DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 14-18 and SEQ ID NO: 56 as species in claim 7 in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Attorney indicated that species for claims 2-6 are encompassed in elected SEQ ID NO:56 and elected "glycosylated" species for claim 8 in interview on January 30, 2026.
Species election for claims 2-6 is withdrawn.
Claims 9-13, 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/12/2025.
Claims 1-8 and 14-18 (claim set filed 04/05/2023) are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2021/065588 filed 12/29/2021 which claims benefit of provisional application 63/107,678 filed 10/30/2020. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 1A and 1B have the following issues:
Fig. 1A and 1B display amino acid sequence alignment and have numbering for nucleic acid sequences which are not displayed. Applicant is suggested to have numbering for amino acids.
The first sequence in Figure 1A and 1B is the sequence of human FIX (SEQ ID NO:1) as described in the specification in Description of Figures (paragraph 0019). However, that sequence is different from the sequence with SEQ ID NO:1 (paragraph 0104 of the specification and sequence listing). The part of SEQ ID NO:1: “FNKGRSASVL” is displayed on Fig. 1B as: “FHKGRSALVL” (different amino acids are highlighted).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites acronym FIX. Although claim 1 is not rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) since the specification describes that FIX is a clotting factor IX (paragraph 0002), to enhance the clarity of the claims aforesaid objection is made. The applicant is suggested to provide description of acronym FIX and use acronym later.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-6 recite replacements of amino acid residues. The dual sequence numbering is explained in the specification as representing the replacement in the sequence with the signal peptide (first number) and without signal peptide (second number) (paragraph 0006). However, recitation of amino acid residues replacement has several uncertainty issues:
It is not clear how these residues can be identified. While claim 1 recites single replacement V132A-V86A identified by the alignment with SEQ ID NO:1 or SEQ ID NO:15 or sequences with 95% identity to SEQ ID NO:1 or SEQ ID NO:15, claims 2-6 do not provide reference SEQ ID NO for alignment. It is unclear if the same sequences can be used for identification since they are not mentioned.
The recited replacements indicate the amino acid residue to replace and not only its position. The unmodified FIX can have different residues in the aligned position and SEQ ID NO:1 or SEQ ID NO:15 (if used for alignment) do not have all the recited residues. For instance, position 361 has H and not N, position 366 has A and not L and position 367 has S and not V or L in SEQ ID NO:1. Therefore, it is not clear if replacement is performed for any residue aligned with that position (option 1) or replacement is performed only when the type of residue corresponds to the recited in claims 2-6 (option 2). For instance, if the residue aligned with position 313 in claim 2 is suggested to be replaced with S (option 1) or only when aligned position 313 has N, it is suggested to be replaced with S. The presence of two replacements of the same residue number, i.e. L367S-L321S and V367I-V321 in claim 2 seems to point to option 2.
Claim 2 recites: “comprising at least one amino acid replacements selected from among N313S-N267S, … and R404K-R358K”. Although reciting alternatives is not governed by a particular format, an issue of lack of clarity arises when it is not clear if the list of alternatives is closed or open. The transitional phrase “comprising” points to open group and the recitations “selected from” and “and” indicates closed group. The scope is unclear since it is not clear if applicant intends to make this a closed grouping “from the group consisting of” or an open group. Claims 3, 4, 5, 6 have the same issues.
Thus, the scope and boundaries of claims 2-6 are not certain making claims 2-6 indefinite.
Claim 7 recites the unmodified FIX to consist of sequences with SEQ ID NOS: 52-57. Claim 7 depends on claim 1 reciting modification of the unmodified FIX, i.e. V132A-V86A, resulting in a modified FIX. The sequences with SEQ ID NOS: 52-57 all have this replacement. It is not clear how sequences with SEQ ID NOS: 52-57 can be considered unmodified FIX if these polypeptides are modified according to claim 1. The scope and boundaries of claim 7 are not certain making claim 7 indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Gaucher (WO 2018208973 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gaucher teaches novel variants of FVII, FVIII and FIX clotting factors with increased clotting factor activity relative to the corresponding native human clotting factor proteins (p. 1, lines 29-30). Figure 1 shows sequence alignment of variants with the sequence of human FIX with SEQ ID NO: 42 (p. 30, lines 16-24) which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Figure 1 presents multiple variants with replacement V132A (sequence with the signal peptide) or V86A (without the signal peptide). Gaucher teaches variant An96 fIX Padua with SEQ ID NO:1 (with the signal peptide) aligned with human FIX with sequence identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1 (p. 30) that has V132A replacement and which showed substantially more FIX activity compared to unmodified human FIX (p. 32, lines 19-24). Thus, Gaucher teaching anticipates claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Gaucher teaches sequence of An96 fIX Padua that has N313S replacement (p. 30, SEQ ID NO:1) corresponding to limitation of claim 2. Thus, Gaucher teaching anticipates claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Gaucher teaches sequence of An96 fIX Padua that has E323K replacement (p. 30, SEQ ID NO:1) corresponding to limitation of claim 3. Thus, Gaucher teaching anticipates claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Gaucher teaches sequence of An96 fIX Padua that has D232N replacement (p. 30, SEQ ID NO:1) corresponding to limitation of claim 4. Thus, Gaucher teaching anticipates claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Gaucher teaches sequence of An96 fIX Padua that has D338N replacement (p. 30, SEQ ID NO:1) corresponding to limitation of claim 5. Thus, Gaucher teaching anticipates claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Gaucher teaches sequence of An96 fIX Padua that has R384L replacement (p. 30, SEQ ID NO:1) corresponding to limitation of claim 6. Thus, Gaucher teaching anticipates claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, Gaucher teaches An96 fIX Padua variant in a zymogen form (p. 6, lines 33-34). Thus, Gaucher teaching anticipates claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 8 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyhenart (US 20080102115 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oyhenart teaches modified FIX polypeptides (Abstract). The unmodified FIX is human FIX with SEQ ID NO: 1 for precursor form (with the signal peptide) and SEQ ID NO: 2 for the mature form (paragraph 0017). The SEQ ID NO: 1 of Oyhenart teaching has 99.6% identity to instant SEQ ID NO:1. Oyhenart discloses various modifications of FIX sequence and suggests more than one modification (paragraph 0012). Oyhenart describes that the modified FIX polypeptides exhibit increased activity compared to the unmodified FIX (paragraph 0024). Oyhenart suggests modifications that can reduce immunogenicity of FIX, one of such modifications is V132A-V86A (paragraph 0434).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow teaching of Oyhenart and create modified FIX incorporating V132A-V86A replacement. One would have been motivated to do that with since Oyhenart teaches that V132A-V86A modification reduces FIX immunogenicity and hence V132A-V86A modification can prevent formation of inhibitory antibodies and prolong modified FIX action in circulation. A skilled artisan would have reasonably expected success in that because Oyhenart teaches that more than one modifications of human FIX can be present and that suggested modifications exhibit increased FIX activity. Thus, Oyhenart teaching renders claim 1 obvious.
Regarding claim 7, Oyhenart teaches human FIX with SEQ ID NO:1. The SEQ ID NO:1 differs from instant SEQ ID NO:52 in 3 modifications, i.e. V138A-V86A, D338N-D292N and L367S-L321S. Oyhenart describes that modified FIX can include two or more modifications of positions, including recited positions V86, D292 and L321 in mature form and suggests replacement of D292N (paragraph 0013). Oyhenart discloses V138A-V86A and L367S-L321S modifications as modifications reducing immunogenicity of modified FIX (paragraph 0434). Combination of these three modifications will result in instant modified FIX with SEQ ID NO: 52.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the modified FIX polypeptide comprising the sequence taught by Oyhenart and try combination of substitutions V138A-V86A, D338N-D292N and L367S-L321S. One would have been motivated to do that with reasonably expected success since Oyhenart provides instructions for modification and evaluation of FIX polypeptides, teaches that V86, D292 and L321 modifications can be combined and that V132A-V86A and L367S-L321S modifications reduces FIX immunogenicity and therefore the combination of V138A-V86A, D338N-D292N and L367S-L321S can improve therapeutic properties of FIX. Thus, Oyhenart teaching renders claim 7 obvious.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Oyhenart teaches that the modified FIX polypeptides can be post-translationally modified, including “glycosylation, carboxylation, hydroxylation, sulfation, phosphorylation, or conjugation to albumin or polyethylene glycol (PEG) moiety” (paragraph 0022). Thus, Oyhenart teaching renders claims 8 and 14 obvious.
Regarding claim 15, Oyhenart teaches that the modified FIX polypeptides can include hyperglycosylation (paragraph 0426). Thus, Oyhenart teaching renders claim 15 obvious.
.
Regarding claims 16, 17 and 18, Oyhenart teaches that FIX polypeptides include precursor forms and mature forms, zymogens and activated forms (paragraph 0404). Thus, Oyhenart teaching renders claims 16, 17 and 18 obvious.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/L.G.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653