 702, and 710 & Para’s [0016], [0043-0044] i.e., new SCG configuration, [0112-0113] i.e., new configuration of the SCG (i.e., “conditional configuration”) is provided in the received connection resume message, & [0119-0120]), the method comprising: suspending a radio connection between the UE and a radio access network (RAN); (see Para’s [0011] & [0111] i.e., In this embodiment, the wireless communication device 612 is resuming a connection after being suspended to a dormant state (e.g., RRC_IDLE with suspend or RRC_INACTIVE) while it was operating in DC with a MCG with a first node (the MN) and a SCG with a second node (the SN)).
Transmitting to the RAN, a request to resume the suspended radio connection, (see Para’s [0022] i.e., When the UE needs to resume the connection, it transmits an RRC Connection Resume Request and RRC Resume Request in LTE and NR, respectively (i.e., RAN node will determine that a suspended radio connection is to be resumed based on received RRC connection resume request), [0083], [0111-0113], [0139] i.e., Table 5.3.3.4a i.e., RRCConnectionResume is received in response to an RRCConnectionResumeRequest & [0144])
and receiving, from the RAN after transmitting the request to resume the suspended radio connection (see Para’s [0022] & [0139]) and prior to resuming the radio connection over at least two cells (see Para’s [0111-0113], [0118-0120], & [0125]), the configuration for establishing connectivity with the RAN over multiple cells, (see Para’s [0043-0044], [0111] i.e., In this embodiment, the wireless communication device 612 is resuming a connection after being suspended to a dormant state (e.g., RRC_IDLE with suspend or RRC_INACTIVE) while it was operating in DC with a MCG with a first node (the MN) and a SCG with a second node (the SN), [0112] i.e., The wireless device 612 receives, from the first node (the MN), a connection resume message with an indication to resume both the MCG and the SCG, [0113] i.e., new configuration of the SCG (i.e., “conditional configuration”) is provided in the received connection resume message, [0118-0120], & [0124-0125])
While Teyeb discloses the UE applies the configuration provided by the RAN (see Para’s [0111-0113] & [0118-0119]), Teyeb does not disclose the configuration being a conditional configuration which the UE is to apply when a network-specified condition is satisfied and the claim feature of receiving the conditional configuration and one or more conditions to the UE for establishing connectivity with the RAN over multiple cells. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Teyeb et al. US (2022/0295366).
Teyeb discloses a configuration being a conditional configuration which the UE applies when a network-specified condition is satisfied (see Para’s [0059] i.e., conditional configuration, [0196] i.e., a configuration is associated with a trigger condition (i.e., trigger condition is “a network-specified condition”)…conditional handover concept is used to conditionally add/change secondary nodes…Or, other embodiments may be applied where a UE in DC receives an RRCReconfiguration with reconfiguration with sync and a trigger condition to apply the configuration and change the SCG to the one specified in the configuration (i.e., “conditional configuration” based on associated trigger condition) upon fulfillment of the trigger condition (i.e., “network-specified condition is satisfied”), & [0201] i.e., conditional HO trigger conditions (i.e., trigger condition is a network-specified condition) are associated with A3 event-based measurements (i.e., neighbor cell becomes better than the serving cell by a certain threshold))
the conditional configuration and one or more conditions for establishing connectivity with the RAN over multiple cells, (see Para’s [0059] i.e., the network 10 may transmit a configuration to the wireless device 16 but indicate that the wireless device 16 is to only conditionally apply that configuration when one or more trigger conditions are fulfilled (i.e., the network obtains the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition), [0196] i.e., For example, some embodiments may be applied where a UE in single connectivity receives an RRCReconfiguration with an SCG configuration and a trigger condition (i.e., the network obtains the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition) to apply that configuration and go to DC mode upon fulfillment of the trigger conditions. Or, other embodiments may be applied where a UE in DC receives an RRCReconfiguration with reconfiguration with sync and a trigger condition to apply the configuration (i.e., the network obtains the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition) and change the SCG (i.e., “candidate secondary cell”) to the one specified in the configuration upon fulfillment of the trigger condition)
receiving the conditional configuration and one or more conditions to the UE for establishing connectivity with the RAN over multiple cells, (see Para’s [0059] & [0196] i.e., For example, some embodiments may be applied where a UE in single connectivity receives an RRCReconfiguration with an SCG configuration and a trigger condition (i.e., the network provides the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition to the UE) to apply that configuration and go to DC mode upon fulfillment of the trigger conditions. Or, other embodiments may be applied where a UE in DC receives an RRCReconfiguration with reconfiguration with sync and a trigger condition to apply the configuration (i.e., the network provides the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition to the UE) and change the SCG to the one specified in the configuration upon fulfillment of the trigger condition)
(Teyeb suggests the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold (see Para’s [0059], [0196], & [0201]) and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network (see Para [0202])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for configuration related to the candidate secondary cell obtained and provided to the UE by the RAN as disclosed in Teyeb (‘412) to be implemented as the conditional configuration including an associated trigger condition which is obtained and provided to the UE by the radio access network as disclosed in the teachings of Teyeb (‘366), which results in the UE receiving, after transmitting the request to resume and prior to resuming the radio connection, the conditional configuration and the one or more conditions, because the motivation lies in Teyeb (‘366) that the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network.
Regarding Claim 11, the claim is directed towards a method implemented in a UE which performs the same claim features as the method in claim 3. Therefore claim 11 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Teyeb (‘412) in view of Teyeb (‘366) as in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is directed towards a method implemented in a UE which performs the same claim features as the method in claim 6. Therefore claim 13 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Teyeb (‘412) in view of Teyeb (‘366) as in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 16, Teyeb discloses a UE (see Fig. 14) comprising processing hardware (see Fig. 14 i.e., processor 1402 of wireless communication device 1400 (i.e., UE) & Para’s [0073] & [0157]) and configured to: suspend a radio connection between the UE and a radio access network (RAN); (see Para’s [0011] & [0111] i.e., In this embodiment, the wireless communication device 612 is resuming a connection after being suspended to a dormant state (e.g., RRC_IDLE with suspend or RRC_INACTIVE) while it was operating in DC with a MCG with a first node (the MN) and a SCG with a second node (the SN)).
Transmit, to the RAN, a request to resume the suspended radio connection; (see Para’s [0022] i.e., When the UE needs to resume the connection, it transmits an RRC Connection Resume Request and RRC Resume Request in LTE and NR, respectively (i.e., RAN node will determine that a suspended radio connection is to be resumed based on received RRC connection resume request), [0083], [0111-0113], [0139] i.e., Table 5.3.3.4a i.e., RRCConnectionResume is received in response to an RRCConnectionResumeRequest & [0144])
and receive, from the RAN after transmitting the request to resume the suspended radio connection (see Para’s [0022] & [0139]) and prior to resuming the radio connection over at least two cells (see Para’s [0111-0113], [0118-0120], & [0125]), a configuration for establishing connectivity with the RAN over multiple cells, which the UE is to apply, (see Para’s [0043-0044] i.e., new SCG configuration (i.e., “conditional configuration”), [0111] i.e., In this embodiment, the wireless communication device 612 is resuming a connection after being suspended to a dormant state (e.g., RRC_IDLE with suspend or RRC_INACTIVE) while it was operating in DC with a MCG with a first node (the MN) and a SCG with a second node (the SN), [0112] i.e., The wireless device 612 receives, from the first node (the MN), a connection resume message with an indication to resume both the MCG and the SCG, [0113] i.e., new configuration of the SCG (i.e., “conditional configuration”) is provided in the received connection resume message, [0118-0120] i.e., the wireless device applies the new or delta SCG configuration, & [0124-0125])
While Teyeb discloses the UE applies the configuration provided by the RAN (see Para’s [0111-0113] & [0118-0119]), Teyeb does not disclose the configuration being a conditional configuration which the UE is to apply when a network-specified condition is satisfied and the claim feature of receiving the conditional configuration and one or more conditions to the UE for establishing connectivity with the RAN over multiple cells. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Teyeb et al. US (2022/0295366).
Teyeb discloses a configuration being a conditional configuration which the UE applies when a network-specified condition is satisfied (see Para’s [0059] i.e., conditional configuration, [0196] i.e., a configuration is associated with a trigger condition (i.e., trigger condition is “a network-specified condition”)…conditional handover concept is used to conditionally add/change secondary nodes…Or, other embodiments may be applied where a UE in DC receives an RRCReconfiguration with reconfiguration with sync and a trigger condition to apply the configuration and change the SCG to the one specified in the configuration (i.e., “conditional configuration” based on associated trigger condition) upon fulfillment of the trigger condition (i.e., “network-specified condition is satisfied”), & [0201] i.e., conditional HO trigger conditions (i.e., trigger condition is a network-specified condition) are associated with A3 event-based measurements (i.e., neighbor cell becomes better than the serving cell by a certain threshold))
the conditional configuration and one or more conditions for establishing connectivity with the RAN over multiple cells, (see Para’s [0059] i.e., the network 10 may transmit a configuration to the wireless device 16 but indicate that the wireless device 16 is to only conditionally apply that configuration when one or more trigger conditions are fulfilled (i.e., the network obtains the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition), [0196] i.e., For example, some embodiments may be applied where a UE in single connectivity receives an RRCReconfiguration with an SCG configuration and a trigger condition (i.e., the network obtains the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition) to apply that configuration and go to DC mode upon fulfillment of the trigger conditions. Or, other embodiments may be applied where a UE in DC receives an RRCReconfiguration with reconfiguration with sync and a trigger condition to apply the configuration (i.e., the network obtains the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition) and change the SCG (i.e., “candidate secondary cell”) to the one specified in the configuration upon fulfillment of the trigger condition)
receiving the conditional configuration and one or more conditions to the UE for establishing connectivity with the RAN over multiple cells, (see Para’s [0059] & [0196] i.e., For example, some embodiments may be applied where a UE in single connectivity receives an RRCReconfiguration with an SCG configuration and a trigger condition (i.e., the network provides the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition to the UE) to apply that configuration and go to DC mode upon fulfillment of the trigger conditions. Or, other embodiments may be applied where a UE in DC receives an RRCReconfiguration with reconfiguration with sync and a trigger condition to apply the configuration (i.e., the network provides the conditional configuration and its associated trigger condition to the UE) and change the SCG to the one specified in the configuration upon fulfillment of the trigger condition)
(Teyeb suggests the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold (see Para’s [0059], [0196], & [0201]) and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network (see Para [0202])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for configuration related to the candidate secondary cell provided to the UE by the RAN as disclosed in Teyeb (‘412) to be implemented as the conditional configuration including an associated trigger condition which is provided to the UE by the radio access network as disclosed in the teachings of Teyeb (‘366), which results in the UE receiving, after transmitting the request to resume and prior to resuming the radio connection, the conditional configuration and the one or more conditions, because the motivation lies in Teyeb (‘366) that the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network.
Regarding Claim 17, the claim is directed towards a base station which performs the same claim features as the method in claim 2. Therefore claim 17 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Teyeb (‘412) in view of Teyeb (‘366) as in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 18, the claim is directed towards a base station which performs the same claim features as the method in claim 3. Therefore claim 18 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Teyeb (‘412) in view of Teyeb (‘366) as in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is directed towards a UE which performs the same claim features as the method in claim 3. Therefore claim 19 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Teyeb (‘412) in view of Teyeb (‘366) as in claim 3.
Claims 4, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb et al. US (2022/0369412) in view of Teyeb et al. US (2022/0295366), as applied to claims 2, 10, and 16 above, and further in view of Yilmaz et al. US (2022/0141904).
Regarding Claims 4, 12, and 20 Teyeb discloses the method and UE of claims 2, 10, and 16 wherein: the suspended radio connection is a DC connection between the UE, a cell of a source MN, and a cell of a source SN, (see Para’s [0011] i.e., master node which serves the UE may be a source MN and secondary node which serves the UE may be a source SN in DC, [0073] i.e., wireless device is served by a wireless network (i.e., “source”) & [0111] i.e., the wireless communication device 612 is resuming a connection after being suspended to a dormant state while it was operating in DC with a MCG with a first node (the MN) and a SCG with a second node (the SN))
and the C-SN configuration pertains to configuring the UE to operate in DC with a cell of a MN and a cell of the base station operating as a candidate SN. Teyeb, see Para’s [0016-0017], [0043-0044] i.e., the connection resume message may comprise a new SCG configuration (i.e., “C-SN configuration”)…and applying the new SCG configuration and initiating random access with a PSCell of the new SCG configuration, [0111-0113] i.e., step 701: The wireless communication device 612 receives, from the first node (the MN), a connection resume message with an indication to resume both the MCG and the SCG…step 702: the wireless communication device 612 determines whether a new configuration or a new delta configuration of the SCG is provided in the received connection resume message & [0118-0120] i.e., the UE applies the new SCG configuration & [0125] i.e., initiates random access with the PSCell of the SN (i.e., “candidate SN”)), but does not explicitly disclose the base station operating as a candidate SN. but does not explicitly disclose the base station operating as a candidate SN. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Teyeb et al. US (2022/0295366).
Teyeb discloses a C-SN configuration pertains to configuring the UE to operate in DC with a cell of a MN and a cell of a base station operating as a candidate SN (see Para’s [0070] i.e., secondary radio network node, [0120] i.e., dual connectivity (DC) includes secondary node, [0196] i.e., DC, [0206] i.e., candidate target secondary node, & [0252] i.e., examples of network nodes include, but are not limited to, base stations etc.)
(Teyeb suggests the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold (see Para’s [0059], [0196], & [0201]) and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network, (see Para [0202])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the base station or the secondary node configured with the UE to operate in DC as disclosed in Teyeb (‘412) to be implemented as a candidate secondary node (SN) or base station disclosed in Teyeb (‘366) who discloses a C-SN configuration pertains to configuring the UE to operate in DC with a cell of a MN and a cell of a base station operating as a candidate SN, because the motivation lies in Teyeb (‘366) that the UE applies the configuration based on a condition that the trigger condition is fulfilled such as satisfying a candidate secondary cell’s quality threshold and for providing a faster way of performing conditional handover involving dual connectivity (DC) setup, while at the same time reducing the signaling overhead, thus benefiting both the UE and the network.
The combination of Teyeb in view of Teyeb does not disclose configuring the UE to operate in DC with a cell of a target MN and a cell of the base station operating as the candidate SN. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yilmaz et al. US (2022/0141904).
Yilmaz discloses configuring the UE to operate in DC with a cell of a target MN and a cell of a secondary base station (see Fig. 16 & Para’s [0181], [0329-0330] i.e., Fig. 16 flowchart illustrating exemplifying signaling in a communications system for RRC Resume from an RRC_INACTIVE with resuming both MCG and SCG configurations…a UE 120 in RRC_INACTIVE with both suspended MCG and SCG configurations initiate an RRC Resume procedure, by transmitting an RRCResumeRequest to the MN 110, Action 1, [0331] When the target node, e.g., the MN 110 (i.e., “target MN”), receives the resume request from the UE 120, it may decide that the SCG configurations are still valid and that the UE 120 shall resume them, & [0337] i.e., resumption of the MCG and the SCG).
(Yilmaz suggests the target node such as the target MN 110 resumes both the MCG and SCG configurations when receiving the resume request from the UE for properly resuming both the suspended MCG and SCG configurations for the UE and successfully completing the resume procedure, (see Fig. 16 & Para’s [0181], [0329-0331], & [0337])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the configuring of the UE to operate in DC with a cell of a MN and a cell of the base station operating as a candidate SN as disclosed in Teyeb in view of Teyeb to be configured to operate in DC with a cell of a target MN and a cell of the base station operating as the candidate SN based on the teachings of Yilmaz who discloses configuring a UE to operate in DC with a cell of a target MN and a cell of a secondary base station based on a resume procedure, because the motivation lies in Yilmaz that the target node such as the target MN 110 resumes both the MCG and SCG configurations when receiving the resume request from the UE for properly resuming both the suspended MCG and SCG configurations for the UE and successfully completing the resume procedure.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb et al. US (2022/0369412) in view of Teyeb et al. US (2022/0295366) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Rugeland et al. US (2021/0345208), and further in view of Abedini et al. US (2020/0305128).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Teyeb (‘412) in view of Teyeb (‘366) discloses the method of claim 1 including the base station in the suspended radio connection (Teyeb, see Para’s [0011] & [0111]), but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein providing the conditional configuration includes providing a conditional distributed node (C-DU) configuration for a candidate secondary DU (CS-DU) in a distributed base station included in the suspended radio connection. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Rugeland et al. US (2021/0345208).
Rugeland discloses the network redirects the UE to a candidate secondary DU in a distributed base station (see Fig. 11) during RRC resume (see Fig. 11 i.e., gNB (i.e., distributed base station including a plurality of gNB-DUs & Para’s [0031-0035] & [0064] i.e., In case of the split architecture (CU-DU split), the embodiments enable the network to redirect a UE to a different DU (i.e., “candidate secondary DU”) during RRC resume which may be less loaded).
(Rugeland suggests the network is enabled to redirect the UE to the different DU during RRC resume which may be less loaded for relieving the load of the first DU, (see Para [0064])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the base station in the suspended radio connection as disclosed in Teyeb in view of Teyeb to be implemented as the distributed base station such as the gNB disclosed in Rugeland who discloses the network redirects the UE to a different candidate secondary DU in a distributed base station, because the motivation lies in Rugeland that the network is enabled to redirect the UE to the different DU during RRC resume which may be less loaded for relieving the load of the first DU.
While the combination of Teyeb in view of Teyeb, and further in view of Rugeland discloses configuring a candidate secondary DU in a distributed base station (Rugeland, see Para [0064]), the combination of Teyeb in view of Teyeb, and further in view of Rugeland does not disclose the claim feature or providing a conditional distributed node configuration for the candidate secondary DU. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Abedini et al. US (2020/0305128).
Abedini discloses providing a conditional distributed node configuration for a candidate secondary DU (see Para’s [0079] i.e., transmitting a second DU configuration to change a DU configuration from the first DU configuration to the second DU configuration (i.e., “candidate secondary DU”), [0086], & [0093] i.e., process 600 may include transmitting a message to a UE, the message including the second DU configuration for the DU)
(Abedini suggests providing the second DU configuration to the UE in order for the UE to properly receive required configuration information of the second DU and to properly change the DU configuration from a first DU configuration to the second DU configuration (see Para’s [0079], [0086] & [0093])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the candidate secondary DU in the distributed base station included in the suspended radio connection for the UE as disclosed in Teyeb in view of Teyeb, and further in view of Rugeland to provide to the UE a conditional distributed node configuration for the candidate secondary DU as disclosed in the teachings of Abedini, because the motivation lies in Abedini for providing the second DU configuration to the UE in order for the UE to properly receive required configuration information of the second DU and to properly change the DU configuration from a first DU configuration to the second DU configuration.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb et al. US (2022/0369412) in view of Teyeb et al. US (2022/0295366), as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Chandramouli et al. US (2021/0127265).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Teyeb (‘412) in view of Teyeb (‘366) discloses the method of claim 10, wherein receiving the conditional configuration includes: receiving a command to resume the suspended radio connection (Teyeb, see Para’s [0112-0113], [0139] i.e., Table 5.3.3.4a i.e., RRCConnectionResume, & [0148] i.e., RRC resume message), the command associated with a protocol (Teyeb, see Para’s [0023-0024] i.e., RRC Resume procedure) and including the conditional configuration (Teyeb, see Para [0113]), but does not explicitly disclose the protocol for controlling radio resources. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chandramouli et al. US (2021/0127265).
Chandramouli discloses the RRC protocol is used for controlling radio resources between a user apparatus and an eNB (see Para [0125] i.e., RRC is a protocol layer between a user apparatus and an eNB, and is in charge of, for example…establishing/maintaining or release of radio bearers (i.e., “radio resources”) (establishing an RRC connection between the user apparatus and eNB)).
(Chandramouli suggests the RRC is a protocol layer between a user apparatus and an eNB and is used for establishing, maintaining, or release radio bearers (i.e., “radio resources”) and establishing an RRC connection between the user apparatus and eNB, (see Para [0125]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the RRC resume procedure performed by the UE as disclosed in Teyeb in view of Teyeb to be associated with the RRC protocol disclosed in the teachings of Chandramouli, because the motivation lies in Chandramouli that the RRC is a protocol layer between a user apparatus and an eNB and is used for appropriately establishing, maintaining, or release radio bearers (i.e., “radio resources”) and establishing an RRC connection between the user apparatus and eNB.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb et al. US (2022/0369412) in view of Teyeb et al. US (2022/0295366) as applied to claim 10 above, further in view of Vesely et al. US (2021/0352531), and further in view of Chandramouli et al. US (2021/0127265).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Teyeb (‘412) in view of Teyeb (‘366) discloses the method of claim 10 including the received RRC resume message including the conditional configuration (Teyeb, see Para’s [0044] & [0113]) , but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein receiving the conditional configuration includes: receiving a container message associated with a protocol, the container message including the conditional configuration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Vesely et al. US (2021/0352531).
Vesely discloses receiving a container message associated with a protocol, (see Para’s [0029] i.e., an RRC container that comprises an RRC Resume message, [0123] i.e., RRC resume procedure, & [0133-0134])
the container message including an RRC Resume message (see Para’s [0029] i.e., an RRC container that comprises an RRC Resume message & [0133-0134])
(Vesely suggests the RRC container includes the RRC resume message which is sent to the UE for successfully performing an RRC resume procedure for resuming a connection for the UE, (see Para’s [0029], [0123], & [0133-0134])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the RRC resume message including the conditional configuration received by the UE as disclosed in Teyeb in view of Teyeb to be included in an RRC container as disclosed in the teachings of Vesely who discloses the RRC container message includes the RRC Resume message, which results in receiving the container message including the conditional configuration, because the motivation lies in Vesely that the RRC container includes the RRC resume message which is sent to the UE for successfully performing an RRC resume procedure for resuming a connection for the UE.
The combination of Teyeb in view of Teyeb, and further in view of Vesely does not explicitly disclose the protocol for controlling radio resources. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chandramouli et al. US (2021/0127265).
Chandramouli discloses the RRC protocol is used for controlling radio resources between a user apparatus and an eNB (see Para [0125] i.e., RRC is a protocol layer between a user apparatus and an eNB, and is in charge of, for example…establishing/maintaining or release of radio bearers (i.e., “radio resources”) (establishing an RRC connection between the user apparatus and eNB)).
(Chandramouli suggests the RRC is a protocol layer between a user apparatus and an eNB and is used for establishing, maintaining, or release radio bearers (i.e., “radio resources”) and establishing an RRC connection between the user apparatus and eNB, (see Para [0125]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the RRC resume procedure performed by the UE as disclosed in Teyeb in view of Teyeb, and further in view of Vesely to be associated with the RRC protocol disclosed in the teachings of Chandramouli, because the motivation lies in Chandramouli that the RRC is a protocol layer between a user apparatus and an eNB and is used for appropriately establishing, maintaining, or release radio bearers (i.e., “radio resources”) and establishing an RRC connection between the user apparatus and eNB.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461