DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 26 August 2026.
Drawings
Replacement drawings were received on 26 August 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frisendahl (US 7,241,085).
Regarding claim 1, Frisendahl discloses a drill point 2, comprising: a body 1, the body including a front end with an apex area (top in figure 1), a central axis of rotation C extending rearward from a centre of the apex area, and at least one cutting structure 5/5’, wherein each cutting structure comprises a primary rake surface 9, a primary clearance surface 8, a cutting edge 7 at an intersection between the primary rake surface and the primary clearance surface, and a peripheral cutting corner (outer corner of cutting edge, not labeled, see figures 2 and 4), wherein the cutting edge extends radially outward from the apex area to the cutting corner, and the primary clearance surface, as seen in a front end view, has a breadth that is a distance extending perpendicular to and from the cutting edge to a primary clearance surface edge (as seen in figures 5 and 6), which is rotationally trailing the cutting edge, and a nominal cutting radius (one half of the disclosed cutting diameter, which is between 3mm and 20mm), which is a radial distance outward from the central axis of rotation to the cutting corner, and which is at least 1 mm (as disclosed, at least 1.5 mm), wherein the cutting edge has a central portion 12’/12’’, which extends radially outward from the apex area to a radially outer end, wherein the radially outer end of the cutting edge central portion has a radial distance (1/2 of a, see figure 6) to the central axis of rotation of at least 10% of the nominal cutting radius (is in the range of 17-21% of the drill diameter, 34-42% of the radius).
Frisendahl does not distinctly disclose wherein the primary clearance surface breadth along the cutting edge central portion is at least 0.05 mm and at most 5% of the nominal cutting radius. However, Frisendahl does disclose that the chisel edge 15 has a length of 0.010 to 0.020 times the diameter of the drill, or is between 0.03 mm to 0.06 mm for a 3 mm drill and between 0.20 to 0.4 mm for a 20 mm drill. This chisel length is approximately equal to two times the primary clearance surface breadth at the position closest to the chisel edge (as seen in figure 6). Therefore, a drill diameter of 3 mm would allow for a breadth of between 0.05 mm to 0.06 mm to be within the require range, and a drill diameter of 20 mm would allow for a breadth of between 0.20 mm to 1 mm to be within the required range, as defined by Frisendahl.
However, this breadth is a result-effective variable because Frisendahl teaches that the length chosen within this range will achieve the best cutting results. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the primary clearance surface breadth to have to at least 0.05 mm and at most 5% of the nominal cutting radius for the purpose of optimizing cutting results, because it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, involves only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 538, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)
Regarding the intended use limitation “for machining of light alloys, such as aluminum alloys” in the preamble of the claim, it is noted that the prior art used in the rejection is capable of being used for this function. During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim. See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2112 - § 2112.02.
Regarding claim 2, Frisendahl discloses wherein, when the nominal cutting radius is larger than 2 mm, the primary clearance surface breadth (as defined in claim 1 above) along the cutting edge central portion 12’/12’’ is at most 3% of the nominal cutting radius (within the range of 0.20 to 0.30 mm at the chisel edge for a 20 mm diameter drill).
Regarding claim 3, Frisendahl discloses wherein, when the nominal cutting radius is larger than 5 mm, the primary clearance surface breadth along the cutting edge central portion is at least 1% of the nominal cutting radius (as defined by Frisendahl, the breadth is at least 1% of the nominal cutting diameter, or 2% of the nominal cutting radius at the chisel edge).
Regarding claim 4, Frisendahl discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Frisendahl does not distinctly disclose wherein the primary clearance surface breadth is 10-30% of the nominal cutting radius along an outer portion of the cutting edge, which extends form the cutting corner and radially inward to at most the outer end of the cutting edge central portion, being silent as to this specific dimension. However, this dimension would also be a result-effective variable, because it is proportionate to the defined primary clearance surface breadth, and would therefore also impact the cutting results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have selected a primary clearance surface breadth within this range for the purpose of optimizing the cutting results, because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 6, Frisendahl discloses wherein the cutting edge comprises a main cutting edge 11/12 extending radially inward from the cutting corner, and a secondary cutting edge 12’/12’’ extending radially outward from the apex area to an inner end of the main cutting edge, wherein, as seen in a front end view, the main cutting edge extends with an angle to the secondary cutting edge, and the cutting edge central portion forms the secondary cutting edge (see figures 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 7, Frisendahl discloses wherein the main cutting edge 11/12 extends with an angle to the secondary cutting edge 12’/12’’ such that, as seen in a front end view, an angle between a line through the central axis of rotation and the radially outer end of the secondary cutting edge, and a line through the central axis of rotation and the cutting corner is 20-40° (may be 40 degrees for portion 12’ (90 degrees minus 50 degrees, see column 3, lines 37-40), and less than that for portion 12’’, see figure 6).
Regarding claim 13, Frisendahl discloses wherein the body includes two cutting structures 5/5’, which are arranged with 180° rotational symmetry around the central axis of rotation (see figure 2), and wherein the body includes a chisel edge 15 connecting the cutting edges of the two cutting structures across the apex area (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 15, Frisendahl discloses a solid drill tool comprising the drill point according to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-12, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that the Examiner has relied upon feature “b” in Frisendahl to correspond to the claimed primary clearance surface breadth along the cutting edge central portion is not persuasive. As can be seen in the rejection of claim 1 above, the feature relied upon in the office action mailed 26 March 2026 is half of the distance between cutting structures 5/5’ along chisel edge 15 (the primary clearance surface breadth along the cutting edge central portion), which can be seen in figure 6 to be the distance between the cutting edge 12’’ and the clearance surface 8’ at the chisel edge.
For the reasons set forth above, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 2 September 2026